St. Ignace / Mackinac Island KOA

Open May 1 - October 31

Reserve: 906-643-9303

Info: 800-562-0534

Email

W1118 US-2 Highway

St Ignace, MI 49781

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations, Kabins

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Sep 18, 2017
The office staff were very helpful and friendly. The bathrooms were not very clean and electrical needed to be updated. Camp sites are also very small. Had to move from first campsite because of wet and uneven ground. I realize that labor day weekend is very full, but the restrooms were still not cleaned the following week.
Sep 18, 2017
Me and my husband loves the cabins and the campground. We stayed there for a week, at the end of our stay we noticed when it was too late how infested with bed bugs your cabins are. We stayed in #6. Now we get to go home and try to prevent the bugs from getting in my house and attacking us and my 8 month old baby, thanks.
Sep 17, 2017
Staff wasn't as friendly as staff in others where we have stayed. Bath clean and laundry was great. Our cabin was next to a storage garage.
Sep 12, 2017
Been staying at this KOA since 1990, with the change of ownership we noticed many changes. Womens bathroom had all soap dispenser covers missing. Shower stall missing a bench. Ran out of paper towels in evening. Always rent cabin,flower boxes only had moss (we bought flowers). Curtains were 2/3 size. Were given correct ones to put up. Store was out of milk & firewood. Very disappointing.
Sep 07, 2017
It was great. Bathrooms in back need major work (ladies restroom). Let us have use of a plunger. Check building before leaving at night for paper towels and tolit paper. Other wise our stay was good.
Aug 31, 2017
This KOA left much to be desired. Our cabin was dirty, the playground that we were told would be next to our site didn't exist, and the arcade and mini golf were both under construction. One night the pool was closed during hours it should have been open. The employee on duty wasn't going to open it for us until we asked to speak to a manager. We were unhappy with the lack of amenities available.
Aug 28, 2017
This particular KOA is run down, which is contrary to any other KOA I've been to. Upon our departure we learned that some renovations will take place in the future. But to rate how our stay was AS-IS I have to be honest. The showers and bathrooms were horrible, I tried not using the bathrooms during my stay, and just went on our days out and about. More run down than dirty though, so that's good.
Aug 28, 2017
Pool was nice and heated which was good as temps had dropped. Women's bathroom electric outlets didn't work. Nice staff.
Aug 27, 2017
The cabon reserved for us was a dump that lacked many standard amenities. No porch swing, no seating in the cabin, inadequate lighting. This stay has prompted me to stop using KOA. The cabin prices are way too high, I can get a hotel room for a few dollars more. The discount is too low. The cancellation policy is ridiculous for traveling customers. I am very disappointed with KOA.
Aug 26, 2017
The kabin was clean, and the grounds were fantastic. The only problem was that the ground around our kabin was muddy and wet.
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 19, 2017
We read a lot of scary reviews 2 days before our trip to this KOA. We even packed our tent stuff in case the cabins were as bad as they said. We were relieved to find the reviews weren't accurate, at least for our cabins near the front. We found things to be very clean and the workers helpful. It is definitely under new management and the crew seemed very eager to get things on the right track!
Aug 19, 2017
We loved the area and convenient location, but we felt like we overpayed for our cabin. The mattress was extremely uncomfortable (coming from frequent tent campers). The showers were decent. Overall the campground was fine, just slightly over-priced.
Aug 18, 2017
Over night stay in one of the cabins. Very clean and nice. Very friendly and helpful staff. Only complaint was the mattresses were very hard.
Aug 17, 2017
We rented out one of your kabins for one night. The kabin was beautiful and fit our liking perfectly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back next summer for more.
Aug 16, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Bathrooms/showers are very neglected. They are not clean and need many repairs.
Aug 14, 2017
Bathrooms could use some updating and more frequent cleaning. Thanks
Aug 14, 2017
My wife and I's stay was great but bathrooms back by the cabin area could be better taken care of they were dirty and this could of been a kid thing but overall the stay was great... The mini golf we played and that also needed some attention other than that great....
Aug 14, 2017
Cabins were clean and nice. Bathrooms clean which was a PLUS. The KOA young men, Tyler and Hunter were extremely polite and professional. Nice to see young men with such manners. They are part of the reason we will recommend to others!! Thanks. The trash can in the cabins could of been bigger:))) Thank you, Cheryl (Dexter, Mich)
Aug 13, 2017
Average campground. Electrical box was quite far from the site. Could have used an extension cord.
Aug 12, 2017
I don' t know how you get to be a KOA! This place is nothiing like any other KOA I have ever stayed at!
Aug 11, 2017
Unfortunately we were there after all the rain and the ground in the cabin area had standing water. You can't control that for sure. That was the only negative. The staff was helpful and the cabin was clean.
Aug 11, 2017
We stayed in a cabin and were pleasantly surprised with how nice the site was. Checking in and out was very easy. We were very happy with the campground and the employees were friendly. Everything was well maintained. Great experience, we would definitely come back!
Aug 10, 2017
Next to Laramie , Wy this is the absolute worst KOA I have ever stayed at! The place is run by teenagers incapable of making sound decisions! The mattresess in the Kabins are as worthless as sleeping on the wood frame! The pool was not opened because in might rain! Most things in the arcade were out of order! The two big driers in the laundry room were out of order! This was overall a bad stay!
