Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

251 State Road 939

Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-0469

Reserve: 800-562-7731

Info: 305-745-3549

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Apr 06, 2014
stay was good but a little less personal than it use to be
Apr 06, 2014
We only stayed one night in a deluxe cabin/trailer, but it was a great experience. We came in late but were helped quickly, the trailer was clean, and check out was a breeze. We would love to stay a while next time.
Apr 05, 2014
The location was great and we enjoyed the small beach area and bar by the pool. More women's bathrooms would be a great addition , but otherwise we enjoyed our stay.
Apr 05, 2014
The queen matresses were really saggy and should have been replaced.
Apr 05, 2014
Apr 05, 2014
The site was great with lots of amenities & a great location. The group two tents over were loud & abnocious & kept us up until 1 am. Lesson learned we wont camp near the rest room we will choose a campsite much further away to avoid this. I would recommed having a quiet time & some one to patrol around that time other than that it was great! We will stay again but be more selective on site.
Apr 04, 2014
Friendly people and fun entertainment.
Apr 04, 2014
We were there 4 weeks over a two month period and already have ourselves booked there for 7 more at the end of this year. Not sure where to start about the staff but we have to give a shout out to Jim and Terri (also our "neighbors" and hard workers on the grounds), Donna and Tom (never a day without a smile from them!), Maggie and Tom (another "neighbor" as well as one who kept us fed in the morn
Apr 04, 2014
The bathrooms and hot tub were under construction in the middle of spring break, the light from the playground kept us up all night, and we were eaten alive by bugs.
Apr 04, 2014
Excellent!!!
Apr 04, 2014
Unfortunately the bathrooms and showers were being renovated and portables were in use. When you pay $68 a night to sleep in a tent that just isn't good enough. I should have known this information when I booked the site online 1 month ago. There were 30-50 nails in the ground in the area we were walking and parking the car.
Apr 04, 2014
Apr 04, 2014
Apr 04, 2014
Apr 04, 2014
Wonderful
Apr 03, 2014
THE ONLY COMPLAINT WAS THEY WERE REMODLING THE BATHROOMS AND THE TEMP SHOWERS WERE BAD THEY FILLED UP WITH WATER AND YOU NEVER GOT HOT WATER ONLY LUKE WARM IF LUCKY
Apr 03, 2014
Apr 03, 2014
I loved my oceanfront spot and all the amenities sugarloaf koa offered. It was a stay to remember. I can't wait to go back. I wish koa had more parks at the beach, specially in South Florida.
Apr 03, 2014
Great campground and facilities, activities. Very expensive, but for the location it was justified.
Apr 02, 2014
We had a wonderful time at this campground. Stayed in a great rental trailer. Was very comfy and new feeling. My daughter really enjoyed the pool and my hubby liked the trampoline in the water. The music in the pub was great and it was nice that I could go enjoy a beer and my daughter could swim at the same time. We would for sure stay here again.
Apr 02, 2014
Camping que je pratique depuis 10 ans en venant en Floride... toujours aussi propre et le personnel très serviable...dommage que le jacuzzi ne fonctionne plus :-(
Apr 02, 2014
The second and third night were terrible with the sewer smell I was not offered any refund and had no choice but to stay find that bad customer service
Apr 02, 2014
Everything was ok except for campers walk through others lots to shorten walk to the front or to the restrooms. When your paying over $100 for a lot, it's irritating that other people are to lazy to walk around on the roads as we did! SIGNS! Only other problem was that my husband got biscuits and gravy on our 1st day from the restaurant, then other 3 days ran out of almost everything
Apr 02, 2014
When we booked the site, we were told that we would be on the water, and could have a fire. Both of those were not true.
Apr 01, 2014
Nicest staff ever!!!! The nighttime bartender was a little slow and distant but not bad by no means. I ABSOLUTELY LOVED this campground. I rate this up there with the best!!!!! Don't change a thing...you're perfect!!!
Apr 01, 2014
The campground is clean and fun. The employees really make you feel like family. We will be back next year.
Apr 01, 2014
PEOPLE SHOULD BE TOLD CAMPGROUND IS UNDER CONSTRUCITON PRIOR TO MAKING RESERVATIONS.Portable restrooms disaster from campers (spring breakers)not recommend during construction and spring break..
Apr 01, 2014
Apr 01, 2014
The location is great. A quick drive or easy bus ride to Key West. The staff was very friendly. The daily/nightly activities were good. The quiet hours were enforced. Now the not so good. The sites are tiny and packed. It was almost impossible to put out or awning. The camp store was nice, but not well stocked. Twice out of ice and no milk for 3 days. Probably won't be back.
