Townsend / Canyon Ferry Lake KOA

81 Silos Road

Townsend, MT 59644

Reserve: 800-562-5904

Info: 406-266-3100

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 04, 2014
Jun 03, 2014
They are so friendly and I'm so glad that we stayed there.We will stay there again.Thank you

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We enjoyed having you stay with us and we look forward to having you stay with us again
May 27, 2014
May 26, 2014
The people running the store and checking us in were very friendly. Flamingo Grill has awesome food. The camping area being all gravel and no grass was the only negative to our stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Please note that we are working to figure out what we can sustain, plant and grass wise, to improve our campground. We have had some issues getting grass to grow and sustaining the grass. We are attempting to freshen up the sites by adding more colorful plants to them.
May 19, 2014
The owners and management there are awesome, however the campground itself was missing the amenities for an extended family stay such as a pool, cable tv, nice playground area for children and grassy areas. great place for adults looking for a place to go fishing but are not spending much time at campground.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are located next to a lake, which is why the decision was made to not install a pool, as the lake provides water recreation. We are located in an area under served by cable companies. We are trying to get the grass to grow but we have been dealing with extreme weather, which is hampering us.
May 12, 2014
Apr 29, 2014
Great place and super nice staff!
Oct 13, 2013
the KOA itself was pleseant and the staff was great. However the add in your magazine did not have a true representation for this campground. Access to anything on the Lake for anyone who doesn't come there with their own boat was non-existant. No beach, no marina, no boats to rent even. There is nothing to do anywhere near ths campground if you didn't bring your own boat.
Oct 13, 2013
Oct 04, 2013
Sep 27, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 25, 2013
Great location. People are really friendly.
Sep 23, 2013
Staff was super friendly both upon arrival and departure or for any other questions we had as first time RV users!
Sep 14, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
Being long time KOA campers, this place was awful. Women's restrooms were clean but relied heavily on paint to keep that appearance. Only 2 stalls, and one had no lock. Handicapped shower but no handcapped toilet. Too many long term trailers that don't follow common courtesy. Men's toilets were nice.
Sep 09, 2013
The policy of keeping dogs on a leash was not effect as the owners of the KOA let their dogs run free. There were at least 6 dogs we saw always roaming the campground. We know 2 of the dogs were the owners. Hard for anyone to abide by that rule. Also, it felt like we were camping in a trailer court. Most of the trailers around us looked like they lived it them year round and were trashy.
Sep 04, 2013
It was a very nice place to stay and nice that we were by the shower area. Nice big area to pitch tents. Would stay again.
Aug 30, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 23, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
We made resevations in June. We asked to be together with our friends. They could not do that but there was empty spaces by us for 3 nights.
Aug 20, 2013
We made reservations two months in advance of our stay and requested to be side-by-side with friends we are traveling with. When we arrived they said they we would not be able to be side-by-side. During our three night stay there was a space available one row in front of our friends and one alongside of us two nights. We will not stay there again!
Aug 20, 2013
This KOA is our all time favorite place to kamp
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Nice people, big wide sights, good camp store - we were expecting a few more trees, but otherwise great, as usual for a KOA.
Aug 12, 2013
Great customer service! nice amenities!
Aug 12, 2013
Ordinary. Bathrooms had a strong smell of bleach but the toilets were not very clean. All the sites face afternoon sun (without shade)
Aug 09, 2013
This is a really nice campground, wish we could have spent more time here.
Aug 08, 2013
clerks were friendly but needed more training in checking campers in. Also would be nice to have a dog area in the front and back of campground.
Aug 05, 2013
It was nice enough just more like a parking light than we expected.
Aug 04, 2013
Quiet, not crowded and friendly staff. Great for an stop in between stop.
Jul 29, 2013
The internet either does not work or is extremely slow. It has been like this at each of our stays. When we travel the internet is very important to us as we run a business on the road. Also, there are a lot of maintenance issues at this KOA. The grass is dying off and building are in need of much repair. When is the last time KOA did a surprise inspection on this facility? Better do it soon!
Jul 29, 2013
sites were nice and large and long, very dusty, all gravel, 5 m/h speed limit not adhered to. Main negative issues were unfriendly loose dogs, expecially from the owner at the office. The owners large dogs charged us twice while we were walking our dogs on their leases. The owners dogs actually charged our of the KOA office door and charged our dogs while were walked by in front of the office.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
We enjoyed it very much. The gals in the office were friendly and helpful.
Jul 27, 2013
One hairy turn blocked by a massive boulder, but otherwise very convenient, friendly and accommodating.
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Very plain hot dry campground. No trees or grass areas. Adequate for overnight due to lack of campgrounds in area. Staff was friendly.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
NICE AND QUITE ALL NIGHT
Jul 20, 2013
Only good thing to say, if you were Fisherman, it would be great. Anybody looking for trees, grass and shade, forget it.
Jul 18, 2013
We stopped for a few days to visit the area. Very nice park and friendly people.
Jul 16, 2013
Nice wide sites, very well set up for using the nearby lake. Restaurant close by, well stocked store and friendly staff. Good dog walk area which we always appreciate!
Jul 16, 2013
I'd like to give it zero stars...It is basically a parking lot...VERY little amount of grass and trees, although you can see the owners are trying to make it a little more inviting. No pool. I've stayed at many of the KOA's in Montana...and some are ok some are passible...this one has very nice staff at the store, but its just not pretty at all.
Jul 14, 2013
Very friendly staff, but the camp site is like a parkinglot and the surroundings are just fields. The place is somewhat rundown and too expensive for what you get.
Jul 07, 2013
People were showering their dogs under the showers!?
Jul 07, 2013
Website said that it was "lakeside" it was not. It was quite a walk from the camp ground. The water pressure in the shower was nonexistent. I would do better standing in the rain! the trash smelled horrible. The mini golf was fun but needed maintenance.Cashier was grumpy. good store though.
Jul 02, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.