Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 27, 2015
We will be coming back. Grandkids enjoyed it .
Jul 27, 2015
2 adults and 2 kids. Had a blast! Campsite was very large and also very shaded! The kids loved the movie that was played while we were there. Awesome time.
Jul 27, 2015
very nice place and staff
Jul 27, 2015
Our family has stayed at KOA since before it even became KOA. This particular time it seemed that more sites had been added squeezing people on top of one another. On top of the closeness of the camp sites our family was told that walking in between campsites is not allowed when coming out of the river from swimming. We have decided that unfortunately we will not be staying here again.
Jul 27, 2015
Our weekend getaway!!!
Jul 27, 2015
Great amenities, great location, sites are a little closer together than i like , but had a great time camping in townsend on the river...
Jul 27, 2015
Very clean! Nice staff! I only wish they would have told us that they were going to have to do excavation on the site next to ours! Our dog was terrified and it was loud! Maybe we could of been moved to a different site???
Jul 27, 2015
We loved the campground and the pool and the river ... while packing up to leave, we were screamed at by a very rude male worker to move our car ... he was an older gentleman with rounded or oval glasses. very rude. maybe come back?
Jul 27, 2015
Awesome campground at the doorstep of the smokies! Right on the river with helpful staff and upgraded amenities. Many activities for children. We were booked for 3 days and we stayed for 5. We would have stayed more if we could.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
Fantastic place to camp! Great showers! Staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly!
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
delightful, well maintained park
Jul 26, 2015
Loved the deluxe cabin.
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
I have stayed here several times, and have recommended to many friends. I left very frustrated as did two friends Cause of frustration-paying $140?per night and when went to office to request replacement of k cups was informed only 4k cups supplied. I said, I understand, but we are staying another night. No additional k cups furnished. Ridiculous! Caused friend to not reserve for future outtin
Jul 26, 2015
The primitive cabin was very clean and cozy, and had running water just outside the door... Can't wait to stay there again
Jul 25, 2015
Had great time
Jul 25, 2015
Wonderful!!
Jul 25, 2015
Wonderful staff, clean restrooms! Great place to stay!
Jul 24, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at this KOA.
Jul 24, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
Always a great stay!
Jul 22, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
We love this campground. It has become an "annual retreat" for our entire family. The owners are making some great improvements.
Jul 21, 2015
Facility and cabins were great. Some stuff was great and appreciated us as Guests. Some staff acted as if we were lucky to be staying here and were generally rude.
Jul 21, 2015
Townsend/Great Smokies, TN is one of the best KOAs we have ever stayed at. The staff are all exceedingly friendly, the pool was always clean and the activities in the pavilion were wonderful.
Jul 21, 2015
Like the campground but not happy with busy area our lot was in. Too much traffic with site. Fires were too close for lot sizes.
Jul 21, 2015
I enjoyed my stay but I would rather there be more space between the campsites. The sites were not even big enough to park your vehicle. Showers were great the cabin was small but comfortable but you could at least put a dead bolt lock on the door.
Jul 21, 2015
Had a very nice stay. The campground was clean and the staff friendly.
Jul 21, 2015
great
Jul 21, 2015
Wonderful and accommodating customer service! Only negative was the long walk to the bathrooms unless you wanted the porta-potties which were very dirty.
Jul 21, 2015
Had a great time , kids had a blast , the Bible day camp and family night fun was awesome !! Pool and bathrooms super clean ,all staff very friendly ,Def would stay again :)
Jul 21, 2015
The bathroom and showers need some kind of cooling system... love that they are roomy, but when you get out of the showers you are soaked with sweat before you can get dressed..
Jul 21, 2015
Amenities great. However too pricey for camping. Sites were extremely small. We had a hard time getting our trailer backed in and our truck still stuck out in the road. Plus they would let us camp near our friends because they were in a tent and we have a camper.
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
The employees were nice and courteous. The campsite was clean. The pool and playground was great for the kids. There were a few negatives. Our campsite was really cramped. Our neighbors were only 8 ft away. Not much for privacy. There was a sewer smell occasionally from somewhere. Possibly the septic tank lids that were behind our campsite.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Wonderful location - great campground and employees, too! The most relaxing vacation we have experienced in a long time!!!
Jul 20, 2015
It was very nice and the folks working there were nice and helpful
Jul 20, 2015
Great, family friendly campground!
Jul 20, 2015
Camping is good.I still think the price for tent camping is high.
Jul 20, 2015
A little cramped and the bathrooms could use a little more TLC. Other than that, nice place. Pool was great!
Jul 20, 2015
Seriously the best showers I have ever seen in a campground! Friendly people and accommodating to our late arrival. Nice pool, very clean, small but perfect for the kids, and warm! Right near the entrance to the Cades Cove, Smoky Mountain National Park.
Jul 20, 2015
We have camped here for many years always enjoy our stay
Jul 20, 2015
We stay there every year now for the last 5or6years its a birthday tradition my 6year old started and she want to go back every birthday she is now 12 any way we have never had any problems until this time our cabin had a very bad smell we finally found two piles of dog fecies under the bunk beds it was pretty bad but I didn't complain because my daughter didnt want tobe kicked out it was uncalled
Jul 20, 2015
Our first time ever camping was at the KOA - Great Smokies -definitely a relaxing, fun and enjoyable vacation! Our deluxe studio cabin was very clean and was presented in an excellent manor. The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful to newcomers like us! We biked beautiful Cades Cove and tubed down the cool Little River. We ended our vacation celebrating a little girl being water baptized!
Jul 20, 2015
Townsend Koa is a very nice campground the people there are always very helpful. They have lots of activities for the children.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps