Townsend / Canyon Ferry Lake KOA

81 Silos Road

Townsend, MT 59644

Reserve: 800-562-5904

Info: 406-266-3100

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

Campground Reviews

Aug 28, 2015
Office gal was great campgrounds were in need of a lot of attention
Aug 26, 2015
Disappointed that internet didn't work on wifi even tho we were next to the tower. Jody was friendly & helpful but couldn't resolve the problem.
Aug 24, 2015
Chose the camper cabins for my brothers- instead of going all the way into townsend or helena. Great alternative to hotel, clean and comfy
Aug 22, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Very clean facility and friendly staff!!!
Aug 19, 2015
We were tent camping which we do frequently. The landscape was all barren and there were no shade trees. The playground was conveniently located but it really did not have much on it and was pretty depressing to be honest. The shower never got hot. I probably would not return. The customer service was good however.
Aug 18, 2015
Very friendly staff. Cabins are great. We will be back again next summer.
Aug 13, 2015
Our family reunion was great! Only problem encountered was Mother Nature decided to send wind, hail, and rain. Tents were blown over and items got soaked with rain water. But, we servived and enjoyed the rest of the days with KOA.
Aug 11, 2015
Clean and friendly.
Aug 11, 2015
friendly atmosphere, good customer service could be cleaner
Aug 10, 2015
basic campground no frills, entire place is gravel so kind of dusty, its near a lake but not on the lake and no beach area
Aug 07, 2015
Staff was incredibly helpful and personable. Grounds, hookups, restrooms/showers all well maintained and squeaky clean. I would have rated this KOA ten stars if Jodie would have only allowed me to purchase her Rastafarian Reggae-singing Pink Flamingo.
Aug 06, 2015
nothing to do in the area. They were watering the tent area when we arrived had to go and hang out some other place while ground dried out. Very dry and rocky ground
Aug 06, 2015
Loved the staff. The pet walk left a lot to be desired, but the location as a whole is pretty neat. Wifi didn't work (but I didn't speak up about it).
Aug 05, 2015
It felt more like camping in a parking lot than a campground.
Aug 05, 2015
Aug 04, 2015
The staff was wonderful. The facilities were great. On site restaurant, store and book sales, and video borrowing, on site propane. Great spot, beautiful view.
Aug 03, 2015
Nice cabin and pleasant place to stay. Store and lobby were very nice and the staff I talked to were great.
Aug 03, 2015
It was a good overnight stop.
Jul 30, 2015
Nice people
Jul 29, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
very nice facility and the people were outstanding.
Jul 27, 2015
This was my 1st stay in a KOA. When I reserved my tent spot it said water included, there was no water close. A pickup with trailer was parked in front of my tent area so I had to pack my gear. There was a family reunion and they were very loud late into the night making it hard to sleep. I did appreciate the free morning coffee, the book store and the clerk was very nice!
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 24, 2015
Not escorted to site. Was assured it was a pull-thru site, but when we got to it, there was a tree planted right where we needed to pull in. Had to go around and had to make numerous attempts to back the RV into position. Clerk became snippy when questioned about pool for swimming. WiFi not functioning to any worthwhile usage. No place for pets to exercise.
Jul 24, 2015
We stayed in a cabin. Clean and comfortable. Bathroom was also kept clean. Beautiful mountain and lake views. Store well stocked. Other than heavy mosquito issue we loved it.
Jul 24, 2015
We rented a small cabin which was clean and comfortable for 2 nights. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 23, 2015
Jul 22, 2015
the surroundings are very nice. The lady at the registration is so nice and funny. Many Mosquitos though
Jul 22, 2015
Loved it! Friendly, helpful staff, good food at the pink flamingo, level, clean spaces. Beautiful location, easy access to the lake. We will return!
Jul 21, 2015
Good KOA. Sites are a short.
Jul 21, 2015
The people who are long term campers need to keep their dogs on a leash and pick up the poop!!! I have been on the road since April and have picked up every pile from my dog - I don't appreciate stepping in someone else's dog poop!
Jul 20, 2015
Came for my husband's family reunion. It was great not staying at someone's home and not a hotel. We really appreciated that our pit bull was not discriminated against and we were allowed to bring her with us. We loved the little cabin and LOVED it had air! We were surprised to find the fridge and stuff. We definitely will stay again.
Jul 20, 2015
The ladies in the office/store were so hospitable! Much more "luxurious" than I imagined. Everything was great! We will be returning with the entire crowd next year!
Jul 20, 2015
Very friendly and clean. Dock area is beautiful.
Jul 20, 2015
The showers/restrooms facility was spotlessly clean and the employees were very friendly and professional.
Jul 19, 2015
Water in showers only warm, one day bathrooms had no toilet paper. Other than that the park was nice and clean.
Jul 17, 2015
This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this location. The staff is always friendly and willing to help out if needed. It is located on the beautiful Canyon Ferry Lake, so we bring our boat for some relaxation and fishing.
Jul 13, 2015
Nice place but a lot of people that live in their camp trailers.
Jul 10, 2015
The owner was very accommodating. The Flamingo Grill is next door which gives nice eating options. The campground was quiet. Lake access for boating, fishing, and swimming is wonderful.
Jul 09, 2015
Great staff and services!
Jul 07, 2015
We like KOA the people we nice, place was clean, they were helpful, tks
Jul 06, 2015
The apartment accomodation nightly rate is a 4star hotel rate. For that price I expect sheets without holes, windows with screens, faucets that turn off, carpet without rips and an air conditioner that cools the room.
Jul 06, 2015
Great Stay very clean and staff is the best.
Jul 06, 2015
Liked the full hookup. Not much for trees or grass or a place to walk the dog. No shower house. Friendly and helpful management. But yes, would stay again...

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The showers are located past the sinks in the main bathrooms. There are 2 shower stalls in each bathroom Dog walk, complete with bench and poop scoop bags is located behind cabin 2
Jul 05, 2015
Was great stay in the cabin the things I was thinking was in the showers in the shower by the cabins it needs some work other then that I was happy with the stay thank you

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Since this stay, we have improved the bathroom and addressed the concerns
Jul 03, 2015
Perfect spot to stay if you are passing through like we were. One of the smaller KOA's we have stayed at but it was nice knowing that we did not have thousands of people all around us. Very quiet and relaxing. Thanks
Jul 01, 2015
Awesome place to stay. Sharon and staff are extremely helpful and friendly. They make you feel right at home.
Jul 01, 2015
The Flamingo Grill is outstanding! All of the staff were wonderful, and we were so thankful that the cabins had air conditioning!
Jun 30, 2015
Crushed glass between sites? Not very pet friendly. The long term resident next to us had 3 large dogs in a small pen and when he left they barked nonstop (at 6:30 am). Office said sorry but not much they can do. Will never stay at or recommend this KOA again. Can't believe they still have a franchise!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.