Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

251 State Road 939

Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-0469

Reserve: 800-562-7731

Info: 305-745-3549

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Feb 14, 2014
Feb 14, 2014
Feb 14, 2014
Well organized and very clean... unit was comfortable and well attended. Nice facilities and area.
Feb 14, 2014
We loved everything about the campground except for one thing: we were crammed in like sardines. We were uncomfortably close to our neighbors on both sides. Other than that, the facilities were excellent. We loved swimming in the gulf and in the heated pool. Although we had problems with our sewer, someone came quickly to clean it out for us before we left.
Feb 14, 2014
Registration in the store was a pleasure. I was surprised that the RV park was connected to the tent area. I'm not used to that. The bathrooms were very clean with showers! Great fishing area with store. Saw a shark under the bridge and dolphins! My only complaint was the car that backed up to our tent multiple times. I wish there was visible security. The lights were an extreme bother.
Feb 13, 2014
Great facilities and location but the staff makes it a five star. Very hard working group and they are always there to assist you. I signed up for a return visit next year.
Feb 13, 2014
Office staff are great. Very helpful, especially Terri. She went beyond what was expected. Pool is great (it's patched in places). Not many activities unless you want to hang around the Pub and drink. Ice cream social on Saturdays is great; Lisa who's in charge of it is another great employee.
Feb 13, 2014
Feb 13, 2014
Feb 13, 2014
Didn't really care for the smelly Airstream due to a full black upon entry. It was revolting. I didn't even bother asking to have the bathroom door handle fixed when I was given a can of Scrubby Bubbles to fix the stench. Had to use the breaker box to regulate the air conditioning that wouldn't shut off. Freeze or heat on max were the two options continuously. Few more thoughts but out of space
Feb 12, 2014
Great weather Great location Great friends We will be back. See you next season
Feb 12, 2014
Feb 12, 2014
Rates are way to high. It's to far from Key West. It looks like a parking lot in stead of a campground. Campsites are to small.
Feb 12, 2014
Had a great visit. Only problem we had was couldn't get wifi. All the people working there were friendly and helpful.
Feb 12, 2014
Feb 12, 2014
We had a great time at the koa, very clean and lots of entertainment. The only upsetting part was a group of boys camped next to us for a bachlor party and thier music was annoying , thier foul language, speaking of strippers, drugs and abuse of alchol. Not what i wanted my young children to hear. But that was only one night and the rest of our stay was perfect.
Feb 11, 2014
Nice location but tight spaces. Poor communication when problem with site. No one seems to be able to do anything other than escort RV or pick up trash. No technical help with electrical problem at site circuit breaker.
Feb 11, 2014
Feb 11, 2014
Staff was great. My husband got bitten quite often by the 'midges'. We were a little concerned when a bachelor party moved in beside us but we asked to be moved which we did
Feb 11, 2014
Nice RV park for the area. The spa was not operating which should not happen in the prime season. Had an infestation of ants.
Feb 11, 2014
Great spot and the staff is friendly and helpful. I am glad I got a spot over by the tents, more leg room and quiet. I had a site with water and electric only. I learned through the staff at Marco Island, that Sugarloaf had a "Honey Wagon" to handle portable waste disposal. This is a wonderful feature, but to my knowledge, is not advertised. I think it would really help if it was advertised....
Feb 10, 2014
Staff at Sugarloaf could not be friendlier or more helpful...they are visable all the time. Thank you for boat trip with Capt. Jack and First Mate Alice on your list of things to do, what a nice time!
Feb 10, 2014
Staff are great, Bath rooms are a total mess, main one is closed and replaced with a trailer, which was not clean. We left early because the trailer beside us lost its septic and flooded our site, since there no site available we received a rebate and left. Hot tub is closed looks permanent. Insufficient vehicle parking per site so trucks are encroaching on the road. Expect nightly noseeums.
Feb 10, 2014
Feb 10, 2014
