Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

251 State Road 939

Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-0469

Reserve: 800-562-7731

Info: 305-745-3549

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jan 08, 2014
J'ai grandement apprécier l'accueil et professionnalise de toute l''équipe de ce terrain de camping . Merci a tous de m'avoir reçu chez vous. Thank you .
Jan 08, 2014
We stay here a lot. It was very nice.the new bath house going in will be a welcomed long needed project.
Jan 08, 2014
Very nice greeting at front desk they even drove us on golf cart to pick out best site to stay. Bathrooms clean & large. A general looking type of camping experience. No frills but good especially if you have kids!! Pancakes made to order in butterfly & fish shapes were a huge hit with kids!! Definitely would go back, pool & bar looked like fun. Ppl are very nice that stay there!!
Jan 08, 2014
No drainage in tent area when raining and no treatment of biting ants on ground. Expensive, but decent people working there.
Jan 07, 2014
The people were all great but I was camped in the front down by the mangroves and the mosquito's were horrible. I had over 100 bites on my legs before I knew it. Spray and you should be ok. Only about 16 miles from downtown key west so it is a great location.
Jan 07, 2014
Jan 07, 2014
We have stayed with Sugarloaf KOA 4 out of the last 6 years and always enjoy our stat. We were disappointed to hear that there was no shuttle offered to Key West on New Years Eve. We are looking forward to the renovations to the bath rooms and pool, they need it.
Jan 07, 2014
The dirtiest bathrooms ever!!!
Jan 07, 2014
I rented the Airstream RV for my 13 year old daughter and me. We had a blast! She loved the beach and all the fish in the clear water. I liked the laid back pub and all the activities offered. Well be back next year with more family.
Jan 07, 2014
Jan 06, 2014
We had an amazing time once again at the sugarloaf Key KOA. Our site was smaller than expected (rented a 4 bunk house and was given a double bunk rental), but made it work. i do have to say, the kids coordinator Lisa was amazing. She went over & beyond to make our kids stay was best it could be. A great person.possible to have more activities for kids everyday, including ny day-would great!Thanks
Jan 06, 2014
Over the exact same dates 2012/2013 we stayed on site 150 and enjoyed our stay parked adjacent to our hometown, close friends. We both decided to reserve the exact same sites for a year later. Our reservation deposit receipt clearly states the dates and specific site number. No other documentation of any kind exists, this is our agreement in total. Upon arrival we were informed that KOA would
Jan 06, 2014
Jan 06, 2014
thought was very clean, nice staff. great entertainment and bartender made Great drinks. not the best weather but the Campground was the highlight of our trip in the KEYS....Thank u, David and Ann
Jan 06, 2014
Stayed here for a week very friendly place and the staff always helpful.All kinds of things to do on the grounds and only 20 miles to Key west.
Jan 06, 2014
The staff was excellent. The bathrooms were nasty..but it was noted that they are due to be renovated. Severe insect issue....perhaps they should invest in a professional company to deal with the "no-seeums". My son and I were eaten alive and we returned home with bites all over our bodies. Great fishing and love the marina. Not sure we could deal with the insects again.
Jan 06, 2014
Jan 06, 2014
The bathrooms were ok, but they are being updated soon. We had a great time and will most likely be back again!!
Jan 06, 2014
People coming in late at night. Setting up there tent ETC!
Jan 06, 2014
Improvements to wifi and cable would make this great park a 10!
Jan 06, 2014
Les terrains sont beaucoup trop collés les uns aux autres. L'espace me semble sur-exploité. Pour le reste, rien a redire
Jan 06, 2014
Like every time me and my family go camping @ KOA, it was great, to bad it was raining and had to cut the trip short.
Jan 06, 2014
Jan 06, 2014
The staff is the most helpful and friendly that we have ever met, anywhere, in a recreational/hospitality facility. The live music and lively bar saved the day when it rained so hard. Too bad the hot tub was down (situation explained by the receptionist) but the heated pool was great.
Jan 05, 2014
We came thinking we could be in the hut tub at night to relax after fishing. Hot tub had been brokennand still is. Also I had a serious fall on the dock ramp due to a rotten board right before leaving. The fishing was good, but for the kind of money they charge things should be working and repaired.
Jan 05, 2014
Very well maintained. Staff very friendly and extremely helpful. Plan to return again.
Jan 05, 2014
Too many people - too crowded. Bathrooms outdated. Dirty showers with a trickle of water. I will not return.
Jan 05, 2014
Rented camper was nice and clean. Air conditioning was loud and not very cool. Staff on grounds were helpful and friendly. Location was great.
Jan 05, 2014
Jan 05, 2014
Wonderful staff and amenities. The entertainment at the pub was great.
Jan 05, 2014
Staff was really great. As helpful as could be in every capacity. Bathrooms could have been cleaner but all in all a great place.
Jan 05, 2014
This was our third year staying over the Holiday weeks in a tent with four kids. Much quieter than in years past. It will be great to have the bathroom and hot tub upgrades done when we return at the end of 2014. Great Campground with the beach, Kayak/SUP rentals, kids activities, PUB with evening entertainment and ability to go to Key West for Dinner after a day at the pool....
Jan 05, 2014
Great campground Very friendly and helpful.
Jan 05, 2014
Location is fantastic! We stayed in a park model, and it was clean, had the basic amenities, perfect! Loved this campground!- Super friendly people too!
Jan 05, 2014
The wifi was spotty as best. When asked I was told to many people. Then you all need a better upgrade. The cabin was amazing the staff was great. We enjoyed our stay.
Jan 05, 2014
Jan 05, 2014
not for tent campers :( very crowded. no assigned spaces. not enough fire rings & tables for campers. pets crapped on the campgrounds too. this place is only good for rv camping
Jan 05, 2014
We had a nice time. We enjoyed the pub very much. The coconut bowling was a hoot.
Jan 05, 2014
First of all I would like to say that all the staff were extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. The area is nice and the facilities are clean. My only reason for rating as low as I did was the price. A primitive tent site with no power no water was almost $90 for two adults and four children which is more than twice what I am used to paying but it is the first time I have camped in the keys.
Jan 04, 2014
The campground is becoming a run down facility. Having been going for 18 years we have never seen the overcrowding of the large premium sites like we did this visit. Our coach on 154 was damaged by the families on 155 who jammed their site with 1 old motorhome 3 tents 2 stacked trailers 2 autos 1 golf cart 4 bikes and a canoe. We had to complain several times with limited results.
Jan 04, 2014
Jan 04, 2014
Jan 04, 2014
$78 dollars to pitch my tent in a field, on top go other campers? What a crime to charge that much for free for all camping. You ought to be ashamed of yourselves. When I book an expensive "tent site" months in advance I expect to at least have a designated site with a table and a place to park. It appeared that this campground was just out to make a buck. I will not be coming back!
Jan 04, 2014
Entire family had a really fun time and enjoyed all at campground. Only problem was site size. On ocean Front site we could not have awning fully out and pullouts extended at same time and pullouts and awning literally 4-6 inches from touching neighbors campers. But KOA enlarging these sites this year, supposedly. even though cramped, our picnic table was touching beach area so made more spacious
Jan 04, 2014
Jan 04, 2014
Very noisy, not divided spot, not relax campground, so tight to stay either tents or trailers, mobile homes, charge too much for owner getting rich. Pets everywhere to poop & pee, no private spot for dog walking, I witnessed these. Only one center bathroom & restroom, cheap construction to get $$$ from customers. Never come back & prefer to anyone. Sorry for this. We travel a lot, 8-10 times/year.
Jan 04, 2014
STAFF WAS GOOD . HOT TUB CLOSED? WIFI NEEDS MAJOR UPGRADING POOL WAS CLEAN BUT FOR THE AMOUNT OF PEOPLE NOT BIG ENOUGH ,SAME GOES FOR THE SHOWERS
Jan 04, 2014
Jan 04, 2014
Although this KOA's location at MM 20 of Route 1 is great, there were three factors that caused me to give this low rating. First, the spaces are very tight. Second, the wifi was not working. Third, the price is quite high.
Jan 04, 2014
Site was great! Bar was fun; cost of G&T for it's size too much. Men's room kept mostly clean. Ladies room needed more attention than it got. Shower water pressure very poor.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.