Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: (800) 562-3428

Info: (865) 448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Apr 13, 2014
Nice clean well maintained. Beautiful area/location
Apr 12, 2014
Fantastic little gem of a park! Beautiful scenery and great staff - especially Suzanne and Al! General Manager Mark is a great host!
Apr 11, 2014
Apr 11, 2014
Nice facility. We will be staying here a lot in the future.
Apr 09, 2014
Had a wonderful stay. As usual staff is so friendly and helpful.
Apr 09, 2014
Always excellent!
Apr 09, 2014
Apr 08, 2014
We had a wonderful time over the 4 days we stayed. Very clean and very friendly!! We can't wait to go back. We had some bad weather that moved in and the staff was very helpful in communicating where to go if we needed to and since the wi-if was hit or miss they made sure to keep everyone updated! Thankfully the weather didn't do much and we were able to continue our getaway Sonya and Daniel
Apr 07, 2014
Old campground but nice and clean. Workers seemed very nice and helpful.
Apr 07, 2014
Apr 07, 2014
A little pricey for such a minimal need stay....but clean, great staff, friendly and fun!
Apr 07, 2014
Apr 07, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our Kabin by the stream, awesome playground, very clean restrooms, friendly staff, and easy accessibility to the park. We'll be back!
Apr 07, 2014
Only one item I would like to see you put in ... in each shower stall have a shelf or rack installed that one can place item on while showering! Moving the curtain to get to items causes that area to get wet. Small but important issue!
Apr 07, 2014
I was a little nervous about it, I have had bad experiences with "cabins". But this cabin was fabulous!!! Just perfect for a weekend getaway. Looking forward to the next time!!
Apr 07, 2014
Apr 06, 2014
This was one of the best all around campgrounds we've been to. The views are excellent and you have all you need at your fingertips.
Apr 06, 2014
The 2 room cabin they gave us was VERY old and small for 5 of us. It is overpriced and they have stacked the cabins right next to each other. The restrooms are a very long dark walk to get to in the middle of the night. The wifi doesn't reach the cabins. The best part about this KOA is their location. In the past we stayed in a 2 room cabin on the river and enjoyed it very much.
Apr 06, 2014
We stayed in a practically new deluxe cabin. It was not bad for an overnight stay, not sure I would want long term stay. Here is my complaint, there is a $21.85 clean up charge for pets for staying one day or two weeks. No big deal for two weeks but hefty for one night. It is not published on website either! They said I should have called, then shut down the website. Don't like deception!
Apr 06, 2014
Great location and great service!
Apr 06, 2014
There really should be a restroom closer to the cabins on the river. Next time we will get a cabin closer to the pool. It is not easy having to go so far to use the restroom with young children.
Apr 05, 2014
Wonderful place; clean and friendly people. Nice facility
Apr 04, 2014
Apr 04, 2014
Location, location, location. Very close to GSMNP. 25 minutes to Pigeon Forge and 40 minutes to Knoxville.
Apr 03, 2014
Apr 01, 2014
Apr 01, 2014
We had an amazing time. The staff was so friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back.
Mar 31, 2014
Great staff, very friendly professional and accommodating. This KOA sets the standard for all others, great location and amenities. We will definitely be back!!
Mar 31, 2014
Mar 31, 2014
Great place, great people, great staff, great great
Mar 31, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff. I plan to return soon.
Mar 31, 2014
You guys are always great!! So helpful and thoughtful to my kids. I will always stay here with my family!!
Mar 31, 2014
Great location, clean and friendly staff.
Mar 30, 2014
We had an incredible time. Love the campground and staff!
Mar 29, 2014
Mar 29, 2014
Our 4 year old loved the playground.
Mar 28, 2014
Beautiful setting for the perfect mountain getaway! Love this KOA!
Mar 28, 2014
The managers and other workers in the store and office were great. Campsites are too small although I understand the need to have as many campsites as possible. We were so close we could hear the conversations inside the next camper.
Mar 27, 2014
Mar 27, 2014
My whole family had a great time. They were actually depressed that we had to leave. We will be back this summer to stay a whole week. Thank you!
Mar 26, 2014
When me and my son Tyler go on vacation. The one main thing is we don't want to have hassles with our camping experience. At KOA we never have to worry about anything. We are greeted with smiles. If theres any thing we need all we have to do is ask and we are taken care of. The best service one can get when camping is staying at KOA in Townsend TN. they made us feel as welcome as a family.
Mar 26, 2014
The riverfront was gorgeous and relaxing and we enjoyed our Friday so much! The new playground rocks!!! And when our family had an emergency situation the staff was so kind to accommodate us until we could take care or things. My husband said all the staff was genuine and concerned for us! Thank you all!
Mar 25, 2014
We have traveled a lot of places, but this is our favorite campground. Everything is always clean & they are constantly making upgrades to the campground. ALL of the staff is always so kind & helpful, especially Al & his wife!
Mar 25, 2014
This was by far one of the best camping trips our family has ever taken. Our site was beautiful and everything was very well kept and very clean. Can't wait to stay again!
Mar 25, 2014
we loved the dog park
Mar 25, 2014
Would not recommend the deluxe cabins on the creek. Constant flow of kids going through site to the creek and parents through site fetching their kids. Noisy, busy site, not for relaxing or privacy.
Mar 25, 2014
Mar 24, 2014
Great stay - weather could have been better ! Would give them 10 stars!
Mar 24, 2014
Everyone is friendly and helpful. Thanks for another great time! See you all this summer!
Mar 24, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.