Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 30, 2015
We love this campground ! Would live there if we could!
Sep 30, 2015
Sep 30, 2015
Enjoyed our site with the new fire pits Only my husband didn't like was the leaf blowers used by workers very early n the mornings
Sep 30, 2015
Had a great time, as always! Looking forward to going back in the spring! Staff is great and we love the improvements.
Sep 30, 2015
Loved it there, very friendly and helpful!
Sep 30, 2015
Mark, General Manager does a great job and hasa good staff. Micky, one of the gals in the office is always pleasant and very very accomodating. She goes the limit in trying to help guests whatever their request. Best of the best!!! Don & Nancy Burdick, Hartwell, GA
Sep 30, 2015
We have a 5th wheel camper which was involved in a wreck. KOA traded us a site for a cabin which was a cancellation so we could be with our family for our annual visit for many years. Thanks KOA Townsend
Sep 29, 2015
Sep 29, 2015
always great
Sep 29, 2015
Really enjoy it and bathrooms are clean. Staff was friendly. The only issue is all the dogs and their barking and how loud everyone is late at night on the weekends.
Sep 29, 2015
Was very noisey past quiet time until midnight on Friday night. Had to speak to office clerk the next day. Enjoyed location and the quiet area. Was difficult to get in and out of campground and our campsite with a 35-foot motorhome and pulling vehicle.
Sep 29, 2015
Not as good as we're used to at Little River Village. Rude campers walking thru our site. The lights added to the full hook up were overwhelming taking away the blending with nature feel. Staff was AWESOME. Bath makeover great! Would like more foliage between campsites as barriers. We still had a great family week. Grandkids LOVE the playground.
Sep 29, 2015
This is our 2nd year staying at the camp ground. Since last year they have made changes for the best, by improving the camp ground and restrooms. The staff is very friendly and very helpful. We plan on staying again next year.
Sep 29, 2015
We stayed in a camping cabin for 3 nights and were happy with our choice. Although it was inconvenient to not have a bathroom in our cabin, it sure beat a tent and sleeping bag!
Sep 29, 2015
loved it- everyone always so nice and its always so clean !!
Sep 29, 2015
Clean facilities, helpful and friendly staff.
Sep 29, 2015
Great staff. Awesome facilities
Sep 28, 2015
We always have a family gathering at this time each year, we love the KOA, the staff is very friendly and helpful.
Sep 28, 2015
Very expensive staff not that friendly
Sep 28, 2015
We love this campground. It and Mt Pleasant are our favorites. The WIFI has been greatly improved since our last visit, thank you.
Sep 28, 2015
very accommodating..nicely decorated and clean
Sep 28, 2015
So easy to get to the national park and great access to the river for tubes.
Sep 28, 2015
as always very well maintained with great facilities .. kids love the new playground area and the close proximity to the river .. only negative is that the spaces are a bit too narrow .. but overall it is a great campground
Sep 28, 2015
We enjoyed are recent stay so very much....simply a great location in the Smokies. The staff are very competent and friendly,especially Daisy...she is a 'ray of sunshine'.
Sep 28, 2015
We stayed on the river and though we heard the cabins were close together it wasn't a problem. Very peaceful and the cabins were furnished with everything we needed.
Sep 28, 2015
Great campground and great staff! Management is superb!
Sep 28, 2015
had a great time
Sep 27, 2015
We come every year at the same time and we see people we've met from all over because they come at the same time also. we love the people at the Townson koa, they are so helpful and friendly its like one big family. See you next year..
Sep 27, 2015
Quiet nice place to stay with quick access to the national park .
Sep 27, 2015
a little tight in areas but very nice
Sep 26, 2015
Great time.
Sep 26, 2015
Unfortunately we were only able to stay one night. Next trip we hope to stay longer. Everyone was cordial and helpful. Even the rain didn't "dampen" our stay!!
Sep 26, 2015
Great employees, very helpful and friendly, sites are nice, wifi and cable work well. Great proximity to Smoky Mountain National Park.
Sep 26, 2015
Had a great experience. The restrooms and shower facility's were clean well lit and plenty of hot water. The campsite was clean and roomy the staff was cordial and helpful. If this is representative of KOA'S across the country my trip in July of 2016 will be spent at KOA'S
Sep 26, 2015
We had planned to move on to the Asheville area after visiting the Great Smoky Mts. National Park but with it and this campground both being so beautiful we stayed the entire 10 days here. This KOA is lovely and serene and with the staff being so courteous and friendly, it is everything a traveler could want in a campground. Would go back in a heartbeat.
Sep 25, 2015
Beautiful campground. Very well maintained and friendly staff. My favorite place to stay.
Sep 25, 2015
What a beautiful campground! Peaceful, relaxing, everything you needed right there on site. Will definitely be back!
Sep 24, 2015
we have stayed 3 times this year and everytime it gets better and better wonderful staff to assist any time and its great for kids and family tried Cherokee koa it was awful dirty and no fishing but one call to townsend and the day was saved thanks townsend koa you guys are great
Sep 23, 2015
Sep 23, 2015
Sep 22, 2015
Great location away from town but close enough if you wanted to venture out! Friendly attentive staff! Campground was very clean and well taken care of! Lots of activities!
Sep 22, 2015
Love being by the river
Sep 22, 2015
Sep 22, 2015
Your campground and 'amenities' are nice, the scenery is beautiful. Only drawback was the giant camper next to my tent; I wanted to hear the water but could only hear their air conditioner.
Sep 21, 2015
We had a great time and as always was impressed with the staff and the campground as a whole.
Sep 21, 2015
We always enjoy our stay at KOA, we have stayed at Townsend, Cape Hatteras and Cherokee. We highly recommend KOA to all our friends and family.
Sep 21, 2015
We have been staying at this campground (thru 30 years, sporadically)back when it was Little River Campground. In June we stayed in a DC, this time we brought our camper. We would not even consider staying anywhere else in The Smokies. Koa is our home away from home. The (whole) staff are wonderful, helpful and so friendly. We love Townsend/KOA!P.S. the cleanest shower house/restrooms.
Sep 21, 2015
Very helpful staff, always enjoy staying here.
Sep 21, 2015
Even though we left a day early we had a nice time now that I know to ask for the larger Cabins
Sep 21, 2015
I absolutely LOVE the Townsend KOA. It is located in one of the most peaceful, serene locations I've ever been. The small river that runs through it is a great place to relax and catch your breath away from life's reality. I have been several times and will be here again!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award