Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

251 State Road 939

Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-0469

Reserve: 800-562-7731

Info: 305-745-3549

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 09, 2013
Aug 08, 2013
ENJOYED EVERY BIT OF OUR STAY @ KOA SUGARLOAF. STAFF WAS EXCEPTIONAL.
Aug 08, 2013
Perfect place. Just far enough away from the kaos of key west to get away. Also close enough to run in town and do stuff
Aug 07, 2013
Had a blast, best KOA ever, had its own pub, beach, marina and iguanas! The trailer was clean and spacious for 6 and in a great location. The staff was friendly, efficient and helpful. My only suggestion would be to somehow cool the pool water. It's gets hotter than the ocean in fl in the summer. It is not refreshing, like warm bath water. It needs an infusion of cold water daily.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
If anybody is crazy enough to tent camp in FL in August, this is a fine place to stay. The bathrooms and other common areas were clean and well supplied. It was quiet but there were only 4 other tent sites in use. It's more expensive than any camping I've ever done. I'm assuming that's because it's so close to Key West.
Aug 06, 2013
Liked the loaction of the site but the "beach area" was not impressive at all and the pool was kept too HOT and the hot tub was covered with wood. There was no " restaurant" close by except one and the Pub only had bar food. The staff I will say were great especially the night security Antonio. he always went out of his way to make sure we didnt need anything. Bathrooms also need attending to more
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 04, 2013
Aug 03, 2013
We had a great week and were glad to see the new air conditioning units in the bath houses. It would be nice I'd next year there were more things for the kids to do or more beach activities.
Aug 01, 2013
5 Star----Super Wonderful!
Aug 01, 2013
airstream we stayed in the a/c would not keep up in the july heat. we had to go to office 2 times and have the shower water dumped.I have stayed at this KOA before always in my family's RV first time renting from KOA. couldn't use table for 7 yr son to sleep on cause a/c under it no room for pack & play for my 7 month old daughter. airstream very small enjoyed spending time with family
Aug 01, 2013
My stay was better than I could have ever imagined. The staff was awesome & the camper we stayed in was absolutely beautiful. Plan on going back very soon. If your not sure if this is the place to stay then let me tell you now it is worth every penny.
Aug 01, 2013
Close to Key West. Some sites on a little beach if you desire. Rentials if you choose, ample number of washers and dryers, bath and restrooms clean, sites larger enough for large coaches, store stocked well,boat launch if needed and staff very friendly and accomodating. Hope to visit next year. The Knights
Jul 31, 2013
Jul 31, 2013
The staff was great, they were very helpful. The RV was a little hot during the day. We took a couple of fans so that helped.
Jul 30, 2013
Our stay was from 7/19-7/28. The rate was the max because its Mini lobster season. The store&marina opened at 8am,closed@ 5pm. Nothing spcl was provided for the guests except higher costs. One worker said she was glad we were leaving because she thought we were "too noisy". It's a cmpgrnd for god sake. The park is generally unkept.
Jul 30, 2013
We love this KOA for location & the marina. Marina personnel as always were top notch. Campground itself seems like it is missing something. Hot tub was down. Only 1 water feature for the kids to play on. Each year we are amazed to find that the cafe is not open for mini lobster season. Was hoping for some onsite breakfast. Sweet rolls, danish & coffee in the store just doesn't cut it.
Jul 30, 2013
We have been going to Sugarloaf KOA for about 14years now. It is always a great time however, this year it was pretty quite. There was no celebration of lobster season, no contests, bands or excitement. Stores and pool closed way to early. But a lot of the same families of campers were there to greet each other yet another year. Till next year hope everyone stays safe and well.
Jul 30, 2013
This was the NASTIEST KOA we have ever been to:-( We paid for 2 nights & left after 1 night. The staff said it was filthy from the lobster fisherman. But I believe it is an environmental HAZARD due to overcrowdedness. YUCK!
Jul 29, 2013
the full hook up was great, the boat ramp and the people was great.
Jul 29, 2013
We have stayed at Sugerloaf KOA for the past 10 mini seasons! Your office staff was very unfriendly-the main bathroom was disgusting & dirty! Please check up on what your staff is doing!!!!
Jul 29, 2013