Aug 08, 2017
I did not appreciate the cabin that I was in since the view from the porch was the parking lot and dump station. I made my reservation more than 4 months ago and requested a cabin in the back. I have stayed at many KOA campgrounds and was never so disappointed in the location of the cabin. I will not be coming back.
Aug 07, 2017
I am an experienced camper and a boy scout leader. I can deal with dirt and bugs, However this place has many issues. NO HOT Water in the shower house for 6 days, literally POOP on the toilet for 3 days and I even told the front desk. No safety light over the boys bathroom at night. Screens in cabin held in with duct tape. Swimming pool not filter, tons of bugs and flooding things Do NOT Stay here
Aug 07, 2017
Friendly staff, great location.
Aug 05, 2017
It was great but our cabin leaked in several places during a big rain storm. But the management was helpful and brought us buckets.
Aug 02, 2017
The grounds and facilities seemed somewhat ill cared for. Flower beds were empty and our kabin smelled like urine.
Jul 31, 2017
cabin could of been cleaner and more attention was need in bathrooms
Jul 31, 2017
We had a nice fire the cabin was clean bathrooms were good we will be back great price
Jul 27, 2017
Nice and fun
Jul 26, 2017
The cabin was very clean and new. The bathhouse showers worked well. (only one night my son tried to take a shower when 2 other people were showering, and he said there wasn't any water pressure.) The pool was very warm and fun for the kids. The game room had some very affordable games for the kids to play too. The shuttle service from the ferry to the campground came in very handy too.
Jul 25, 2017
Very disappointed. We had a cabin it was infested with ants. The grill was missing outside, the cabin smelled like urine. The bathrooms were extremely dirty. There was one staff member Barb who was nice the others were abrupt an unfriendly. We left a night early even though we couldn't get a refund.
Jul 23, 2017
I enjoyed this quite and beautiful area, nice stuff and well maintained, but need to updating the bathroom.Except this everything is fine.
Jul 22, 2017
Under new management and looking like they are making improvements. Our site was secluded with lovely trees. This KOA needs some tender loving care. The bathrooms were very dirty during our entire stay, the pool was cloudy and the location is great to explore Mackinaw Island and St. Ignace.
Jul 20, 2017
Great campground i have been staying here for the last 23+ years when we come every 7 years.
Jul 20, 2017
We didn't have a fridge in our cabin or a grill outside, other than that everything was good
Jul 19, 2017
Nice place, Friendly staff and the KOA itself is in close proximity to the expressway, bridge and downtown St. ignance area. The bathrooms were a bit dirty but aside from that we enjoyed our stay.
Jul 14, 2017
We had a cabin. It was fine until rain came down. It was hard to get to the cabin. The front location is noisy - the highway is close and all RVs/buses coming to the campground park with engine running in front of the cabin. The chipmunk came to our cabin because of holes in window screen. The rest was fine.
Jul 11, 2017
It's hard to control the weather but the grounds were so saturated with rain it was a mess. The bathrooms were frequently backed up. Could use updated bathroom/showers. Updated playground would be nice. Pool and laundry facility were good.
Jul 09, 2017
Really enjoyed the cabins except for the huge puddle in front of it. The bathrooms could have been cleaner, but other than that, it was a great stay.
Jul 07, 2017
Our kabin was infested with insects and mice.The maintenance man and his crew were wonderful,and tried their best to help us out. They sprayed for the insects and killed some of the mice, however,we had to deal with the problem the entire four days we were there.Some of the flying ants were brought home in our luggage.The bathrooms only had one or two working stalls at a time.Will not stay again.
Jul 05, 2017
Everything was flooded. We made our reservations months ago for a family weekend. we couldn't cook meals because our fire pit and grill were in water. We literally had to walk through mud to get to our cabin. Our kids had to set tents up in water.
Jul 04, 2017
had a great time. Staff was very helpful
Jul 03, 2017
Despite 3 inches of rain the day before we arrived we were able to get to our cabin & shower house. It would have been a little better if they could have put boards to walk on in front of our cabin like they had at the main office. We waded through water up to our ankles several times. The staff was friendly & helpful though.
Jul 02, 2017
WILL NEVER RETURN. Site was completely flooded for tent campers (not their fault) but a phone call would have been nice so we could have time to make other plans since the site was flooded days before our reservation. Was able to stay one night in a cabin for an additional fee. Bathrooms were disgusting. Water was shut off at night so by morning since can't flush all toilets were filled with feces
Jun 25, 2017
They have some work to do. We stayed in a Kabin, which was clean and what we expected. When we arrived, there was no grill at our kabin. We notified staff and were told someone would be bringing a new one(this was at 3:30 pm). Had to ask 2 more times and finally got one at 7:30pm. 3 of the 5 dryers were broken. You can tell it's an older campground and needs some updates and improvements.
Jun 25, 2017
Absolutely no complaints about our stay. My son had a blast, very kid-friendly. Despite previous reviews, bathrooms and showers were clean. There were more "out of order" machines in the arcade than my son would have liked, but I can't complain since kiddos should be outside. Cabin was perfect and exactly what we needed. Staff was very friendly.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy