Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

251 State Road 939

Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-0469

Reserve: 800-562-7731

Info: 305-745-3549

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Camp for $10 on May 9!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Mar 24, 2015
We had a wonderful time. Fantastic way to spend my 50th birthday. Captain Burt was just awesome. I want to hug his neck. Thank him for us again please. Best birthday ever!!
Mar 23, 2015
The new bathrooms and showers are super. The location is awesome and the staff was great. The only negative is the sites are tight, but the staff will assist in getting you squeezed in.
Mar 23, 2015
I had the worst camping experience ever from the staff to the site and having my both my coolers stolen while we slept!!!!!
Mar 23, 2015
The KOA staff at Sugarloaf are amazing....My son, Justin has special needs and everyone on staff their are always so gracious to him. He feels right at home, that is why we keep coming back!
Mar 23, 2015
Great stay and very impressed on the arrival process and the help you receive to get on your site. Many workers around always picking up trash etc.....felt very safe that there was always someone riding around the park. Stayed with rv and full hook- up, wifi was good. Entertainment at the bar good. Enjoyed our week stay, 3 adults and 3 children
Mar 23, 2015
THIS PLACE IS PARADISE, LOVE BEEN HERE FIVE OR MORE TIMES...
Mar 23, 2015
Mar 23, 2015
Great place to spend few days and have fund.
Mar 23, 2015
Bathrooms were cleaned liked the trampoline out on the beach area the kampground was family friendly the only thing i did not like was the the tent area was nit designated for each individual camper everyone was really close to each other and parked their cars anywhere. Other than that we liked this Koa.
Mar 23, 2015
Disappointing tent camping, but a decent RV location from what I could tell. There are no designated tent sites, just fields, and very few fire pits in decent condition. The restroom/laundry facility was in good shape, hence the two stars.
Mar 22, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Mar 22, 2015
Had a wonderful time. Great band - Haywire. Hope to return. :)
Mar 22, 2015
good
Mar 22, 2015
It was crowded but nice. Cable did not work well.
Mar 22, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Mar 22, 2015
Clean, updated facilities. Tent sites are numbered (on paper) but not in reality as you place your tent wherever tent areas are. Back tent sites never monitored - is there even a quiet time? - therefore I am required to get out of tent multiple times in night to tell others to be quiet. Notification on website about it being a party (loud music at bar) should be stated on website.
Mar 22, 2015
Clean facilities, friendly staff, great location, we had a great time! We WILL be coming back. Thanks
Mar 22, 2015
Our check in process was very fast. The location was busy but we only waited five minutes. The staff is friendly and the grounds are kept nice and clean. The only suggestions we would make is to have more activities going on for the children.
Mar 21, 2015
We had a great time at the Sugarloaf KOA. Everything we needed was right there for us. The staff was very nice. The restrooms were exceptionally clean. The entertainment was fantastic.
Mar 21, 2015
The campground was clean and had a nice area for fishing for our grandson and K9 park for our dogs. Concrete pads would be better than the small stone pads as we were constantly tracking them into our RV. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Firepits aren't at each site so we needed to request a portable pit for bbq'g. Internet was very slow.
Mar 21, 2015
We were camping in the overflow area, where we got a plenty of space for ourselves. Restrooms are now in excellent shape after renovation, but this is reflected in new pricing.
Mar 21, 2015
Sites are too small, people are very friendly, facilities are very nice. It's big advantage is that it is close to Key West...mm 17
Mar 21, 2015
Les sites au bord de l'eau sont super mais pour ce qui est du reste c'est de petit terrain les uns sur les autres. Belle rénovation des salles de bains/ douche.
Mar 21, 2015
Far too crowded. Spaces too small and too close together. Our trailer was only a few inches from the mounting post of a seasonal fifth wheeler parked behind us. Their plantings overflowed into what we believed should be our living space. Our hitch was struck by a departing RV passing a double-parked RV. The campground devotes too much of its space to an outdoor bar and two restaurants.
Mar 21, 2015
First night we were put next to the tents in very small site with loud people and fireworks going off second day we were one space away from the waste place and everything smelled like poop and urine but a lot quieter. Went to the Cafe for lunch one day and waited an hour an 15 minutes to get food which was soggy and never had a philly made with cheddar and hope to never again. marina is great.
Mar 20, 2015
Would not want to be assigned a site 137 to 161.We were assigned to 166 and declined that location. Site 330 was our choice. I choose NOT to be touching our neighbor's coach / camper. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Restrooms clean. Grounds well maintained. Location great for the drive to Key West.
Mar 20, 2015
Reserved park model with 2 queen beds, what I got was 1 queen with 4 small bunks. That made for some very uncomfortable sleeping. This was my 5th year in a row staying at this KOA and my only negative stay. We might be back next year. Maybe
Mar 20, 2015
Good KOA. Lively entertainment, great pool, good washrooms. A couple of the rental units need to be gone through thoroughly, beginning to show their age.
Mar 20, 2015
Average facility for the area but had sewer smell from septic system had was bad only stayed 2 nights and glad to move on
Mar 20, 2015
We had an amazing time! Staff was wonderful as always! Can't imagine staying anywhere else in the Keys!
Mar 20, 2015
somtimes the restroom wasn´t clean
Mar 20, 2015
Exceptional campground. Had many activities, great facilities, and welcoming staff.
Mar 20, 2015
We always love our stay here!
Mar 20, 2015
OTHER CAMPERS WITH LOUD MUSIC AND RACING THROUGH CAMP AFTER MIDNIGHT. TEENS AND EARLY 20'S WITH LOTS OF DRINKING AND NO HOST IN SIGHT. I HAVE BEEN TRAVELING THE COUNTRY AND STAYING IN KOA PROPERTIRS BECAUSE OF THE FAMILY ATMOSPHERE AND SECURE FEELING, NOT THE CASE THIS TIME.
Mar 20, 2015
Typical for the Keys, you turn into a sardine in a tin can in this campground. 80% or more is on a gravel parking lot with no visible separation between lots. Sewer plant near the marina and pub stinks. Campground is clean and people are friendly.
Mar 20, 2015
We like this KOA very much, the bar could use some sprucing up and a couple more TV's but that's not what we come here for. The beach and campsites are nice.
Mar 20, 2015
Awesome!!!!! Can't wait to do it again!
Mar 19, 2015
Had another great stay- this was year 15 for us. We love this place. The staff is wonderful, bathhouse clean, and park is in good shape. We were there for 26 nights and would stay longer if we could. Have already made our reservations for next year- Lord willing and the creek don't rise. Jeff and Gloria are doing a great job.
Mar 19, 2015
We Had the nicest stay camping at Sugarloaf Key Campground the staff the workers everyone very friendly and helpful especially the one girl Terry Who works in the office and made us feel welcome and was very helpful
Mar 19, 2015
I love the location, all of the employess were great, beach was nice, pool was nice, fishing was great. The only thing I didn't like was the size of the camp sites. We felt very crowded. My awning was actually over lapping my neighbors. No place for a camp fire. I know it is all about location
Mar 19, 2015
TV control did not work. Smelled like sewer. Scenery is beautiful.
Mar 19, 2015
The reason for the low rating was not the staff or facilities But the site itself. Small. Reservation was made far in advance, but we were so close to the next camper, we could not keep our awnings out to sit outside. Not much space to park our vehicle. we mentioned this-when we arrived, comment was made & were told it was an older campground, but noticed some sites had more room..
Mar 19, 2015
Management is the problem. They need to enforce the rules. Specially quiet time and pool hot tub rules. I ask management to do something about campers behind me sitting outside until 3am talking , drinking, being loud . Was told security would speak to them and at night. If they have security they were never seen and did not correct the problem. Pool noise after midnight to 5am once.
Mar 19, 2015
The staff really needs to get it together. When I arrived, the deluxe tent spot I had reserved was nowhere to be found and I had to camp on the "back 40". I regret staying here and would have rather slept in my car on the side of the road than stayed at this KOA.
Mar 19, 2015
Restrooms were very very clean. The pool was ok, but the beach was disapointing.
Mar 18, 2015
Easy to get to. roads in campground are large! Had a great time. Kids liked to fish from nearby bridge. Pool was nice also. Little restaurant within walking distance. Friendly workers.
Mar 18, 2015
We had a wonderful time.
Mar 17, 2015
Loved everything about this campground! Will definitely return and tell all my friends and family!
Mar 17, 2015
We really enjoyed our stay at sugarloaf KOA. We had a wonderful pitch beside the water. Thanks ☺️
Mar 17, 2015
the staff was so friendly and helpful and our rv was just great! enjoyed pub night too and lots of info re shuttle etc provided..

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.