Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Feb 16, 2017
Love this KOA. We live about 30 mins away so we go there as often as we can. CLEAN, updated, very friendly staff, nicely situated sites, convenient to many activities and lots for kids to do.
Feb 14, 2017
This is one of our favorite destinations. Just a lovely place. Staff go above and beyond to be helpful.
Feb 08, 2017
Absolutely beautiful campground! Everyone was super nice and accommodating! Definately will go again.
Feb 07, 2017
As usually, they knock it out of the park. Great facilities and a good value. It always feels familiar with each stay.
Feb 02, 2017
I had notated in my reservation that I would be a late arrival, but when I got there at around midnight no reservation package could be found. I had to look back into my email and find site # on confirmation and take a pic of map on office. Very cozy little campground and friendly staff. Beautiful site right on river.
Feb 01, 2017
Just a beautiful campground. Cabins are so well kept. My sister left her lights on and battery died. Your grounds staff was so helpful. Thank you,
Jan 24, 2017
Another great stay at the KOA Townsend. We stayed in a camping cabin on this trip and were very surprised on the cleanliness. Being on the river was great as well. Highly recommend.
Jan 24, 2017
Great place!
Jan 18, 2017
stayed in cabin and had a great time
Jan 17, 2017
It was WONDERFUL!!!!! Very quiet and satisfactory!!!!!
Jan 17, 2017
Facilities were beautiful! Trees peppered among the sites, new middle larger sites had cobblestone patio with raised fire pit and round table with 4 chairs (FANTASTIC), excellent playground area (we had children ages 8-11 that LOVED it), stream running through campsite, clean facilities, great staff!
Jan 17, 2017
This is by far the best KOA that my family has stayed in over the past few years!
Jan 17, 2017
We love this place! We had a tent site on the river and love to hear the water at night. Went hiking and horse-back riding nearby. Staff is always friendly, and the store is great for anything we forgot (we always do!)
Jan 16, 2017
Jan 16, 2017
These cabins are well maintained in a beautiful area. Would highly recommend.
Jan 16, 2017
Had a great site on the river #78. Sites are right on top of each other so don't go into it looking for peace and quite. They need another bathhouse at the back right of the campground. The only one closest to us was closed for renovation and for what you pay to stay here a Porta potty was not ideal for the whole weekend. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Jan 14, 2017
Enjoyed the beautiful location and the snow. Friendly staff and excellent facilities. Can't wait for my next adventure.
Jan 10, 2017
Another great vacation! The staff is amazing and the campgrounds are well kept. Great experience - Again!
Jan 07, 2017
For the third year in a row my wife and I enjoyed our deluxe cabin accommodations at the KOA Townsend TN. The facilities are clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly & obliging.
Jan 07, 2017
Except for some loud and rude campers, (AKA: Tail gating crowd) between Christmas and new years we enjoyed our stay for the month. The sites are too close together. When people build giant fires your RV and vehicle are loaded with ash.
Jan 06, 2017
The deluxe cabin was incredible - beyond my expectations. The cabin and the campground were clean, and the staff was very friendly. Definitely recommend this place!
Jan 06, 2017
Nice little cabins right on the creek. Beautiful view.
Jan 06, 2017
Loved your camp ground. Will. E back
Jan 05, 2017
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jan 04, 2017
Tight uneven spaces, noisey. The most expensive KOA in the East and not worth it.
Jan 04, 2017
Awesome campsites. Staff goes out of their way to make your stay great. We have stayed three times and plan many more.
Jan 04, 2017
Love this place we come here at least twice a year. We stay in the campground and in the cabins. The staff here is awesome. This is my favorite KOA.
Jan 04, 2017
We stayed in a cabin and it was great. We will be back!
Jan 04, 2017
Nice place. .but THEY had to move us from our original space we had reserved due to their upgrades. And charged us higher fees for site they moved us to.
Jan 04, 2017
First of all the cabin was very cold...it had two small heating strips that were not sufficient for the temperature outside...it had a HORRIBLE bed...I don't know where they got this bed, but it was VERY POOR QUALITY! And, one of the legs was broken...After driving 560 miles, we called the number to speak to someone to ck in and the lady was not friendly at all! We had drove around 11 hours!
Jan 04, 2017
Great stay as always!
Jan 03, 2017
We love the KOA in Townsend, TN We have been staying there for the last 6 years.
Jan 03, 2017
Great staff....friendly and helpful. Thank you for another great vacation.
Jan 03, 2017
Great location, extremely welcoming and helpful staff. We'll definitely return.
Jan 03, 2017
We had a great time
Jan 03, 2017
Only stayed 2 nights and were not at campground much, but the time we were there it was great, clean and very friendly.
Jan 03, 2017
extremely helpful staff.
Jan 03, 2017
Stayed over New Years 2016 and had a great time, really nice campground and wonderful hosts!
Jan 03, 2017
We had a great experience here. It was our 1st time to stay in the Townsend KOA and we will be back. I love hearing the river flowing by while we sat around the fire pit (I know, sounds like an ad for a date or something). The sites were very well kept up and many had a paver-pad and rock fire pit. We will sure be back for another trip to the Great Smokey Mountains and will stay here.
Jan 03, 2017
Quiet and comfortable. We had a 2 room cabin: very clean and almost completely met our needs. Wish the bath house had not been so far away. We were very pleasantly surprised to have a tv and fridge in the cabin! Bonus :)
Jan 03, 2017
We will always return to Townsend KOA. The staff is amazing there and always makes us feel at home. The lady at the front desk always gives us the best deal and the guys take great care of the grounds. I even lost my bill fold and they gladly returned it to me and kept it safe, until I arrived.
Jan 03, 2017
Best koa around love this place
Jan 02, 2017
Although the stay was great. I was extremely disappointed that KOA did not adhere to the winter special discount for my families stay. My family have been frequent campers at the Townsend location for over 20 years. In future circumstances, the staff should adhere to KOA discount policy and not change discount rates due to negligence or at worst an attempt to capitalize on the recent fires
Jan 02, 2017
Jan 02, 2017
It was nice except that the power went out in cabin DC10. Also the K-cup coffee maker didn't work before that. This was my in-laws cabin so they were not impressed by their 1st stay @ KOA. 1st impressions are long lasting. We have stayed before so we accept problems but...
Jan 02, 2017
Everything about our stay was wonderful!
Jan 02, 2017
The staff was very friendly and always ready to help in anyway. Everything was very clean, and a great place for a family.
Jan 02, 2017
We love this KOA. We arrived on Christmas Day and left on New Year's Day. As always, it was quiet and peaceful. The main bath house was closed for the winter season but a smaller bath house was available. The only negative was that they were closed when we arrived and they had not left my info on the door as promised. Thankfully I knew the number of the site we had reserved so it was no problem.
Jan 02, 2017
This was the first time we have visited this KOA we enjoyed ourselves with our two small kids.
Jan 02, 2017
The campgrounds were under construction & had the large bath house closed. Which let only 2 showers for the entire camp ground with no mention on line about the inconvenience. I stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin with no bathroom, which is nice, but I could not lock my door at night, which was unsettling. Also a microwave would be nice. Take down the molded pictures & replace them with a mirror.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award

Camp for $10 on May 13!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps