Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

251 State Road 939

Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-0469

Reserve: 800-562-7731

Info: 305-745-3549

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 04, 2014
I always recommend Sugarloaf KOA & several of my friends & family will be camping there next mini season because of my recommendation. The only complaint I have is that yoyr check in time is way to late in the day. We come down early to beat the traffic & this time we had to wait 6.5 hours to check in. I would really like to seevu guys have an earlier check in time.
Aug 04, 2014
Our family rented a "cabin" on the water @ sugarloaf key.3 days before our stay we were informed that the pool would be closed, we were told that there was so much more to do there @ the "kampground" that we wouldn't miss the pool.Upon our arrival we realized that our "cabin" was a trailer,the pool was under construction with jackhammers, & no amenities that were promised. Had NO power for a night
Aug 04, 2014
We requested and got a great spot. Thank you. Couple that worked there helped us when we had a flat tire when leaving.
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
We arrived at 5:30pm to find the office closed. Pool was closed. Very unhappy with amenities and price. Many other campgrounds in the area to choose from that are far nicer, better amenities and much cheaper. Will not return to this KOA.
Jul 31, 2014
They were redoing bathrooms and the temp showers did not has very warm water (on the cold side). Not alot to do in summer time when you have kids no entertainment Pool Beach Boating.Summer time brings the rain & bugs
Jul 30, 2014
The staff was nice and the bathrooms were decent. Our biggest complaint was that there was NO shade. We were there at the end of July and there is nothing they can do about the heat but there is NO shade. The site was rocky and we were between the boat ramp and the pub that stays open until 11pm. Fisherman took our picnic table. I was glad we only stayed there one night. And it was $116.00!!
Jul 30, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
Great spot, great view, great staff. Had a wonderful time.
Jul 29, 2014
Had a great time here. Awesome place for kids... we'll be back
Jul 29, 2014
Good place to come back
Jul 28, 2014
A GREAT STAY. EVEN THOU THE POOL WAS DOWN,WE DIDN'T HAVE CHILDREN WITH US. WE TOOK IN THE PUB AND THE VERY CLEAN CAMPGROUND. TOOK IN KEY WEST FOR A DAY WAS ONLY 13 MILES AWAY. VERY GOOD STAFF. THANKS
Jul 28, 2014
WELL WE HAD PLANS TO STAY 5 DAYS IN ONE OF THE RV TRAILERS . SO WE GOT THERE AFTER DARK AND WENT TO THE TRAILER WELL NO ROOF AIR THEY HAD A PORTABLE FLOOR WAS NOT COOL IN THERE AT ALL THE FREEZER DOOR WOULD NOT SHUT JUST NOT A FUN NIGHT SO WE LEFTED THE NEXT MORNING . SO HAD TO CHANGE ARE PLANS AND TRY TO FIND SO WHERE ELSE TO STAY ALOT MORE MONEY NOT HAPPY WITH THESE KOA
Jul 28, 2014
this park is just a dusty lot, was very disappointed when we got to the park. the pictures on the internet are very misleading. I cannot imagine being at this park when they are busy/full. we will never go back to this park.
Jul 28, 2014
Great location however bathrooms andd the pool were both under renovations so could not enjoy full experience.
Jul 27, 2014
Jeff the manager was suppose to call me or come and see me and he never did??My 40 ft. rig was squeezed into a 30 ft spot.I could not open my awning because it would of hit the RV squeezed in next to me. The RV next store sanitary line ran right next to my slide not to far from our door way.The cable kept going out as did the internet.The pool was supposed to be closed for a few days instead a wk
Jul 26, 2014
The campground was nice. Unfortunately, the pool was closed during our entire stay which was unplanned for. Also, the plumbing in the bathrooms didn't seem to be functioning properly. But the staff was very polite and we hope to return again within the next few years.
Jul 26, 2014
Sugarloaf KOA was GREAT!! The cabins were nice, the office and staff were extremely helpful. The Pub was a fun place to meet, drink (cheaply), and shoot pool. The swimming was a small area, but sufficient enough with a trampoline and climbing mountain toy. Unfortunately the pool was under construction, so we didn't get to enjoy it, but it looked beautiful!
Jul 26, 2014
Disappointed that pool was out of commission. Would have changed the dates of my stay if I knew it was not going to be ready on time.
Jul 24, 2014
This is the highest KOA we have stayed at. Pool & hot tub under repair, beach had no sand and had many rocks. Bathrooms were under construction. NOT enjoyable.
Jul 24, 2014
The campground is renovating their pool area so that was unusable. Their beach is small and rocky. The mosquitoes were horrible. Nothing great, but it was a place for us to stay while in the Keys.
