Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

251 State Road 939

Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-0469

Reserve: 800-562-7731

Info: 305-745-3549

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jan 05, 2014
Location is fantastic! We stayed in a park model, and it was clean, had the basic amenities, perfect! Loved this campground!- Super friendly people too!
Jan 05, 2014
The wifi was spotty as best. When asked I was told to many people. Then you all need a better upgrade. The cabin was amazing the staff was great. We enjoyed our stay.
Jan 05, 2014
Jan 05, 2014
not for tent campers :( very crowded. no assigned spaces. not enough fire rings & tables for campers. pets crapped on the campgrounds too. this place is only good for rv camping
Jan 05, 2014
We had a nice time. We enjoyed the pub very much. The coconut bowling was a hoot.
Jan 05, 2014
First of all I would like to say that all the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. The area is nice and the facilities are clean. My only reason for rating as low as I did was the price. A primitive tent site with no power no water was almost $90 for two adults and four children which is more than twice what I am used to paying but it is the first time I have camped in the keys.
Jan 04, 2014
The campground is becoming a run down facility. Having been going for 18 years we have never seen the overcrowding of the large premium sites like we did this visit. Our coach on 154 was damaged by the families on 155 who jammed their site with 1 old motorhome 3 tents 2 stacked trailers 2 autos 1 golf cart 4 bikes and a canoe. We had to complain several times with limited results.
Jan 04, 2014
Jan 04, 2014
Jan 04, 2014
$78 dollars to pitch my tent in a field, on top go other campers? What a crime to charge that much for free for all camping. You ought to be ashamed of yourselves. When I book an expensive "tent site" months in advance I expect to at least have a designated site with a table and a place to park. It appeared that this campground was just out to make a buck. I will not be coming back!
Jan 04, 2014
Entire family had a really fun time and enjoyed all at campground. Only problem was site size. On ocean Front site we could not have awning fully out and pullouts extended at same time and pullouts and awning literally 4-6 inches from touching neighbors campers. But KOA enlarging these sites this year, supposedly. even though cramped, our picnic table was touching beach area so made more spacious
Jan 04, 2014
Jan 04, 2014
Very noisy, not divided spot, not relax campground, so tight to stay either tents or trailers, mobile homes, charge too much for owner getting rich. Pets everywhere to poop & pee, no private spot for dog walking, I witnessed these. Only one center bathroom & restroom, cheap construction to get $$$ from customers. Never come back & prefer to anyone. Sorry for this. We travel a lot, 8-10 times/year.
Jan 04, 2014
STAFF WAS GOOD . HOT TUB CLOSED? WIFI NEEDS MAJOR UPGRADING POOL WAS CLEAN BUT FOR THE AMOUNT OF PEOPLE NOT BIG ENOUGH ,SAME GOES FOR THE SHOWERS
Jan 04, 2014
Jan 04, 2014
Although this KOA's location at MM 20 of Route 1 is great, there were three factors that caused me to give this low rating. First, the spaces are very tight. Second, the wifi was not working. Third, the price is quite high.
Jan 04, 2014
Site was great! Bar was fun; cost of G&T for it's size too much. Men's room kept mostly clean. Ladies room needed more attention than it got. Shower water pressure very poor.
Jan 04, 2014
Very friendly staff and great upkeep of camp site. We really enjoyed our stay there.
Jan 03, 2014
We had a great time and I would really like to thank Lisa the event coordinator. She did a fantastic job with daily activities for the kids. My kids can't wait till next year.
Jan 03, 2014
One of the best family vacations we've ever taken! Sugarloaf Key KOA is beautiful and full of activities. It's very clean and the staff is so friendly. We had a fantastic time!
Jan 03, 2014
Greatc space. I will certainly return.
Jan 03, 2014
Jan 03, 2014
Perfect location. But for how much $ this place must be raking in the hot tub should work and the bathrooms could be updated. The back 40 could be even slightly organized so everyone is guaranteed a table and fire ring.. Doesn't have to be perfectly manicured. Also there should be recycling with all of the good times going on to cut the garbage in half. Staff seemed a little over worked.
Jan 03, 2014
We stayed in the tent area. Pros: Staff was friendly, bathrooms were clean and had hot water, charging stations and drinking water were available. Bar/food on site. Cons: Extremely crowded, parking in a spot where you wouldn't get blocked in was tricky, campers didn't have designated spaces, it was just an open grassy area, so groups would take as much space as thy wanted. Showers had no pressure
Jan 03, 2014
Jan 03, 2014
Staff very friendly Hot tub being closed disappointed. No nighttime pool opening due to no lighting Paying guests not enough seating for the entertainment due to not KOA guests attending.
Jan 03, 2014
