Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

251 State Road 939

Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-0469

Reserve: 800-562-7731

Info: 305-745-3549

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Jan 13, 2014
Site was well looked after. Very crowded. On the expensive side. Water pressure in the showers was very low. Good location for visiting all lower Keys.
Jan 13, 2014
beautiful location, our site was very close to the pub and the band on weekend while quite good was VERY loud which made watching our TV difficult
Jan 12, 2014
Above average KOA! I like that it is right on the water. I like the café with lattes- Ruth's good service! I like the live music and the Pub. The maintenance guys are fantastic and overall service is great. Employees are quite helpful and friendly. The shower pressure was not good. I know they will be remodeling so I hope that cures this.
Jan 12, 2014
Jan 12, 2014
Great location, cramped sites. Wifi nonexisitant, told by staff to just keep trying, never got in in 7 days there! Friendly staff. Clean camp. Bait shop on site - very helpful.
Jan 12, 2014
The staff was so friendly and attentive. Grounds and pool was very clean. Looking forward to going back after the bathhouse/restroom renovations are complete. Only disappointment was when they parked another RV right next to us, when there were so many vacant spots in our area.
Jan 11, 2014
20+ years going to this KOA for the Christmas / New Year's holidays should say quite a bit about how we LOVE Sugarloaf Key KOA!
Jan 11, 2014
Not only was the campground misrepresented (no fire ring, bbq grill, or picnic table), it was over crowded and totally mosquito ridden. Camped next to us were loud party-campers who yelled and played loud music from 8:00 pm until after 3:00am. A terrible, over-priced, nasty place.
Jan 11, 2014
The staff was excellent, always friendly and tidying up the grounds. Unfortunately we were there when they were redoing the bathrooms and showers (they did tell us ahead of our arrival)...unfortunately the facilities we had to use we're very old and tired looking. The weather was not good either so that probably had something to do with our rating. Also the campground is pretty remote.
Jan 10, 2014
I have to admit I was pretty worried after reading the reviews about this place. The RV part was pretty close together, but the tent part was nice and under shade trees. Staff was wonderful and my family had a great trip.
Jan 10, 2014
I really believe that the vast majority of negative reviews are not warranted. I found the KOA very clean, efficiently managed and friendly. The spot that we were assigned to was spacious with no issues whatsoever. Yes the hot tub was not working and the showers are undergoing major renovations but our lives are far more important than sitting in hot water when Key West is only 20 miles away.
Jan 10, 2014
Friendly staff, great bar and social hour with good entertainment. Marina staff especially helpful
Jan 09, 2014
Staff was extremely nice, courteous, and professional. Camp store was well stocked with whatever you needed. Pool was very nice and warm. Nice beach and easy access to fishing. Only problem were the ants. You MUST bring ant spray with you as if you are there for more than 1 night, you will be invaded with lots of ants.
Jan 09, 2014
Loved It! The showers could be improved but I believe they are in the process of getting that started. Truly enjoyed the facilities. The Pelican Pub was a lot of fun too!
Jan 09, 2014
Loved this campground! Nice pool;large Pub; they serve breakfast and lunch in their own cafe and the place is small enough so you can easily get around.
Jan 08, 2014
Fix the beach so that you can use the volleyball court. Upgrade your laundry facility. Other than that it was perfect and we will be back!!
Jan 08, 2014
J'ai grandement apprécier l'accueil et professionnalise de toute l''équipe de ce terrain de camping . Merci a tous de m'avoir reçu chez vous. Thank you .
Jan 08, 2014
We stay here a lot. It was very nice.the new bath house going in will be a welcomed long needed project.
Jan 08, 2014
Very nice greeting at front desk they even drove us on golf cart to pick out best site to stay. Bathrooms clean & large. A general looking type of camping experience. No frills but good especially if you have kids!! Pancakes made to order in butterfly & fish shapes were a huge hit with kids!! Definitely would go back, pool & bar looked like fun. Ppl are very nice that stay there!!
Jan 08, 2014
No drainage in tent area when raining and no treatment of biting ants on ground. Expensive, but decent people working there.
Jan 07, 2014
The people were all great but I was camped in the front down by the mangroves and the mosquito's were horrible. I had over 100 bites on my legs before I knew it. Spray and you should be ok. Only about 16 miles from downtown key west so it is a great location.
Jan 07, 2014
Jan 07, 2014
We have stayed with Sugarloaf KOA 4 out of the last 6 years and always enjoy our stat. We were disappointed to hear that there was no shuttle offered to Key West on New Years Eve. We are looking forward to the renovations to the bath rooms and pool, they need it.
Jan 07, 2014
The dirtiest bathrooms ever!!!
Jan 07, 2014
I rented the Airstream RV for my 13 year old daughter and me. We had a blast! She loved the beach and all the fish in the clear water. I liked the laid back pub and all the activities offered. Well be back next year with more family.
Jan 07, 2014
Jan 06, 2014
We had an amazing time once again at the sugarloaf Key KOA. Our site was smaller than expected (rented a 4 bunk house and was given a double bunk rental), but made it work. i do have to say, the kids coordinator Lisa was amazing. She went over & beyond to make our kids stay was best it could be. A great person.possible to have more activities for kids everyday, including ny day-would great!Thanks
Jan 06, 2014
Over the exact same dates 2012/2013 we stayed on site 150 and enjoyed our stay parked adjacent to our hometown, close friends. We both decided to reserve the exact same sites for a year later. Our reservation deposit receipt clearly states the dates and specific site number. No other documentation of any kind exists, this is our agreement in total. Upon arrival we were informed that KOA would
Jan 06, 2014
Jan 06, 2014
thought was very clean, nice staff. great entertainment and bartender made Great drinks. not the best weather but the Campground was the highlight of our trip in the KEYS....Thank u, David and Ann
Jan 06, 2014
Stayed here for a week very friendly place and the staff always helpful.All kinds of things to do on the grounds and only 20 miles to Key west.
Jan 06, 2014
The staff was excellent. The bathrooms were nasty..but it was noted that they are due to be renovated. Severe insect issue....perhaps they should invest in a professional company to deal with the "no-seeums". My son and I were eaten alive and we returned home with bites all over our bodies. Great fishing and love the marina. Not sure we could deal with the insects again.
Jan 06, 2014
Jan 06, 2014
The bathrooms were ok, but they are being updated soon. We had a great time and will most likely be back again!!
Jan 06, 2014
People coming in late at night. Setting up there tent ETC!
Jan 06, 2014
Improvements to wifi and cable would make this great park a 10!
Jan 06, 2014
Les terrains sont beaucoup trop collés les uns aux autres. L'espace me semble sur-exploité. Pour le reste, rien a redire
Jan 06, 2014
Like every time me and my family go camping @ KOA, it was great, to bad it was raining and had to cut the trip short.
Jan 06, 2014
Jan 06, 2014
The staff is the most helpful and friendly that we have ever met, anywhere, in a recreational/hospitality facility. The live music and lively bar saved the day when it rained so hard. Too bad the hot tub was down (situation explained by the receptionist) but the heated pool was great.
Jan 05, 2014
We came thinking we could be in the hut tub at night to relax after fishing. Hot tub had been brokennand still is. Also I had a serious fall on the dock ramp due to a rotten board right before leaving. The fishing was good, but for the kind of money they charge things should be working and repaired.
Jan 05, 2014
Very well maintained. Staff very friendly and extremely helpful. Plan to return again.
Jan 05, 2014
Too many people - too crowded. Bathrooms outdated. Dirty showers with a trickle of water. I will not return.
Jan 05, 2014
Rented camper was nice and clean. Air conditioning was loud and not very cool. Staff on grounds were helpful and friendly. Location was great.
Jan 05, 2014
Jan 05, 2014
Wonderful staff and amenities. The entertainment at the pub was great.
Jan 05, 2014
Staff was really great. As helpful as could be in every capacity. Bathrooms could have been cleaner but all in all a great place.
Jan 05, 2014
This was our third year staying over the Holiday weeks in a tent with four kids. Much quieter than in years past. It will be great to have the bathroom and hot tub upgrades done when we return at the end of 2014. Great Campground with the beach, Kayak/SUP rentals, kids activities, PUB with evening entertainment and ability to go to Key West for Dinner after a day at the pool....
Jan 05, 2014
Great campground Very friendly and helpful.
Jan 05, 2014
Location is fantastic! We stayed in a park model, and it was clean, had the basic amenities, perfect! Loved this campground!- Super friendly people too!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.