Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

251 State Road 939

Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-0469

Reserve: 800-562-7731

Info: 305-745-3549

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jan 03, 2014
We had a great time at the Sugarloaf KOA December 28th 2013 through January 1 2013. We stayed in the back 40 and was very pleased. We would of loved to had our own bathrooms and showers back there but understand you can only do so much with the space you have. The implies were extremely friendly and helpful and we would recommend this to everyone that enjoys tent camping as much as we do. Thanks
Jan 02, 2014
We have stayed at Sugarloaf Koa every Christmas and New Year since 1999 we love the campground, location, friendly staff, and activities . We will be back for Christmas
Jan 02, 2014
I have been many times. The people working, are doing a good job. Each time I come back the pool area gets worse and it seems like the public areas for plants also are worse. The canteen food could improve a lot. Camping is tight but I see they are working to make it better. tent area is good. Will I return. Yes. You need a under cover boss to come down for 2 weeks ,camp & see a campers view.
Jan 02, 2014
Excellent say again this year look forward to next year. The only issue is when they allow the folks form town to come in and utilize the pub facilities and the campers do not get the opportunity to utilize the full services they are paying for.
Jan 02, 2014
The BUGS in the camping area were unbearable, the BEACH was slippery and unclean, we left at 4am and would NEVER return.
Jan 02, 2014
i've stayed many times here thru the holidays,, great manager..everyone makes you feel right at home.. bartender Tom was a great workkamper.. helped me set up and was good company at the bar..top notch place 5 stars
Jan 02, 2014
This was the 2nd year we've stayed at this location. The biggest gripe is very poor water pressure. It trickles when the park is 3/4 full. But this year, the park was so packed like sardines that our neighbor's awning was 6" from our slide out. Their hanging lights lit up our living room.
Jan 02, 2014
Plus - super friendly staff Minus - specifically asked not to be placed near sewer treatment plant when reserved in May and wound up right next to it. Several minor things wrong with trailer, (windows do not work, gasket in ceiling vent off, auto-light on stove did not work, stereo has a short in it, vent in ac unit clangs noisily, gas grill did not work, frig takes forever to cool.
Jan 02, 2014
Emoloyees and management were friendly and professional. We intend to return for future vacations.
Jan 02, 2014
Staff was extremely helpful and made sure we had a great time. The Marina personnel went above and beyond to find my group a rental boat even when it meant going to an outside company when the KOA boats were all booked.
Jan 02, 2014
Jan 02, 2014
My stay at KOA camp ground in Key West definitely exceeds my expectation. The cabin/trailer we rented is roomy, clean, and well equipped. We love the outdoor jacuzzi hot tub, propane grill (although don't use it), and the table chair set. Will return for future visits to the area
Jan 02, 2014
Obviously, most of this KOA is an RV parking lot, but we had plenty of space for our tent camping. The guys in their golf carts with yellow shirts are omnipresent and always helpful and smiling! We enjoyed our Chrismas stay.
Jan 02, 2014
We enjoyed the campground and the facilities. The only reason we left early was because if the bugs. We purchased Off deep woods and we still had bites everywhere. We ended up at a hotel for our last night. The staff was friendly and we appreciated that they enforced the quiet hours.
Jan 02, 2014
The sites for tents were not defined. Restroom crampted. No regard for other campers taking out table.
Jan 02, 2014
I felt like I was in a parking lot for compact car
Jan 02, 2014
The site was great. The staff was very nice but somewhat unhelpful when asking about local events. Watch out for raccoons! They stole some of our stuff while we slept.
Jan 02, 2014
Jan 02, 2014
we were only there for 1 night. The staff was very nice. The restrooms need a lot of work!! the showers had no water pressure at all!! the toilets were very dirty!!
Jan 01, 2014
This is a great KOA. Excellent amenities, great staff, fabulous location. The only thing that keeps it from being five stars is that most of the sites are very close together. If you have a street (port) side slide-out,you will not have room to open an awning and will have a very small patio area.
Jan 01, 2014
Fantastic KOA. Great staff. Pool was great. Wifi worked perfectly. We will return.
Jan 01, 2014
We enjoyed our stay overall. The facility was clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful. Campground was over capacity and extremely crowded. Parking was an issue. Entertainment in the bar drew outside visitors which was a nuicance, at best, to campers. Waterfront sites are much nicer with a fantastic view.
Jan 01, 2014
The staff in the office was rude. When I stay at a tent site I expect a picknic table and a defined boundary to my site. Every day I had stress about returning to the campsite and finding a place to park and room to move about my site without someone else packed in my way. EVERY campsite Ive EVER stayed at at leaset had a place to park my car and a table. Complete trash of a park.
Jan 01, 2014
We really likes the place. Everyone was very nice and helpful. My husband says to add that the pancakes rocked! We definitely plan to stay there again in the future.
Jan 01, 2014
Jan 01, 2014
Camp crowded.
Jan 01, 2014
We have been staying in KOA's all over the nation. Sugarloaf is the worst we have ever been in. Had reservations for 4 nights through New Year's and left after only 1 night. So cramped, cafe closed early, mosquitos, overly priced, and not at all accommodating. We stayed in a 42' class A. Never again!!!
Jan 01, 2014
Excellent location in Lower Keys. Friday and Saturday entertainment was perfect. Dog friendly and well maintained grounds.
Dec 31, 2013
upon arrival woman who's name began with 'T', was eating ice cream at front desk and the other woman was doing all the work. This is the same woman who was curt/rude on phone when making resv. sites are too close together for campers with slideouts. neighbors awning 6" from trailer. no room for outdoor area. Pool,roads,bar,music,facilitys,outdoor workers great.
Dec 31, 2013
Dec 31, 2013
A hint of organization for the tenting areas would be greatly appreciated!:(
Dec 31, 2013
Great place to camp, great staff
Dec 31, 2013
the little biting gnats were horrible. At check in the staff should have warned us to cover up and use insect repellant. I saw numerous people covered in insects bites. Pretending there is no problem doesn't help the situation.
Dec 30, 2013
ALL STAFF MEMBERS were very pleasant with"Hello everything OK" or " need anything? " Very clean and lots of things to do. Very much enjoyed the cookout on Saturday nite,great food and music. Thanks for the memories! !
Dec 30, 2013
Dec 30, 2013
We always stay in the back 40 and there is always 1 group, usually at the very last spot, that is always loud after 11 pm and security is never patrolling , ruining it for everyone!
Dec 30, 2013
Dec 30, 2013
Nice staff. Love the area. Kim was the best. She was soo helpful. Love the entertainmemt. Christmas buffet was also good food. Tks Kim for a great stay:)
Dec 30, 2013
Had a great time. Special thanks to Crash for his help.
Dec 30, 2013
We stayed in a "lower 40" tent site, which was farther from bathrooms and had no hook ups, but it had privacy and room to spread out. We used bug spray, however the 'no see ums' bit us unmercifully. We enjoyed cooking out on our propane stove on top of picnic table provided. We wish there was a water spigot nearby that we could use. We used bottled spring water from home. The KOA store well equipp
Dec 30, 2013
lots of mosquitoes, spa was closed at the pool which was very disappointing. my dogs were covered in ticks and fleas from the dog walk. in general we wont be back, and this was our third trip to this campsite.
Dec 30, 2013
Dec 30, 2013
Dec 30, 2013
The staff was friendly, helpful and courteous and the accommodations were terrific! We will definitely come back!
Dec 30, 2013
Too busy,but I realize xmas time. the bathrooms were old.
Dec 30, 2013
4 Stars due to Too Crowded at Christmas Time. Price too high too. Otherwise seems like a great place and great people. I appreciated Tom and Donna. Good KOA folks!
Dec 30, 2013
It is so crowded with very few public facilities. There are RVs tents in every possible corners. It is also expensive. Although the staff is friendly. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this place.
Dec 30, 2013
Over-booked, crowded, quiet hours are too late (1100pm) but nobody followed them anyway so we basically did not sleep our whole stay. There are not individual camp sites it is just a free for all so someone parked smack in the middle of our small campsite so we couldn't have a fire. Water pressure was terrible, no see ums were atrocious.OVER PRICED for what we got! Worst KOA we have stayed at!
Dec 30, 2013
This place was a nut house! I appreciated the fact that the tenting area was grass. That's the end of my compliments!They allowed people to drive in @ 1am and sent up camp, start a camp fire and finish their night of heavy drinking. Sorry my lifestyle doesn't lend itself to this lifestyle. All the tweens & teens roamed the camp until midnight unsupervised Playing their Ipods and being very unruly.
Dec 30, 2013
Squeeze you in like a sardine! Just stayed one night till we could get our spot at Boyd's! Would be much better if they planted some trees and bushes to separate the lots, I guess it's all about making money And not about making a nice camp site.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.