Townsend / Canyon Ferry Lake KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5904

Info: 406-266-3100

Email

81 Silos Road

Townsend, MT 59644

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 561 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 16, 2017
We have used KOA across the length and breadth of the country. Without doubt Sharron gave us the best welcome, most helpful advice of more than 150 RV Parks we have stayed at. We liked her style! The Pink Flamingo eatery on site was great. It is just a pity that Canyon Ferry area is much more suited to fishermen than activities 11 and 8 year old grandsons, else we would have stayed longer.
Aug 16, 2017
We had a very good stay restrooms and shower are great.
Aug 15, 2017
Good location near the lake. Nice bath and shower. The power box only had ONE plug-in, which was for a 30-amp. Should provide at least 2 plug-ins in each power box. Also, we had difficulty finding a level spot to park. Should be an easy fix!
Aug 14, 2017
I called in February for two side/by side lots for August 10-13,and a boat slip close two the gate. They need to guide campers into the spaces, I had trouble getting turned into the row because the extra cars-boats-trailers knot pulled up. I have damaged the side of my camper because of a pickup was out to far with a ladder and a hitch ball on the pickup that was out to far. Needs poop cleaned up
Aug 13, 2017
We really like this campground and the folks who run it are fantastic. The only issue I have is the fact that people continually walk through our site. People should be told to use campground etiquette. I have paid for that site and really don't appreciate people using it as a walkway. But we are scheduled to return again next summer and look forward to.
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
Dusty and dirty. Very disappointed. People in office were nice. Flamingo Cafe was nice but basically you are camping in a dirt parking loy
Aug 08, 2017
Little too open but it worked especially the eletic water only spots, need trees or a little cover. They need to work on the exit road there is,quite a ditch that you can easily tip over an rv if not careful trying to make a very tight corner to get out. Nice bathrooms showers and little store.
Aug 08, 2017
The campground is a gravel parking lot. Most disturbing though is that there appear to be permanent residents and at least three very large dogs roam off leash with their owners and otherwise. The bare grass around the campground is so full of dog poop it's disgusting. We have two small dogs and wouldn't let them walk in it - and we carry bags and pick up, while watching others who didn't.
Aug 07, 2017
A staff member there was very unkind and made us feel extremely uncomfortable. Other staff members were nice but the treatment we received from one individual was awful.
Aug 07, 2017
very clean and what a great staff. Thanks again.
Aug 07, 2017
I would not stay there again, very disappointing for a KOA.
Aug 06, 2017
Aug 06, 2017
This is a great campground! The owners are very nice and extremely accommodating. There is a small restaurant on the grounds that makes delicious hamburgers and milkshakes. Everything is super clean, and the owners and staff are always available to assist you. Five stars all the way!
Aug 03, 2017
Great central location for our journey. Very clean and safe. The staff was great
Aug 02, 2017
This KOA is fine as a stopover on your way to Glacier or Yellowstone, or if you love fishing. People are realy friendly and helpfull. The restrooms were clean enough. Not super clean and dated. The area is very dry and deserted. Not much to do. It was an experience! We meant to stay 2 nights, however left after one. We got a refund. All in all satisfied.
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
It was ok for a night stop. Nothing special. The rest room closest to our camper was unisex which is ok except the door lock did not woek.
Jul 29, 2017
Electrical service could not handle air conditioning. Grounds were unkempt and aesthetically unpleasing- Staff was a plus (very nice)-
Jul 28, 2017
The sites aren't cleaned between campers, there were cigarette butts on our site and dog poo in the grassy area, since we neither smoke nor have a dog, they weren't from us. Overpriced for what it is. I wish we had stayed down the road.
Jul 27, 2017
Dry and dusty c.g. People driving by too fast throwing dust all over everything would not come back here
Jul 27, 2017
very friendly host
Jul 24, 2017
Very desolate, too many full timers. Place is run down and in need of updates to be competitive with other KOAs.
Jul 24, 2017
Crowded, dusty. Bad wifi. Noisy. Very open.
Jul 24, 2017
Nice overnight. Very nice people.
Jul 24, 2017
Good distance from the water, clean and quiet.
Jul 23, 2017
We had a very nice stay at Townsend Ferry. Very clean bathrooms too
Jul 21, 2017
Great place if you are into boating or fishing. Friendly staff.
Jul 19, 2017
Only one toilet was operable in our part of the park. The second one was fixed by morning. Staff was great.
Jul 18, 2017
It is very well maintained and relaxing.
Jul 17, 2017
Love this KOA!!!
Jul 16, 2017
Jul 16, 2017
We were just passing through on our way to Yellowstone from Glacier National Park. While we have a travel trailer, I was concerned that there seemed to be (I could be wrong) only one shower stall for the whole camp. We would stay here again.
Jul 16, 2017
Giant gravel parking lot shared with long term stays. Restrooms were dirty and didn't work well. Playground was a joke. All in all - a dump!
Jul 16, 2017
Jul 16, 2017
Poor water pressure (broken faucet) Was told it wasn't repairable until next day We was only staying one night
Jul 16, 2017
Friendli stuff. But just a dry parking space
Jul 15, 2017
The personnel were terrific and very friendly and helpful, it was the personnel that would make your KOA a recommendation, the site was not to our liking as far as we are not used to camping where there are no trees.
Jul 15, 2017
It was clean, level lots. Great fir a couple nights stay. Staff was friendly.
Jul 15, 2017
Missed green grass and a pool.
Jul 15, 2017
To many locals living at the campground
Jul 14, 2017
This KOA is no more than a gravel parking lot with outdated bathrooms and showers.
Jul 11, 2017
A lot of permanent residents. A little noisy. We always stay here on our trips to Montana from California.
Jul 07, 2017
We and my family stay there every year, and we like the people and the place, clean, nice, etc. Only one issue of note: the fish cleaning station is close to the rv's and if the wind is blowing from the wrong direction, wow you really smell like a fisherman. I would put it in a more remote area for that reason, other than that, the smoke from other campfires blows in your unit, but that is due
Jul 05, 2017
Jul 04, 2017
We stayed one night. The campground was clean and orderly. we would stay again.
Jul 04, 2017
Had a great time
Jul 03, 2017
OK for overnight. I had a problem with 3 big dogs chasing me when I walked my 2 small dogs on a leash. Manager came to our RV later and apologized and said he'd talked to the owner. He was very concerned and had actually witnessed the end of it. I was terrified!
Jun 26, 2017
Friendly people, quiet location. Attached restaurant.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals