Townsend / Canyon Ferry Lake KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5904

Info: 406-266-3100

Email

81 Silos Road

Townsend, MT 59644

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 433 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 24, 2016
Daytime temps reached well into 90s during our stay, requiring use of A/C. Available voltage at 30amp site dropped below 100 volts most days and may have resulted in damage to an air conditioner on my RV. Water pressure also would also drop. This KOA campground is obviously unable to provide adequate utility service to its customers.
Jul 23, 2016
They have a great library,horseshoe pit, and cute restaurant out back. Area was well maintained. Mini Golf was being redone so not able to use. Otherwise, nice area.
Jul 22, 2016
Bathroom and showers were not clean and did not look like they had been cleaned at all during our 2 day stay.
Jul 22, 2016
Insufficient wi-fi.
Jul 22, 2016
This reservation was for my daughter & her 5 kids. The website did not say "Bring linens". That is why I booked it---so it would be convenient and they wouldn't have to worry about it. They arrived at 11:30 pm and there was no bedding and no lock on the door. Disappointed.
Jul 18, 2016
Small tent spaces, no shade or wind breaks, dirty bathrooms, staff never checked in on sites, overall worst experience at any koa I've ever stayed at, and i have been to several
Jul 18, 2016
Overall was happy with the stay.
Jul 18, 2016
very quiet campground and the hosts were very accomodating
Jul 17, 2016
Good. Even though strong wind was blowing we could have a comfort sleep in cabin.
Jul 15, 2016
Everything was great just wish the cabins had their own toilet.
Jul 14, 2016
Staff was very friendly. Restrooms were in need of cleaning but not disgusting. Better drainage is needed at the campsites as we were pretty flooded during the rain.
Jul 14, 2016
This is our first stay at a KOA, so I can't compare this site to others. Welcoming, friendly staff! Nice store and rec room with TONS of books. My son was in heaven. Golf in disrepair, but my boys loved the playground and horseshoes. It's really more for those planning to boat on the lake. We were visiting friends in Helena and it was a tad far out.
Jul 13, 2016
Nice campground. Friendly staff. Close to lake. Would stay again if in the area.
Jul 13, 2016
Convenient location, beautiful area, and really nice people!
Jul 12, 2016
In an out of the way place, on the way to somewhere else. The bathrooms were really dirty, sinks and toilets hadn't been cleaned for weeks, looked like. Staff were friendly and helpful. There is nothing to do or see except boat fishing.
Jul 12, 2016
We were there to visit family in Helena. Over all, campground was nice. The 4 new spots were too close together and had very poor run off during a rain storm. Had we not been hooked up, would not have been able. A foot of water was under our trailer by the electrical box. But, overall nice stay.
Jul 10, 2016
No trees
Jul 08, 2016
We really enjoyed the peace and quiet of the site. The longterm and overnite guests were friendly as well as the hosts.
Jul 05, 2016
Our stay was not good. A bad thing happened to the rest of my family tenting in spots 3 & 4. On Sunday a group (6-8)of college age youths camped in spot 3, placing 3 tents in the single spot next to my niece & nephew, they were already drinking and cussing. My nieces family left. My nephew called to get them under control, didn't happen till 2am. each family has children. totally out of control
Jul 04, 2016
cabin was great fun, bed was a little noisy for the vinyl covering. Did not like having to go outside for the restroom, but we managed. It was a fun stay
Jul 03, 2016
My stay was just ok the lady's in the morning I checked out was good the cabin was not clean and the KOA needs to be more strict on the dogs being on a leash
Jun 29, 2016
Extra, unexpected amenities included a refrigerator and microwave in our Kamping Kabin.
Jun 28, 2016
Great place to stay with full accommodations. Friendly helpful people
Jun 28, 2016
Sites were very close. We asked to move to a wider one and was told no. I had to move my tow vehicle twice so others could get in or out. Dogs are allowed to run loose in the park. I took bear spray with me when walking. The park caters to locals and don't enforce the rules.
Jun 27, 2016
We only stayed 1 night. It was very nice and close to the lake. It would be great to see the mini golf refurbished as it's quite unique.
Jun 27, 2016
I realize that this is flatter area but the shade issue is the only thing holding this KOA back from a 5-star rating. The grounds were great, the showers decent, and the cabin I stayed in was nice. Thank you as always for allowing me to arrive late and still have great customer service. We will be back soon when my nephew plays football in Helena! Go RMC BEARS :)
Jun 25, 2016
bathrooms need help
Jun 25, 2016
Great place to stay! The warmest welcome by the owners/staff. Loved the little bookshop!
Jun 25, 2016
Was a very nice site but we thought we were going to get blown away. We have come to notice that most KOA do not think to much about where they are putting tenters. If they are alongside a road we seem to always be tenting along the road and having to listen to traffic all night
Jun 21, 2016
Excellent
Jun 19, 2016
Long term residents,smoke filled skies, and fishermen roaming about at 5:30 in the morning. You definitely will not oversleep.
Jun 15, 2016
Nice staff. Neat grounds. Pink Flamingo plenty of food at a good price. Thanks. I wish I had my boat to use on that beautiful lake.
Jun 14, 2016
Delightful1.Older, well kept KOA.Close to fishing and Helena.Clean restrooms.Flamingo grill has good food and ice cream. This KOA has the most social porch I've ever seen. Room to sit and talk with campers and locals alike. Very friendly atmosphere, very helpful. GREAT PLACE!
Jun 14, 2016
Friendly Staff. Everything you need in one place for your vacation
Jun 13, 2016
Jun 13, 2016
Good clean friendly staff. We will return again!
Jun 12, 2016
The hosts were wonderful and check-in very pleasant. The flowers added ambiance. However, the sites are gravel, not level (we had to turn our rig around to get it level), VERY crowded sites, no view whatsoever, and the worst offense was that the laundry machines were dirty. The customer ahead of me said she had to clean the machines before she could use them. One washer was out of order.
Jun 11, 2016
This is the WORST KOA I have ever seen. It was basically a trailer park in an industrial type area. The people working were very friendly and the restrooms were clean, but that's all that I can say on the positive side.
Jun 11, 2016
beautiful view from our windshield!
Jun 03, 2016
May 31, 2016
The staff was very pleasant and welcoming. Definitely going to be staying there more
May 30, 2016
We had a great time--the staff was very friendly and the cabins were simply adorable.
May 23, 2016
Friendly and helpful staff. We rented a cabin very clean good location. Restrooms were extremely clean.
May 23, 2016
It was good, however 8 girls and a braker that blew out a few times made it more of a challenge. We will come back.
May 21, 2016
The mini golf is a disaster. None of the holes were playable. There was no grass to play in. It was nice to have a fridge and microwave in the cabin but the cabin was dirty.
May 19, 2016
Enjoyed our stay - Pink Flamingo, too. Friendly staff.
May 19, 2016
Very friendly in the office. Disappointed about the mini golf and horse shoe pit not usable during our stay.
May 09, 2016
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Campground was very clean and well kept.
May 09, 2016
Amazing staff!!!!!
May 07, 2016
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy