Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 20, 2014
Great stay. Spaces are too close. Staff was very helpful.
Sep 20, 2014
Great location, easy to get to, staff very friendly and willing to help if need, other campers were the best anywhere we have ever stayed. Thank you for allowing us to stay with you. We will be trying to plan to stay the month of Sept. 2015
Sep 20, 2014
Very friendly employees and helpful!!
Sep 19, 2014
Sep 19, 2014
Sep 18, 2014
We loved the cabin but would have liked if someone would have told us that there was no stove or skillet to cook in
Sep 18, 2014
This is our campground when we are in the area. This trip we had 8 family members and friends. We stayed in our rv and they rented cabins. Their riverfront cabins were comfortable. Had a great time together!
Sep 18, 2014
Hardly nothing worked in the cabin,way to crowded and noisy,Deck was not covered couldn't sit outside when it rained ,smelled inside,couldn't standup in the shower ,way to narrow roads getting into the cabins,worst stay ever
Sep 18, 2014
A wonderful place to kick back relax & enjoy the sounds of the amazing creek. All campsite's appeared to have great locations, we are still talking about the deck we enjoyed overlooking the creek at our site. KOA staff were wonderful. We will go back again.
Sep 18, 2014
Sep 18, 2014
we enjoyed the park but we were put in a very tight spot for our 5th wheel. otherwise very nice.
Sep 17, 2014
Sep 17, 2014
always great very friendly and helpful but need to fix hose for waste rinse hookup
Sep 17, 2014
Sep 17, 2014
I suggest you print your maps from MapQuest. Camp maps from and to various sites are very poor.
Sep 17, 2014
Great place, grandchildren love it, we rented a studio cabin, and were very disappointed that our air conditioner did not work, and the ceiling fan worked very poorly. We ended up buying a small table fan to set beside the bed. We did report the issue but the maintenance department could not get it to cool. Will stay again but must have air conditioning.
Sep 17, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
DC10 was a great cabin. The facilities are always great. Staff is nice and helpful.
Sep 16, 2014
the cabin was very clean and the people were very friendly and helpfull.
Sep 16, 2014
What makes this campground the BEST campground besides being very clean is the Staff, they all are awesome and very friendly
Sep 16, 2014
Family friendly, clean, lots to do. Friendly staff. Jordan was very helpful when backing into site and also very energetic on hayride. Only drawback is the cost of the sites.
Sep 16, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
Everything was great, staff so helpful and friendly, like they enjoy their jobs, we needed help getting water unhooked and they were right there to help.
Sep 16, 2014
Very clean and safe Thank you KOA
Sep 16, 2014
my sister and her family was there also we had a great time just sitting around the campfire and just being lazy
Sep 15, 2014
Clean facilities and friendly staff! Most impressed!
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
We had a great time and the grandkids love it.
Sep 15, 2014
once again a great time was had by my family.
Sep 15, 2014
The staff was extra ordinary and we really liked the location. A few too many kids, but it was the weekend involved. Old people you know!
Sep 15, 2014
We had a wonderful time as always...We have stayed in several KOA Kampgrounds, but Townsend is the best one so far..Had a blast playing BINGO..Thanks
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 15, 2014
Kids loved it! Beautiful campground with the river! Great location, very nice staff :)
Sep 12, 2014
Nous avons très apprécié notre séjour en cabine au Koa de Townsend! Très propre et bel accueil. Prêt du parc et des services d'épicerie et autres. La réception du wifi serait grandement à améliorer toutefois.
Sep 12, 2014
The cabin was great and the staff friendly and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay in the beautiful Great Smokies.
Sep 12, 2014
When we pulled in, my road-weary spirits lifted. Our full hookup die was right on the Little River, with a wooden deck overlooking it! The river was making soothing sounds, and we immediately booked two more nights. Aaaahhhh.
Sep 11, 2014
Sep 10, 2014
My tent site was soggy and muddy. The 'drive' thru the camp is not clearly marked. I almost drove into a lot while I was leaving. Otherwise, it is a nice site.
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
WE always enjoy each visit to your KOA. There are no surprises!! We know your staff will always go out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. We have visited other campgrounds in the area, but ALWAYS come back to KAO. You provide great activities for our grand kids. WE appreciate the smiling faces of all the staff. We love KOA!!! KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK. THANK YOU!
Sep 09, 2014
The cabin next to mine had Bed Bugs. I saw them and are very familiar with them. There were hundreds of them. The did refund the money to the couple and the family but tried to blame it on them bringing them to the cabin. They were not brought to the cabin. There were hundreds of them. This happens but could have been handled better.
Sep 09, 2014
This was the 5th time we have stayed here. We always come back because the park is clean, staff very friendly, & there is so much to do in the park!
Sep 08, 2014
The most wonderful place to stay.......
Sep 08, 2014
We were in cabin 11, our friends in cabin #12 woke up covered in "textbook" bedbugs. The cabin is infested-coming out of the walls, bedding and wood furniture in the dark. Mgmt. refused to do anything but refund their $ and act as if it was no big deal, leaving us wondering who they will put in the cabin next. We know the cabin was full last weekend, Labor Day. There HAD to be previous complaints.
Sep 08, 2014
Great hosts and service staff. Extremely clean facilities.
Sep 08, 2014
We had a very good time. The staff was helpful and friendly. The campground was clean and well maintained. We loved everything about our trip and plan on returning as soon as we can. Thanks for a wonderful time!
Sep 08, 2014
We stayed at this campground when it was Little River Village. This time our grandchildren came with us for their first camping experience. It was great!
Sep 08, 2014
Nice location. Clean facilities. Employees were very helpful and kind. I will stay there again.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.