Thunder Bay KOA

162 Spruce River Road

Shuniah, ON P7A 0N6 Canada Canada

Reserve: 800-562-4162

Info: 807-683-6221

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2

Cabin Reviews

Jul 25, 2014
Our stay was wonderful as usual! The campground is kept very clean. Staff are friendly and helpful
Jul 25, 2014
Jul 22, 2014
has been 15 years, every summer and still have a great time. Kristie and Mike are great people.
Jul 22, 2014
We definitely enjoyed our stay and the grounds are kept nice and teh cabin too. It does say on the website that you can't bring your own wood, however, the wood they sold was unseasoned so it was very frustrating, especially at $7 a bag. Overall, great stay though.
Jul 21, 2014
We stayed the weekend for our FIRST time at KOA Thunder Bay! We have 3 kids, age 6,4,3 and we rented a studio cabin. Our lot was amazing and our kids cannot say enough how great the weekend was! We will stay another couple of times this summer.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
If I am ever to pass through Thunder Bay I would very likely come to visit you again. My family had a wonderful time at your resort. We stayed in a lodge and my daughter loved the playground, my boyfriend enjoyed watching the FIFA soccer game on the TV and I loved the peace and quiet on the deck. If you have something for each family member - you really have a nice vacation.
Jul 15, 2014
Kristy and Mike and their staff always make us feel welcome and make us want to come back every weekend during the summer year after year
Jul 14, 2014
it was great - we were in a large lodge and had everything we needed.
Jul 14, 2014
The staff was friendly and helpful. The Kozy Kottage was great. The only problem was the firewood was wet and didn't burn at all.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 02, 2014
As usual our stay was great, the staff are very helpful and friendly. Looking forward to next year.
Jul 02, 2014
Kristi and Mike are like family. they make us feel welcomed and comfortable! the emenities are great clean and well cared for.
Jul 01, 2014
We had an amazing time.
Jun 29, 2014
The stay was ok. Bathrooms were clean. Would have preferred separate mens/women's showers. Ceiling fan in cabin like the ones at sault ste marie would be nice.
Jun 26, 2014
Wonderful. Got a free upgrade to a cabin, as there was lots of room that night. We thank you for the birthday gift.
Jun 23, 2014
Mike and Kristie are awesome! So much fun lots to do for everyone. Such a high energy couple. Their enthusiasm is contagious. Loved the cabin and everything was taken care of for us. Thank you so much
Jun 16, 2014
I was very impressed when I arrived and the girl at the counter remembered us from our previous stay
Jun 10, 2014
The owners stayed past the closing to help us out. We needed stuff from the store and arrived about 8:30. We were only there to sleep so not much to comment on. We found them very helpful when we asked them for information.
Jun 02, 2014
May 29, 2014
Beautiful. Staff helped us see the ships and other sites.
May 28, 2014
May 27, 2014
I was disappointed because there was no pancake breakfast on Sunday.
May 23, 2014
Excellent accommodation kabin is spacious and clean
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 24, 2013
Was only going to stay one night, ended up staying 3 nights! We had a great 'long' weekend. The pot luck to wrap up the end of the season was great. See you next year KOA!!!!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Have a GR8 winter!
Sep 09, 2013
kamping at the KOA grounds was extremely enjoyable look forward do more kamping with the KOA staff the place was great my kids had fun making fire walking around plus the Halloween special was truly FUN loved the exhibits will surly be going back your friends for life.
Sep 09, 2013
OUR STAY WAS WONDERFUL. Loved our deluxe cabin, see you again next year!!! Thank You Matt & Heather
Sep 09, 2013
We stayed at KOA for my nephew's bday. Everyone had a great time. The bathroom has been renovated since our last stay. Very impressive!! Good job KOA!
Sep 08, 2013
A very nice KOA, was not as phenomenal as the brochure & website made it sound however. Still a solid 4/5 experience. The new washroom facilities were amazing.
Sep 08, 2013
OMG the new showers are worth the price alone!!! Friendly staff, they couldn't do enough for us. Thank you.
Sep 07, 2013
Loved how private & beautiful the deluxe cabins were.
Sep 05, 2013
Extremely helpful staff thankyou for that,pool was good temperature,the road noise was pretty stressing all night in particular and trains other side,as our home is in a quiet area it was not easy to stay in a traffic area.Our other cabin was better situated from the road noise,felt that they had perhaps removed many trees when upgrading not your fault,hope they replant as your park is good spot.
Sep 04, 2013
I'm not a seasoned KOA user, but if this had been my first KOA experience, I guarantee you that it would have been my last. It was noisy as heck...Everything, laundry facilities included, opens at 9am, and closes at 9pm...Seriously? Even the laundry facilities The wi-fi was very glitchy and even *that* seemed to be shut off at 9pm on the night I stayed there. There was no mini-fridge in the cabin
Sep 03, 2013
I had a great time with family and friends. See you again next season.
Aug 29, 2013
Nice people.
Aug 29, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Fabulous, friendly staff, well maintained grounds, everything was so clean! Deluxe bathrooms, supplies are economically priced in the store.
Aug 26, 2013
The KOA is kept very clean and everything is well maintained plus the staff are incredibly friendly.
Aug 26, 2013
Staff were very friendly. Cabin was so much more than we had anticipated. We'll be staying there on every visit from now on.
Aug 24, 2013
Well kept and well run campgrounds.
Aug 21, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
The overall park is absolutly beautiful & fun. However, we had a hard time with the people staying next to us making lots of noise late at night...past the quiet time. We had to ask them twice to keep the noise down because we had to get up early and drive 10 hours the next day. Someome should be enforcing the quiet time, out of respect for everyone...you don't know what their travel plans may be.
Aug 16, 2013
Great site for those with kids. Lots of space for trailers, tent camping, etc. Does get some highway noise. Good views of superior down the road. Dangerous wooden dowel rod in wall for hanging things right next to beds in cabin.
Aug 13, 2013
We were in a Deluxe Kabin for 7 days and we had a wonderful stay, everything is very clean and the staff is very friendly and courteous. Would definitely return.
Aug 10, 2013
We had such a wonderful experience at the KOA in Thunder Bay. We rented the small cabin for four nights. It was clean and very comfortable. We enjoyed the great service and used the swimming pool there.
Aug 09, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
  1. 1
  2. 2

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.