Apr 01, 2014
Mar 31, 2014
We enjoyed our stay so much that we will be back next year for Spring Break.Hoping to bring a couple families with us. Tom the bartender from Jersey was excellant and so was the entire staff. I love the activities every night, we made several new friends. I do want the Hot Tub back as soon as possible. :-) Sincerely, Mark & Isabel Surtani
Mar 31, 2014
We were on site #166. The only problem we had was dumping our tanks. The sewer connection is up hill and higher than the ground the camper sits. Getting our hoses to drain had to be don we manually by lifting the hose along it's length above the height of the sewer connection. The 30A power connection also burned one terminal on our power line. Seems like ir was a bad receptacle in the outlet box
Mar 31, 2014
Mar 31, 2014
Facilities are excellent. Camping is tight. Major complaint was that there was only 1 person on duty at check in & store during our stay. Too large & busy a campground for only 1 person to handle. Long waits to check in, etc.
Mar 31, 2014
Camping is fun that's why I rated my experience a 3 of 5. But, they fought us the entire time; about everything we did... We booked a campground for 6 people and they only allow 2 tents... not a lot of threesomes out there - also would only allow 2 cars for 6 people - not sure how that works when you have 6 people with a weeks' worth of camping gear. also BLACK MOLD in shower/bathroom!!!
Mar 31, 2014
Poor security - campers on Friday and Saturday night stayed awake till ~4am partying, making noise and swearing to the point my children were repeating the profanities. Bathrooms where unkempt. I understand the facilities were under renovations, but what was available was beyond dirty. I've been to other KOA's and have never see such disrepair.
Mar 31, 2014
Our family had a blast. The staff was wonderful, weather was perfect, lot's of children for our 9 & 13 year olds to hang out with and activities were close enough for our children to feel secure and independent while mom and dad could sit in the shade, chat and keep a watchful eye on them. This is the 2nd time we have been here and will return again.
Mar 31, 2014
Friendly staff, clean sites!
Mar 31, 2014
Terrible. Bathroom situation was ATROCIOUS. Spring break hoards means that the bathrooms actually need to be cleaned MORE than once per day. Hundreds of tenters and 6 ladies bathrooms. We will NEVER come to this KOA again. No gate security and poor mgmt. Permanent sign on guard house says guard is doing rounds. What a joke. There never was anyone in there. What a disaster!!
Mar 31, 2014
Friendly staff, very kids friendly, clean campground
Mar 31, 2014
very disappointed in the wifi service. I think the campground has too many spaces and not enough free space. The no see ums were awful. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Mar 31, 2014
This was the worst camping experience I've ever had in 40 years of camping. The tent camping is downright fraudulent. There are NO assigned sites and all they do is collect your 80 dollars (which is highway robbery) and send you to an open field to find an available piece of land to pitch your tent. There are simply no rules whatsoever. Crank up your music all night, set up at 3 am, It's all fine
Mar 31, 2014
Had a hreat time with my family and school friends It is way too expensive for what you get for 175 per night in an RV and 80 dlls in a tent prices are ridiculous you are charging like a fuve star hotel and don"t have the service, accimodations, activities as a 5 star hotel. We were a group and they never put us together. The lady servations had the wor
Mar 31, 2014
My first time at Sugarloaf KOA and it was an awesome experience. All facilities were very clean, garbage picked up constantly and a very friendly and accommodating staff! Activities and pool area were great! The BEST was my site facing the water!
Mar 31, 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Kampgrounds and would DEFINITELY return!
Mar 31, 2014
Awesome location, awesome campground. Fishing was great, the pub and activities were even better, only issue we had were the temp. Bathrooms and showers, seemed to be hard to keep up with the cleaning of theses.
Mar 31, 2014
Mar 31, 2014
Mar 31, 2014
Mar 31, 2014
We are a big rig. We were told there were no pull through spaces available. We were backed into a tight space under a tree where our sewer hose couldn't reach the drain. Yet all weekend the huge adjacent pull throughs were not used and the larger back in sites were clearly available. The laundry was chaotic and the toilets are still in transportables.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.