Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 25, 2015
Had great time
Jul 25, 2015
Wonderful!!
Jul 25, 2015
Wonderful staff, clean restrooms! Great place to stay!
Jul 24, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at this KOA.
Jul 24, 2015
Jul 23, 2015
Always a great stay!
Jul 22, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
We love this campground. It has become an "annual retreat" for our entire family. The owners are making some great improvements.
Jul 21, 2015
Facility and cabins were great. Some stuff was great and appreciated us as Guests. Some staff acted as if we were lucky to be staying here and were generally rude.
Jul 21, 2015
Townsend/Great Smokies, TN is one of the best KOAs we have ever stayed at. The staff are all exceedingly friendly, the pool was always clean and the activities in the pavilion were wonderful.
Jul 21, 2015
Like the campground but not happy with busy area our lot was in. Too much traffic with site. Fires were too close for lot sizes.
Jul 21, 2015
I enjoyed my stay but I would rather there be more space between the campsites. The sites were not even big enough to park your vehicle. Showers were great the cabin was small but comfortable but you could at least put a dead bolt lock on the door.
Jul 21, 2015
Had a very nice stay. The campground was clean and the staff friendly.
Jul 21, 2015
great
Jul 21, 2015
Wonderful and accommodating customer service! Only negative was the long walk to the bathrooms unless you wanted the porta-potties which were very dirty.
Jul 21, 2015
Had a great time , kids had a blast , the Bible day camp and family night fun was awesome !! Pool and bathrooms super clean ,all staff very friendly ,Def would stay again :)
Jul 21, 2015
The bathroom and showers need some kind of cooling system... love that they are roomy, but when you get out of the showers you are soaked with sweat before you can get dressed..
Jul 21, 2015
Amenities great. However too pricey for camping. Sites were extremely small. We had a hard time getting our trailer backed in and our truck still stuck out in the road. Plus they would let us camp near our friends because they were in a tent and we have a camper.
Jul 21, 2015
Jul 21, 2015
The employees were nice and courteous. The campsite was clean. The pool and playground was great for the kids. There were a few negatives. Our campsite was really cramped. Our neighbors were only 8 ft away. Not much for privacy. There was a sewer smell occasionally from somewhere. Possibly the septic tank lids that were behind our campsite.
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 20, 2015
Wonderful location - great campground and employees, too! The most relaxing vacation we have experienced in a long time!!!
Jul 20, 2015
It was very nice and the folks working there were nice and helpful
Jul 20, 2015
Great, family friendly campground!
Jul 20, 2015
Camping is good.I still think the price for tent camping is high.
Jul 20, 2015
A little cramped and the bathrooms could use a little more TLC. Other than that, nice place. Pool was great!
Jul 20, 2015
Seriously the best showers I have ever seen in a campground! Friendly people and accommodating to our late arrival. Nice pool, very clean, small but perfect for the kids, and warm! Right near the entrance to the Cades Cove, Smoky Mountain National Park.
Jul 20, 2015
We have camped here for many years always enjoy our stay
Jul 20, 2015
We stay there every year now for the last 5or6years its a birthday tradition my 6year old started and she want to go back every birthday she is now 12 any way we have never had any problems until this time our cabin had a very bad smell we finally found two piles of dog fecies under the bunk beds it was pretty bad but I didn't complain because my daughter didnt want tobe kicked out it was uncalled
Jul 20, 2015
Our first time ever camping was at the KOA - Great Smokies -definitely a relaxing, fun and enjoyable vacation! Our deluxe studio cabin was very clean and was presented in an excellent manor. The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful to newcomers like us! We biked beautiful Cades Cove and tubed down the cool Little River. We ended our vacation celebrating a little girl being water baptized!
Jul 20, 2015
Townsend Koa is a very nice campground the people there are always very helpful. They have lots of activities for the children.
Jul 20, 2015
Great family oriented campground. Plenty of things to keep the kids busy. If your looking for a place with great views close to the mountains and lots of kids and friendly adults this is the place.
Jul 20, 2015
Very nice campground, but seems rather expensive.
Jul 20, 2015
This is the third summer we have rented one of the two room cabins. We love everything about this place. The pool is clean and we enjoy the hayride and movie on Saturday night. My grandson told me this was the best place to be other than a Disney Cruise! :)
Jul 20, 2015
We stayed one night in a deluxe cabin. It was very clean! Next time would like to get one of the cabins close to the river.
Jul 19, 2015
Reserved site #59 was relocated to another location due to park site improvements. KOA should have notified me prior to arrival. New location was not what I wanted. However, site upgrades are excellent.
Jul 19, 2015
From the moment we arrived we were welcomed and greated by friendly staff. They were very helpful when the AC unit in my parents cabin was not working and gave us great advice about visiting the local area. We had a lovely deluxe cabin and completely enjoyed our stay. The only bad part was having to leave and return home to real life.
Jul 19, 2015
This was our second stay at this KOA. Seven years ago it was a great place, this year was even better. They did a lot of upgrades to the newly remodel campsites with nice table and chairs, paver patio, stone fire pits. We love the river out back for tubing and the location of this KOA in Townsend gives you a more natural stay, no hussle of a big city. The city is only 15 miles away and has it all.
Jul 19, 2015
We had a great time! The staff members were super friendly and always eager to accommodate the needs of the visitors! They were very proactive. Thanks for making our trip a memorable one!
Jul 19, 2015
great koa, clean and very friendly
Jul 19, 2015
Had a great time, air unit was out the first day. The 2nd day they spent 8 hours swapping it out. Thankful they did but with us only staying 2 days that was half our trip we were hot! I ask for a discount and was told they would call me but never did. I would like to return here next year but I feel they should make us whole again. Again, staff and campground was great and we did have fun.
Jul 19, 2015
We had a great time. Plan on staying there next time we go to the Smokies.
Jul 18, 2015
Campground is beautiful & clean. People are friendly. I have 1 concern. I was walking 2 small dogs. There were campers checking in and 1 pulled out & 1 behind pulled down. I saw the man who had been helping campers back in on a golfcart so I stepped into empty campsite to get out of way. As I did, dogs peed on grass. The man nicely said to contain the dogs to the dog area. That is far to take them
Jul 18, 2015
Upgrades were so nice; bigger sites, paver patio, and fire pit. Very nice workers and very clean campground. We would stay here again! Downsides; the wood sold to most people didn't burn and the garbage man came to empty the dumpster at 5:30 in the morning! : (
Jul 17, 2015
We absolutely LOVE your KOA!! This was our second time staying with you guys. We would definitely stay with you again if we come back to Tennessee. We will also tell all of our friends about you traveling this away. Your employees are so nice also! Nikki was wonderful to us!!
Jul 16, 2015
We left our site for the day and the staff took items from our campsite. We told the office but nothing was done. So we had to replace these items on the road. Also cleaning bathrooms from 1:00 to 3:00 PM was very inconvenient. Also price was too high in our opinion, even more than Pigeon Forge KOA.
Jul 16, 2015
Jul 16, 2015
Need better wifi. Suggestion to put wifi extenders around campground.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.