Thunder Bay KOA

162 Spruce River Road

Shuniah, ON P7A 0N6 Canada Canada

Reserve: 800-562-4162

Info: 807-683-6221

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 21, 2014
Had a great time, lots to do.
Jul 21, 2014
Staff was very friendly. Site was great - large, private, as requested. Kids loved the minigolf. Only minor complaint we have is that all of the firewood we purchased from you was very wet and wouldn't burn at all. Hope to come back some time soon!
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
We stayed the weekend for our FIRST time at KOA Thunder Bay! We have 3 kids, age 6,4,3 and we rented a studio cabin. Our lot was amazing and our kids cannot say enough how great the weekend was! We will stay another couple of times this summer.
Jul 21, 2014
Although there is full hookups the water at the Thunder Bay koa is not good at all. Made tea and had sediment floating on the top of the cup. They have made a lot of improvements but you would think that the water could be greatly improved as we paid 49.00 a night.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Walking into the store and being greeted with a "welcome home!"makes us feel like part of a community.
Jul 21, 2014
One of the best campgrounds we have ever stayed in. Twelve years of trailering experience.
Jul 21, 2014
The grounds were nice, there were lots of activities for one to participate in. THANKS!
Jul 20, 2014
Best owners & staff! We had a wonderful time!
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
Our 7-year old grandson is still telling others about it. He rode his bike until dark, made lots of friends, enjoyed the game room. We just rested because we new he was safe. We also enjoyed some local things like the amethyst mines, Robins Doughnuts, and the falls.
Jul 19, 2014
My grandaughter and I loved it. We had the perfect site as I liked the trees and privacy. The staff are extremely friendly and courteous. My munchkin and I will come again.
Jul 18, 2014
Everyone was so friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay very much!
Jul 18, 2014
Convenient location, excellent facilities,friendly and helpful staff. We plan to be back on our return trip.
Jul 18, 2014
The grounds are clean, organized, staff and owner very helpful for to help customers. The bathrooms & showers very very clean
Jul 18, 2014
My wife and I stayed at KOA with our motor home on a trip to Saskatchewan June 27/28 and also on our return almost a month later on July 16th. We enjoyed our stay since the attentive service that we received was first class. We had an issue with the location we were first given that was immediately corrected to our total satisfaction. "KOA is the place to stay in Thunder Bay"!
Jul 18, 2014
Staff and other campers were very helpful to us NYer's
Jul 18, 2014
We have had several visits to this campground the people &service are great and the cost is reasonable. Need to improve wifi GOOD WORK OVER ALL!
Jul 17, 2014
We were passing through on our way to BC. This campground was so clean and kept the kids entertained! Between swimming and mini putt alone, they had so much fun. Although our stay was only one night I can tell you that the brand new washroom/shower building was phenomenal and quite likely was furnished nicer than my facilities at home! The level gravel site was much appreciated-made for easy setup
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 17, 2014
Overall, very good reception, flexibility to change RV site. Nice campground BUT VERY NOISY, RIGHT BESIDE THE HWY 17
Jul 16, 2014
We had a wonderful stay recently! Staff were so eager to help and accommodate us! The new washrooms are beautiful and as always clean and comfortable! Thanks to all at the Thunder Bay KOA! Our friends that visited want to come there now. :)
Jul 16, 2014
We were charged more to stay here $49 no receipt given than we payed in Sault st Marie $47 plus our daughter stayed with us so it was additional $5 and she did not stay with us on our way back in Thunder Bay Wi Fi does not work great too close to highway-noisy but good service
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
If I am ever to pass through Thunder Bay I would very likely come to visit you again. My family had a wonderful time at your resort. We stayed in a lodge and my daughter loved the playground, my boyfriend enjoyed watching the FIFA soccer game on the TV and I loved the peace and quiet on the deck. If you have something for each family member - you really have a nice vacation.
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
great place, lots for kids to do and exceptional staff all around
Jul 15, 2014
The owners were great, very helpful. Everyone was kind. Lots of activities planned and the place is very well kept.
Jul 15, 2014
Kristy and Mike and their staff always make us feel welcome and make us want to come back every weekend during the summer year after year
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
it was great - we were in a large lodge and had everything we needed.
Jul 14, 2014
The staff was friendly and helpful. The Kozy Kottage was great. The only problem was the firewood was wet and didn't burn at all.
Jul 14, 2014
Excellent
Jul 14, 2014
rainy, soggy fire wood, and great people were part of stay here! time made even more special by the hosts, who made our stay even better for our cancer surviving sister! thank you for making our stay so awesome!
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 14, 2014
Very organized and lots for the kids to do. Not once did I hear I'm bored! Also very clean.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Great location. Close to Thunder Bay. Extremely friendly staff.
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 12, 2014
all was great but its time for a new hot spot in the campground for internet service was awful and is a key reason why I stay anywhere without reliable internet I have to find another place to stay
Jul 11, 2014
Thee staff and owners were very pleasant and helpful. We had a wheel bearing problem and they steered us in the right direction for repairs. Just disappointed there was no cable on full hook up pull thru
Jul 11, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
We have never felt so welcome anywhere before. Extremely impressed how well its all maintained, especially the bathrooms. We r already planning and hoping we can come back to the KOA Thunder bay next summer.Thanks so much to all the employees and owners. =). From Chad and Anita Thurlow along with our 4 children Nathan, Austin, Elissa and Damon.
Jul 11, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.