Jul 24, 2014
Bathrooms were under renovation while we were there and there usually was no hot water and the restrooms smelled unbelievably horrible
Jul 22, 2014
its just remarkable to be able to stay there it was my second time and will be coming back relaxing and everyone is friendly and helpful wonderful staff.
Jul 22, 2014
Just waiting for pool and restrroms to be reburshied and finished. Staff was great and trailer was super clean with everything spot less! Coleen and Terri were great with the reservation. A nice and peaceful & beautiful place.Smitty
Jul 21, 2014
Need to improve bathhouse by the office it was clean but plumbing in showers need help the location was great for going to Key West, just sorry the pool was out of commission
Jul 21, 2014
Had a great stay and staff was friendly and helpful. Grounds were kept nice. Wish the beach/swimming area was a little nicer but not sure how much can be done about that. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking to camp.
Jul 20, 2014
Jul 19, 2014
We have stayed at many koa across the us n canada this stay was perfect in every way staff wonderful
Jul 19, 2014
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sugarloaf Key campground. The staff was more than helpful, and even though there was major construction going on the staff was never too busy to lend a hand if necessary. The water sites are much too close to each other a great improvement would be wider ones. We look forward to returning again and enjoying all the new amenities!
Jul 19, 2014
Pool and bathrooms/showers were under construction. So portable bath/showers were terrible!!!! Dirty and no warm/hot water!! Weather was great!! Staff was nicer than last stay.
Jul 19, 2014
No pool (under construction- but we were not notified and it didn't say anything about it online), Bathhouses had no hot water for showers, "waterfront" sites - you couldn't see the water for the overgrown mangroves, way over priced for off season and all the things not working, ice and water machine out of order, no shuttle to key west had to use bus.
Jul 17, 2014
All as advertized less, no pool, which was really disappointing. The rocky beach was also a let down. Staff was friendly and accessible. Park was clean but lacking of vegetation. Plant some trees!!!
Jul 15, 2014
Jul 15, 2014
We had a great stay KOA Sugarloaf Key. The forks that work there are very good and helpful.
Jul 14, 2014
Jul 13, 2014
We rented unit 259. It was impeccable, smelled good and in perfect condition. We loved the pool, the Pub and the staff is amazing. Tried to reserve same unit for next July 2014 but couldn't because the calendar we were told only allows until April. Thank you all for an amazing week. Thanks you, thank you!
Jul 12, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
Rented RV on campsite, Clean, but AC did not keep it cool during day, Front desk not friendly, terrible breakfast,and coffee,but ground taker and maintenance personel very nice,pool merky, hot tub not working, and turned off water one day from 9/1, but charged full price for stay, not impressed with campground overall,needs TLC
Jul 10, 2014
Bugs were the worst! Great service! See u next year!
Jul 09, 2014
We defiantly enjoyed our stay and will stay there again. Fairly priced and nice sites. However, a few suggestions.. Pool and deck need daily cleaning. More entertainment and kid friendly activities. Beach needs regulations on music volume so ALL guests can enjoy thier stay.
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 07, 2014
Jul 06, 2014
Stayed here 20 years ago for our honeymoon and came back. The trailers are a great addition. Staff is helpful. Will be back!
Jul 04, 2014
This was our first time staying in a koa. Everyone was helpful and friendly. All of our needs we're promptly taken care of and the grounds were kept clean.
Jul 04, 2014
The staff was very friendly and went above and beyond our expectations to make it a memorable stay even if it was just one night. Thank You!
Jul 03, 2014
Friendly staff, good location and facilities
Jul 02, 2014
The KOA staff were very friendly and helpful. The proximity to Key West is great. Love the fact that we were able to use a boat ramp without having to travel.
Jul 02, 2014
This is our favorite KOA except this trip. Bathroom and shower were under construction and the stand in shower were unacceptable, no hot water. The smoothie maker in the pub was broke. We enjoy staying here because of captain Jack and admiral Alcye.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
We had a fantastic stay ,Rented a airstream , it was great , friendly help, and a very nice place to stay

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.