Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

251 State Road 939

Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-0469

Reserve: 800-562-7731

Info: 305-745-3549

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Mar 16, 2014
Mar 16, 2014
Mar 16, 2014
Kind of tight to park a 36' 5th wheel. Had help from KOA staff which was really beneficial! Would be nice to have some grass around the campsite instead of all stone thou. The Pub, the restaurant, the entertainment, the coconut bowling and the BBQ was Fantastic !!!! Thanks We plan on going back.
Mar 16, 2014
Mar 15, 2014
It was awesome..our second year down...very friendly workers and clean and lots to do!!
Mar 15, 2014
Clean, friendly...Our rental was cleaned 'early' which allowed us to drop off our gear and head for Key West...Thank-you...Our granddaughters really appreciated our 'on-site' HOT TUB!!!
Mar 15, 2014
open sewer smell upon arrival at site next to one we were assigned to. Beach was mostly rocks. Not pleased with non-guests coming in for entertainment at night. Too much noise too late.
Mar 15, 2014
The KOA is a destination! The manager,bartenders ,staff know how to make you feel like you're home-I understand why people stay! The KO Ahhhhhh is the place to be!!!4
Mar 14, 2014
Excellent, friendly, helpful, very dog friendly, great service and attitude. Will definitely come back. Couldn't ask for more. Thank you all for making our vacation so great. Gloria Decker
Mar 14, 2014
Poor and limited restroom and shower facilities. The permanent facilities were broken and the shower and restroom facilities were pretty dirty. Pool spa was broken and out of use.
Mar 13, 2014
Mar 13, 2014
Had numerous problems with the electric during our stay. My surge suppressor continually registered periods of low voltage. Would have enjoyed the stay much more if I didn't have to worry about the voltage problem.
Mar 13, 2014
Spaces extremely small and bathrooms being redone (never saw any work being done while we were there).
Mar 13, 2014
Dirty bathrooms, rude office help. For the amout of money you charge I would want better.
Mar 13, 2014
The bathrooms were dirty, I know they were fixing the old I gve them credit for that but the trailers that they brought in their was no or little hot water the bathrooms after a large Group of people, it was left dirty with towels left on floor. And it goes on, to many to list as for me I will be back if you want me too
Mar 13, 2014
They pack everyone in so tight. It was spring break on a saturday night and was super loud with drunk people until 2 am, we had to move our tent. Tried calling someone in the office to come out and ask them to keep quiet but was unable to get a hold of anyone. The next night was much better and more quiet
Mar 13, 2014
Beautiful camp with great pool and pub. Showers and toilet facilities are being remodeled.
Mar 13, 2014
We found the Campground roomy and comfortable. We had been told that space was tight. There were lots of amenities. We enjoyed our stay. The location is convenient for visiting Key West. The cost reasonable for a destination site. There does seem to be more ambient noise than at other KOA campgrounds we've stayed at.
Mar 13, 2014
Mar 13, 2014
This was my 2nd visit. Customer Service, bait shop and bathrooms are great. I camped in the Red Tent area again. I found the other campers (bikers & construction workers) to be disrespectful. The construction workers are living there. We won't be back for a while.
Mar 13, 2014
Mar 12, 2014
Great place to stay if you want to visit the keys, especially Key West. I would recommend the 50 amp. sites in row 100 on the W. side of the park. A little more room at these sites.
Mar 12, 2014
This is our 7th year visiting Sugarloaf KOA. Very friendly and helpful staff. Facilities are clean. Already have reservations for 2015.
Mar 12, 2014
The staff was friendly and accommodating. Our arrival time was delayed; I called the office and explained. Barb replied, "No problem, our security guy will be here to assist you when you arrive." He was. The cabin was spacious and comfortable. The campgrounds were clean and well-kept. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sugarloaf Key!
Mar 12, 2014
Loud Music to much
Mar 12, 2014
The only reason we gave 4 stars not 5 is because the showers need upkeep and they are renovating. 5 stars next time we stay if those are better.
Mar 12, 2014
exceptional manager, employees very pleasant, clean, friendly, wonderful stay would do it again in a flash. Really enjoyed our stay
Mar 12, 2014
Nice staff. Great place. Jacuzzi out of service. Store well stocked bar/pool/entertainment/marina,rental. Excellent! Love it!
Mar 11, 2014
Stayed here two years ago and was excited about coming back. Never to return I usually love koas but this one needs lots and lots of attention. The physical space is typical but the parking and haphazard way they permit campers to leave vehicles in the roadways and the speeds within the park needs lots of attention. Good entertainment and pool is the only thing that saves this place.
Mar 11, 2014
My wife and I stayed at the KOA for several months. Jeff and Gloria the managers made us feel welcome from the very beginning. The work campers all seem to go out of their way to help us with anything we needed. The Activities Director did a wonderful job this year of keeping kids and adults busy. The pub is looking good with the new pirate theme. Looking forward to next year. Thanks to everyone.
Mar 11, 2014
The location of your KOA on Sugarloaf Key was easily accessible to Key West via local South Keys Shuttle...which was invaluable. Our stay would have been perfect if the bathrooms/shower remodeling had been completed and we will give it another try once that project is finished. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We've already bragged about where we stayed. Thank you.
Mar 11, 2014
Mar 11, 2014
Were there only one night, but the accommodations were very nice. Enjoyed having breakfast offered in the cafe. Thanks for the early check-in.
Mar 10, 2014
Mar 10, 2014
Great location. Near enough to Key West and accessable to necessary shops. Clean, well kept and staff was friendly.
Mar 10, 2014
The campground was pretty full. We camped 4nights March 2-6.Pros, Fat Tuesday party at bar with band was really nice. put a lot of work into party. Pool was good and campsite was nice size. Also, the day we left we had breakfast in little restaurant. food was good and staff was excellent. Cons, bathrooms were dirty most of our stay.Didn't clean them enough for my standards.Bugs(no Seams)awful
Mar 10, 2014
très bien accueilli , le personnel très pro et très cool , ambiance 80th - et il fait chaud - bien situé pour visiter key west ( arrêt de bus au pied du camping . MERCI A VOUS
Mar 10, 2014
Parking is very poor. Noise from bar goes too late
Mar 10, 2014
we were disappointed that there was no longer a hot tub but happy to see that they were renovating the bathrooms and showers
Mar 10, 2014
Mar 10, 2014
The stay was amazing. BUT in the checkin shop inside is VERY SLOW! Waiting in lines over 30 minutes is unacceptable. There was 1 lady at the cash register and another lady there that could of helped but decided to do other things. All I needed to do was check-in! I saw the undercover boss about a year ago that had this issue and it seemed like the CEO was going to fix it, apparently not!
Mar 10, 2014
When we arrived we were told we had to tent camp in the blue area which was full, when we reserved we were told we could choose any area. We were later told we could have set up in the back 40, a less crowded area, from the start! Bathhouse is under construction, which we were not told, temporary bathhouses were small, hot, dirty! Low rating due to miscommunication from staff and cleanliness.
Mar 10, 2014
Mar 10, 2014
Mar 10, 2014
Great location. We camped in tents and it was great to have a tent only area. Next time we'll reserve a spot by the water!
Mar 09, 2014
OUT STANDING WE HAD A BALL
Mar 09, 2014
One word: amazing! A true resort campground. Clean, well maintained, friendly and welcoming staff, and great amenities. We felt like we were part of this special community as soon as we arrived. We will be back!
Mar 08, 2014
Pool needs cleaning daily vs. once a week. No See Um were killers, need to spray more often. Other than that we enjoyed the help of the staff. Tell Captain Jack and the Admiral, Well Done.
Mar 08, 2014
Mar 08, 2014
Really nice staff! Will be back!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.