Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 29, 2015
Great experience! The staff were excellent! Great location!
Aug 28, 2015
It was absolutely wonderful. Best campground I have ever stayed in.
Aug 28, 2015
Love the pool, cabin was great, really liked the fenced dog area. Staff was friendly. We will definitely return. After this visit we are looking at koa cabins in other areas
Aug 28, 2015
Great spot on the river. I wish we could have stayed longer.
Aug 27, 2015
what a great place. So peaceful we come back every year!
Aug 27, 2015
wonderful !
Aug 27, 2015
Thats the better Koa
Aug 27, 2015
KOA PROPRE ET SUPER BIEN ÉQUIPÉ UN MODÈLE À SUIVRE POUR ÉTABLIR DES STANDARDS ÉLEVÉS DE TOUT KOA 9.9 / 10 car il y beaucoup de koa à visiter mais celui vi vaut le détour et l'arrêt aurions aimé allongé notre séjour Félicitations à toute l,équipe pour accueil et les informations touristiques
Aug 26, 2015
Wonderful staff and location. Cabins and shower/bathrooms very clean. Love it here!
Aug 26, 2015
Aug 25, 2015
Really a beautiful KOA. Staff was incredibly friendly, bathrooms were immaculate. I have a shower in my rv, but i used their showers, they were so very nice. The river beside this KOA is worth every penny of the cost. It is a perfect mountain rv site. Nice biking trail right across the street. My family and I cannot wait to return!
Aug 25, 2015
This campground has to be the best KOA we have ever visited. The entire staff was friendly, helpful, and showed they actually enjoyed their job. One employee stood out Sarge who was on top of cleaning up the sites soon as everyone left and running the hay ride. Seems like we saw him helping all over the place and was very friendly.
Aug 24, 2015
Second year we have stayed there. Very clean deluxe cabin and nice staff. Love the location to the park. The Sat. eve movie was great. Have made reservation for next year.
Aug 24, 2015
We had a great time and booked for next year!
Aug 24, 2015
We have been coming to Townsend KOA for the past 6-7 years. The only negative review for this past trip is that we schedule a year in advance each trip, upon check in we were told our site was recently upgraded with sewer which meant it would be camper only but since we reserved last year we could stay there but would be charged the higher rate than what it was when reserved, I feel we should not.
Aug 24, 2015
We stayed in site 123. Simply put, this is the best camp site I have ever stayed in. The trees and the stream were simply wonderful. The campground was extremely clean including the bathrooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will only stay at this campground in our future trips to the Smokies.
Aug 24, 2015
One of the best campgrounds we have stayed in.
Aug 24, 2015
We had a site on the river and loved it! The staff is great and the campground is so clean. We didn't get to stay long enough. We will be back!
Aug 24, 2015
Quiet, Clean, Beatifully landscaped, lovely pool. Enjoyed it very much.
Aug 24, 2015
We realize it was near the end of the family vacation season and the park was very crowded and noisy. And, due to the bad economy, some of the parks are almost half full of resident families (due to no fault of their own). But the late night traffic noise rules need to be adhered to and enforced, no matter the circumstances. We were parked right up front, near the gate and didn't get much sleep.
Aug 24, 2015
Amazing upgrades to the sites. We are super pleased, as always, with our Townsend KOA.
Aug 24, 2015
Daisy is simply great, always makes the visit more fun with her friendly banter.
Aug 24, 2015
The campground was very clean and well kept. I loved how many mature trees there were. However, the tent spots were very small and our neighbors were extremely loud.
Aug 24, 2015
The Townsend/Great Smokies KOA rates among the best that I have ever stayed at. I am a return visitor and plan to keep returning. It is always clean as can be. The showers are better than mine at home and the staff is incredibly helpful. This doesn't even begin to cover how beautiful this area of the Country is - you couldn't stay in a prettier place - VERY peaceful!