Restrooms showers very nasty.
Jul 29, 2013
I enjoyed our stay at the KOA at Sugerloaf. Very clean rental units.I will be back.
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Very nice pool, but office is closing early.
Jul 28, 2013
Totally poor if no Wi Fi. You are in the middle of watching a show and get constantly disconnected. If it rains, forget it! Stayed in brand new "Park Model" that were falling apart already. Shoddy workmanship. Things broken already. Boat rentals and General Store close at 5:00 p.m. so what do you do at night? No wifi, no boats, no store. Do the laundry? Very poor quality for what KOA is normally.
Jul 28, 2013
We were pleasantly surprised at how large and clean the park model was. The staff at Sugarloaf KOA are all wonderful and helpful which made our stay terrific. Would definately visit again.
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
We had a great time. The boat launch and campground were quite crowded as all campgrounds seem to be in the keys. Lots of room though to store boat trailers out back. Pool was murky so we didn't swim. And I thought the price was high too. I would go back though.
Jul 27, 2013
Everything that I needed for an enjoyable lobster mini season was available at this camp ground. The park unit was a newer model and very well kept. The location was excellent. I rebooked for next year.
Jul 26, 2013
We love this KOA! It is very family friendly, with a nice pool and air conditioned bathrooms! Close enough to Key West to drive down in about 30 minutes to catch a sunset celebration at Mallory Square with our paying the extremely high hotel rates. Everyone was very friendly and helpful during our entire stay.
Jul 26, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
Rien d'exceptionnel, pas d'eau / électricité pour les tentes, malgré un prix prohibitif. Surtout, infesté de moustiques du matin au soir, un vrai cauchemar. Sanitaires médiocres.
Jul 23, 2013
Did not provide what we were told we had..would no come back again...
Jul 22, 2013
Would have liked a better in-service on how to use the convention oven and sleeper sofa.
Jul 21, 2013
The staff were awesome and the campground is clean. The bathrooms stalls are very small and the showers need upgrading.
Jul 20, 2013
The people in office was very nice. The men on golf cart went out of there way to help.
Jul 20, 2013
A little to pricey for me but staff was very nice.
Jul 19, 2013
had an issue with our site 402 with getting shocked all around the base of camper including door and steps. Disconnected and on own power, supposedly repaired by KOA. Later that night my husband was shocked again, apparently they did not repair out slot but 401. Problem I had my husband has a defibulator, and was not good for him. Manager did comp one night to us.
Jul 19, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
Me and my family have been going here for 6 years now, we stay for a week and always have a wonderful time. The only complaint I have is that Carolyn at the front desk is extremely rude, we did get to the campsite earlier than check in and I did make her aware that we knew this, she was quick to jump all over me for not reading my emails, put her hand up to our faces and said he was done dealing
Jul 16, 2013
Beautiful scenery. Not much to do. Fleas and flies are terrible so bring the bug spray....spots are very tight. Price on water not for the value
Jul 15, 2013
The staff was awesome and made you feel as if you were the ost important part of their day. The cabin (224) was clean. The only complaint I have is how uncomfortable the couch was to sit on (extremely). It definitely needs a better one. Also, why isn't there an oven? I loved how big the fridge was though!! Loved the band on Saturday night. Will book again for next summer.
Jul 15, 2013
It was not as nice as it appeared on the website, there were no cabins (what we paid for)only RVs and we were not happy at all with our RV and no one seemed to really care. I thought it would have been more dog friendly except for that tiny section of what was called a dog park. The pub was open only at night. Did not enjoy the stay if it wasn't for family staying there we would have left.
Jul 15, 2013
The people are great! Very nice staff. Love it there
Jul 14, 2013
It was OK. We stayed in a tent and sites were not great. It needed to be mowed. The boathouse was nice but we had just stayed in a state park that was half the price but twice as nice.
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 13, 2013
Great is about the best word I can use the folks at koa are kindest people and very helpful we will be going back god willing many many more times thank u guys for everything the Loveira family.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.