Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

251 State Road 939

Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-0469

Reserve: 800-562-7731

Info: 305-745-3549

Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Mar 25, 2015
One of the worst places I've stayed. The campground was fine. It was the price and the people I had problems with. Rude campers. Quiet time was not enforced. A huge motor home parked by my campsite and spewed diesel fumes from 7:30 am until 8 while loading their Bentley. Saturday night 2 large families moved in shining car lights to set up tents large fire and were up late into the nightMare Again
Mar 25, 2015
Friendly staff. Location close to Key West with great view of ocean. Loved the entertainment in bar. outstanding restrooms too. My only complain are the actually RV sites. Could be spruced up a bit. But we loved staying there and hope to return some day. Thanks for the fun!! Haywire is awesome!!!
Mar 25, 2015
The first rv smelled like a sewer then was upgraded to beach unit. The bed was horrible. It was not a queen but a double. It had springs poking in our backs all night and a dip in the middle. We kept rolling toward the middle. The rest of the place was fine. It was well stocked and clean.
Mar 25, 2015
Is my favorite campground! The staff is awesome! Super clean bathrooms, they have alot of stuff for kids, they keep the campgroung in exellent shape! Can't wait to go back again!! A+++++
Mar 25, 2015
Wonderful staff and location. Clean bathrooms and private showers. Staff were willing to jump start our vehicle when the car battery died. Highly recommend!
Mar 25, 2015
Very crowded, used to primitive camping. It is a busy time of year so it was nice to find a spot at all but I prefer being more secluded than their campground
Mar 24, 2015
Great location, close to public transit to Key West, and a lot of amenities.
Mar 24, 2015
Tent camping was very crowded, with no privacy. Would like a limit on how many campsites per area vs. free for all! Bar was usually closed, along with kitchen. Facilities are very clean and great location.
Mar 24, 2015
I've stayed at many all across the country and this is by far the most wheelchair friendly KOA I've been to.
Mar 24, 2015
spaces too close together
Mar 24, 2015
Had a great time! Great facilities
Mar 24, 2015
Friendly staff. Clean bath house. only big issue...you've got black algae in the pool. simple fix...brush daily and keep good balance if chemicals. Trust me...I'm a professional.
Mar 24, 2015
We had a wonderful time. Fantastic way to spend my 50th birthday. Captain Burt was just awesome. I want to hug his neck. Thank him for us again please. Best birthday ever!!
Mar 23, 2015
The new bathrooms and showers are super. The location is awesome and the staff was great. The only negative is the sites are tight, but the staff will assist in getting you squeezed in.
Mar 23, 2015
I had the worst camping experience ever from the staff to the site and having my both my coolers stolen while we slept!!!!!
Mar 23, 2015
The KOA staff at Sugarloaf are amazing....My son, Justin has special needs and everyone on staff their are always so gracious to him. He feels right at home, that is why we keep coming back!
Mar 23, 2015
Great stay and very impressed on the arrival process and the help you receive to get on your site. Many workers around always picking up trash etc.....felt very safe that there was always someone riding around the park. Stayed with rv and full hook- up, wifi was good. Entertainment at the bar good. Enjoyed our week stay, 3 adults and 3 children
Mar 23, 2015
THIS PLACE IS PARADISE, LOVE BEEN HERE FIVE OR MORE TIMES...
Mar 23, 2015
Mar 23, 2015
Great place to spend few days and have fund.
Mar 23, 2015
Bathrooms were cleaned liked the trampoline out on the beach area the kampground was family friendly the only thing i did not like was the the tent area was nit designated for each individual camper everyone was really close to each other and parked their cars anywhere. Other than that we liked this Koa.
Mar 23, 2015
Disappointing tent camping, but a decent RV location from what I could tell. There are no designated tent sites, just fields, and very few fire pits in decent condition. The restroom/laundry facility was in good shape, hence the two stars.
Mar 22, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Mar 22, 2015
Had a wonderful time. Great band - Haywire. Hope to return. :)
Mar 22, 2015
good
Mar 22, 2015
It was crowded but nice. Cable did not work well.
Mar 22, 2015
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Mar 22, 2015
Clean, updated facilities. Tent sites are numbered (on paper) but not in reality as you place your tent wherever tent areas are. Back tent sites never monitored - is there even a quiet time? - therefore I am required to get out of tent multiple times in night to tell others to be quiet. Notification on website about it being a party (loud music at bar) should be stated on website.
Mar 22, 2015
Clean facilities, friendly staff, great location, we had a great time! We WILL be coming back. Thanks
Mar 22, 2015
Our check in process was very fast. The location was busy but we only waited five minutes. The staff is friendly and the grounds are kept nice and clean. The only suggestions we would make is to have more activities going on for the children.
Mar 21, 2015
We had a great time at the Sugarloaf KOA. Everything we needed was right there for us. The staff was very nice. The restrooms were exceptionally clean. The entertainment was fantastic.
Mar 21, 2015
The campground was clean and had a nice area for fishing for our grandson and K9 park for our dogs. Concrete pads would be better than the small stone pads as we were constantly tracking them into our RV. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Firepits aren't at each site so we needed to request a portable pit for bbq'g. Internet was very slow.
Mar 21, 2015
We were camping in the overflow area, where we got a plenty of space for ourselves. Restrooms are now in excellent shape after renovation, but this is reflected in new pricing.
Mar 21, 2015
Sites are too small, people are very friendly, facilities are very nice. It's big advantage is that it is close to Key West...mm 17
Mar 21, 2015
Les sites au bord de l'eau sont super mais pour ce qui est du reste c'est de petit terrain les uns sur les autres. Belle rénovation des salles de bains/ douche.
Mar 21, 2015
Far too crowded. Spaces too small and too close together. Our trailer was only a few inches from the mounting post of a seasonal fifth wheeler parked behind us. Their plantings overflowed into what we believed should be our living space. Our hitch was struck by a departing RV passing a double-parked RV. The campground devotes too much of its space to an outdoor bar and two restaurants.
Mar 21, 2015
First night we were put next to the tents in very small site with loud people and fireworks going off second day we were one space away from the waste place and everything smelled like poop and urine but a lot quieter. Went to the Cafe for lunch one day and waited an hour an 15 minutes to get food which was soggy and never had a philly made with cheddar and hope to never again. marina is great.
Mar 20, 2015
Would not want to be assigned a site 137 to 161.We were assigned to 166 and declined that location. Site 330 was our choice. I choose NOT to be touching our neighbor's coach / camper. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Restrooms clean. Grounds well maintained. Location great for the drive to Key West.
Mar 20, 2015
Reserved park model with 2 queen beds, what I got was 1 queen with 4 small bunks. That made for some very uncomfortable sleeping. This was my 5th year in a row staying at this KOA and my only negative stay. We might be back next year. Maybe
Mar 20, 2015
Good KOA. Lively entertainment, great pool, good washrooms. A couple of the rental units need to be gone through thoroughly, beginning to show their age.
Mar 20, 2015
Average facility for the area but had sewer smell from septic system had was bad only stayed 2 nights and glad to move on
Mar 20, 2015
We had an amazing time! Staff was wonderful as always! Can't imagine staying anywhere else in the Keys!
Mar 20, 2015
somtimes the restroom wasn´t clean
Mar 20, 2015
Exceptional campground. Had many activities, great facilities, and welcoming staff.
Mar 20, 2015
We always love our stay here!
Mar 20, 2015
OTHER CAMPERS WITH LOUD MUSIC AND RACING THROUGH CAMP AFTER MIDNIGHT. TEENS AND EARLY 20'S WITH LOTS OF DRINKING AND NO HOST IN SIGHT. I HAVE BEEN TRAVELING THE COUNTRY AND STAYING IN KOA PROPERTIRS BECAUSE OF THE FAMILY ATMOSPHERE AND SECURE FEELING, NOT THE CASE THIS TIME.
Mar 20, 2015
Typical for the Keys, you turn into a sardine in a tin can in this campground. 80% or more is on a gravel parking lot with no visible separation between lots. Sewer plant near the marina and pub stinks. Campground is clean and people are friendly.
Mar 20, 2015
We like this KOA very much, the bar could use some sprucing up and a couple more TV's but that's not what we come here for. The beach and campsites are nice.
Mar 20, 2015
Awesome!!!!! Can't wait to do it again!
Mar 19, 2015
Had another great stay- this was year 15 for us. We love this place. The staff is wonderful, bathhouse clean, and park is in good shape. We were there for 26 nights and would stay longer if we could. Have already made our reservations for next year- Lord willing and the creek don't rise. Jeff and Gloria are doing a great job.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.