Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
The people at this facility were very helpful with all parts of our visit and made our familiy's stay in Townsend very memorable.
Jul 14, 2014
this park is not built for RV's 40' plus, great for short RV's and campers/tents. Thanks to Jimbo for watching our dog during a medical emergency.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
We loved our stay at cabin #15. We were only scheduled to stay Monday thru Friday, but had so much fun that we wanted to stay until Saturday. The office staff went above and beyond to make it possible for us to stay another night :)
Jul 13, 2014
Always the best.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Campground staff always great, site 13 where we stayed had a sewer pipe up about 8 inches from ground which made it hard to empty waste water and other, all others I saw were level with ground and our site needed gravel, when it rained we were in the mud. And these sites were the most expensive on river, balcony, full hookup. Otherwise good camping.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
We always have a great time at the KOA in Townsend and looking forward to many more...THANKS!
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
It was just a little noisier than usual this time. Kids out running around being loud after dusk and the leaf blower early in the morning kind of took away the peaceful part of our stay.
Jul 11, 2014
Everything is great..The prices are getting so high that you can almost stay in a nice hotel for the same price...
Jul 11, 2014
We have stayed at the Townsend KOA for 5 straight years now. My children especially enjoy the summer camp and family night activities offered at the campground. The location is perfect for the outdoor activities we enjoy around the Cades Cove area.
Jul 09, 2014
It was a wonderful stay! I do wish the pool stayed open a little later for the kids. Most places we stay at the pool stays open until at least 10. Thank you! Awesome staff awesome stay!
Jul 09, 2014
Great location, friendly, helpful staff, beautiful campground with excellent facilities. We'll definitely go back!
Jul 09, 2014
Jul 08, 2014
The campground is well maintained and very convenient to all of the Smoky Mountain attractions in the national park.
Jul 07, 2014
The only complaint I have is that the mattress on the bed in the Cabin is too hard.
Jul 06, 2014
The staff was friendly and the cabin was immaculate. Would visit the Townsend, TN KOA Kampground again and reccommend to others.
Jul 06, 2014
Awesome place to stay! We parked on Sunday night in front of our cabin and did not start the truck until we left. Plenty of things to do and great service. We will be back again.
Jul 06, 2014
Clean, friendly staff, beautiful site!
Jul 05, 2014
KOA Townsend/Great Smokies, TN was a great vacation. The Deluxe cabin was just perfect for the 4 of us. Love the river stream just outside the cabin very relaxing and peaceful. Great staff, very clean camp grounds. Great family time and making memories that we will cherish a lifetime. Thanks KOA Townsend/Great Smokies you were apart of this vacation that we will never forget!....
Jul 04, 2014
Had another great stay. This is our 3rd trip to this Koa. Our family loves it. Great staff and facility
Jul 04, 2014
Had great stay will be back.
Jul 03, 2014
Our favorite place to stay. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
The campground was very clean. We stayed in a cabin on the river. There was no lighting whatsoever to go to the showers. It was very long way to the bathroom/showers. Only Porta potties closer to the cabins. For the price of the cabin, more bathrooms should have been available closer.
Jul 02, 2014
Great destination resort. Friendly and helpful staff, very clean, lots of fun activities, great area attractions. We'll definitely be back!
Jul 02, 2014
This was our return visit from a 1 night stay a few weeks ago. We love the staff,love the pool, love the playground, felt very welcomed. We will be back next year. Love the day camp. We didn't get to participate this time, but we walked over and spoke with the group and loved what they are doing.
Jul 02, 2014
Our family love this KOA we stay there as often as we can . Growing up in that area it's our first choice it's always clean and kid friendly .
Jul 02, 2014
Awesome
Jul 01, 2014
We love it here! Come and stay in Townsend at KOA one time a year for a entire week with a group of friends and our kids!! Camp on river and its a good relaxing week!!!
Jul 01, 2014
always great, always friendly! Daisy up front really helped with the multiple reservations. Thanks for the fun weekend!
Jul 01, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
In the future I will seek out a KOA with a campin' cabin....It's a great way to get the most out of visiting an area ! It sure beat sitting in a hotel looking at the Interstate in the evenings after a day of sightseeing !
Jul 01, 2014
Campground was as always, very nice. Great activities. Time to tear down the bath house and start over. It's a disgrace.
Jul 01, 2014
Perfect setting, beautiful campsite, nice facilities. We loved it there and wish we had booked longer.
Jul 01, 2014
Very friendly KOA "helpers"! They assisted in numerous ways. Our first time camping with trailer we purchased donor was learning experience but these folks are great! The grounds are kept safe & clean! Two important factors for our family. We even had two cabins!
Jul 01, 2014
All was fantastic! Cannot wait to be back!
Jun 30, 2014
AS always the KOA at Townsend was great. The camp ground was clean, easy access to every facility, and the staff from check in to check out was very friendly and helpful. I plan on going back to this KOA again and would highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys camping.
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
Clean cabin, shady balcony with great grill and fire pit, would have preferred a more unobstructed view of the main river for the price but it was still a very nice stay and loved the sound of the water! Very friendly staff and excellent customer service!
Jun 30, 2014
Great campground with nice people that run it and work there.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.