Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 20, 2014
This was our 5th year to stay at KOA at Townsend. The staff is always wonderful! They are always very kind and considerate and willing to help and fix any kind of problems very quickly. The campground and all the facilities and pool are always extremely clean and well cared for. I can not say enough good things about this campground and the staff! we hope to be vacationing there every year!
Jun 20, 2014
Loved our deluxe cabin. We stayed in dc12 and dc16. We liked having a sink and full length mirror in dc16. All staff were friendly and very helpful . Great place to bring our grandson! Thanks for a nice time!
Jun 20, 2014
Jun 20, 2014
Anhelpy and anfrendly stuff.
Jun 19, 2014
WONDERFUL....staff was VERY helpful, friendly. Outstanding! Lovely setting along the water. Very clean. One of the nicer KOA'S (and we've stayed at many across the US)
Jun 19, 2014
Always pleasant and friendly staff each and every time we stay, our favorite place to stay in townsend, tn.
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Wonderful place to h ave a family get together! Our grandchildren are ready to stay there again. Nice and clean. Friendly & helpful staff. They went out of their way to make us welcome
Jun 18, 2014
We love staying at KOA in Townsend. Staff is very friendly, campsite are well maintained. I give them a 10!!!
Jun 18, 2014
Only complaint is that the popcorn should be free on movie night...as the ice cream, snow cones, watermelon...all snacks on other nights were free! We didn't have any cash so my kids were disappointed when we couldn't scrape up any money for the popcorn! Otherwise...great campground. Clean bathrooms, loved the tubing on the river!
Jun 17, 2014
We are very picky and loved the newer cabin- DC 11 a lot. It was clean and modern. The patio area was also very nice. Thank you.
Jun 17, 2014
As always very friendly staff, helpful, fun place to be these hot summer days. It is the best campground in Townsend, TN
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Nice & clean. Very friendly staff
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
The pool & playground areas were great. The only issue was driving access was a little difficult due to the need of campers to park vehicles in drive/pulling areas. Campers with more than 1 vehicle parked on the roadway & made maneuvering a bit of a problem. Also, guest parked their vehicles in front of the bathhouse when they used it & made that area very congested.
Jun 16, 2014
What a wonderful place. From the amazing customer service to the daily activities for the children. This place is truly one you don't want to miss.
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
We had a great time. There were lots of activities for the kids and the playground was fantastic. Our only complaint would be that there was only one bathhouse.
Jun 16, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay the only problem we had was we didn't have very much privacy at the spot we were placed at. Other than that we had a blast and will defiantly be back.
Jun 16, 2014
Had a great time, everyone was wonderful and helpful. Clean and relaxing. Sites were nice and shady which we appreciated since our awning broke. The river was clean and clear (and cold..lol) but that did not stop us from standing in it! Looked into the cabins, so cute and clean! We are going to stay again next year.
Jun 15, 2014
We had a wonderful time. There are a couple things that I noticed that were different that really didn't seem right to us. Why is the pool closing at 8:00? Some people can't swim during the heat of the day and they really look forward to swimming in the evening. Second, why do visitors have to pay when the cost of camping is high? We as a group feel that should be included in your price.
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
the best!! need a hot tub please a nice one!!!
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 15, 2014
The employees at the camp ground were very helpful and nice, we stayed in the deluxe cabins - very nice & well kept. Thank You we will stay again
Jun 15, 2014
Super friendly. Super location. Clean and plentiful restrooms. Awesome activities and playground for the kids!!!! Looking forward to returning!!!!!!!
Jun 15, 2014
The park was clean and lovely near the river. Close to the Park Entrance. Staff was extremely friendly. Would definitely come back again
Jun 15, 2014
We really enjoyed the campground. We plan on staying again next year!
Jun 15, 2014
Restrooms could be cleaned more often for my taste. But otherwise it was a wonderful place to stay.. loved it
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
It was a great week till agree fell on our camper and after a week have still not heard anything from corp office as to whether they are going to help us recover lost camper and possessions. The people at campground were awesome, corp...not so much!
Jun 14, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
Jun 14, 2014
Not a serious complaint, but a suggestion: The last morning of our stay the garbage truck rolled through the campground at 6:12 a.m. emptying dumpsters. Quite noisy. Whether the waste management contract is through KOA or the city, I know from personal experience that the starting time can be negotiated to a little later in the morning. Thanks for listening.
Jun 14, 2014
People were not friendly. Sights to close together to where slide outs are on next persons sight. Was not a pleasant experience at all
Jun 13, 2014
Staff was very helpful friendly. They alerted us to bad weather approaching. I will stay here the next time.
Jun 13, 2014
Another great stay even if it was rainy.
Jun 13, 2014
Jun 13, 2014
Our second extended stay here. Met our needs. Thanks!
Jun 12, 2014
Although the sites were a little small and close together, we had a great time. Our site backed up to the river. The campground had all the necessities and more!
Jun 12, 2014
This is the first time my family had been camping together. We absolutely loved the cabin, the grounds and the activities! The staff were so friendly and helpful and the campground was very clean! It was so peaceful and relaxing, and wonderful to spend quality time together as a family. Seeing the Bald Eagle swoop down the river was an extra bonus! We are planning to come back next year!
Jun 12, 2014
The cabin was very nice but we found mounds of dog hair on the sleeper sofa matress in what we had booked a no pet cabin. The campground was great all around. Staff were great also. We were a little dissappointed we thought the cabin had access to the river but we still had a good time.
Jun 12, 2014
Not up to par as other koa parks we have camped at,
Jun 12, 2014
My wife and I stayed in one of the Deluxe Cabins, it was perfect! The staff was friendly, helpful, and there was always someone around! Thanks!
Jun 12, 2014
I was very pleased with the cabin. It was quiet, clean and everything worked, TV, AC, Heat, and plumbing. The cabin is small but I knew that going in. The outdoor layout was nice with a bit of privacy with small trees placed so you could sit outside without feeling like everyone was watching you. We will try to be back soon.
Jun 11, 2014
Your campground and the scenery in and around it are stunningly beautiful! Yesterday morning, my husband and I were fortunate enough to see a bald eagle going up the river, and then later on, return back down the river. We had a river front site and truly could have just spent our time watching the river go by! You truly are on the "Peaceful Side of the Smokies." We'll be back!
Jun 11, 2014
Very noisy place to stay. The road noise and people seem to drive thru the campground all night. Beware of the church people harassing you to come to their stupid activities that they're allowed to have on site. Also cramped camper sites.
Jun 11, 2014
Deluxe cabin exceeded our expectations, filled with many well-thought-out amenities.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.