Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 30, 2015
Jun 30, 2015
All KOA employees were very friendly and helpful with every question or request that we had.
Jun 30, 2015
We loved it
Jun 29, 2015
Incredible as always,friendly staff and great facilities. We have already booked again.
Jun 29, 2015
As always, great staff and great campground. Always clean and lots to do. Thanks again for a great experience!
Jun 29, 2015
Beautiful campground, friendly staff, clean cabin, very close to National Park, kids loved the pool and easy access to river, have stayed here multiple times and will definitely stay again.A head's up, if you stay in Deluxe Cabins 1-6, some campers use these sites as a walking path to take a short cut to other sites, which can be frustrating sometimes.Overall, still a great stay!
Jun 29, 2015
We love camping here, PLEASE make some improvements to the off leash dog area! Water for one, making sure poop bags are always full, better places to sit would be nice and trash empty. Love the new sites!
Jun 29, 2015
Wonderful ,friendly staff! Clean park. Lots of fun things to do!
Jun 29, 2015
Great KOA. We really enjoyed our weekend there.
Jun 29, 2015
Beautiful campground and everyone was very friendly and helpful.
Jun 29, 2015
Great week. Extremely helpful staff.
Jun 29, 2015
My son and I had a great weekend despite challenging weather. The KOA team really do all they can to make our stays highly enjoyable. Thanks!
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
We had a great time at this KOA! It was our first experience staying at a KOA and we will be back again. I am giving this review 5 stars because overall everything was great. I would recommend to the staff that the portable toilet facilities are cleaned out more often. I don't mind using one, but we had to walk to the bath facilities due to them being so full.
Jun 29, 2015
Enjoyed the easy access to river and pool was great!
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
Very well run campground. Great staff. ONE SUGGESTION. Same as last year......the garbage truck entered the campground at 5:57 a.m. The noise surely woke up everyone. Having negotiated contracts with waste management companies, I can tell you that they will agree to start later. In my hometown we require pickups to begin no earlier than 7:00.
Jun 29, 2015
Jun 29, 2015
Our family took advantage of a full hook up on the river, a tent site and a cabin. The experience was great! Very friendly and helpful staff. Enjoyed the river and pool most of the day. Great location. Peaceful setting. Cabin was excellent! Bathhouse was clean and comfortable.
Jun 28, 2015
Disappointed that the bathrooms are so far from many campsites. Had to use port-o-johns, especially in the middle of the night. Campsites are close together and there is no central place for dishes. Also, gravel road and gravel campsites are difficult for riding bikes and uncomfortable for walking.
Jun 28, 2015
As always, staff very friendly and grounds in great shape. Pool was cloudy one day but didnt stop kids from a great swim. Thank you for a wonderful week camping with grand kids. Ps..showers look great and bathrooms Always well stocked!!
Jun 28, 2015
We loved it. If we're in the area again, we'll definitely stay again.
Jun 27, 2015
Had another great stay, just missed the shade from the large tree that was cut. Everyone was friendly and our stay enjoyable. Wil be back in July!
Jun 27, 2015
Love this place will definitely be back been coming for 30 years now
Jun 27, 2015
Staff was VERY friendly and helpful. Location was just far enough away from the busy Gatlinburg area.
Jun 27, 2015
We loved staying here! Our two small children had a blast on their first camping trip which really made our stay. The playground was great fun for them, although it is geared toward older children than my 1.5 and 2.5 year olds. The pool and close access to the river kept us cooled off. The bath houses were well maintained and clean despite the amount of people in the campground. We will be back!
Jun 27, 2015
Everyone was very helpful and nice had a wonderful time thank you so much
Jun 27, 2015
Nice. Clean cabin. The grandkids and I enjoyed it very much!
Jun 27, 2015
Jun 26, 2015
Bathrooms clean, staff friendly, Trash dumpsters needed to be dumped for several days, but overall a nice place to stay.
Jun 26, 2015
Every site is a great site! Love camping here!
Jun 26, 2015
Cabin was great. Staff was extremely friendly. We would love to come back and stay again.
Jun 26, 2015
We rented a "Deluxe Cabin" which turned out to be really nice. A little pricey but very clean and neat. The campground itself is one of the best we've seen.
Jun 25, 2015
They are very friendly and very helpful wirh our trailer had a blown fuse they worked with us to get it going!!!
Jun 25, 2015
Awesome campground with amazing service!
Jun 25, 2015
Love all the improvements over last year--more full hookups! Staff so VERY helpful - thanks, Sarge et al!
Jun 25, 2015
The staff is friendly and grounds well kept. Facilities were on par with 4 star hotels.
Jun 25, 2015
It was a great place to stay The breaker flipped in bathroom lights went out. We called was the fastest service we have ever had. Everyone was super nice. Love the cabin was very peaceful place to stay.
Jun 24, 2015
The cabin was fine but the bathroom was dirty with splatters and need to clean so my girlfriend cleaned before we used it the mirror was dirty floors dirty toilet was dirty
Jun 24, 2015
This is the second time my family has been here. We had a wonderful time. Only disappointment was that I booked on line and thought I was getting a river front cabin, but did not. For future reference you need to confirm via phone if you want a river front cabin.
Jun 24, 2015
As always we were not disappointed. Restrooms and showers were very clean and well kept. All of the campground was very clean. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jun 24, 2015
Wonderful campground. Access to river and Cades Cove, family programs and friendly staff and management are all outstanding!
Jun 24, 2015
Jun 24, 2015
Tent site was a great size and showers and bathrooms were always clean.
Jun 24, 2015
Always fun each time we stay. Thanks!
Jun 23, 2015
Was perfect. Rates are a bit high now.
Jun 23, 2015
The KOA in townsend is a great campground to stay at every one there is nice,and would help you with anything that you needed.Been staying at it for many years now,me & my wife love it!!!!!
Jun 23, 2015
The improvements that were made are stunning and really improved the campground. I would suggest better internet (where I was there was no internet) And more comfort stations with showers. Will definitely return to this campground.
Jun 23, 2015
We had a great time. The employees are friendly and helpful and the facilities are top notch. We will definately be staying here again.
Jun 23, 2015
This was our first stay at this campground and couldn't be more pleased. Staff was friendly and helpful, campground was clean and well kept, and there were a lot of amenities. The river was a huge plus also! We will definitely be back.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.