We had a great first time stay at the Sugarloaf KOA. We will be planning a longer trip in the next year or so to come back! The airstream park model was just what we wanted and fit Me, My wife and our 9 month old baby perfectly. The pool, bar, docks and beach area were all great and everyone was extremely friendly. Top notch place to stay!
Feb 10, 2014
We had a great time! My boys enjoyed the beach area and my husband loved the proximity to fishing. It was our first stay at a KOA and we will be back!!
Feb 10, 2014
We had a group in the Back 40 tent area. Pleasant, roomy surroundings, good coffee and breakfast, nice open air night club, and above all, nice folks. Thanks again for taking good care of us and the easy handling of the group situation. I'm pretty sure that we will be back next year.
Feb 10, 2014
Everyone is so friendly, and the camp ground is really nice. Love the pub and restaurant by the pool. The Pizza was awesome!
Feb 10, 2014
This is a great place to RV, but not for TENT CAMPERS, there is not water or power at the Tents spot, you need to go far to get water or use the electricity, there is only three toilets and two showers available, is not enough!, the people working there are very nice and helpfull...
Feb 10, 2014
tent sites are $69 plus tax and dont have electric or water. I needed electric to run my laptop so I could work but electric sites are $93. expensive for a single tent camper.So I couldnt stay as long as I wanted to. Campground is not up to the standards of KOAs in the western states that I have visited. Though this KOA has improved the internet this year and has a great location.
Feb 10, 2014
Feb 09, 2014
It was a bit hectic checking in, very tight . However it is a nice , clean campground.
Feb 09, 2014
Staff was extremely courteous and friendly. Facilities were too crowded, too many RV's cramped into too little space. Restrooms and showers were down for renovations. Bad time of year to take on this endeavor. Alternate shower facilities were poor at best. Non-working ventilation although vent fans were installed in the two shower rooms. But for the pleasant staff, rating would have been lower.
Feb 09, 2014
This is the first time I have been to a KOA and it was NOT a positive experience. The sites are on top of each other, the bathrooms and laundry area floors are filthy, some of the outside employees are dirty and their clothes are disgusting. Also, the "advertised" WiFi is nonexistent. On top to this, the price was rediculously high, $100 / night.
Feb 09, 2014
Nice location loved having a shady beach for us snowbirds to get out of the sun. Enjoyed pool,pub area also. Only complaint was sites much too close together.
Feb 09, 2014
Wonderful relaxing pleasure
Feb 09, 2014
We had a great time. Lots of good helpful people working there. No complaints.
Feb 09, 2014
Feb 08, 2014
How can you go wrong. 84 and sunny. Great people staff and facilities.
Feb 08, 2014
Sites are too small, so small that you can't park a vehicle in them. Corporate KOA Reservations screwed up reservation, and Local folks had to jump through hoops to fix it, which they did. Well maintained site, great amenities
Feb 08, 2014
Make bathroom/shower repairs quickly, as in a few days, to minimize inconveniences (particularly when paying $100 per night). Get good Wi-Fi!. Could not stay on any of 6 sites for more than a few minutes before falling out.
Feb 08, 2014
Very clean and quiet with lots of activities going on. Fishing boat rentals, 2 hour boat rides, bingo, Superbowl parties, and most of all, very quiet at the camp sites. We will be back. Very tickled with our experience.
Feb 08, 2014
Feb 08, 2014
I thought it was a little expensive for tent camping, but it turned out to be worth it as the location we chose was quiet, clean, and comfortable. Friendly, helpful staff, neat facilities, and close to nice beaches. We had everything we needed.
Feb 07, 2014
Nice site. Friendly and service oriented staff. Bathhouses needs renovation; good to see one on going. The campground should find a solution for the no-see-em, such as spray. Thanks.
Feb 07, 2014
Feb 07, 2014
Park model shower temperature was horrible. enjoyed the unit. Little extras like salt and pepper would be nice. Neighbors very noisy late at night.
Feb 07, 2014
The sites were a little close but space is at a premium on an island. Very nice pool.
Feb 06, 2014
Feb 06, 2014
Very friendly campground & located right where we wanted (lower key area). Our site was directly across from the store where campers checked in which made it a rather noisy site with Diesel engines running frequently. That would be my only dissatisfaction.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.