Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

251 State Road 939

Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-0469

Reserve: 800-562-7731

Info: 305-745-3549

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Feb 17, 2014
Made reservations for our site a year ago. When we arrived, we had been bumped to one of the worst sites in the park. We were never told that we had to pay $25 to "guarantee" that site. Ruined our vacation.
Feb 17, 2014
We enjoyed our stay at the Sugarloaf KOA because it was close to Key West, the staff was very friendly and helpful, lovely pool, cafe and pub with entertainment. We were disappointed in the beach area and didn't use since it was mostly rock. The women's showers by the office had very poor water pressure and could use an update.
Feb 17, 2014
Feb 17, 2014
The bathrooms need a lot of work. You are doing over the larger building but the bathrooms in the building with the office need a lot of work. Also they should be cleaned more than once a day because of the number of people using them. the water pressure at this campground is very low. We had good pressure in other campgrounds so it wasn't our unit that had a problem. hope you address problems.
Feb 17, 2014
I had a nice time great staff thank you
Feb 16, 2014
the cabin we stayed in was very comfortable, especially the beds. It would have been nice to get the cabins that faced the water instead of other trailers. TV did not work, after numerous visits to the office it was finally resolved. It seems that the person who first looked at this did not know how to fix it, and did not follow up with anyone else. To me this was a lack of customer service.
Feb 16, 2014
Great location, great weather, great facilities. Glad to see washroom upgrades underway. Entertainment in the Pub was a welcome bonus.
Feb 16, 2014
Très bonne organisation concernant le souper et le groupe musical Haywire pour le party de la St-Valentin. Beau terrain mais beaucoup de monde,
Feb 15, 2014
We had a great time!
Feb 15, 2014
We had a great time! Thank you to all the staff for there friendly help, and information! The people in the store! Carolyn! The bar tenders Were so friendly! All the bar tenders were so friendly! Tom, Andre' , and the lady of them all... We're great entertainers! The dog park was very nice! ( we have small dogs). The bands were awesome too! Thank you hope to be back soon!
Feb 15, 2014
This was my first stay ever at a KOA. I enjoyed it thoroughly. The staff were very friendly and helpful when needed. With all the conveniences at this campground, I did not have to leave during my 10 day stay. I can't wait for my next visit :-) mario
Feb 15, 2014
Feb 15, 2014
Feb 15, 2014
Restroom and showers dirty no hot water. road dusty. service personnel was good. Price to high for service.
Feb 15, 2014
A little crowded but nice anyway
Feb 14, 2014
Feb 14, 2014
Feb 14, 2014
Well organized and very clean... unit was comfortable and well attended. Nice facilities and area.
Feb 14, 2014
We loved everything about the campground except for one thing: we were crammed in like sardines. We were uncomfortably close to our neighbors on both sides. Other than that, the facilities were excellent. We loved swimming in the gulf and in the heated pool. Although we had problems with our sewer, someone came quickly to clean it out for us before we left.
Feb 14, 2014
Registration in the store was a pleasure. I was surprised that the RV park was connected to the tent area. I'm not used to that. The bathrooms were very clean with showers! Great fishing area with store. Saw a shark under the bridge and dolphins! My only complaint was the car that backed up to our tent multiple times. I wish there was visible security. The lights were an extreme bother.
Feb 13, 2014
Great facilities and location but the staff makes it a five star. Very hard working group and they are always there to assist you. I signed up for a return visit next year.
Feb 13, 2014
Office staff are great. Very helpful, especially Terri. She went beyond what was expected. Pool is great (it's patched in places). Not many activities unless you want to hang around the Pub and drink. Ice cream social on Saturdays is great; Lisa who's in charge of it is another great employee.
Feb 13, 2014
Feb 13, 2014
Feb 13, 2014
Didn't really care for the smelly Airstream due to a full black upon entry. It was revolting. I didn't even bother asking to have the bathroom door handle fixed when I was given a can of Scrubby Bubbles to fix the stench. Had to use the breaker box to regulate the air conditioning that wouldn't shut off. Freeze or heat on max were the two options continuously. Few more thoughts but out of space
Feb 12, 2014
Great weather Great location Great friends We will be back. See you next season
Feb 12, 2014
Feb 12, 2014
Rates are way to high. It's to far from Key West. It looks like a parking lot in stead of a campground. Campsites are to small.
Feb 12, 2014
Had a great visit. Only problem we had was couldn't get wifi. All the people working there were friendly and helpful.
Feb 12, 2014
Feb 12, 2014
We had a great time at the koa, very clean and lots of entertainment. The only upsetting part was a group of boys camped next to us for a bachlor party and thier music was annoying , thier foul language, speaking of strippers, drugs and abuse of alchol. Not what i wanted my young children to hear. But that was only one night and the rest of our stay was perfect.
Feb 11, 2014
Nice location but tight spaces. Poor communication when problem with site. No one seems to be able to do anything other than escort RV or pick up trash. No technical help with electrical problem at site circuit breaker.
Feb 11, 2014
Feb 11, 2014
Staff was great. My husband got bitten quite often by the 'midges'. We were a little concerned when a bachelor party moved in beside us but we asked to be moved which we did
Feb 11, 2014
Nice RV park for the area. The spa was not operating which should not happen in the prime season. Had an infestation of ants.
Feb 11, 2014
Great spot and the staff is friendly and helpful. I am glad I got a spot over by the tents, more leg room and quiet. I had a site with water and electric only. I learned through the staff at Marco Island, that Sugarloaf had a "Honey Wagon" to handle portable waste disposal. This is a wonderful feature, but to my knowledge, is not advertised. I think it would really help if it was advertised....
Feb 10, 2014
Staff at Sugarloaf could not be friendlier or more helpful...they are visable all the time. Thank you for boat trip with Capt. Jack and First Mate Alice on your list of things to do, what a nice time!
Feb 10, 2014
Staff are great, Bath rooms are a total mess, main one is closed and replaced with a trailer, which was not clean. We left early because the trailer beside us lost its septic and flooded our site, since there no site available we received a rebate and left. Hot tub is closed looks permanent. Insufficient vehicle parking per site so trucks are encroaching on the road. Expect nightly noseeums.
Feb 10, 2014
Feb 10, 2014
We had a great first time stay at the Sugarloaf KOA. We will be planning a longer trip in the next year or so to come back! The airstream park model was just what we wanted and fit Me, My wife and our 9 month old baby perfectly. The pool, bar, docks and beach area were all great and everyone was extremely friendly. Top notch place to stay!
Feb 10, 2014
We had a great time! My boys enjoyed the beach area and my husband loved the proximity to fishing. It was our first stay at a KOA and we will be back!!
Feb 10, 2014
We had a group in the Back 40 tent area. Pleasant, roomy surroundings, good coffee and breakfast, nice open air night club, and above all, nice folks. Thanks again for taking good care of us and the easy handling of the group situation. I'm pretty sure that we will be back next year.
Feb 10, 2014
Everyone is so friendly, and the camp ground is really nice. Love the pub and restaurant by the pool. The Pizza was awesome!
Feb 10, 2014
This is a great place to RV, but not for TENT CAMPERS, there is not water or power at the Tents spot, you need to go far to get water or use the electricity, there is only three toilets and two showers available, is not enough!, the people working there are very nice and helpfull...
Feb 10, 2014
tent sites are $69 plus tax and dont have electric or water. I needed electric to run my laptop so I could work but electric sites are $93. expensive for a single tent camper.So I couldnt stay as long as I wanted to. Campground is not up to the standards of KOAs in the western states that I have visited. Though this KOA has improved the internet this year and has a great location.
Feb 10, 2014
Feb 09, 2014
It was a bit hectic checking in, very tight . However it is a nice , clean campground.
Feb 09, 2014
Staff was extremely courteous and friendly. Facilities were too crowded, too many RV's cramped into too little space. Restrooms and showers were down for renovations. Bad time of year to take on this endeavor. Alternate shower facilities were poor at best. Non-working ventilation although vent fans were installed in the two shower rooms. But for the pleasant staff, rating would have been lower.
Feb 09, 2014
This is the first time I have been to a KOA and it was NOT a positive experience. The sites are on top of each other, the bathrooms and laundry area floors are filthy, some of the outside employees are dirty and their clothes are disgusting. Also, the "advertised" WiFi is nonexistent. On top to this, the price was rediculously high, $100 / night.
Feb 09, 2014
Nice location loved having a shady beach for us snowbirds to get out of the sun. Enjoyed pool,pub area also. Only complaint was sites much too close together.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.