Aug 23, 2015
Aug 23, 2015
This campground is excellent. Staff is fantastic. Very very clean. Deluxe cabins are great.the stars above should be great not poor. Best campground ever. I tell everyone about it. Location awesome.
Aug 23, 2015
Have stay there the last 4 times. Great place. Friendly staff.
Aug 23, 2015
All the staff were very personable. Baths,Showers and Grounds very clean
Aug 22, 2015
We stayed in a deluxe cabin. The staff was very nice. The only issue we had was our A/C in the cabin leaked over our luggage, toiletries and my son's nebulizer machine. They were able to fix the A/C after a few hours. I was able to get my son's breathing machine running the next day.
Aug 22, 2015
Everything was clean. We all went tubing which was readily available and convenient at the campground. We didn't have to leave to be able to tube. Liked having the shuttle service for it too.
Aug 22, 2015
This campground was very well kept. Close to all the places we wanted to go and see
Aug 20, 2015
Beautiful setting, wooded lots, very attentive staff. I love this place! It's the one I will compare everywhere else to from now on. Top notch!
Aug 19, 2015
Creekside, clean, with well-maintained bath houses, pool and playground. They even brought my receipt to my campsite while I was setting up.
Aug 19, 2015
We absolutely loved this KOA! We had the river essential in the campground & the Smokies are right next door. The weather was terrific & the sites magnificent. After the days out we would come back to our camp cabin and relax or swim.
Aug 19, 2015
This location is beautiful. We loved being right on the river. Loved the tubing. Cabins were nice and clean but a little on the cramped side.
Aug 19, 2015
The only thing we didn't like about our stay was where our site was. It was right behind dumpster and where the staff Gets together. There were lots of other spots open we were wondering why we would be put there. That should be the very last site to put someone.
Aug 19, 2015
We truely enjoyed staying here. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful. The kids loved playing in the little river, pool, and playground.
Aug 19, 2015
Super clean and lots of fun. The only suggestion would be to have more trash cans available.
Aug 18, 2015
WE HAVE STAYED AT THIS KOA SEVERAL TIMES AND I MUST SAY THAT IT HAD A COMPLETELY DIFFERENT FEEL TO IT THIS TIME, OBVIOUSLY SOME PERSONEL CHANGES WHICH ARE NOT BENEFICIAL TO THIS PLACE. BATH HOUSES AND COMMON AREAS ARE NOT AS CLEAN AS WE HAVE SEEN IN PAST STAYS BUT PLEANTY OF STAFF SITTING AROUND ON GOLF CARTS THATS FOR SURE.
Aug 18, 2015
Warm welcoming people. Comfortable, clean. Lots to do on site or in Smokies. Love to stay here as it cuts one hour off travel time to Gatlinberg. Kid friendly. Thanks KOA.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
KOA Townsend/Great Smokies, TN is by far our favorite place to stay! Been coming here for years with our family and will continue to do so. ALL of the staff make you feel like family. The recently upgraded wifi tower is amazing. It reached our site with no issues. Thanks y'all for always making our stay fabulous! See ya in November!
Aug 17, 2015
Great place, very relaxing!!
Aug 17, 2015
Excellent accommodations. Professional staff. Clean.
Aug 17, 2015
This is the nicest campground in the Smokies. Very clean and sights are very nice.
Aug 17, 2015
Grandson loved the pool. We need water outlet for the camp sites near #125.
Aug 17, 2015
Aug 17, 2015
Always a great stay good wi fi upgrade
Aug 17, 2015
This campground was the best managed of any I have ever experienced. The staff was were professional and accommodated all of our needs.
Aug 17, 2015
I have normally had a great time at the KOA. But with all your price increases it is becoming more difficult to justify the extra money for your facilities. I had a electric and water site only and it was still around 72 dollars a night to stay. The first time i stayed at the one in townsend tennessee about 2 years ago it was only around 56 dollars a nigh.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.