Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2016
Stay was great! Lots for kids to do...all ages 6 - 60. Staff was always helpful and happy. Although it was not overly crowded during our stay, I would not want to be there when all sites were filled.
Aug 01, 2016
One of the best KOA campgrounds that we have ever stayed at. We will definitely stay here again.
Aug 01, 2016
We had a wonderful get-a-way! The last time we visited the Townsend KOA, my daughter was a baby. Now she is 8 and she had the best time swimming and meeting new friends. We loved all the kids' activities!
Aug 01, 2016
The only negative was not understanding how I was charged for extra people. I had to call the office. She explained that was how they had to enter the charges. Still was very confusing! All else was great!
Aug 01, 2016
Stayed in a cabin. Facility was very clean. The campground was clean. Enjoyed that they offered a gas grill with the cabin. Staff was friendly
Aug 01, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
Jul 31, 2016
We are very pleased with our stay. We will definitely be back next year to stay longer and in a bigger cabin. We appreciate the hospitality. Family memories made.
Jul 30, 2016
We are return visitors and love how friendly the staff is and how clean and well kept the campground is!
Jul 30, 2016
The younger workers are very nice and friendly, but the older office workers and ground keepers are not friendly at all! Very disappointed with them!
Jul 30, 2016
We brought our granddaughters , one from Fl, one from Ar with us. They had a blast. Your pool area was clean, and the bath house was as nice as we've seen! We will be back. Thank you for your hospitality! The Uzzel's
Jul 30, 2016
Friendly, helpful staff. Fun events for the kids. Clean facilities. Loved everything about our stay!!!!
Jul 30, 2016
Tons of hornets!! 2 stung my grandbaby and the staff was on top of the problem right away! Thanks!
Jul 30, 2016
Very nice area! Great scenery!maybe add some stepping stones & tiny dim lights for "barefoot" pathway to bathrooms. Everything was Clean and bathrooms / showers were "First Class!" The River and pool were Beautiful! O will be back!
Jul 29, 2016
This a great KOA. I especially like the family-firendly atmosphere, including the activities for children at the pavilion in the mornings and evenings. The manager is on top of everything and makes sure things are working properly. The staff are very freindly and helpful.
Jul 29, 2016
The entire staff was very friendly and helpful. Even the younger ones! Quite impressed with the staff. Campground was well taken care of and clean. Sites were a little tight but very nice. Campground is located very close to park. This is a get place to stay when you want to be away from the crowd of Gatlinburg/Pigeon forge but be close to the park. I will definitely be going back.
Jul 29, 2016
We loved our stay in the campgrounds. The grounds are nice and the river is the best! We will be back.
Jul 28, 2016
Clean, spread out, and beautifully placed on the river. Very nice facilities. Great staff. Outstanding location to access the Smokies without dealing with the throngs of people entering the park from Gatlinburg.
Jul 28, 2016
We had a great weekend in a cabin on the river! We especially loved watching all the tubes go by. I can definitely say we will be back again soon.
Jul 28, 2016
Jul 28, 2016
Love love this campground!!!
Jul 28, 2016
Awesome
Jul 27, 2016
You must have gotten new management. Was better before. No one patrolled in the evening like before. My neighbors had many visitors that were loud and stayed until 1 am for a few nights. My truck nearly got hit and I was blocked in my site and couldn't get anyone to move for me. Other than those few inconveniences I like this campground and have been going here for many years.Bring back how it was
Jul 27, 2016
Rates are expensive for creek side cabins. Can't use multiple discounts.
Jul 27, 2016
Nice camp in wooded area. Very close to Cades Cove. Staff very helpful. Dump station in bad location
Jul 27, 2016
Clean, beautiful sites, & friendly helpful staff.
Jul 26, 2016
Me and my family have been coming there for 16 years. We love it! It is awesome!
Jul 26, 2016
Loved our stay in Townsend. Everyone was very friendly and loved the campground. Having the river at our doorstep was amazing. Tubing was a big highlight. Liked being on the quiet side of the Smokies. Easy to drive over to the hustle and bustle when we wanted to. We will be back.
Jul 26, 2016
We enjoyed our visit. The staff was friendly and helpful. The campground was clean. We loved the river and access available to all campers not just riverfront campers. The pool and tube rentals was nice as well. We didn't participate in the planned activities but it was nice to know they were available.
Jul 26, 2016
Townsend is my absolute favorite campground. I have camped there for 8 years and during all seasons. Friendliness surrounds you as soon as you enter the park. The location of this park is most convenient for a day in the Smokies. Clean, friendly,and convenient, the perfect trifecta!
Jul 25, 2016
Beautiful place. Can't wait to come back.
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
The best part of this campground is the river! The campground is situated along the riverbank with several campsites and cabins overlooking the river. There are a few places you can get in the river with your tube, float or chair to relax or float. If you rent a tube at the campground through Cowboy Tubin' they will pick you up further down the river and shuttle you back to the KOA.
Jul 25, 2016
Excellent facilities and friendly staff
Jul 25, 2016
Great setting! Great people! We make a point to come here each summer to meet up with family and friends. Always a wonderful time!
Jul 25, 2016
Great place to stay! Staff was friendly and cabins clean. Worth every penny! We always camped at Cades Cove, but will only camp at KOA now.
Jul 25, 2016
We love the Townsend KOA!!! I can't say enough good things about the park and staff. They always go above and beyond to make sure everyone is happy and safe! We look forward to visiting again in the fall!!
Jul 25, 2016
Love the campground and the location - needs more parking!!
Jul 24, 2016
Wonderful campground. 4th year we have taken grandkids camping there and they love it!
Jul 24, 2016
My kids love the pool area and river. The cabin spaces are way too small and not enough parking. We had told them had two vehicles and on our last night they made us move one across the street... we checked out a day early due to this issue not being resolved by management. We stay with koa usually 2 times a year. But probably not be back to Townsend due to this issue.
Jul 24, 2016
Cabin clean, staff helpful and friendly.
Jul 23, 2016
Family gathering & perfect place!
Jul 23, 2016
Nice, clean campground with a float rivrr.
Jul 23, 2016
We enjoyed it very much. The staff was very accommodating. We'll probably be back next year
Jul 22, 2016
Had a great stay. Loved our spot on the river.The day camp is wonderful, the kids loved it. Everything about the place is wonderful!!!!!
Jul 22, 2016
fun fun fun
Jul 21, 2016
Great time but too pricy.
Jul 21, 2016
Everyone was nice and helpful. The hours on the pool and playground were perfect since we arrived late.
Jul 21, 2016
We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff was so helpful and friendly. First time campers and was amazed how attentive KOA staff was. We will definitately stay here again. The bath facilities were clean and close enough. We enjoyed the campground vibe. The pool, biking, the hay ride it made the trip great. Our family had three spots and we just had the best vacation. Very impressed!!!!!
Jul 21, 2016
Beautiful clean quiet park near the Smokies. Friendly office staff. Wonderful pool and river!!! Definitely coming back!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award