Thunder Bay KOA

162 Spruce River Road

Shuniah, ON P7A 0N6 Canada Canada

Reserve: 800-562-4162

Info: 807-683-6221

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 10, 2015
Nice park, never did see all of it. Friendly staff, large sites, clean washrooms and showers. Highway close buy, but not loud enough to bother us. One complaint, we weren't aloud a campfire in our section. Don't know why??? Would certainly go back when in the Thunder Bay area.
Aug 10, 2015
The staff at the desk was VERY helpful in helping us find a level site. However I felt taken advantage of when seeking coins for laundry, in that my U.S.$ was traded at par, costing me at least '$5.00 in exchange - this is taking advantage of folks, when you have no ATM, & thus it's hard for me to recommend this particular KOA.
Aug 10, 2015
The spot we had was great but I would not stay here if I didn't get that spot. No privacy anywhere else
Aug 10, 2015
The staff is very friendly and helpful. Great place to stay
Aug 10, 2015
Easy in and out, but little privacy (hardly any trees)
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
Overall good park!
Aug 09, 2015
We had an amazing time and would go back. The accessible shower really helped me. Everything was clean and the staff were helpful and friendly.
Aug 09, 2015
extremely friendly helpful staff
Aug 09, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
I love camping at this KOA! The staff are very friendly and helpful. This campground is very family friendly too...lots of things to keep little kids entertained!
Aug 09, 2015
Great showers. Bad Wifi and wet firewood. Great staff!
Aug 09, 2015
Friendly and a very pleasant stay
Aug 08, 2015
My kids have so much fun everytime we go to KOA. The second pool is great and we can't wait for the splash pad to be open. Every weekend they have tons of activities to keep the kids busy.
Aug 08, 2015
Awesome place and staff! You do rock!!
Aug 08, 2015
Office help very friendly and helpful. Washrooms get top rating Aug. 6, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
Aug 06, 2015
It was so fun and relaxing. It is a gréât campground for kids to swim, bike and play. We look forward to our next stay.
Aug 06, 2015
We enjoyed our stay at the KOA. Were there for a five weeks. Very well run and clean, will come back again next year.
Aug 06, 2015
Great overnight stay. Comfortable surroundings, clean and well kept campground and facilities. Our site was long enough to accommodate our 45ft coach without unhooking our tow vehicle. Would definitely recommend this KOA campground.
Aug 06, 2015
We loved the dog runs and clean washrooms, the cleanest overall of any KOA I have stayed at!!!!
Aug 06, 2015
Fabulous campground, clean, lots of friendly and helpful staff. More expensive than most campgrounds, however great place to bring children, great activities for them.
Aug 05, 2015
Deluxe cabin was great. Children's activities kept my granddaughter busy and happy. She loved the sleigh ride with Santa.
Aug 05, 2015
There is no wifi around the campground. I think that there might be some at the office. Cell phone reception is almost non-existent. The section where we camped left very little room between trailers but this seems standard for most KOA's. The only problem we had with this was the firepit close to our trailer. Our neighbours had a fire around 10:00 pm and we had to close the windows.
Aug 05, 2015
Would like to see the driveway paved smoother, more trees to better block the view and sound of the highway and better grass in the tent sites.
Aug 05, 2015
This KOA is the best campground ever. Mike and Kristy are amazing people and the staff are always friendly. Great atmosphere. Keep up the great job
Aug 05, 2015
Aug 05, 2015
We stay here last year also had a great time. We needed an extra night when we got there this year and they really worked to accommodate us. We would have no problem staying here any time.
Aug 05, 2015
Clean restrooms, HOT and roomy showers! Lots and lots of family activities to do there.
Aug 04, 2015
We had an enjoyable time at the KOA and found the staff and owners very friendly and helpful. The cabins were comfortable and great for a family.
Aug 04, 2015
Great campsite!! Great for kids and relaxing!! Will go back for sure!
Aug 04, 2015
Awesome pools! Great new washrooms! And the kids had a great time.
Aug 04, 2015
Awesome, we'll be back for Hallowe'en!
Aug 04, 2015
We held our 15th Bi-Annual Carriere Family Reunion July 31st to August 2nd 2015. We all had a great reunion at the KOA Thunder Bay On and enjoyed very much. All relatives enjoyed themselves and loved the KOA campground , commenting on how clean , how amazing the cabins were, the staff were acceptional and very happy to help at any moment!!! The KOA activities were awesome!!!
Aug 04, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Very nice park. Great location with lots to offer.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Lots to do Campsites were clean and large. Washrooms exceptionally clean
Aug 03, 2015
Loved all the hard work put in by the staff for Christmas in July!!. The kids in the park sure enjoyed it. The staff is very friendly and I would highly recommend this park. Really enjoyed our stay.
Aug 02, 2015
The sites close to the playground and pool have no shade. Also the sewer drain was misplaced on my site, or it needs more gravel as the drain was uphill from the outlet on my trailer. It made draining my tanks very tricky
Aug 02, 2015
clean and friendly but...it was so so loud. People let their kids run around playing hide and seek and yelling until after midnight. Big trucks roared by on the new highway every few minutes. And the couple in the tent next to us were fighting until 3am. We got up after a few hours of sleep to drive to a hotel and a decent night's rest. Not sure if this is the norm or we had bad luck that night.
Aug 01, 2015
Jul 31, 2015
Nice campground. Friendly staff. Too bad the splash pad isn't done yet :-(
Jul 31, 2015
Too dusty. Put something on the roads, others do.
Jul 31, 2015
Convenient location - just east of Thunder Bay. Over $50 charge and we got an extension cord plug in. No wifi, no sewer hookup
Jul 30, 2015
WE had a fantastic time in the deluxe cabin. We definitely overpacked because everything was included. At the time of booking, I did not even know there was running water so you can imagine how pleasantly surprised I was. The staff were very friendly and the campground has so much to offer. We will definitely be back 100%
Jul 30, 2015
Awesome staff, very helpful and kind! Great amenities and a great family experience!
Jul 30, 2015
Only problem we had was wet wood everything else was great professional and friendly staff clean site and easy to find
Jul 30, 2015
Jul 29, 2015
We visited family in the area and this campground was a great location for us. It's quiet, clean, just what we needed.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.