Our stay started with Terri who helped with the reservations in the most pleasant way. I was not familiar with system and Terri was patient as I kept making changes. Then Berk helped us to understand the local fishing and he spent a lot of time with my 15 yr old son explaining how to catch fish. Bernie, Cathy and the other Terri so nice when we asked for anything that I thought I was in a five sta
Jan 03, 2014
Jan 03, 2014
We had a great time at the Sugarloaf KOA December 28th 2013 through January 1 2013. We stayed in the back 40 and was very pleased. We would of loved to had our own bathrooms and showers back there but understand you can only do so much with the space you have. The implies were extremely friendly and helpful and we would recommend this to everyone that enjoys tent camping as much as we do. Thanks
Jan 02, 2014
We have stayed at Sugarloaf Koa every Christmas and New Year since 1999 we love the campground, location, friendly staff, and activities . We will be back for Christmas
Jan 02, 2014
I have been many times. The people working, are doing a good job. Each time I come back the pool area gets worse and it seems like the public areas for plants also are worse. The canteen food could improve a lot. Camping is tight but I see they are working to make it better. tent area is good. Will I return. Yes. You need a under cover boss to come down for 2 weeks ,camp & see a campers view.
Jan 02, 2014
Excellent say again this year look forward to next year. The only issue is when they allow the folks form town to come in and utilize the pub facilities and the campers do not get the opportunity to utilize the full services they are paying for.
Jan 02, 2014
The BUGS in the camping area were unbearable, the BEACH was slippery and unclean, we left at 4am and would NEVER return.
Jan 02, 2014
i've stayed many times here thru the holidays,, great manager..everyone makes you feel right at home.. bartender Tom was a great workkamper.. helped me set up and was good company at the bar..top notch place 5 stars
Jan 02, 2014
This was the 2nd year we've stayed at this location. The biggest gripe is very poor water pressure. It trickles when the park is 3/4 full. But this year, the park was so packed like sardines that our neighbor's awning was 6" from our slide out. Their hanging lights lit up our living room.
Jan 02, 2014
Plus - super friendly staff Minus - specifically asked not to be placed near sewer treatment plant when reserved in May and wound up right next to it. Several minor things wrong with trailer, (windows do not work, gasket in ceiling vent off, auto-light on stove did not work, stereo has a short in it, vent in ac unit clangs noisily, gas grill did not work, frig takes forever to cool.
Jan 02, 2014
Emoloyees and management were friendly and professional. We intend to return for future vacations.
Jan 02, 2014
Staff was extremely helpful and made sure we had a great time. The Marina personnel went above and beyond to find my group a rental boat even when it meant going to an outside company when the KOA boats were all booked.
Jan 02, 2014
Jan 02, 2014
My stay at KOA camp ground in Key West definitely exceeds my expectation. The cabin/trailer we rented is roomy, clean, and well equipped. We love the outdoor jacuzzi hot tub, propane grill (although don't use it), and the table chair set. Will return for future visits to the area
Jan 02, 2014
Obviously, most of this KOA is an RV parking lot, but we had plenty of space for our tent camping. The guys in their golf carts with yellow shirts are omnipresent and always helpful and smiling! We enjoyed our Chrismas stay.
Jan 02, 2014
We enjoyed the campground and the facilities. The only reason we left early was because if the bugs. We purchased Off deep woods and we still had bites everywhere. We ended up at a hotel for our last night. The staff was friendly and we appreciated that they enforced the quiet hours.
Jan 02, 2014
The sites for tents were not defined. Restroom crampted. No regard for other campers taking out table.
Jan 02, 2014
I felt like I was in a parking lot for compact car
Jan 02, 2014
The site was great. The staff was very nice but somewhat unhelpful when asking about local events. Watch out for raccoons! They stole some of our stuff while we slept.
Jan 02, 2014
Jan 02, 2014
we were only there for 1 night. The staff was very nice. The restrooms need a lot of work!! the showers had no water pressure at all!! the toilets were very dirty!!
Jan 01, 2014
This is a great KOA. Excellent amenities, great staff, fabulous location. The only thing that keeps it from being five stars is that most of the sites are very close together. If you have a street (port) side slide-out,you will not have room to open an awning and will have a very small patio area.
Jan 01, 2014
Fantastic KOA. Great staff. Pool was great. Wifi worked perfectly. We will return.
Jan 01, 2014
We enjoyed our stay overall. The facility was clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. Campground was over capacity and extremely crowded. Parking was an issue. Entertainment in the bar drew outside visitors which was a nuicance, at best, to campers. Waterfront sites are much nicer with a fantastic view.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.