Townsend / Canyon Ferry Lake KOA

81 Silos Road

Townsend, MT 59644

Reserve: 800-562-5904

Info: 406-266-3100

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Aug 12, 2013
Great customer service! nice amenities!
Aug 12, 2013
Ordinary. Bathrooms had a strong smell of bleach but the toilets were not very clean. All the sites face afternoon sun (without shade)
Aug 09, 2013
This is a really nice campground, wish we could have spent more time here.
Aug 08, 2013
clerks were friendly but needed more training in checking campers in. Also would be nice to have a dog area in the front and back of campground.
Aug 05, 2013
It was nice enough just more like a parking light than we expected.
Aug 04, 2013
Quiet, not crowded and friendly staff. Great for an stop in between stop.
Jul 29, 2013
The internet either does not work or is extremely slow. It has been like this at each of our stays. When we travel the internet is very important to us as we run a business on the road. Also, there are a lot of maintenance issues at this KOA. The grass is dying off and building are in need of much repair. When is the last time KOA did a surprise inspection on this facility? Better do it soon!
Jul 29, 2013
sites were nice and large and long, very dusty, all gravel, 5 m/h speed limit not adhered to. Main negative issues were unfriendly loose dogs, expecially from the owner at the office. The owners large dogs charged us twice while we were walking our dogs on their leases. The owners dogs actually charged our of the KOA office door and charged our dogs while were walked by in front of the office.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
We enjoyed it very much. The gals in the office were friendly and helpful.
Jul 27, 2013
One hairy turn blocked by a massive boulder, but otherwise very convenient, friendly and accommodating.
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Very plain hot dry campground. No trees or grass areas. Adequate for overnight due to lack of campgrounds in area. Staff was friendly.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
NICE AND QUITE ALL NIGHT
Jul 20, 2013
Only good thing to say, if you were Fisherman, it would be great. Anybody looking for trees, grass and shade, forget it.
Jul 18, 2013
We stopped for a few days to visit the area. Very nice park and friendly people.
Jul 16, 2013
Nice wide sites, very well set up for using the nearby lake. Restaurant close by, well stocked store and friendly staff. Good dog walk area which we always appreciate!
Jul 16, 2013
I'd like to give it zero stars...It is basically a parking lot...VERY little amount of grass and trees, although you can see the owners are trying to make it a little more inviting. No pool. I've stayed at many of the KOA's in Montana...and some are ok some are passible...this one has very nice staff at the store, but its just not pretty at all.
Jul 14, 2013
Very friendly staff, but the camp site is like a parkinglot and the surroundings are just fields. The place is somewhat rundown and too expensive for what you get.
Jul 07, 2013
People were showering their dogs under the showers!?
Jul 07, 2013
Website said that it was "lakeside" it was not. It was quite a walk from the camp ground. The water pressure in the shower was nonexistent. I would do better standing in the rain! the trash smelled horrible. The mini golf was fun but needed maintenance.Cashier was grumpy. good store though.
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
great staffers! clean bathrooms. great spots.
Jun 30, 2013
I see a lot of long timers staying there. It doesn't feel like a KOA. I see it used to be a private campground.
Jun 29, 2013
Way to many big dogs wandering and intimidating guests small traveling companions and craping on guests lawns.
Jun 29, 2013
Could not wait to leave! Peoples laundry hanging, unsightly trailers (obviously living there) unsupervised children racing around on dirt bikes, loud music, could go on forever! No indication they even knew we were there, sure we could have pulled in and parked just like Wal-Mart! Sites are poorly marked, couldn't tell which fire pit was ours, picnic table on road! Would NEVER recommend to anyone!
Jun 28, 2013
We had a very positive experience and would stay there again.
Jun 27, 2013
Great people in the office/store and at the Flamingo Café. Campground needs more trees and showers, other then that it was very nice.
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 23, 2013
No problems.
Jun 18, 2013
Very friendly staff. Great location.
Jun 08, 2013
We'll definitely be back!
Jun 07, 2013
Great hosts, not our first visit and definitely not our last!
May 27, 2013
Nice hosts and large spaces
Sep 23, 2012
It was a disappointment in many ways. Very few trees, small 3x5 plots of grass, which was mostly dead, at each site. The rest of the grounds was made up of gravel and weeds growing everywhere. The bathrooms/showers were outdated. One shower in particular was small and dark. Not impressed with diner on site...plus they were out of their special onion rings. The lake was almost too far to walk.
Sep 17, 2012
stated they had a game room for the kids which they did not have. Office closes early
Sep 16, 2012
Staff helpful, lake great for the dogs to run. Facilities good.
Sep 09, 2012
no trees to speak of. no pool. no cable hookup, equivalant to staying in a gravel parking lt
Sep 08, 2012
The front desk staff is GREAT. They finely cleaned the Men's showers. They were REALLY bad. The only problem we have with this park is the wireless internet. It is SLOW at night, faster in the morning but always inconsistent. We travel a lot and rely on the internet for our business. It is a determining factor as to where we stay. Why do you limit comments to 400 characters, really????
Sep 08, 2012
Very helpful personnel. Sites well maintained, shoers and restrooms were clean.
Sep 04, 2012
Other than the wind it was OK. Nice wide areas for ones camper and boat...I liked that. I also liked the general store and closeness to the lake. If I could recommend one thing it would be more trees for shade and privacy.
Sep 04, 2012
Sep 03, 2012
Nice people, good bath/shower and fish cleaning station.
Aug 31, 2012
Aug 30, 2012
Park was very plain, our site was very hard to level our 5th wheel! Would not stay there again!
Aug 28, 2012
Aug 26, 2012
Unable to get on WiFi. You are able to sign onto net work, but it never comes up to put in code so you can't use the internet. I didn't try to get online before the office closed so was unable to get help from them.
Aug 24, 2012
Honestly it is very expensive compared to many campgrounds we've stayed at before. Need power at the fish cleaning area.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.