Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 17, 2015
KOA Townsend/Great Smokies, TN is by far our favorite place to stay! Been coming here for years with our family and will continue to do so. ALL of the staff make you feel like family. The recently upgraded wifi tower is amazing. It reached our site with no issues. Thanks y'all for always making our stay fabulous! See ya in November!
Aug 17, 2015
Great place, very relaxing!!
Aug 17, 2015
Excellent accommodations. Professional staff. Clean.
Aug 17, 2015
This is the nicest campground in the Smokies. Very clean and sights are very nice.
Aug 17, 2015
Grandson loved the pool. We need water outlet for the camp sites near #125.
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
Always a great stay good wi fi upgrade
Aug 17, 2015
This campground was the best managed of any I have ever experienced. The staff was were professional and accommodated all of our needs.
Aug 17, 2015
I have normally had a great time at the KOA. But with all your price increases it is becoming more difficult to justify the extra money for your facilities. I had a electric and water site only and it was still around 72 dollars a night to stay. The first time i stayed at the one in townsend tennessee about 2 years ago it was only around 56 dollars a nigh.
Aug 17, 2015
This KOA has become somewhat overpriced. We have friends that we have camped with many years that are planning some 2016 functions at other locations due to some feeling they cannot afford the KOA any longer. With many other options in the area at 30% to 40% less. We stayed on a site without sewer priced at $72.00 a night. Seriously you should consider changing your name to The Marriott. VALUE???
Aug 17, 2015
One rude lady at front desk .i am going to cancel other res. unless she is relocated . If I owned koa she would not work for me .call joe at 865 719 7626
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 16, 2015
This campground is beyond awesome. The entire camping areas were extremely clean as was the entire campground. The entire staff went above and beyond to be helpful. It is without a doubt the best KOA campground we have visited. It truly embraces the true spirit you expect to find at a KOA!!!!! Thank you for a terrific visit!!!
Aug 16, 2015
We had a great time. Only recommendation closer bathrooms.
Aug 16, 2015
Incredible campground so close to the park. We have visited many times and will be back. IMO, the best place to camp in the Smokeys. Mark and the crew are top shelf people.
Aug 16, 2015
Gregreat campground. Possibles the best I've been too! Clean, spacious service fast and extremely friendly. Great pool, river and tubing. Awesome!
Aug 16, 2015
Very disappointed in our stay. We had a problem with a local wood seller and thought that KOA handled it poorly. We canceled the remainder of our stay and moved to another local campground. It also changed our minds about a two week stay next year with our son and his family.
Aug 16, 2015
Was very nice there was a little road noise sites were smaller then we're used to but the patio area and fireplace ring were very nice
Aug 15, 2015
The campground was beautiful, and very clean. The staff were friendly and helpfu. Our only complaint was the new stone fire pit ( we were on one of the lots with the new patios and fire pits). The pit was fairly deep and had no holes for ventilation so it was VERY difficult to get a campfire going. I hope this will be corrected before our next stay.
Aug 15, 2015
Absolutely beautiful spot. Close to the mountains if that is what you want to explore.
Aug 15, 2015
Very quiet and clean. Staff was extremely friendly. Loved having laundry facilities
Aug 14, 2015
Great stay as usual! This was our 3rd one this year and we have 3 more coming up !
Aug 14, 2015
The grounds are beautiful & the staff nice. Our only disappoint was the stench from the port a potties across from our site. They were cleaned on Monday.. but all weekend in the high heat the smell was awful at our site and tubers from the river kept cutting through our site to use them. They need to be cleaned more often especially at the hottest point on Summer & with campers and tubers using
Aug 14, 2015
Aug 14, 2015
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Campground was well maintained and very clean.
Aug 13, 2015
Wonderful as always! Been coming here for over 20 years and it just keeps getting better and better.
Aug 13, 2015
We loved the koa in Townsend we have 3 boys from the age of 13 to 6 there was something to do for every one. Bathrooms were always clean and the customer service was wonderful.
Aug 13, 2015
great will do it again
Aug 12, 2015
We enjoyed our cabin and couldn't have asked for anything else
Aug 12, 2015
The new campsites are great. More like home. Not so close to your neighbor. The only complaint is the water pressure in the evenings. At times it would almost go off. Very clean campground.
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
Aug 12, 2015
We stayed in a cabin and really enjoyed it. It was a last minute decision to go and well worth it. Clean.
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 11, 2015
Would give 5 stars but most of staff are not very pet friendly and say some nasty things about pets even though we clean up after ours. Some were nice but a few were not. Most campers bring their pets, that is why they camp. Need to be more pet friendly to the campers.
Aug 11, 2015
We really enjoyed the stay. It is right on the river and great fun for the kids. The only negative was the porta potty next to our campsite. Really smelly. Not Good. Really need to fix the problem.
Aug 11, 2015
Always a great time at KOA Townsend. The campground is clean. The campsites are awesome and the staff is the best in the business. We can't wait to come back in a couple weeks
Aug 11, 2015
we camp here at the koa in townsend at least twice a year and enjoy it greatly. Always clean and nice staff. We recently came over to the campground just for the day to enjoy the river and facilities. We were astonished that we were still charged full nightly rates just for day use. Park was not full and could understand if it was. we paid almost 100 hundred dollars for 6 of us. Wont do it again!!
Aug 10, 2015
The Townsend KOA is a beautiful campground. However the nightly rate is way too high. This trip we were accosted by a female employee because we were not using the KOA rental tubes, we brought our own but apparently she thought we rented them elsewhere. Either way, she could use some soft skills training.
Aug 10, 2015
My wife and our little Silky Terror (lol) love staying at KOA's because they are all AOK! This has to be the best KOA we have stayed at. Thanks for the great time and the friendliest staff we have ever seen. Also thanks to Craig! Great Job Guys! Jeff and Catie "Camping with Vengeance!"
Aug 10, 2015
Great campground next to the Smokies. The kabins were great with a mini fridge and TV. Water outside the kabin was a big plus.
Aug 10, 2015
great camp ground , clean, nice patios the host were outstanding..
Aug 10, 2015
What we liked most was that the campground was mostly families, quiet with just enough activities to keep kids entertained not so much stuff to overload the whole reason why you go camping anyway.
Aug 10, 2015
Lots of shade with a river to play in!
Aug 10, 2015
Restrooms had been renovated since my last stay here....Very....very clean. Camping cabins also as comfortable as ever. All KOA employees very kind....Have been at Townsend many times and will continue to visit them!
Aug 09, 2015
Everything was really very good. We had a problem with an aggressive dog but the staff did everything they could to alleviate the problem.
Aug 07, 2015
Wonderful people, clean bathroom facility and very accommodating.
Aug 07, 2015
We where only there for one night but really liked the patio. We will be back when we can stay longer.
Aug 07, 2015
best campground ever!!!! will return over and over again. loved our campsite. customer service ok laundry need AC but it was a place that we will go again
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps