Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

251 State Road 939

Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-0469

Reserve: 800-562-7731

Info: 305-745-3549

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jan 01, 2014
We really likes the place. Everyone was very nice and helpful. My husband says to add that the pancakes rocked! We definitely plan to stay there again in the future.
Jan 01, 2014
Jan 01, 2014
Camp crowded.
Jan 01, 2014
We have been staying in KOA's all over the nation. Sugarloaf is the worst we have ever been in. Had reservations for 4 nights through New Year's and left after only 1 night. So cramped, cafe closed early, mosquitos, overly priced, and not at all accommodating. We stayed in a 42' class A. Never again!!!
Jan 01, 2014
Excellent location in Lower Keys. Friday and Saturday entertainment was perfect. Dog friendly and well maintained grounds.
Dec 31, 2013
upon arrival woman who's name began with 'T', was eating ice cream at front desk and the other woman was doing all the work. This is the same woman who was curt/rude on phone when making resv. sites are too close together for campers with slideouts. neighbors awning 6" from trailer. no room for outdoor area. Pool,roads,bar,music,facilitys,outdoor workers great.
Dec 31, 2013
Dec 31, 2013
A hint of organization for the tenting areas would be greatly appreciated!:(
Dec 31, 2013
Great place to camp, great staff
Dec 31, 2013
the little biting gnats were horrible. At check in the staff should have warned us to cover up and use insect repellant. I saw numerous people covered in insects bites. Pretending there is no problem doesn't help the situation.
Dec 30, 2013
ALL STAFF MEMBERS were very pleasant with"Hello everything OK" or " need anything? " Very clean and lots of things to do. Very much enjoyed the cookout on Saturday nite,great food and music. Thanks for the memories! !
Dec 30, 2013
Dec 30, 2013
We always stay in the back 40 and there is always 1 group, usually at the very last spot, that is always loud after 11 pm and security is never patrolling , ruining it for everyone!
Dec 30, 2013
Dec 30, 2013
Nice staff. Love the area. Kim was the best. She was soo helpful. Love the entertainmemt. Christmas buffet was also good food. Tks Kim for a great stay:)
Dec 30, 2013
Had a great time. Special thanks to Crash for his help.
Dec 30, 2013
We stayed in a "lower 40" tent site, which was farther from bathrooms and had no hook ups, but it had privacy and room to spread out. We used bug spray, however the 'no see ums' bit us unmercifully. We enjoyed cooking out on our propane stove on top of picnic table provided. We wish there was a water spigot nearby that we could use. We used bottled spring water from home. The KOA store well equipp
Dec 30, 2013
lots of mosquitoes, spa was closed at the pool which was very disappointing. my dogs were covered in ticks and fleas from the dog walk. in general we wont be back, and this was our third trip to this campsite.
Dec 30, 2013
Dec 30, 2013
Dec 30, 2013
The staff was friendly, helpful and courteous and the accommodations were terrific! We will definitely come back!
Dec 30, 2013
Too busy,but I realize xmas time. the bathrooms were old.
Dec 30, 2013
4 Stars due to Too Crowded at Christmas Time. Price too high too. Otherwise seems like a great place and great people. I appreciated Tom and Donna. Good KOA folks!
Dec 30, 2013
It is so crowded with very few public facilities. There are RVs tents in every possible corners. It is also expensive. Although the staff is friendly. Overall, I wouldn't recommend this place.
Dec 30, 2013
Over-booked, crowded, quiet hours are too late (1100pm) but nobody followed them anyway so we basically did not sleep our whole stay. There are not individual camp sites it is just a free for all so someone parked smack in the middle of our small campsite so we couldn't have a fire. Water pressure was terrible, no see ums were atrocious.OVER PRICED for what we got! Worst KOA we have stayed at!
Dec 30, 2013
This place was a nut house! I appreciated the fact that the tenting area was grass. That's the end of my compliments!They allowed people to drive in @ 1am and sent up camp, start a camp fire and finish their night of heavy drinking. Sorry my lifestyle doesn't lend itself to this lifestyle. All the tweens & teens roamed the camp until midnight unsupervised Playing their Ipods and being very unruly.
Dec 30, 2013
Squeeze you in like a sardine! Just stayed one night till we could get our spot at Boyd's! Would be much better if they planted some trees and bushes to separate the lots, I guess it's all about making money And not about making a nice camp site.
Dec 29, 2013
Hot tub was down (until renovations start in Jan 2014) pool was closed after dark when last year it was open. Really hard to make reservations, was trying to get a site i previously had. Please note that I have been to this KOA at least 12 time over the past 15 years ONLY twice I was able to get a previous site. I WOULD P A Y EXTRA TO BE ABLE TO GET THE SAME SITE I HAD LAST YEAR...why is that
Dec 29, 2013
Dec 29, 2013
The staff is very friendly as are the fellow campers. The negative thing is how close the sites are. It's like being in a sardine can or in a parking lot. Not quite my idea of "camping".
Dec 29, 2013
Great place and location, friendly people, very good staff
Dec 29, 2013
People nice. Have trash pickup all day. Showers need to be worked on. They should warn people when they check in about the no-see-ems. A week later and we are still scratching.
Dec 29, 2013
I wish we were told tht no see ums are worst in the mangroves. I would not have put my tent in them. We were covered in itchy bites but that was the only bad part of the trip
Dec 29, 2013
Dec 28, 2013
Dec 28, 2013
Amazing stay over the holidays. The staff made our 4 children feel right at home. Lisa went out of her way to get our kids involved in activities and did a great job entertaining us in the evening! Tom behind the bar was on the top of his game and we will look forward to seeing him next year. Many more staff member were amazing, just can't remember their names. We will recommend this KOA!!!
Dec 27, 2013
Dec 27, 2013
Great location, great service, spots may be too tight for some campers, great activities, very clean, washrooms to be upgraded, located Within driving distance to Key West offer kayak, paddle board, & boat rentals. Christmas meals available while we were there. Lots to offer.
Dec 25, 2013
Very nice campground with great facilities. Enjoyed the cafe.
Dec 25, 2013
We have gone camping before, but never to a KOA site. We were impressed with how many amenities the site had. The bait shop on the grounds was convenient, since we fished right off the bridge behind it. Everyone was extremely friendly, and very helpful. The camp grounds are also well maintained and clean. Overall, a great experience, will definitely return.
Dec 24, 2013
awesome place, great staff and the RV was 5 stars hotel room!!!
Dec 23, 2013
Dec 21, 2013
We were very much impressed with the park.. The grounds and facility were well maintained. Staff was constantly about cleaning the grounds being helpful to campers and made you feel at home.
Dec 21, 2013
This is a great KOA. Loved the location, pool and people BUT we were packed in like sardines very narrow sites with no shrubs in between and it was very very expensive.
Dec 19, 2013
This was by far the best KOA we have stayed at! The staff is incredible-a big shout out to Tom, Maggie, Scoota and all the others for making us feel so welcome. Can't wait to come back.
Dec 19, 2013
Dec 18, 2013
Sites are much too close and they seem to put everyone in the same area, instead of spreading apart. The workers were GREAT. Had to jump over neighbors sewer hose to get to my picnic table.
Dec 17, 2013
Staff were very friendly and helpful. We felt very safe. Glad that the campground was not full otherwise we would have been packed in like sardines. Dog park was great. Not likely to return but that's because we just didn't care for Key West.
Dec 16, 2013
a little pricey for the condition of the restroom facilities.
Dec 16, 2013
Ac was so cold and worked well loved it. The place was so clean with lots towels and supplies! thanks Lavada and Debbie

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.