Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Nov 24, 2014
Nov 24, 2014
we loved it there. the cabin was very comfortable and the overlook of the river made it really nice.
Nov 23, 2014
We have been coming to this campground since BEFORE it was a KOA. Love the place, the staff is excellent, especially Mickey. See ya next year
Nov 23, 2014
Park and staff were great. Only freezing weather took awayb from stay !
Nov 23, 2014
We enjoyed the cabin, warm and cozy after hiking along the beautiful river and the COOL outdoors. Thanks
Nov 23, 2014
This campground is absolutely beautiful. Our rustic cabin was about two blocks away from the bathroom facilities. Also, the water spigot near the cabin was either turned off or frozen. The nearest water was about one block away. On my way to the bathroom with toiletries, a lantern, and a teapot, I tripped over a fire ring . My legs were hurt, but I did not break anything. Closer bathrooms?
Nov 22, 2014
Nov 21, 2014
Nov 20, 2014
no problems everyone was nice and helpful. thank you.
Nov 20, 2014
Nov 19, 2014
We had a creek side site with a deck. It was a little too cold when we were there to enjoy the deck but it really was beautiful. The grounds were well maintained and everyone we encountered was very helpful. It is so close to the National Park and that was also spectacular. I would definitely return to this KOA.
Nov 18, 2014
Everyone was very nice and helpful and very clean. But koa townsend is $25 higher then their next Door neighbor that is just as clean.
Nov 18, 2014
Nov 18, 2014
Wonderful campground. Cozy clean little cabin. Cant wait to visit with family next summer
Nov 18, 2014
Nov 18, 2014
Nov 17, 2014
Nov 17, 2014
The staff was extremely helpful and kind. They helped me through some problems that I had with my camper. Love being around friendly people. We will be back.
Nov 17, 2014
Very nice campground, clean, pretty & great customer service
Nov 15, 2014
We totally enjoyed our stay. Rain or shine we had a great time!
Nov 14, 2014
Great
Nov 14, 2014
Beautiful place. Wonderful hosts. Cleanliness everywhere. Hot water. Convenient to eating spots,right next to the Smoky Mountains. Will definately stay again.
Nov 13, 2014
Great stay as usual.
Nov 12, 2014
Nov 12, 2014
we had a great stay. Everyone was helpful very friendly. It was a little more pricey than I would like but overall I would come back in the future.
Nov 11, 2014
the staff here are the absolute best!
Nov 11, 2014
We had booked to stay 2 weeks but the site we got waws so bad that we moved to adifferent campground at the earliest date we could get. Extremely disappointed specially since we always use KOA whenever possible but that will change now ! I have more soecifics but there isn't enough space here to list them - just cll me disgusted !!!
Nov 11, 2014
Very friendly helpers on the grounds. Within walking distance of good restaurants. The little park was a wonderful surprise.
Nov 11, 2014
Everything from the staff to all the facilities at this campground are top notch. Townsend KOA is our favorite place to stay.
Nov 11, 2014
Nov 10, 2014
Our favorite place to stay and the friendliest staff around! When we found out we had to pull out a day early, we were refunded the one night without any hesitation. As my husband said, that more than ensures our return.
Nov 10, 2014
Nov 10, 2014
Nov 10, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Townsend KOA. The scenery, sights , and staff were all great. Our only complaint was that the Wifi kept fading in and out. It was very frustrating to get online and then be kicked off.
Nov 10, 2014
The rates continue to rise, making it difficult for families to stay here. Please try to reduce the rates so that it may be more affordable.
Nov 10, 2014
Great place!
Nov 09, 2014
Nov 09, 2014
Nov 09, 2014
Great
Nov 08, 2014
We love coming here but noticed this time that at 8:30 AM the staff started blowing away leaves with loud machines! Isn't a big part of camping enjoying the peace and nature sounds of the morning???
Nov 08, 2014
When the family owned it, it seemed like there were more staff and activities. To stop the Hayrides and movies before the end of October seems too soon, especially when the children had expected it. We did have a wonderful stay and PERFECT weather. Would be nice if that could be arranged every year!
Nov 08, 2014
This was our second stay (but not our last). The grounds & facilities are kept clean. The greatest asset is your employees--friendly, very helpful.
Nov 07, 2014
Very nice park, a little pricey but the facilities are nice and the park personnel were very friendly and helpful
Nov 07, 2014
Heater in cabin too small to warm the cabin when it gets cold. Bathrooms and showers were clean and portable outhouses and garbage cans were plentiful for which I was grateful. Maintenance people blowing leaves off roads early am was distracting and noisy when trying to sleep in. All in all, satisfied with location and amenities but was pretty pricey for a camping cabin.
Nov 06, 2014
Nov 05, 2014
Very accommodating staff.
Nov 05, 2014
Nice site backed up to Little River. Staff very helpful and friendly. The site was great, but staff will bring me back.
Nov 05, 2014
As always, we had a GREAT time at the Townsend KOA. Great employees & a great campground!
Nov 04, 2014
Nov 04, 2014
More than expected for staying at a campground. Staff was extemely friendly and helpful! Very clean bathrooms and showers. Grounds are right on the main road which has pros and cons. Traffic is rather steady on this road but on the other hand it is a very easy place to find and convenient to attractions. River is beautiful! Cabins are cozy. Will visit again.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.