Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

251 State Road 939

Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-0469

Reserve: 800-562-7731

Info: 305-745-3549

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jan 23, 2014
my wife expected to use hot tub,no excuse that it was not repaired. We booked her because she has medical condition where she needed it every other day!!! Otherwise the staff was great!
Jan 22, 2014
The campground was very nice, great amenities, activities, and friendly people. BUT the roosters made it very hard to sleep, and that was a very big problem.
Jan 22, 2014
Had a great stay,the staff was very polite and understanding to all our needs.
Jan 22, 2014
Staff were friendly and campsite was great. Showers, however could have used a bit more attention. Overall, though...great stay! We'll definitely come back.
Jan 21, 2014
Even with the main bathhouse in the midst of remodeling and a group of Cub Scouts camping close by, our stay was excellent.
Jan 21, 2014
Jan 21, 2014
Great time. Everything was wonderful
Jan 21, 2014
I absolutely loved this KOA!! Very peaceful on a small beach, has everything you need at arms reach!! :) Definitely going to return soon!! Thank you!!
Jan 21, 2014
Probably the worst KOA we have stayed at. The showers were terrible -- 1950's vintage and dirty! Won't be coming back.
Jan 20, 2014
Jan 20, 2014
We just needed an overnight stay so didn't use the facilities. I understand about the locale, but seriously?? $100 for a site seemed out of line. Friendly and clean, though our table was in terrible shape.
Jan 20, 2014
Very crowded, no view of anything, main bathrooms under renovation. Pool very big and nice.
Jan 20, 2014
Location was convenient to key west. Park was extremely busy and bathrooms were limited, night check in took a while. Not sure if I would say young children friendly bc of the amount of music coming from the restaurant so late at night and the strong smell of weed at the tents sites.
Jan 19, 2014
We enjoyed the campground.Staff in the marina ,office check in/check out and the poolside grill were all very helpful.
Jan 19, 2014
friendly and active well located
Jan 18, 2014
Super campground lots of activities, ez to get to Key West - very friendly staff clean and organized facilities!
Jan 18, 2014
Great facility. Day of departure the one lady on duty was very busy and not helpful in letting us extend our stay. The ladies on arrival were very pleasant and helpful.
Jan 17, 2014
Jan 17, 2014
Our problem was not really with the campground itself, but with the trailer that we rented for the night. It was an airstream, and it smelled terrible inside. The maintenance guy came over and squirted some cleaning solution into the toilet but to no avail. It was difficult to get any sleep at all. Also, the air-conditioner was difficult to operate, as it has been modified and did not have knobs.
Jan 17, 2014
Jan 17, 2014
Staff is very friendly and helpful. Beautiful campground. The only improvement would be larger lots. With my slides out there wasn't enough room to put ouy our awning.
Jan 17, 2014
Jan 17, 2014
Jan 17, 2014
Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! We hope to visit again soon!
Jan 16, 2014
Really enjoyed our time. Lots to do, and close to Key West. Hope to be back!
Jan 16, 2014
Far to buggy, county needs to do better spraying! Couldn't speed time outside unless it was windy. Other than that nice campground.
Jan 16, 2014
Staff very friendly and helpful. Pool very good. Hot tub not working throughout our stay. Bathrooms- showers did not have much water pressure. The rates are ok for the area, so close to Key West, but for $100 a night, everything should be working properly.
Jan 15, 2014
greatlive music
Jan 14, 2014
Had a great visit down to the Florida Keys and would not stay any other place. Love this campground and will be back many times. One minor note though, normally when we have checked in during previous stays the attendant helps us back in our fifth wheel to our site. This time the attendant showed us the boundary lines and said to take our time and he left, I was disappointed with that.
Jan 14, 2014
This place was fun! A couple of the older employees could use a little training in customer etiquette and parking 101 but this is a great place for both kids and adults.
Jan 14, 2014
Location is great, the restrooms always spotless and all the facilities perfect! The folks at the desk were great and I can't forget the ladies at the cafe. Can't say enough about the staff and facilities. Best campground in 50 - 60 years of camping! Thanks!
Jan 14, 2014
Jan 14, 2014
Staff friendly, but sites too close together. Don't know what site assignment procedures are, but there were open sites, some a bit more spacious and had shade yet we were assigned a tiny one in full sun and so close to the bar that we could hear the TV crowd cheer starting with happy hour. Tenters have nicer place than RV's. Dog park was VERY small. Should not even advertise that there is one.
Jan 14, 2014
Good facilities. Great location. Great people.
Jan 14, 2014
Les pancartes pour annoncer le camping sont presqu'un existante. Il n'y a qu'une pancarte lorsqu'on est rendu et elle est basse.
Jan 14, 2014
The back in spots for a 31 ft Class C too small. you front is touching the driveway and back is within 2 feet of unit in back
Jan 13, 2014
Thanks for a great stay. We will be back.
Jan 13, 2014
Spa was not working when we were there and appeared to have been down for quite some time. Would expect a popular destination to have repairs done in a timely manner.
Jan 13, 2014
Jan 13, 2014
Jan 13, 2014
The folks who work here are friendly and hard-working. They spend all day and night keeping the place clean. The location is convenient to Key West and the other Lower Keys. Upcoming renovations to the restrooms concern me since our little trailer has no bathroom, so be sure you are aware if you need those services.
Jan 13, 2014
Site was well looked after. Very crowded. On the expensive side. Water pressure in the showers was very low. Good location for visiting all lower Keys.
Jan 13, 2014
beautiful location, our site was very close to the pub and the band on weekend while quite good was VERY loud which made watching our TV difficult
Jan 12, 2014
Above average KOA! I like that it is right on the water. I like the café with lattes- Ruth's good service! I like the live music and the Pub. The maintenance guys are fantastic and overall service is great. Employees are quite helpful and friendly. The shower pressure was not good. I know they will be remodeling so I hope that cures this.
Jan 12, 2014
Jan 12, 2014
Great location, cramped sites. Wifi nonexisitant, told by staff to just keep trying, never got in in 7 days there! Friendly staff. Clean camp. Bait shop on site - very helpful.
Jan 12, 2014
The staff was so friendly and attentive. Grounds and pool was very clean. Looking forward to going back after the bathhouse/restroom renovations are complete. Only disappointment was when they parked another RV right next to us, when there were so many vacant spots in our area.
Jan 11, 2014
20+ years going to this KOA for the Christmas / New Year's holidays should say quite a bit about how we LOVE Sugarloaf Key KOA!
Jan 11, 2014
Not only was the campground misrepresented (no fire ring, bbq grill, or picnic table), it was over crowded and totally mosquito ridden. Camped next to us were loud party-campers who yelled and played loud music from 8:00 pm until after 3:00am. A terrible, over-priced, nasty place.
Jan 11, 2014
The staff was excellent, always friendly and tidying up the grounds. Unfortunately we were there when they were redoing the bathrooms and showers (they did tell us ahead of our arrival)...unfortunately the facilities we had to use we're very old and tired looking. The weather was not good either so that probably had something to do with our rating. Also the campground is pretty remote.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.