Thunder Bay KOA

162 Spruce River Road

Shuniah, ON P7A 0N6 Canada Canada

Reserve: 800-562-4162

Info: 807-683-6221

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Cabin Reviews

Sep 14, 2014
too short but I was passing through GREAT JOB
Sep 09, 2014
Wonderful..wood was ready for us as per our request..cabin was cozy & romantic..would recommend and have already to some friends..just wish you were open later than Oct 15th!
Sep 08, 2014
Loved the pet-friendly attitude and the dog park. My dogs give it a paws up.
Sep 07, 2014
Sep 07, 2014
Great experience...staff were all so friendly and helpful. The cabin was comfortable and the new washrooms/showers were lovely!!
Sep 03, 2014
poor weather but we had a great time.
Sep 02, 2014
Aug 27, 2014
Beautiful scenery,pleasant people,lots to do
Aug 25, 2014
We usually travel with our trailer but this time we stayed in a deluxe cabin. It was great. Very comfortable, clean. We loved the deck!
Aug 23, 2014
Great bathrooms and facilities. We stayed in a Cabin and felt it was a bit too close to the other folks. We loved the camping kabin!
Aug 21, 2014
Loved the cabin!!
Aug 21, 2014
Cabin was fine. Would be nice to have a roof over the porch to allow you time outside if it is rainy. New pool addition will be lovely I imagine. Signage for one way traffic was lacking. Overall a great stay.
Aug 16, 2014
always lots of fun and great people. Very well run.
Aug 16, 2014
It was great,planning to come back next year,the people welcomed you there and made you like their own family also was well maintained and the best service I ever had, keep up the good work---Thank you
Aug 16, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
when we checked in i was disappointed to be so far on the map but i was wrong our stay was so so great we will go back for sure.....
Aug 11, 2014
I love staying at the Thunder Bay KOA. The Kozy Kabins are awesome and the staff are the best!
Aug 10, 2014
Great campground! The best bathrooms I've experienced. The owners are very dedicated to their campground.
Aug 09, 2014
Our stay at the cabin KL2 was lots of fun. The only problem we had was the very soft mattress. Other than that, it was great and made our family reunion so much more enjoyable.
Aug 06, 2014
Aug 05, 2014
Aug 03, 2014
Jul 31, 2014
This is a beautiful campground. Our site was high on the hill so we could watch a lovely sunset.
Jul 29, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Good location - outside of Thunder Bay so it feels like the country, but not too far out. Facilities were quite new and well-maintained. Some spots, including some Kabins, are on a rather exposed hillside facing the highway (though a good distance away). Other spots are deeper in and more nicely isolated.
Jul 28, 2014
Very friendly staff, grounds well maintained. Very dog friendly-my dogs enjoyed the off leash dog park and freshwater pool.
Jul 28, 2014
Very impressed with your campsite. Our deluxe cabin was amazing. Thanks for everything!!
Jul 28, 2014
The staff was friendly, and welcoming. They had great activities for families during our stay. We had a wonderful time.
Jul 25, 2014
Our stay was wonderful as usual! The campground is kept very clean. Staff are friendly and helpful
Jul 25, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
has been 15 years, every summer and still have a great time. Kristie and Mike are great people.
Jul 22, 2014
We definitely enjoyed our stay and the grounds are kept nice and teh cabin too. It does say on the website that you can't bring your own wood, however, the wood they sold was unseasoned so it was very frustrating, especially at $7 a bag. Overall, great stay though.
Jul 21, 2014
We stayed the weekend for our FIRST time at KOA Thunder Bay! We have 3 kids, age 6,4,3 and we rented a studio cabin. Our lot was amazing and our kids cannot say enough how great the weekend was! We will stay another couple of times this summer.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
If I am ever to pass through Thunder Bay I would very likely come to visit you again. My family had a wonderful time at your resort. We stayed in a lodge and my daughter loved the playground, my boyfriend enjoyed watching the FIFA soccer game on the TV and I loved the peace and quiet on the deck. If you have something for each family member - you really have a nice vacation.
Jul 15, 2014
Kristy and Mike and their staff always make us feel welcome and make us want to come back every weekend during the summer year after year
Jul 14, 2014
it was great - we were in a large lodge and had everything we needed.
Jul 14, 2014
The staff was friendly and helpful. The Kozy Kottage was great. The only problem was the firewood was wet and didn't burn at all.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
As usual our stay was great, the staff are very helpful and friendly. Looking forward to next year.
Jul 02, 2014
Kristi and Mike are like family. they make us feel welcomed and comfortable! the emenities are great clean and well cared for.
Jul 01, 2014
We had an amazing time.
Jun 29, 2014
The stay was ok. Bathrooms were clean. Would have preferred separate mens/women's showers. Ceiling fan in cabin like the ones at sault ste marie would be nice.
Jun 26, 2014
Wonderful. Got a free upgrade to a cabin, as there was lots of room that night. We thank you for the birthday gift.
Jun 23, 2014
Mike and Kristie are awesome! So much fun lots to do for everyone. Such a high energy couple. Their enthusiasm is contagious. Loved the cabin and everything was taken care of for us. Thank you so much
Jun 16, 2014
I was very impressed when I arrived and the girl at the counter remembered us from our previous stay
Jun 10, 2014
The owners stayed past the closing to help us out. We needed stuff from the store and arrived about 8:30. We were only there to sleep so not much to comment on. We found them very helpful when we asked them for information.
Jun 02, 2014
May 29, 2014
Beautiful. Staff helped us see the ships and other sites.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.