Thunder Bay KOA

162 Spruce River Road

Shuniah, ON P7A 0N6 Canada Canada

Reserve: 800-562-4162

Info: 807-683-6221

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Sep 11, 2014
Always a great place to stay. Staff and owners are always friendly and helpful
Sep 11, 2014
We had expectations that we could access TV (even just local for weather)and wifi - being a KOA. Both were not possible. Disappointing when we were keen to see what the inclement weather was doing and check emails from home (Australia).
Sep 10, 2014
My favourite KOA
Sep 10, 2014
We received a warm welcome as the owners recognized and greeted us. This was our second visit this season. The facilities are clean & well maintained. As long as we can travel we'll take advantage of any opportunities we have to visit our friends at this KOA
Sep 09, 2014
Wonderful..wood was ready for us as per our request..cabin was cozy & romantic..would recommend and have already to some friends..just wish you were open later than Oct 15th!
Sep 08, 2014
The campground is fine but there is NO wifi in the big rig section. You have to go to the office which is disappointing.
Sep 08, 2014
Office staff very helpful. Bathrooms & laundry immaculate. Park well laid out. Good location...nice bike ride to town. Only criticism, very bumpy drive in and out.
Sep 08, 2014
Loved the pet-friendly attitude and the dog park. My dogs give it a paws up.
Sep 08, 2014
the new washrooms are very nice!!!but miss the popcorn!!
Sep 07, 2014
A great place for kidfs and adults as well. Very friendly and eager to assist in any way. Wonderful variety of activities. Our site was great as we could watch our granddaughter in the playground while at our RV . This is great for older folk who don't have the same energy as the young ones do. Great work Mike and Kristie
Sep 07, 2014
Sep 07, 2014
Great experience...staff were all so friendly and helpful. The cabin was comfortable and the new washrooms/showers were lovely!!
Sep 07, 2014
Sep 07, 2014
Sep 07, 2014
We have stayed at the Thunder Bay KOA several times and love it. The hosts and staff are friendly and very helpful. The grounds are well maintained and very accessible for our long rig. We stayed here in Sept. 2013 in a 35 ft fifth wheel. Wes & Sue
Sep 06, 2014
Help wasn't so friendly. Laundry room too hard to get too with loads of clothes. BUMPS BUMPS BUMPS!!!!! ugh
Sep 06, 2014
Our only complaint was the Wi-Fi! We could get it at our campsite...but you had to stand on your head with one foot off the ground...etc. or go down to the office. Fix the Wi-Fi so it's available to ALL the campsites! Nowdays when I look for "full hookups" I want Wi-Fi, too!! Hard to vacation/make reservation/keep tabs on things at home without it!
Sep 05, 2014
It was very busy but everything worked out well. The staff was very friendly and efficient. The washrooms/showers were spacious, updated, and kept clean. We enjoyed our stay and can recommend it.
Sep 05, 2014
Sep 04, 2014
Had a good stay. Courteous Staff. Very nice new showers & washrooms.
Sep 04, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
This is the best lots activities for everyone always happy to served us with a smile can't ask for more
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
poor weather but we had a great time.
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 03, 2014
It was great to see the kids all dressed up for Halloween on Labour day. You did a great job with the "Goblin Yard" and the kids all looked like they were having a great time.
Sep 03, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Our family really enjoy KOA. We've stayed here now for 5 consecutive summers. The staff is great, very friendly and make everyone feel welcome. Activities are always very well organized. With renovations this year, very disappointed with the pool area and the fact that monthly prices continue to increase. I will likely return next year for the kids but probably only for a month due to prices.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Super friendly staff, well organized events, clean campgrounds, beautiful new bathrooms....we will be back next year!!
Sep 02, 2014
Very friendly helpful staff!! Really enjoyed the weekend activities!!! Also loved the on site activities!! Would definitely stay again!!! Thanks!!!
Sep 02, 2014
Only sad part we didn't like was the fact our site was all dirt and tree roots which made packing up in the pouring rain a very bad experience and twice the work to get things cleaned up...other than that the ppl are amazing at KOA
Sep 02, 2014
excellent, thoroughly enjoyed the hollowe'en weekend,wish the Sault Ste. Marie, KOA went all out like your park does, congrat,s will recommend to anyone travelling threw your area
Sep 02, 2014
KOA is great! Lots for the kids to do. Already looking forward to our next camping trip. :)
Sep 02, 2014
The camp ground and staff were fantastic, unfortunately many campers did not follow the etiquette of not crossing through your site. This was very disruptive and disrespectful. It was the first time we had experienced this issue on such a large scale. Many of the offenders seemed to be long term or frequent campers at this KOA.
Sep 02, 2014
Sep 02, 2014
Great campground for adults and children. Good food, lots to do and a great laundry. Best showers ever and great people to help you. Tim and Corrienne Cuny from California
Sep 02, 2014
we had a great stay and will return next year
Sep 02, 2014
we liked it but the only thing we did not like was that some sites were not well leveled. There needs to be some work done
Sep 01, 2014
We visit at least once a season. We are made to feel like family. Mike and Christy and their staff are wonderful with their guests. Our dogs love the dog park. Well-planned activities also offered and we did participate in some. We will definitely see them next year and wish them continued success.
Sep 01, 2014
Aug 31, 2014
Excellent experience. Very clean with good staff
Aug 31, 2014
Aug 31, 2014
Very friendly people. Make you feel more than welcome.
Aug 30, 2014
Convenient to Thunder Bay and area attractions. Friendly staff. Disappointed in appearance of most of the seasonal sites in an otherwise well maintained campground.
Aug 29, 2014
Very nice grounds and pleasant staff. Thanks for upgrading us from lower to upper park. Grounds are very close to busy Hwy 17 and truck noice all night was unbearable. Wifi only works at office, not very convenient. Perhaps an upgrade to cover the whole camp should be considered. Great Halloween display, the best we've seen.
Aug 29, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.