Townsend / Canyon Ferry Lake KOA

81 Silos Road

Townsend, MT 59644

Reserve: 800-562-5904

Info: 406-266-3100

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 18, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Spent a lot more time on the lake than I did at the camp. Staff was very friendly. My apt. was very clean & comfy. Was nice to have the extra room & shower. The cabins my kids & grandkids stayed in were nice. Would have liked to have had some trees & grass instead of so much gravel but know that would pretty tough do at that location. The store had about anything a person would need.
Aug 14, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Nice people, big wide sights, good camp store - we were expecting a few more trees, but otherwise great, as usual for a KOA.
Aug 12, 2013
Great customer service! nice amenities!
Aug 12, 2013
Ordinary. Bathrooms had a strong smell of bleach but the toilets were not very clean. All the sites face afternoon sun (without shade)
Aug 09, 2013
This is a really nice campground, wish we could have spent more time here.
Aug 08, 2013
clerks were friendly but needed more training in checking campers in. Also would be nice to have a dog area in the front and back of campground.
Aug 06, 2013
Good location, right off highway. Good facicilities. Very friendly. If I was in the area again I would go back.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
We rented what is really a fully furnished apartment above the store. It is super comfortable, if nothing like camping. We saw gorgeous sunsets and stars. But the lake isn't as close as I thought it would be and doesn't seem to be swimmer-friendly, it is a fishing scene. The mini golf course is old and beat up. The playground is small. There's no pool or bouncy house, so not the most kid-friendly.
Aug 05, 2013
It was nice enough just more like a parking light than we expected.
Aug 04, 2013
Quiet, not crowded and friendly staff. Great for an stop in between stop.
Aug 01, 2013
The people were extremely friendly and the food at the grill was very good.
Jul 29, 2013
The internet either does not work or is extremely slow. It has been like this at each of our stays. When we travel the internet is very important to us as we run a business on the road. Also, there are a lot of maintenance issues at this KOA. The grass is dying off and building are in need of much repair. When is the last time KOA did a surprise inspection on this facility? Better do it soon!
Jul 29, 2013
sites were nice and large and long, very dusty, all gravel, 5 m/h speed limit not adhered to. Main negative issues were unfriendly loose dogs, expecially from the owner at the office. The owners large dogs charged us twice while we were walking our dogs on their leases. The owners dogs actually charged our of the KOA office door and charged our dogs while were walked by in front of the office.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
We enjoyed it very much. The gals in the office were friendly and helpful.
Jul 27, 2013
One hairy turn blocked by a massive boulder, but otherwise very convenient, friendly and accommodating.
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
We had such a great time.. Love the people..rooms were outstanding..food was fantastic
Jul 25, 2013
Very plain hot dry campground. No trees or grass areas. Adequate for overnight due to lack of campgrounds in area. Staff was friendly.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
NICE AND QUITE ALL NIGHT
Jul 20, 2013
Only good thing to say, if you were Fisherman, it would be great. Anybody looking for trees, grass and shade, forget it.
Jul 18, 2013
We stopped for a few days to visit the area. Very nice park and friendly people.
Jul 16, 2013
Nice wide sites, very well set up for using the nearby lake. Restaurant close by, well stocked store and friendly staff. Good dog walk area which we always appreciate!
Jul 16, 2013
a bit out of the way but it was quiet and people were friendly. wished the playground was a bit bigger. other than that it was a good experience. thanks
Jul 16, 2013
I'd like to give it zero stars...It is basically a parking lot...VERY little amount of grass and trees, although you can see the owners are trying to make it a little more inviting. No pool. I've stayed at many of the KOA's in Montana...and some are ok some are passible...this one has very nice staff at the store, but its just not pretty at all.
Jul 15, 2013
Clean, organized, friendly, excellent food, really look out for their guests.Showers were AWESOME!
Jul 14, 2013
Very friendly staff, but the camp site is like a parkinglot and the surroundings are just fields. The place is somewhat rundown and too expensive for what you get.
Jul 10, 2013
We must say that of the four KOA campgrounds we stayed at during our week long stay, this cabin was the best! No other cabin prior to this one was furnished with a refrig, microwve and coffee pot. That was a huge blessing to us as we had been trying to keep our food cold for a week! The only thing we struggled with was the women's bathroom showers. They do need some work on the showerheads!
Jul 09, 2013
Again, excellent staff,knowledgeable very helpful. The Kabin was the best so far with it's amenaties. One negative, with approximately 150-200 people on the grounds and only 2 men's showers available and 1 that was a pay shower, Really! This one is on the Owners!!
Jul 09, 2013
Great Friendly Staff, Never Came Across Anyone That Wasn't Pleasant Including Other Campers. Can Not Wait To Stay Again!!!!
Jul 09, 2013
Jul 07, 2013
People were showering their dogs under the showers!?
Jul 07, 2013
Website said that it was "lakeside" it was not. It was quite a walk from the camp ground. The water pressure in the shower was nonexistent. I would do better standing in the rain! the trash smelled horrible. The mini golf was fun but needed maintenance.Cashier was grumpy. good store though.
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 02, 2013
Jul 01, 2013
Cabins are wonderful, staff was very friendly. we had a great time and look forward to our next visit
Jul 01, 2013
great staffers! clean bathrooms. great spots.
Jun 30, 2013
I see a lot of long timers staying there. It doesn't feel like a KOA. I see it used to be a private campground.
Jun 29, 2013
Way to many big dogs wandering and intimidating guests small traveling companions and craping on guests lawns.
Jun 29, 2013
Could not wait to leave! Peoples laundry hanging, unsightly trailers (obviously living there) unsupervised children racing around on dirt bikes, loud music, could go on forever! No indication they even knew we were there, sure we could have pulled in and parked just like Wal-Mart! Sites are poorly marked, couldn't tell which fire pit was ours, picnic table on road! Would NEVER recommend to anyone!
Jun 28, 2013
We had a very positive experience and would stay there again.
Jun 27, 2013
Great people in the office/store and at the Flamingo Café. Campground needs more trees and showers, other then that it was very nice.
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 24, 2013
the staff is great, the campground is clean and quiet. the Flamingo Grill is great, I don't usually eat "grill food", but this is exceptional, worth the trip just for the homemade ranch dressing and fries.
Jun 23, 2013
No problems.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.