Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 20, 2017
One of the best campgrounds we ever stayed at. Everything was very clean and well kept. Would always stay here when in the area.
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
Wonderful staff and flat out the nicest campground we go to.
Aug 19, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful. Adam was great. The campgrounds and restrooms were clean.
Aug 19, 2017
Loved our river-bank, full hookup site! Craig's help with trailer placement was wonderful and critical for us on that particular site. Campground was spotless and employees were friendly, helpful and available. We enjoyed the store, fudge and ice cream shops several times along with the 'tubers' floating past. This KOA is exceptional and LOCATION, location, location! We will be back!!
Aug 19, 2017
Had a great time. Stayed in cabin on the Little River. Fantastic. Cabin was great and much cleaner than most hotels.
Aug 17, 2017
Jimbo, his wife, and everyone else were so so very nice and great !!!
Aug 17, 2017
Had a great time. The staff is so helpful and friendly. Treated us like family.
Aug 16, 2017
Always a great stay at our favorite local campground. Great staff, well run
Aug 15, 2017
We had a fire dish instead of a fire ring which was difficult to cook on. Bath houses were HOT, no air conditioners in them and 86 degrees outside. We felt at $115.00 a night was a bit pricey. The campground was beautiful. Landscaped beautifuly. Staff was very helpful.
Aug 15, 2017
We will deffently be back.
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Excellent location, great wi-fi throughout the campground. The kamping kabin was in very good shape and was very spacious. I would highly recommend this location.
Aug 14, 2017
As always, we had another great stay this year! This year made fifteen years at this campground. Nice to see familiar faces year after year, as well as meeting new ones. Mark you are running a great campground with great friendly employees! CC7 was a good location, looking forward to next year. See ya then!
Aug 14, 2017
We were in lot 85 which was extremely narrow. Could not even get awning to full extension without hitting a tall bush. I thought your rates were extremely high. $96 is way over priced for that lot. For those reasons we will probably not be back to KOA in Townsend Tn.
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Always a great experience, staff are always helpful.
Aug 14, 2017
We've been coming to KOA for several years,we always have a great time. The only thing I could say is the couch bed was trouble for both our cabins. One wouldn't stay blown up and the other one had a mattress that was really to thin. But overall a great place!
Aug 14, 2017
Campground very loud with heavy machinery running through property every day. Could not hold a conversation outside camper. The price here is the most I've ever paid for a campsite. The price will probably exclude us from ever staying here again. You can stay beachfront for half the price.
Aug 14, 2017
The place was quiet friendly and clean. Will come again.
Aug 14, 2017
We have stayed at the KOA Townsend twice now and thoroughly enjoyed both visits. Besides the beautiful scenery and great amenities, the KOA has the best staff in town. The staff makes the place, it really does. EVERYONE there is always eager to help out and get you what you need, with a smile on their face. You can tell they care and want to make it right. We will back again soon.
Aug 14, 2017
Other than the rain (which no one could do anything about), we had a WONDERFUL stay. The campground staff were phenomenal; every one of them. Our tent site was perfect. We'll definitely be back.
Aug 13, 2017
Best place around!
Aug 13, 2017
The staff was totally amazing. We were on our 1st night of honeymoon it was terrible down pour with a tent. They gave us a free upgrade to a cabin and had no idea who or why we were there. Thank you from upstate NY
Aug 12, 2017
Best campground ever.
Aug 11, 2017
We had a great stay!!! We will be back!
Aug 11, 2017
We rented 2 deluxe cabins and a campsite. The cabins were very nice, but it was stretching it to advertise a 6 person cabin that only slept 4 comfortably. When the sofas were open you could not open the front doors or pass by to get to the rest of the cabin. There was kitchenware for 4 instead of 6 (plates,cups,etc.)The well-groomed grounds and amenities were wonderful. We enjoyed our stay.
Aug 11, 2017
It was absolutely amazing! Such a beautiful and clean campground. Staff was extremely friendly. We can't wait to go back!
Aug 11, 2017
Gorgeous !! Wish we could have stayed longer :)
Aug 11, 2017
I love this campground- Great people! Great facilites! I am concerned that more and more river rafters kept coming on my site-' And acted like it was theirs! Even people camping at KOA kept coming on our site... Otherwise, best camping spot ever!
Aug 10, 2017
Exceptional staff, great location, amenities were perfect for our family. Having the gas station and store were an added bonus. Only complaint is campsites extremely close to the point of uncomfortable and intrusive to your neighbors. The concierge service provided by grounds staff was something we've not experienced before and we loved it. We will book another stay at this location.
Aug 10, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
I love this KOA. It's beautiful, family friendly, convenient for bike riding and a great atmosphere. The only small issue I had with our deluxe cabin stay were some supplies missing but the staff was quick to resolve. There was a pretty bad ant issue with the cabin which I didn't address directly with the staff since we were "camping" but I just tried to make sure open items were bagged tight.
Aug 09, 2017
When my family arrived we found our deluxe cabin more the week had hoped for and the staff was very helpful and the campground itself was very quite we have found our new tradition I do believe
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
We loved the campground. So many activities for the kids to do! The staff was exceptional. My only wish is that there were more lower river sites to accommodate our 33 foot camper!! Can't wait to come back!!!
Aug 09, 2017
We loved Townsend. Quiet compared to Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge yet close enough to drive over. The campground is very small/tight so parking was limited/tight because they use every amount of space for tents. Even had a tent in front of our yard, making parking harder. The bathrooms/showers were clean/nice. Cabin was clean. Beds were soft compared to others. Will stay again but in deluxe by river.
Aug 09, 2017
The Playground, Pool, basketball court, Pet Walk, the River, the facilities, the people, the sites.....I mean! Our stay has been Absolutely Serene. The Staff was so Helpful and talk about Friendly. Special shout out to Staff Member, Adam (His smile was Infectious). Beautiful area. Will definitely be booking here, for future stays!!! Walked entire park, made notes of sites for our next visit(s)!
Aug 08, 2017
Beautiful campground. We always love staying there. We were there on July 4th, and it was VERY busy! We stayed on the river and people were constantly walking and running through our campsite. We were OK with this, but if noise and children running through your spot all day bothers you, pick a site that is not right on the water.
Aug 07, 2017
Have been staying there every summers for 10 years and booked our 11th before we left. Love the campground.
Aug 07, 2017
The staff is very nice and helpful. Very well maintained with very nice camp sites. We will be staying at this campground again and will definitely recommend it.
Aug 07, 2017
We really enjoyed our camping trip at the Townsend KOA. The improvements that have been made are great especially the new bathrooms, landscaping, extra sewer sites and the public access to the river. All employees are very nice and are knowledgeable about the area.
Aug 07, 2017
The ideal campground. Great locale, great management, great staff and great layout.
Aug 07, 2017
The staff is really friendly. When we arrived the person who took us to our site was very helpful. He made sure that we were in our site and guided us in. Everyone th r e us friendly. And the showers are very clean. We enjoyed our stay there.
Aug 07, 2017
We love the mountains and this is our favorite campground. They have all that we look for in a campground!
Aug 07, 2017
Really like this campground. It's a peaceful and relaxing place to stay. No hustle like the other side of the Smokies.
Aug 07, 2017
Beautiful location! Our spot was a little tight to fit in, but the workers assisted us with backing in which was a great help! Just a little pricey compared to the other places we have stayed. Our son loved the playground! We will be coming back in the future!
Aug 07, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award