Thunder Bay KOA Canada

Open April 15 - October 15

Reserve: 800-562-4162

Info: 807-683-6221

Email

162 Spruce River Road

Shuniah, ON P7A 0N6 Canada

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 24, 2016
Stayed her 4 years ago as well, great place, great new pool area, clean restrooms, friendly staff... Only thing I would comment on would be WIFI strength and availability even at the main office. For US guests, WIFI internet may be more important (some phones turn into bricks at the border without international data plans;)
Aug 24, 2016
We arrived late after a long drive and they bent the swimming pool rules a little to allow our little guy to have a quick dip! Result? One happy little camper!
Aug 22, 2016
Our stay was great, kids had a blast! Really enjoyed the pool and splash pad, would have been nice if the mini putt was free as it got a little expensive when the kids wanted to play it more than once a day. Cabin was nice and clean and had everything we needed.
Aug 21, 2016
Great weather
Aug 20, 2016
Awesome place to stay. The cabins are very clean and well maintained. All of the staff is very friendly and helpful.
Aug 20, 2016
Lovely cabins, friendly & helpful staff, and so much to do!
Aug 17, 2016
Loved it! Loved the staff!
Aug 17, 2016
Traveling across Canada we always stop here. So friendly and always clean.
Aug 16, 2016
Thank-you Mike and Kristy for a wonderful weekend. You and your staff went above and beyond to make sure my daughter Brenda had the most unforgettable wedding. My wife and I are grateful for the use of your magnificent facilities to host the wedding. You guys "ROCK" Thank-you.
Aug 14, 2016
Lovely staff! Lovely site. Lovely pool. It was a great experience. We were only there one night. We wish we could have stayed longer.
Aug 13, 2016
Friendly well maintained beautiful area great pool snack bar
Aug 13, 2016
very enjoyable stay - staff are wonderful-very pleasant and helpful - grounds are well maintained
Aug 11, 2016
it is unfortunate that an expected enjoyable weekend turned out a nightmare because of the owners. I would request contact from a national office to further discuss our misfortunate experience. We paid good money for the delux cabin only to be harassed by the staff and owner.
Aug 11, 2016
Clean restrooms, friendly staff. The kids loved the pool and splash pad. Owners were very friendly. The mini golf course was fun.
Aug 09, 2016
People were constantly cutting through our site. Sites are extremely close together. Mini golf needs an overhaul.
Aug 09, 2016
We had a great time. We stayed in a cabin w/o toilets. They had the washrooms and showers right by us. We really loved the Kamp Kitchen. Who doesn't enjoy cooking outside. (outdoor stovetops, sinks and a toaster) We loved that the pools were nice and warm and that they use salt water! We didn't have time for the mini putt but it looked fun. The pond should have more benches however or a walk out.
Aug 08, 2016
This is a very busy campground, but, a pleasure to stay in. Very quiet in the area we stayed in. Love having the mature trees. Hats off to the staff who did a great job in picking up the garbage on a regular basis and keeping the washrooms clean and tidy. Enjoyed a game of chess. Loved the dog park. Great to have bags and disposal cans at both ends of the run. Looking forward to returning.
Aug 08, 2016
Our family of 4 stayed at KL1 luxury cabin for 3 nights. The cabin had all the necessities and was very clean. The staff was friendly and the camp groumd was well managed. Overall a good stay for anyone who is passingg through or planning to stay for a week ect. Thanks KOA for some great family memories.
Aug 05, 2016
Good facility
Aug 05, 2016
Beds in the kabins were very comfortable. We loved the pools and splash pad. Park was clean and well maintained.
Aug 03, 2016
Everything was fantastic....well manicured, clean and the "staff does rock"!.....thanks again for an excellent weekend.....splash pad is a great addition
Jul 31, 2016
Great site and very friendly staff.
Jul 27, 2016
Very pleasant and enjoyable. Amenities were close. I will return
Jul 25, 2016
Normally I would have rated this campground quite well. But...A mistake they made with our reservation caused our stay to be overshadowed with unnecessary frustration accompanied by heat exhaustion that complicated a medical condition. Management addressed the situation by saying we could stay or we could leave. We were traveling with 2 other couples and stayed to not disappoint our friends.
Jul 24, 2016
great people kristie and mike
Jul 22, 2016
Expected a little more in cabin. Other KOA's had a small fridge and a plug in light. Other than that it was clean and served the purpose.
Jul 19, 2016
Great stay. I come every summer.
Jul 18, 2016
Kids loved the pools.Minature golf very frustrating.Cabin was nice and clean.
Jul 17, 2016
We had a fantastic time!
Jul 17, 2016
Great place to bring the kids.
Jul 13, 2016
We really enjoy our stay.The staff is so nice.Thank you for making our stay so memorable.
Jul 13, 2016
We really enjoy our stay.The staff is so nice.Thank you for making our stay so memorable.
Jul 12, 2016
Friendly staff and a fantastic facility!
Jul 11, 2016
We stayed in the cabins overlooking the park. Kids had a great time. Was disappointed that the fire wood was all damp so we had to make a trip to town.
Jul 11, 2016
The deluxe cabin was great! Lots of room. Loved the 2 bedrooms. Happily surprised, the cabin was nicer than we expected. Staff was very helpful. Pool was very nice!
Jul 10, 2016
We stayed in one of the cabins up on a hill on our way to Regina the cabin was very nice clean comfortable and the staff very friendly will definatly recommend this KOA
Jul 10, 2016
Jul 09, 2016
We had a nice stay in your lovely cabin with high acomodation standard and all stuff you need for a good staying. Thunderbay was an interisting place and we misst the time to see all the exiting places. We come again.px
Jul 06, 2016
Something for everyone....many activities offered throughout the day....cabin was perfect!
Jun 22, 2016
I arrived a bit later than anticipated, but the campground hosts had everything ready for me. When I arrived the sun was setting and the temperature that night was going to be approaching freezing so I opted to stay in a heated cabin. The hosts quickly set me up with a cabin which had easy access to the washrooms. The campground was clean and quiet. A great stay!
Jun 02, 2016
A great place to stay especially for the kids.
May 30, 2016
Very clean, quiet. My dogs loved the dog park.
May 24, 2016
I loved it so many things for the kids to do... Only thing is that it's expensive... But will go back on the weekend :)
May 17, 2016
Despite the cold weather I enjoyed my stay.I found the sofa bed more comfortable to sit on than the futon in KL2.
May 17, 2016
It was extremely cold with flurries, so w've rent a luxe-cabin to enjoy the feeling of kamping.Awesome!
May 16, 2016
The staff were very accommodating, friendly, and a pleasure to talk to. Highly recommend.
Mar 23, 2016
We had reserved for a 4 night stay but needed to cancel 1 night - in advance. We were denied and told all cabins must be held for full weekend. Ironically other cabins were vacated despite this'policy.' The weekend themed activities are repetitive. Other activities ie scavenger hunts appear exclusive for all-summer campers. Staff are excellent. Facility is clean and great for kids.
Oct 03, 2015
Wonderful hosts - camp super clean - will stay next trip to Thunder Bay
Sep 26, 2015
Best bathrooms ever. Seriously. Really lovely staff for the brief stay we had.
Sep 14, 2015
It was our first time at KOA Kampground, and was really impressed. I never seen aa place so clean and the staff are amazing! My son is at the age where he's too young for some thing yet too old for others but he sure loooved the pool, and the activities that are provided! There's no way anyone can say they are bored at KOA!Cabin we stayed in was clean, comfortable and cozy.Can't wait to come back
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals