Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 22, 2015
This was our first stay ever at a campground and we chose this KOA and was not disappointed! Beautiful campground and a great staff! We will be back for another stay!!
May 21, 2015
Couldn't be better. We have 5 more stays booked!
May 21, 2015
We love the newly remodeled section which we stayed in. The only thing is, they didn't have cable available which we were told up front. They said they'd give a $5/night discount but we didn't receive it.
May 21, 2015
Campground was very nice.I was disappointed with our spot but I made reservations online and did not choose well.We felt very crowded. Sites were very close to each other. The area around us was beautiful and all the people at this KOA were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely go back but would choose a nicer site.
May 20, 2015
The park was the best I have ever been in great for kids, but still quiet for adults. The cabins were the best I have ever been in I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay!
May 20, 2015
We stayed in one of the deluxe cabins which were great and nicely equipped with all you would need. A pleasant surprise was the beautiful patio with gas grill and nice stone fireplace ring. Even though the cabins are close to each other, they have landscaped between them beautifully so you feel like you have your own privacy. I definitely will be back!
May 20, 2015
Stayed here before always nice beautiful park in beautiful location
May 20, 2015
Amazing place & very friendly staff. Have already made reservations for July.
May 20, 2015
We loved it there. Jolene loved the dog park
May 19, 2015
May 19, 2015
best campground in the world !
May 19, 2015
Sites too small. Motorcycle and other campers way too noisy. Townsend horrible destination!!
May 19, 2015
My brother and I were very impressed with everything. They had everything we could possibly want, and the place is so clean!
May 19, 2015
Our stay was very nice, everyone friendly. It would be nice if the sweet shop could offer a light breakfast,deli sandwiches, fresh fruit, etc..
May 18, 2015
The stay was fantastic.
May 18, 2015
The grounds are beautiful, well kept. The facilities are squeaky clean. Wonderful time over all. Two small complaints that were not the fault of the facility, Leaf blower at 8:30 both Sat and Sun mornings. Seemed to be an individual rather than the maintenence crew at the grounds. Noisy motorcycles at 8:30 Saturday morning!!!
May 18, 2015
Had an excellent time! Will return!!
May 18, 2015
Staff was not friendly at all. Couldn't get one of them to wave all weekend. The grounds were great though. Very nice. Better staff and it would be best place in smokies.
May 18, 2015
I have stayed in a lot of KOA's over the years, from Montana all the way to Florida, and I will say that this KOA was the cleanest and best kept I've been in. The only downside is that the store leaves a little to be desired.
May 17, 2015
Our parking was limited for the length of trailer we had. The Internet reception was poor. Our view of the river was great, our lot was shaded and the shower area was excellent. We traveled with our pets and the fenced area for them was very nice.
May 17, 2015
Beautiful campsite!! Staff is very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again and absolutely recommend to family and friends.
May 17, 2015
ice at koa store was 2.78,1 mile down road same ice 1.80. my wide ask workers to allow her to look into new cabin, just wanted to see how it was layed out,was told she couldn't look in.Real friendly crowd, all must have been from up north.
May 17, 2015
WiFi Terrible But all else GREAT !
May 16, 2015
Everything was awesome!
May 15, 2015
Even tho it was a very busy weekend it was still quiet and peaceful. Renovated sites are excellent. Staff very good and friendly! Will be BACK!
May 14, 2015
The Townsend KOA is First Class campground. Best we have ever stayed in. The restroom/shower house has recently been remodeled. During our 2 week stay my only complaint was that there were no towel/clothes hooks inside the unisex shower stall. Midway of our two week stay each shower had a caddy to hold personal items and multi hook racks were being installed. The staff treated you like family.
May 14, 2015
Had a wonderful time. Employees were very friendly and helpful and they made our stay great!
May 14, 2015
AAA+
May 13, 2015
We love it and would stay more often if the price was cheaper. Love the area and scenery.
May 12, 2015
cleanest, safest, most caring, most organized, family oriented, professional and happening home away from home. a step into the past where things are like they should be. a spiritual experience for sure. all I can say is.....thank you!
May 12, 2015
Absolutely love this campground, very peaceful even with a big crowd. Grounds were clean.
May 12, 2015
I love the new sites!!! Staff was helpful and nice as always!!
May 12, 2015
A terrific campground in a wonderfully scenic area. Well staffed and everyone was welcoming. Would go back in a heartbeat! Maybe sooner! :)
May 12, 2015
this campground is close to where we live. It is very clean the sites are a good size. Many have paved patio areas which is very nice. They have planned activities and the staff are very nice and helpful. The campground is on the river which makes it so peaceful and beautiful. We love this campground!
May 12, 2015
great place, Great people very helpful!
May 12, 2015
The bath house is exceptional People were very friendly, available, and helpful.
May 11, 2015
Staff were very helpful and as always very pleasant.
May 11, 2015
Friendly and helpful staff. Grounds and facilities extremely clean. Lots of activities for the families, especially the kids. Quiet and restful.
May 11, 2015
Site #80 needs major work to make level to accommodate any size camper! Cable tv not working on this site either. Improvements to campground look great. We made reservations for next May. Tks
May 11, 2015
My granddaughters loved all the activities and the pool, playground, arcade, and the fudge and Ice cream shop so close. I love being on the river, so beautiful. All the staff are great.Lots of good places to eat nearby.
May 11, 2015
May 11, 2015
Love the changes they have made since last year.
May 11, 2015
great
May 11, 2015
We haven't been to this KOA for a few years, however, we can't wait to go back! They have made many numerous improvements to many of the sites, shower/bathroom facilities, playground equipment and pool! We had a great time and the staff was very helpful and accommodating. Great Time!
May 11, 2015
May 11, 2015
My kids said this was their BEST camping trip ever. We all had a great time and will be back.
May 11, 2015
This is a great campground for kids. My entire family had a wonderful time. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
May 11, 2015
May 09, 2015
My wife stayed here for an extended time and hated to leave! Mark, Samantha, Jim, Mickey, Marshall, Marilyn,Jordan, Adam, Clint, and Dan all go above and beyond to make sure each camper has a great stay. They all will do everything possible to help resolve issues or concerns with an Rv, tent, or cabin. The grounds were always kept up & in order even after the severe storms brought down trees.
May 09, 2015
We had a w wonderful time. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.