Thunder Bay KOA

162 Spruce River Road

Shuniah, ON P7A 0N6 Canada Canada

Reserve: 800-562-4162

Info: 807-683-6221

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 21, 2014
COLD BUT FUN it is northern Ontario
May 21, 2014
We enjoy Kristy and Mick. They are very accomidating. If we have a group and it is raining or cold we can use the basement for a fire and games or pot luck.
May 20, 2014
Mike and Christie are awesome. They go way above to make sure everyone is happy and enjoying themselves. Even the grandkids were impressed that they remembered their names
May 20, 2014
awesome long weekend weather. Great people
May 20, 2014
There wasn't anything they wouldn't have done for the campers. The only thing they couldn't do was change the weather.LOL
May 20, 2014
Great clean campground.... Lot's to do for the kids!!
May 19, 2014
Awesome
May 18, 2014
staff was friendly and helpful sites are a little too much like being in a parking lot. Grass and trees are nicer. Washrooms were very clean.
May 16, 2014
Very Nice facilities for laundry and excellent showers. Great people as well.
May 15, 2014
May 15, 2014
Nice place to stay for a night while passing through. To much noise from the highway and the sites aren't very private. All the staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful.
May 14, 2014
May 14, 2014
barbecue was great,as well as the pancake breakfast for Mother's Day.
May 14, 2014
No problems with our site. Our only complaints are that the washrooms closest to us were closed and that wifi did not work. We have stayed at many KOA's and have never encountered one where wifi was not guaranteed. Wifi reception should be improved.
May 14, 2014
most enjoyable.. other hand location not set in store..
May 10, 2014
Great place to stay. We were there last summer and the activities were great. We will stay again.
Nov 26, 2013
Though the facility may have been nice, I arrived just after 6pm only to find that the kamp kitchen had closed as well as the store, leaving it impossible for me to buy firewood in order to cook food. I sent a message to the management regarding this and received no reply. I've stayed in 4-5 different KOA's over the course of my Canada-wide trip and this was certainly my least desirable experience
Nov 01, 2013
Oct 25, 2013
Oct 19, 2013
Were greeted with open arms and called 'family'. Friendly and accomodating. Dogs lovd the park. One jumped in for a cooldown. Activities planned for all ages. Travel twice a year. 2 10 hr. days and one 3hr day.Invited to join them for breakfast before we left. Definitely will be back.
Oct 16, 2013
Friendly campground with lots of activities to keep all age groups busy. Campground owners go out of the way to ensure your stay is a good experience.
Oct 15, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
Well maintained campground with ALL the amenities. Very clean.
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 10, 2013
I love this place....first year rented a cabin a couple of times....the next year....stayed a month...the following year 2 months...this past summer....2013...3 months baby...!!!! Thunder Bay koa is paradise...Thank you Mike & Kristy....:)
Oct 10, 2013
Oct 10, 2013
Oct 09, 2013
This KOA is the best campground my family and I have stayed at. It was a blessing meeting everyone there and Kristy and Mike are amazing.
Oct 07, 2013
Campsite was spacious. Facilities were well maintained and immaculate. The shower room had roomy showers and the change area was large enough to get dressed and not get clothes wet. The staff was friendly and welcoming. All in all, a pleasant stay.
Oct 07, 2013
Very friendly service, very clean facilities! The only setback is the location, although very well setup if you are Tenting it is very noisey due to the 4 lane highway just in front and the multiple long train passes through out the night at the back! If you are in an RV you are in heaven!
Oct 06, 2013
This campground is immaculate, well maintained and well laid out to showcase the beautiful maples in full colour. The staff/owners are very helpful and friendly. This is a great place to Kamp!
Oct 06, 2013
Have stayed here for years, each time it is like comming home. Staff always friendly and helpful.New facilities excellent. Wifi upgrade would be appreciated. Thanks again.
Oct 06, 2013
Great hosts, showed right to our site, clean and very quiet.
Oct 05, 2013
Oct 04, 2013
Oct 02, 2013
dog poop on our campsite we did not have dog. very poor wi fi service
Oct 02, 2013
One of my favorite places in the world! Really a great place!
Oct 01, 2013
I met Kristie and Mike and quickly determined that this was their passion. The campground and facilities are spotless, all staff no matter what they were doing took the time to smile and say hi. This type of environment is a direct reflection of a respectful ownership and a commitment to their own personal values. An Excellent experience. Thanks Kristie, Mike and staff Brad Corrigan
Oct 01, 2013
Oct 01, 2013
great fall camping
Sep 30, 2013
Sep 28, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
awesome fall camping weather
Sep 25, 2013
Booked by phone & CONFIRMED site with 30amp full hookups. Arrived same day. Didn't tell us they were giving us site with just elec & water until I questioned them. Claimed someone booked our site online after we phoned them. After much arguing they gave us a 15amp full hookup site. Shouldn't have to argue THEY SHOULD OFFER. Trying to fool us into taking a 2way serviced site is BAD customer service
Sep 25, 2013
When we arrived on Sept 20th we received a warm welcome by the owners. The facilities were clean & warm. We look forward to visiting again in the future.
Sep 24, 2013
The staff was very friendly and helpful! As well owner Christine went above and beyond in customer service when we asked for a late checkout! Thanks for making our stay even more enjoyable :)
Sep 24, 2013
Excellent, as usual at a KAO. Friendly, VERY helpful staff.
Sep 24, 2013
I can't say enough nice things about this kamp site....the owners....& employees.....words can not express my appreciation.....

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks so much :)

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.