Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Mar 24, 2015
Mar 23, 2015
We had a great time and enjoyed the new updates. The staff was friendly and very helpful.
Mar 23, 2015
My kids love the playground. Friendly staff. The dog park is a big hit. Safe campground were you feel safe to let kids have some freedom.
Mar 23, 2015
Mar 22, 2015
Our stay for the most part was great! The weather was awesome! We only had a couple of inconveniences that weren't really a problem....the main bath house was being remodeled so the entire camp had to use the small one behind the office and the cable TV was out.
Mar 21, 2015
Helpful, curtious.
Mar 21, 2015
Pour stay at KOA went really well. The campground was very clean and well kept. Staff there was extremely nice and very courteous . They go out of their way to make sure your stay is going well. We stayed in one of the small cabins at the site and it was nice and clean and everything was in working order. Our only complaint is the mattresses in our cabin were not comfortable at all.
Mar 21, 2015
Awesome! Kid friendly,clean, safe, staff extremely nice. Would recommend to everyone.
Mar 21, 2015
This was our 4th time staying at the KOA Townsend and we always love it! After staying in the deluxe cabins, it'll be hard to ever stay in a camping cabin again. :) Thank you all for being a wonderful campground and we always recommend you to our friends and family. Many blessings to you all!
Mar 20, 2015
Loved the friendly, helpful staff. Loved our site right on the river also next to a grassy area. Nice playground and bathhouse.
Mar 19, 2015
stayed in cabin , enjoyed the setup with a patio , grill and fire pit , had my little dog with me and i was very glad i was able to have her with me thanks again and will be staying there again in the future
Mar 19, 2015
The stay was good except that the water was turned off at most of the spigots most of our stay. We also had to walk to the far bathroom because of renovations to the closer bathroom. Really, a bathroom even closer to our sight than the out of service one would be great. It is too far to get little ones to the potty!
Mar 19, 2015
Too expensive, not near enough restrooms and showers!
Mar 18, 2015
Mar 18, 2015
Office hours unusual for KOA. Off season. Wonderful stay.
Mar 18, 2015
It rained all my stay but the kids had a blast. That is all that counts!!!
Mar 18, 2015
Your staff were so accommodating, so helpful and willing to give of their time, and so concerned for the welfare of all of your guests. It seems like you have a very special family at this campsite!
Mar 17, 2015
Awesome scenery.
Mar 17, 2015
The entire KOA staff was wonderful......!
Mar 16, 2015
Wonderful campground! Loved our site right beside the river. Great playground for kids of all ages. Easy to access bike trails. Friendly staff. I highly recommend this KOA!
Mar 16, 2015
Best campground I've stayed at in a long time. The employees were outstanding! They were so friendly and helpful. I will definitely be back
Mar 16, 2015
It was a great stay all but one night when a group of young adults came into the park (possibly for spring break?) and played music so loud next door to us, we couldn't sleep until 2am. It might be best to enforce quiet time.
Mar 15, 2015
Very nice campground. However, the gps tells you the address is someplace other than where it is. The people at the front desk are aware of this, so it should be on the website. Also, there needs to be more lighting by the front koa sign. Very hard to tell where it is at night.
Mar 14, 2015
Mar 13, 2015
all was well
Mar 09, 2015
My husband and I love camping here, we have been there many times and will absolutely continue to do so
Mar 09, 2015
This is worst stay we have experienced at this KOA. We were unfortunate enough to have a loud group next to us in lot 13 that stayed out to the wee hours drinking and partying. Had no respect for those around them. I tried to find a number to contact a KOA associate in which there was none. Only a recording with no after hours contact number. Very disappointed.
Mar 03, 2015
The staff was very friendly. My son and I had a great stay. The cabins were very clean. We would love to return for future visits!
Feb 26, 2015
Feb 24, 2015
We have stayed here many times in our RV. This is the second time we have stayed in a cabin. Must have been a price increase from what we payed last Feb.2014?
Feb 23, 2015
Was a good weekend to get away for Valentines. The only thing I can complain about is the heater in our cabin DID NOT WORK was blowing cold air., I told the lady at the front desk as we were checking out Sunday morning and she told me I should have came told here but it was late when we came back in Saturday night.
Feb 21, 2015
Stayed at this KOA for over 20 years...no problems at all.
Feb 20, 2015
we had a good time. And the staff was very accommodating.
Feb 17, 2015
The Keurig is awesome. I love everything except the shower curtain had mold on it, and there was hair in the shower. Not as clean as it usually is.
Feb 12, 2015
We loved this campground and have made plans to return. The staff are great and the location of the campground is perfect!
Feb 01, 2015
Had a really great stay, with the campground being very quiet and peaceful for a late January trip. The only wish would be for the wifi to be a little stronger.
Jan 30, 2015
Staff was super friendly. Staff made our stay very comfortable and pleasant. Cabin was spotless and beautiful. We will definitely be returning to this KOA and others in the future!
Jan 25, 2015
Jan 20, 2015
This is a beautiful campsite, well maintained and good facilities. The playground for the kids was fantastic. We stayed on the stream and the sites were beautiful. I rated this campground only 3 stars only because the sites are so close together. We prefer to camp on larger sites that allow us to spread out .
Jan 20, 2015
Jan 17, 2015
Very helpful off season stay
Jan 07, 2015
Stayed Christmas week was great but got a little sloppy Christmas Eve and day when restrooms were not cleaned due to no workers present.
Jan 07, 2015
Jan 07, 2015
We love this quiet hideaway and will continue to visit when we need time away.
Jan 05, 2015
Jan 05, 2015
Jan 04, 2015
One of our favorite places to stay! Great campground, friendly helpful staff. Love it there.
Jan 04, 2015
Awesome vacation.
Jan 04, 2015
Great place to stay on the "quiet" side of the Smokies!! Close to Cades Cove and many other attractions. Campground was very clean and staff was super friendly!! Can't wait to go back.
Jan 04, 2015
I stayed in a deluxe cabin and it was beautiful! Love the scenery and the river. Staff was wonderful and very helpful! I will definitely be back!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.