Townsend / Canyon Ferry Lake KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5904

Info: 406-266-3100


81 Silos Road

Townsend, MT 59644

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 444 Reviews

RV Reviews

Oct 24, 2016
Friendly, clean facilities
Oct 17, 2016
Great staff, great facility, great surroundings. One of'the best I`ve stayed at!
Oct 10, 2016
The staff are some of the most friendly people you will ever meet the treat you more like family then just some people renting a spot I would recommend this koa to everyone they are also very pet frendly
Oct 05, 2016
Traveling with 4 kids, stayed just one night. Couldn't use the nice little play structure due to unsightly permanent looking camp immediately adjacent to playground. No grass between sites. Close to Lake for fishermen. Super friendly staff at checkin. Good for a night or by myself, not so good for kids.
Oct 05, 2016
Couldn't get the wifi to work!
Oct 04, 2016
No dog run, no dog bags, loose dogs, there was no place to walk a dog in an area where there was no poop laying around. Even though the bathrooms were clean, when the grounds are full, I would hate to see what the 6 toilets would look like let alone the showers. I would definitely not come in the summer months because of the rest room facilities. Long stayers are making grounds look trashy.
Oct 02, 2016
Sep 29, 2016
Sep 27, 2016
Sep 16, 2016
Friendly people, spacious sites, great location for accessing the lake.
Sep 13, 2016
Very nice staff.
Sep 11, 2016
I understand this is a "Fishermans" campground but the only way you would recognize this as a KOA is the sign out front. The campground falls short of the KOA standards we are familiar with!
Sep 08, 2016
This was an overnight stay in the rain only. Did not use the amenities. Wide sites and quiet.
Sep 07, 2016
If you want to be near Helena, or you love fishing, this is a great place to stay!
Sep 06, 2016
Sharon and staff are wonderful! Friendly, accommodating and they share their cookies! :) Great little "library" too. Will definitely be back!
Sep 06, 2016
Great people and nice facilities
Sep 06, 2016
Quiet, large spaces but the broken glass that was everywhere all over the ground is a huge safety issue for children and pets. For that reason I would never stay there again nor will I recommend this site to anyone.
Sep 03, 2016
A lot of permanent rv's or weekenders in this park that have debris and items around their rv's. The park is mainly gravel with a couple of very small grassed areas. Broken bottle glass in the landscaped areas. Convenient store is nice and propane is available. Dirty laundry room but cheap. Very unkempt park. KOA must be lowering their standards. Will not be returning.
Sep 03, 2016
Not the best KOA I've ever stayed in.
Sep 01, 2016
The staff was friendly and helpful. The campground is well maintained and the sites are big enough for our RV, truck and boat. The WiFi signal is weak unless you are close to the office. We enjoyed our stay and have reserved a spot for another month next summer.
Sep 01, 2016
If in the area it's a good place to stay for sure!
Aug 30, 2016
It was a good stay. Fish could have cooperated a bit more, and some oversight of loud campers after 10 would have been appreciated, but overall very good trip. Special compliments to Whitney and Jodi of Townsend KOA, both so very welcoming, and friendly, and helpful. We appreciated the amount of room around the 50 amp camping spots for the boat. The boat slip option was a real plus.We will be back
Aug 29, 2016
Just an overnight on our way to Yellowstone, and this worked great. Probably the best wifi we've come across. Clean and nice store.
Aug 29, 2016
There is a fine line between an RV Park and a trailer town. This KOA may have crossed it.
Aug 27, 2016
Great staff. Excellent help with a trailer welding need. Thank you!
Aug 24, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 21, 2016
Just passing through,short narrow sites.
Aug 17, 2016
We loved our stay. Whitney greeted us and helped us find the perfect camping spot by our friends. Sharon accommodated our late check out. Had a wonderful lunch at the Pink Flamingo!
Aug 17, 2016
Great old bathrooms. Actually have wall hooks, good lighting and surfaces to lay shower bags, all missing in many koas.
Aug 16, 2016
Thank you for all you do for your customers. Love this place
Aug 13, 2016
Little to no shade trees otherwise it met expectations.
Aug 11, 2016
Very clean and a very nice and helpful staff
Aug 11, 2016
Aug 10, 2016
Aug 10, 2016
It was good. The weather was an issue unfortunately and we had to take our tent trailer down a day early. It served our purposes well.
Aug 09, 2016
Aug 06, 2016
Aug 04, 2016
I was disappointed that the camp sites are gravel with a 6' x 10' area of grass at the end of the site,not really usable. The bathroom was not cleaned the two days we were there and only 1 of the two stalls in the ladies room worked..
Aug 02, 2016
Just an overnight stay, but will be back again.
Aug 02, 2016
I understand the nature of the area, a mostly treeless, windswept part of a not overly scenic reservoir. If you are fishing, this is probably the place to be. If looking for fun experience, mostly not. The restroom/shower near our spot was elevated requiring three steps with no hand rail or guard rail at top. KOA is clearly not doing its' due diligence.
Jul 31, 2016
The campground was clean and attractive. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be returning.
Jul 30, 2016
Friendly staff. Site a little plain and far from lake.
Jul 26, 2016
Weather was perfect. Neighbors and staff very friendly. Had lots of fun
Jul 25, 2016
It was clean and friendly
Jul 24, 2016
Daytime temps reached well into 90s during our stay, requiring use of A/C. Available voltage at 30amp site dropped below 100 volts most days and may have resulted in damage to an air conditioner on my RV. Water pressure also would also drop. This KOA campground is obviously unable to provide adequate utility service to its customers.
Jul 23, 2016
They have a great library,horseshoe pit, and cute restaurant out back. Area was well maintained. Mini Golf was being redone so not able to use. Otherwise, nice area.
Jul 22, 2016
Bathroom and showers were not clean and did not look like they had been cleaned at all during our 2 day stay.
Jul 22, 2016
Insufficient wi-fi.
Jul 18, 2016
Overall was happy with the stay.

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy