Sugarloaf Key / Key West KOA

251 State Road 939

Sugarloaf Key, FL 33042-0469

Reserve: 800-562-7731

Info: 305-745-3549

Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Mar 31, 2014
Mar 31, 2014
Facilities are excellent. Camping is tight. Major complaint was that there was only 1 person on duty at check in & store during our stay. Too large & busy a campground for only 1 person to handle. Long waits to check in, etc.
Mar 31, 2014
Camping is fun that's why I rated my experience a 3 of 5. But, they fought us the entire time; about everything we did... We booked a campground for 6 people and they only allow 2 tents... not a lot of threesomes out there - also would only allow 2 cars for 6 people - not sure how that works when you have 6 people with a weeks' worth of camping gear. also BLACK MOLD in shower/bathroom!!!
Mar 31, 2014
Poor security - campers on Friday and Saturday night stayed awake till ~4am partying, making noise and swearing to the point my children were repeating the profanities. Bathrooms where unkempt. I understand the facilities were under renovations, but what was available was beyond dirty. I've been to other KOA's and have never see such disrepair.
Mar 31, 2014
Our family had a blast. The staff was wonderful, weather was perfect, lot's of children for our 9 & 13 year olds to hang out with and activities were close enough for our children to feel secure and independent while mom and dad could sit in the shade, chat and keep a watchful eye on them. This is the 2nd time we have been here and will return again.
Mar 31, 2014
Friendly staff, clean sites!
Mar 31, 2014
Terrible. Bathroom situation was ATROCIOUS. Spring break hoards means that the bathrooms actually need to be cleaned MORE than once per day. Hundreds of tenters and 6 ladies bathrooms. We will NEVER come to this KOA again. No gate security and poor mgmt. Permanent sign on guard house says guard is doing rounds. What a joke. There never was anyone in there. What a disaster!!
Mar 31, 2014
Friendly staff, very kids friendly, clean campground
Mar 31, 2014
very disappointed in the wifi service. I think the campground has too many spaces and not enough free space. The no see ums were awful. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Mar 31, 2014
This was the worst camping experience I've ever had in 40 years of camping. The tent camping is downright fraudulent. There are NO assigned sites and all they do is collect your 80 dollars (which is highway robbery) and send you to an open field to find an available piece of land to pitch your tent. There are simply no rules whatsoever. Crank up your music all night, set up at 3 am, It's all fine
Mar 31, 2014
Had a hreat time with my family and school friends It is way too expensive for what you get for 175 per night in an RV and 80 dlls in a tent prices are ridiculous you are charging like a fuve star hotel and don"t have the service, accimodations, activities as a 5 star hotel. We were a group and they never put us together. The lady servations had the wor
Mar 31, 2014
My first time at Sugarloaf KOA and it was an awesome experience. All facilities were very clean, garbage picked up constantly and a very friendly and accommodating staff! Activities and pool area were great! The BEST was my site facing the water!
Mar 31, 2014
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Kampgrounds and would DEFINITELY return!
Mar 31, 2014
Awesome location, awesome campground. Fishing was great, the pub and activities were even better, only issue we had were the temp. Bathrooms and showers, seemed to be hard to keep up with the cleaning of theses.
Mar 31, 2014
Mar 31, 2014
Mar 31, 2014
Mar 31, 2014
We are a big rig. We were told there were no pull through spaces available. We were backed into a tight space under a tree where our sewer hose couldn't reach the drain. Yet all weekend the huge adjacent pull throughs were not used and the larger back in sites were clearly available. The laundry was chaotic and the toilets are still in transportables.
Mar 31, 2014
Filthy showers and bathrooms. Premium rates (good location though). For the price I expected more. There were plenty of activities. Other KOAs seemed superior. The staff was great and helpful.
Mar 31, 2014
Mar 30, 2014
The camp ground was clean and the staff kept it that way. We got all the information we needed about the area and enjoyed our stay.
Mar 30, 2014
Mar 30, 2014
This was our third yr stayin there, an this yr was fabulous, Lisa was awesome with the activities. And of course the other staff were awesome! We will be booking next years trip soon thx so much! Pls keep the acitivites they really made it more special! Coconut bowling, bingo, smores!!!!! See u next year!!!!
Mar 30, 2014
Very accommodating for our big rig and great location in proximity to key west. Beach area not great and expected a large water trampoline like pics showed but it was climbing float instead so kids alittle disappointed. Very friendly staff! Our spot had a wooden patio which was great! Will stay again if can get same spot.
Mar 30, 2014
Awesome tent camping near Key West. Great community and social scene at the pub. Friendly for all ages.
Mar 30, 2014
Great place to stay. A little pricey though.
Mar 30, 2014
we stayed in a park model trailer, it was very nice, clean, an spacious. our only complaint was that the deck was not private, it was shared space with the next unit. and it was not ocean view as it appeared it would be from the site when we booked. there are ocean view models, with private decks, and that would have made our stay exceptional. we would stay again.
Mar 30, 2014
The staff went above and beyond my expectations. I lost my trailer keys and the second set was locked inside the trailer. They were of great assistance in helping me obtain a local locksmith. Kudos to all the staff and thanks again.
Mar 30, 2014
Mar 29, 2014
Location is great. But it is set up like a parking lot.
Mar 29, 2014
We were packed in like sardines. This campground is geared towards self- contained motor homes, not tent campers. You are advised that the sites for tent campers tends to flood during rains, so we stayed in a motor home site that had electricity but no grills or campfire rings. Campground was undergoing bathroom renovations, with only approximately 5 toilets and 5 showers for the total camp.
Mar 29, 2014
Mar 29, 2014
Enjoyed it as a second time guest.
Mar 29, 2014
Mar 29, 2014
Mar 29, 2014
very clean.always something going on at the campgrounds to get people together.would have preferred remodeling of restroom/showers to be done in off season.a little inconvenience there but most everything else was great.see you all next year.had a great time.
Mar 29, 2014
Bathrooms dirty, crowded camping, unruly gangs of kids,yelling all day. 11:00 PM curfew not enforced. Bathrooms closed portable showers. Staff was friendly. Checked out after first night, originally booked 3
Mar 29, 2014
the staff was very friendly but the bathrooms were filthy very dirty they could of done a better job with the restrooms!!!!!
Mar 29, 2014
Mar 29, 2014
Thank God it was only for two nights. Our next door neighbors had set up for the winter in their site and beyond (including our picnic table) with multiple tents, canopies, outdoor kitchen, extraneous gear and wild d├ęcor, two yapping dogs and worst of all, LOUD MUSIC ALL DAY and until 10PM at night. I will say the staff was pleasant if overworked, the laundry was decent and reasonably priced.
Mar 29, 2014
Mar 28, 2014
This has to be the best KOA in the world. Great staff, lookin g forward to next year.
Mar 28, 2014
Have been here about 5 times. Love it! Love it! Love it!
Mar 28, 2014
Mar 28, 2014
Only stayed 1 night,very nice. Everyone there was very friendly & helpful.
Mar 28, 2014
It was wonderful. Except it was Spring Break and there were more kids that week than we had counted on so the pool was always over full and not enough lounge chairs.
Mar 28, 2014
Camp sites were very nice, location and activities were great. Only downside was shower remodel meant hot water was a rare commodity.
Mar 28, 2014
Great! The bar tenders don't know how to mix many drinks.
Mar 28, 2014
Very clean rentals, nice pub!
Mar 28, 2014
this was my first camping experience and it exceeded all expectations.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.