Thunder Bay KOA Canada

Open April 15 - October 15

Reserve: 800-562-4162

Info: 807-683-6221

Email

162 Spruce River Road

Shuniah, ON P7A 0N6 Canada

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 27, 2015
Nice campground. Staff was helpful. There as no WiFi
Aug 26, 2015
We were so impressed with this KOA! We debating cancelling our stay here after a poor experience at another KOA. We're so happy we didn't! The staff was amazing and really did a great job of making us feel as at home as possible. While we were there, they had an ice cream social and magician for the kids. We used the pool, rec room, park and dog park... wished we could've stayed longer!
Aug 26, 2015
Most obliging hosts. Excellent care of facility,grounds and clients. Its no wonder that they win well deserving awards.
Aug 26, 2015
It had been a hard summer with me working full time and the construction at home. So when it came to my littlest turning 5 I reserved our stay and it was as great as always!! We feel like family cause Kristie and Mike make it that Way!!!!!
Aug 25, 2015
Every day my boys said "I love camping, I love the KOA" they didn't want to leave! The Kupers take Excellent care of their kampground and really create a "family community".
Aug 25, 2015
This was our third time staying here while travelling across Canada. The staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful! Campground is very nice and bathrooms are very nice and clean. Love the big showers!
Aug 25, 2015
The cabin was not worth the money they ask for. But the camp ground of great
Aug 25, 2015
We enjoyed the resort experience and the planned activities. Our children enjoyed themselves.
Aug 24, 2015
We have travelled from the West coast to the East coast and a good part of the USA. Thunder Bay can not be beat for great campsites, and the most remarkable staff ever. Kristy and Mike know what they are doing and you can tell they are enjoying doing it. Never have felt more welcome at a campsite and they definitely go out of their way to fulfill all your extra needs. An absolute treasure in T Bay
Aug 24, 2015
Road to campsite rough and narrow. Otherwise nice campsite.
Aug 24, 2015
The staff cooperated with us to get our unit into an otherwise occupied site.
Aug 24, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay and we intend to return next year.
Aug 24, 2015
First time staying at the KOA. Was a great time. Kids had tons of fun and the staff was all friendly and helpful. The only complaint was when we booked online it said nothing about the site being next to the sewer and having to smell that day and night.
Aug 24, 2015
Very welcoming camp ground.
Aug 24, 2015
Friendly staff!! Very clean!
Aug 24, 2015
Great campground. Friendly, alive, clean, good access. I wrote a very positive campground review about it in my blog.
Aug 24, 2015
We were on our way home after being to BC. We enjoy your site. It is easy to find and friendly folks. Keep up the good work. We will be back the next time we are in Thunder Bay area. Edgar
Aug 23, 2015
Our stay was wonderful! I was delightfully surprised that the cabin had electricity and heat and a light! It definitely made the stay that much better because we no longer had to worry about keeping the flashlights on and where to charge our phones if they died. We plan to stay again some other summer, maybe not next year but the year after most definitely! Everyone was very kind and helpful
Aug 23, 2015
This stay was the best one there yet. We will be back
Aug 23, 2015
Excellent. Friendly and accommodating staff. Good facilities and proximity to the city a definite plus.
Aug 23, 2015
Another great stay in Thunder Bay KOA. Facilities are excellent; staff are superb; and the Northern friendliness is catching. Thanks to Kristie.
Aug 23, 2015
Most expensive KOA we have stayed in but very nice. It was upsetting that WiFi was not available in most areas.
Aug 22, 2015
Staff were very friendly, rules for the pool were not enforced,laundry facility great.
Aug 22, 2015
Fantastic place....great staff and management
Aug 22, 2015
We only stayed overnight, however, this camp had all the amenities. I would say the appearance could use a little more care.
Aug 22, 2015
We had a great time. A little rainy for half the time but the hosts steered us in the right direction for local sights to see even if it was raining. Very friendly!
Aug 22, 2015
Very friendly and efficient check in, even though we did not have a reservation. Appreciated having the area churches listed as part of the info.
Aug 21, 2015
I was a bit disappointed in this KOA compared to the others we stayed at on our trip. The bathroom facilities were insufficient for the # of campsites and there were long waits. We also did not appreciate the loud music blaring from the sports ground.
Aug 21, 2015
FANTASTIC PEOPLE, great facility and the pet park was a life saver with so much thought put into your stay.
Aug 21, 2015
Everything is great. The only thing is the noise from the highway. You have a fantastic place and the best staff... we will be back.
Aug 20, 2015
been staying here for 15 years and a as always a perfect holiday
Aug 20, 2015
good overnight stay on way into Quetico.
Aug 20, 2015
FANTASTIC!!!! FUN!!!!! CLEAN!!! GREAT OWNERS!!!
Aug 20, 2015
Best------as always
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 19, 2015
Very very nice, the place and the people! Couldn't have had a better stay!
Aug 19, 2015
Very hot and crowded, lots of kids, no shade and swimming pools were packed. We were placed among many partying Thunder Bay families, no grass, or shade and the least friendly people we have ever experienced at a campground. The staff could not have been nicer, but the facility needs to be enlarged to accommodate crowds like they had last weekend.
Aug 19, 2015
Loved everything! Best campground we've ever seen! But: the end of season fire lantern tradition? Yikes. Forest & house fires are a real concern with those, not to mention the RVs & tents that are in immediate danger. Bad news bears.
Aug 19, 2015
Loved it! Clean, comfortable. Lots of trees. Nice pool, games room. Fun and family friendly.
Aug 19, 2015
Had a great experience. Used my KOA # and they had all my check in information. Sites setup was easy to maneuver - lots of amendities. 👍
Aug 18, 2015
Great campground!
Aug 18, 2015
Deluxe cabins are extrememly clean and well maintained. We really appreciate the constant improvements...pool, patios, fire pits, and soon a splash pad!
Aug 18, 2015
Very friendly welcoming, great sites, amazing dog runs and all amenities one can think of ; for sure on our list of repeats :)
Aug 18, 2015
Our home away from home thanks tho the great team at Thunder Bay KOL
Aug 18, 2015
Owners and staff are awesome folks! Unfortunately, the seasonal campers have taken over the place and it looks pretty bad in the upper section where we stayed. Extra guests coming and going plus kids racing around in golf carts. No wifi unless in the office so that definitely needs to be improved. There's no excuse for letting seasonal campers be so sloppy!
Aug 18, 2015
Very nice campground.
Aug 18, 2015
Wonderful Dog park ,!!! The pool Made Ben ( border collie ) a happy Camper !!.
Aug 18, 2015
Clean. Activities involve everyone, not just kids. Fun. Reat showers. Clean pools. Miniput fun. Staff amazing.
Aug 17, 2015
We had a amazing time on our stay! We will continue to come back year after year. Thank you for the amazing time!!
Aug 17, 2015
Something for everyone. Impressive!
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals