Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

251 State Road 939

Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-0469

Reserve: 800-562-7731

Info: 305-745-3549

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Mar 27, 2015
Nothing bad to say about this campsite, the sites are a little close together but that's what you get in the keys...better than most of the others! I thought the marina and little beach area were very cool....and loved taking my daughter to the pool she had so much fun! These bathroom and shower facilities are the best and cleanest I have ever seen at a campsite!!
Mar 27, 2015
Mar 27, 2015
place is great just needs a real basketball hoop
Mar 26, 2015
way to much money for a sandy lot.
Mar 26, 2015
Packed in so tight that we had people walking threw are spot. Told us on phone that we could park trailer on same spot and then when they showed us to site he said you will have to drop trailer in back lot. So we only stayed one nite. I don't think you cater to seniors like some of the nicer KOA. You like the DRINKER'S and LOUD MUSIC.
Mar 26, 2015
Mar 26, 2015
The location is superb- only 30 mins from Key West. The staff was very helpful when it came to helping me find a place to store my boat.
Mar 26, 2015
Too crowded
Mar 26, 2015
WIFI is not existing, the beach is poor and the sites are narrow with no privacy. This is compared to a relatively high price. The pool was good though.
Mar 26, 2015
Kept saying this is Key West as an excuse for overcharging for sit. We priced checked around other campsites of similar style and they were $35-$40 less per day. Also site size was very small
Mar 25, 2015
spelled like sewage the last days we were there, but otherwise nice
Mar 25, 2015
Probably the most I ever spent for a site that is literally next to another. But it is Key West and that's what the cost is. Surprise was the included entertainment at the Tiki bar at night. Drink prices are reasonable.and clean everything. Just bring water shoes for their beach.
Mar 25, 2015
Very loud until midnight ,1 AM. The 11:00PM quiet didn't happen either night.
Mar 25, 2015
Thank you to the awesome staff. Had a great time
Mar 25, 2015
Th campgrounds location is excellent. Close to Key West and all the wonderful activities of the lower keys. The pool, shower, laundry, beach, and bar were all GREAT. The only downside is relatively small lots for all the big rigs.
Mar 25, 2015
The staff are very professional. The only issue is kids stay at the playground well after they are told to leave by campground staff. Perhaps adding a light switch to that light in the campground area would help if you could turn off the light signifying it's close. Kids playing loudly around 11pm.
Mar 25, 2015
One of the worst places I've stayed. The campground was fine. It was the price and the people I had problems with. Rude campers. Quiet time was not enforced. A huge motor home parked by my campsite and spewed diesel fumes from 7:30 am until 8 while loading their Bentley. Saturday night 2 large families moved in shining car lights to set up tents large fire and were up late into the nightMare Again
Mar 25, 2015
Friendly staff. Location close to Key West with great view of ocean. Loved the entertainment in bar. outstanding restrooms too. My only complain are the actually RV sites. Could be spruced up a bit. But we loved staying there and hope to return some day. Thanks for the fun!! Haywire is awesome!!!
Mar 25, 2015
The first rv smelled like a sewer then was upgraded to beach unit. The bed was horrible. It was not a queen but a double. It had springs poking in our backs all night and a dip in the middle. We kept rolling toward the middle. The rest of the place was fine. It was well stocked and clean.
Mar 25, 2015
Is my favorite campground! The staff is awesome! Super clean bathrooms, they have alot of stuff for kids, they keep the campgroung in exellent shape! Can't wait to go back again!! A+++++
Mar 25, 2015
Wonderful staff and location. Clean bathrooms and private showers. Staff were willing to jump start our vehicle when the car battery died. Highly recommend!
Mar 25, 2015
Very crowded, used to primitive camping. It is a busy time of year so it was nice to find a spot at all but I prefer being more secluded than their campground
Mar 24, 2015
Great location, close to public transit to Key West, and a lot of amenities.
Mar 24, 2015
