Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 17, 2017
Great fun for the whole family.
Apr 17, 2017
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your campground. Everyone was very nice, our spot was beautiful, and the facilities were well maintained. The only negative thing I have to say is for a primitive spot, it was extremely expensive. We would be able to come more if it wasn't so expensive!
Apr 17, 2017
We love KOA! Very clean and very family friendly! Lots of activities for the kids
Apr 16, 2017
Apr 16, 2017
Cabin was very nice. My only complaint is a lack of clothes hooks or pegs in the cabin. All amenities worked as advertised, and the location is terrific.
Apr 16, 2017
Staff was amazing five stars. other guests cutting through site chasing unleashed dog sitting on edge of our site to fish not good
Apr 16, 2017
BEST koa we've stayed at! Staff was so friendly, and our campsite was amazing! They have everything landscaped so that the campsites are large and private. Awesome playground that the kids loved! Bathrooms and showers were updated and clean. We loved every minute and have already recommended it to other campers. Our kids keep asking when we can go back to visit!
Apr 16, 2017
Once again a lovely stay.
Apr 16, 2017
The stay is always great. We stay several times a year and it never disappoints. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. The campground is beautiful and family friendly. Can't wait to get back there.
Apr 15, 2017
Great place to camp!
Apr 14, 2017
We had an awesome time at the Townsend KOA. The cabin was the perfect setting for a camping experience without having a tent or camper. It was clean and cozy. A very nice layout. The location was perfect for going into the Great Smokies. We loved every minute of our stay. We will be back and will tell others about it.
Apr 14, 2017
Great place maybe run the blowers after 9:00 am lol.
Apr 14, 2017
Best KOA we've stayed at!
Apr 12, 2017
Most beautiful KOA yet!!!
Apr 12, 2017
No place like Townsend! Always enjoy my stay at KOA!!
Apr 11, 2017
Always great to return to Townsend KOA. Everybody is very friendly here and the cabins are great.
Apr 11, 2017
Always a great experience. Friendly and helpful staff, clean campground and facilities, just a great time to be here.
Apr 11, 2017
Very friendly I rented a cabin for my daughter and son in law I told them they would be there late they had the key and everything waiting for them when they got there awesome experience
Apr 11, 2017
Great people
Apr 11, 2017
Please keep the tent sites!
Apr 11, 2017
Good points: clean, clean, clean! Very nice tent site RIGHT ON THE RIVER! I enjoyed the easy access to the Smoky Mountains and Cades Cove. The Tuckaleechee Caverns were also great! Bad points: Very, very pricey for a tent site. $54? Ouch, in my book. It was the only negative.
Apr 10, 2017
Very cramped and crowded. Not easy to get our tiny camper into spot. Very few spots with sewer connections. Easy ck in, but over priced based on spot. Liked that showers were non-gender & not attached to bathrooms.
Apr 10, 2017
This was our first time staying here but it was amazing. We can't wait to come back.
Apr 10, 2017
Best KOA. Best WiFi ever. Will return for sure.
Apr 10, 2017
nice campground, clean restrooms, nice shower facilities, looks like some great additions going in.
Apr 09, 2017
This is the best facility I have stayed at since I starting camping last year. The bathrooms were extremely clean and appeared brand new. The staff helped with every question or issue I had to include providing air for my trailer tires at no extra charge. Great stay, thank you!
Apr 09, 2017
Internet was horrific. Needs modernization and better security
Apr 07, 2017
Great campground. Bathhouse very nice.
Apr 07, 2017
Nice looking campgrounds. The cabin was great but noticed some cobwebs and lots of dust under the bed. Double hooks onthe walls would be helpful. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.
Apr 07, 2017
This is a beautiful, well kept campground in a perfect location for access to the national park. We loved it.
Apr 07, 2017
We loved this campground and it's friendly, helpful owners so much that we've booked a beautiful river front site for a full week for the end of May. There's nothing to not like or complain about here - it's all great.
Apr 07, 2017
Great location at the entrance to smoky mountain national park! Tuckaleechee caverns, winery, horseback riding, hiking trails close by in the national park, wears valley and pigeon forge Nice drive. Clean park with pool, playground, and an awesome store! Nice staff!! Seasonal ice cream and pool FYI!
Apr 06, 2017
We have been staying at the Townsend KOA for years. It's a great place. The staff is friendly and helpful. The campground is well maintained and clean. The bathrooms and showers are also clean. The cabins are cute and also clean. My boys love the playground and fishing there on the river. They also love the activities provided. My boys love playing basketball and have met a lot of kids there to pl
Apr 05, 2017
It was very clean and the woman at the front desk was super helpful and nice.
Apr 04, 2017
Great place to get away from all the hustle and bustle of life. The people are very friendly. I love being able to sit outside and listen to the river. Also, very convenient to Cades Cove and the hiking trails of the Great Smokey Mountain National Park.
Apr 04, 2017
Marshall was very helpful assisting us to back into our site in the dark. Camp was clean and well maintained.
Apr 04, 2017
Very nice campground and facilities. It was my families favorite place so far.
Apr 03, 2017
Great first experience at a KOA! We stayed in a riverfront delux cabin, and we couldn't have been more happy with it. We especially loved the large porch overlooking the beautiful river. My kids enjoyed the fun playground, and my husband and I were pleasantly surprised by the well kept grounds and helpful staff. We will definitely be back! Thank you, KOA Townsend for a lovely weekend getaway!
Apr 03, 2017
This campground was crowded but there were a lot of trees and the river. It was very quiet and quaint. We will be back.
Apr 03, 2017
I can't say enough wonderful things about your campground. The site we were on (79) was beautiful and well maintained. The showers were amazingly spacious and clean. We were there during off-peak season (3/25/17 - 41/17) so there were not any planned activities onsite but we didn't need them with the Smoky Mountains so near by. The staff we had interactions with were helpful and polite.
Apr 03, 2017
Very clean and well kept campground. Friendly staff. Fishing is good in the river bordering the grounds!
Apr 03, 2017
Great location!
Apr 03, 2017
Campground was clean and bathhouses were some of the cleanest I have come across.Spot was excellent with no problems on amenities. Only thing that I would change is the turn in is very tight with lots of obstacles. very easy to damage plants or your rv. A wider turn radius would make it a five star.
Apr 03, 2017
the people and place are friendly we can bring our pets a lot for the kids to do our first time was and awesome time thank s for all the help
Apr 03, 2017
Warm showers and bathrooms are a plus!
Apr 02, 2017
It was a wonderful camp ground with great views.
Apr 01, 2017
Cabin was great. Right next to the river. Peaceful and quiet at night. Staff great. Clean. Only negative was Deluxe Cabins too close together. Not much room to maneuver your vehicles. Otherwise great.
Mar 31, 2017
Great campsite on river, very clean and organized campground. Highly recommended
Mar 31, 2017
Beautiful site next to creek. Located close to park entrance. A very quit campground away from crowded Gatlinburg. Staff was really friendly.
Mar 30, 2017
Our stay was very relaxing and very nice the grandchildren love the place for all the swingsets and different activities that they could do plus ride their bicycles he was very happy to see the courteous people that are staying there with children also
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award