Tent camping was very crowded, with no privacy. Would like a limit on how many campsites per area vs. free for all! Bar was usually closed, along with kitchen. Facilities are very clean and great location.
Mar 24, 2015
I've stayed at many all across the country and this is by far the most wheelchair friendly KOA I've been to.
Mar 24, 2015
spaces too close together
Mar 24, 2015
Had a great time! Great facilities
Mar 24, 2015
Friendly staff. Clean bath house. only big issue...you've got black algae in the pool. simple fix...brush daily and keep good balance if chemicals. Trust me...I'm a professional.
Mar 24, 2015
We had a wonderful time. Fantastic way to spend my 50th birthday. Captain Burt was just awesome. I want to hug his neck. Thank him for us again please. Best birthday ever!!
Mar 23, 2015
The new bathrooms and showers are super. The location is awesome and the staff was great. The only negative is the sites are tight, but the staff will assist in getting you squeezed in.
Mar 23, 2015
I had the worst camping experience ever from the staff to the site and having my both my coolers stolen while we slept!!!!!
Mar 23, 2015
The KOA staff at Sugarloaf are amazing....My son, Justin has special needs and everyone on staff their are always so gracious to him. He feels right at home, that is why we keep coming back!
Mar 23, 2015
Great stay and very impressed on the arrival process and the help you receive to get on your site. Many workers around always picking up trash etc.....felt very safe that there was always someone riding around the park. Stayed with rv and full hook- up, wifi was good. Entertainment at the bar good. Enjoyed our week stay, 3 adults and 3 children
Mar 23, 2015
THIS PLACE IS PARADISE, LOVE BEEN HERE FIVE OR MORE TIMES...
Mar 23, 2015
Mar 23, 2015
Great place to spend few days and have fund.
Mar 23, 2015
Bathrooms were cleaned liked the trampoline out on the beach area the kampground was family friendly the only thing i did not like was the the tent area was nit designated for each individual camper everyone was really close to each other and parked their cars anywhere. Other than that we liked this Koa.
Mar 23, 2015
Disappointing tent camping, but a decent RV location from what I could tell. There are no designated tent sites, just fields, and very few fire pits in decent condition. The restroom/laundry facility was in good shape, hence the two stars.
Mar 22, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Mar 22, 2015
Had a wonderful time. Great band - Haywire. Hope to return. :)
Mar 22, 2015
good
Mar 22, 2015
It was crowded but nice. Cable did not work well.
Mar 22, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Mar 22, 2015
Clean, updated facilities. Tent sites are numbered (on paper) but not in reality as you place your tent wherever tent areas are. Back tent sites never monitored - is there even a quiet time? - therefore I am required to get out of tent multiple times in night to tell others to be quiet. Notification on website about it being a party (loud music at bar) should be stated on website.
Mar 22, 2015
Clean facilities, friendly staff, great location, we had a great time! We WILL be coming back. Thanks
Mar 22, 2015
Our check in process was very fast. The location was busy but we only waited five minutes. The staff is friendly and the grounds are kept nice and clean. The only suggestions we would make is to have more activities going on for the children.
Mar 21, 2015
We had a great time at the Sugarloaf KOA. Everything we needed was right there for us. The staff was very nice. The restrooms were exceptionally clean. The entertainment was fantastic.
Mar 21, 2015
The campground was clean and had a nice area for fishing for our grandson and K9 park for our dogs. Concrete pads would be better than the small stone pads as we were constantly tracking them into our RV. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Firepits aren't at each site so we needed to request a portable pit for bbq'g. Internet was very slow.
Mar 21, 2015
We were camping in the overflow area, where we got a plenty of space for ourselves. Restrooms are now in excellent shape after renovation, but this is reflected in new pricing.
Mar 21, 2015
Sites are too small, people are very friendly, facilities are very nice. It's big advantage is that it is close to Key West...mm 17

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.