St. Ignace / Mackinac Island KOA

Open May 1 - October 31

Reserve: 906-643-9303

Info: 800-562-0534

Email

W1118 US-2 Highway

St Ignace, MI 49781

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations, Kabins

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 13, 2017
Poor quality.
Aug 13, 2017
There are several areas in the campground that need attention. Namely there was no water at the dump station to clean off everything. The staff were helpful and the shuttle service to the island efficient.
Aug 13, 2017
The bathrooms were filthy. Needs better maintenance.
Aug 12, 2017
Terrible koa, dump station broke, pool out of service, what a lil dump of a campground
Aug 12, 2017
They say they have cable tv but do not. They sites are muddy and need to have gravel bought in to fix the sites. They had us in a site we could not pull out of blue to trees at the end of the site and allowing people to park on the edge of the road. 44 foot coach. They put smaller trailers in sites that big rigs fit in better. This is a camp I would go back to but would need to talk with them.
Aug 12, 2017
Loud campground. Sites were not at all private. Facilities were dirty.
Aug 12, 2017
I don' t know how you get to be a KOA! This place is nothiing like any other KOA I have ever stayed at!
Aug 12, 2017
We stayed here about 9 years ago and was surprised at how much dirt there is at each campsite. We stayed in spot 44 this time and it was nothing but a mud hole. Was really surprised that there were no improvements to the camp site. With a class A motorhome the site needs to be somewhat level, this site was not with deep ruts from previous campers.
Aug 11, 2017
Unfortunately we were there after all the rain and the ground in the cabin area had standing water. You can't control that for sure. That was the only negative. The staff was helpful and the cabin was clean.
Aug 11, 2017
Aug 11, 2017
Site was very tight. No place nice to sit out-just dirt, tree roots, weeds and the neighbors sewer line. Could not even put our awning out. Staff was nice but campground very disappointing
Aug 11, 2017
Cable TV was a disappointment otherwise stay was good. Enjoyed having pickup service to Mac Island and back to camp site, nice touch. Would stay again in the future
Aug 11, 2017
Facilities were great but the wifi was not.
Aug 11, 2017
Dirty. Bathrooms always dirty. Pool was ok but dirty. Golf was badly taken care of. Camp areas dirty and weeds. No gravel stone for trailers. Weeds and everything for connections as just not easily at reach. Tight spaces and dirty picnic tables. Play area was ok. Just not the experience of other KOA locations. Took pictures of all areas and just nothing to say it was a great experience.
Aug 11, 2017
We visited Mackinac Island and the camp managers had all the info and called in our ferry and shuttle arrangements, Saved us from trying to guess whic h one was best. And they were spot on. Laundry was clean and nice, pool looked great, water pressure and power were solid.
Aug 11, 2017
We stayed in a cabin and were pleasantly surprised with how nice the site was. Checking in and out was very easy. We were very happy with the campground and the employees were friendly. Everything was well maintained. Great experience, we would definitely come back!
Aug 11, 2017
Our tent campsite was shady and in good shape. After dark the pop machine near the bathroom/showers attracted a hoard of some kind of moth that were on the ground making a mess. That was the only negative to report except the rain, that you can't do anything about.
Aug 11, 2017
Wifi was almost non existent. Pool not open. Charge for not that great of a mini-golf course. Charge for coffee that is complimentary at other places. Enjoyed our stay at Mackinaw City a couple of years ago much more.
Aug 11, 2017
Friendly, and improved under new ownership.
Aug 11, 2017
The park is run down, the sites were muddy, bathrooms were dirty and needed paint. The sewer dump was very slow draining, filling a pit and equipment with raw sewage every dump.
Aug 11, 2017
We enjoyed it a lot! It was so close to town and the sites were nice. The store was well stocked and the kids loved the playgrounds. We will definitely be coming back!
Aug 10, 2017
Very dirty pool, bathrooms were not the cleanest, had to pay for very simplistic mini golf, and we would definitely not stay here again.
Aug 10, 2017
Very convenient to attractions. Appreciate the free shuttle to ferry. Staff were friendly and helpful. No escort to site and no garbage pick up. Sites could use some attention. They need more gravel, very muddy. Also need to move electric pedestal closer to site. No reason to have to put out 75 ft of electric cord to reach it.
Aug 10, 2017
The site was a bit tight to get into (#3) and we had trouble with the electricity as the outlet was way to far from the trailer (had to share with our neighbor) and we kept loosing power and the people across from us never did have power. Office staff were helpful and considerate in our needs.
Aug 10, 2017
Street noise and WiFi was no good
Aug 10, 2017
Next to Laramie , Wy this is the absolute worst KOA I have ever stayed at! The place is run by teenagers incapable of making sound decisions! The mattresess in the Kabins are as worthless as sleeping on the wood frame! The pool was not opened because in might rain! Most things in the arcade were out of order! The two big driers in the laundry room were out of order! This was overall a bad stay!
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
The laundry is expensive. The showers in the back of the campground were in horrible condition. Moldy tiles, pieces of the paneling rotted off, and more rotting, and I'm not real sure they had been cleaned properly, as there was always a ton of sand on the floors. The front showers were out of order for lack of hot water, and I get that things happen, but the shower conditions are unacceptable
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 09, 2017
It is a work in progress.
Aug 09, 2017
Muddy sites, cigarette butts on the ground around our site, staff not really helpful regarding the attractions around the area. Not a place we would return to or recommend.
Aug 09, 2017
Service was not up to KOA standards. They assigned a site that we were unable to open the slides. When we went to the office, the young girl told us to look around and see if we could find another. Overall, not satisfied.
Aug 09, 2017
The staff was great, the site set up is odd. I had to borrow a 30 amp attention cord and hook up to the next site elec box.
Aug 09, 2017
Staff were very pleasant, but the site was not up to standard. The electrical service was only 6 amps, staff could not repair after 2 hours. Sewer connection was in wrong location. Ground at site was too soft, just dumping gravel and not packing or levelling would not solve the issues. We were eventually offered another site but at that late hour and after a long day, we needed to eat and rest.
Aug 09, 2017
If I rate how important it is for my wife and I to have wi fi it would be higher than many of the other services provided by a camp ground. The wi fi was for all practical porposes non existant. We travel with two iPhones, two tablets, and my laptop. We got a night of staring at one another.
Aug 08, 2017
This is your basic KOA. Sites are level and average size. The cable was excellent with the cable box, but the wifi did not work at all. This is a good place to explore St Ignace and Mackinaw Island. We enjoyed our four nights here.
Aug 08, 2017
I did not appreciate the cabin that I was in since the view from the porch was the parking lot and dump station. I made my reservation more than 4 months ago and requested a cabin in the back. I have stayed at many KOA campgrounds and was never so disappointed in the location of the cabin. I will not be coming back.
Aug 08, 2017
Travel in a 35' 5th Wheel, stayed 2 nights. Gets 2 stars for cable BUT didn't know we had cable until the 2nd day when we asked, plus needed a box from office. Site was too small for our unit, so muddy had to use 4wheel drive. Rained the day before but no site should be this muddy. We barely had room for the truck, enfringed on the neighbors site. No won't stay again. KOA you need to visit.
Aug 08, 2017
Staff was great. Access to utilities was terrible. Had to get very creative in order to hook up power & sewer. WiFi almost non existent. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Ferry shuttle was a nice perk as well.
Aug 08, 2017
Site was small and very damp. It didn't seem like it ever got much sun. The water source was far. The staff was friendly and accommodating, but I wouldn't recommend this KOA for more than a night or two. Oh, and if internet or wifi is important, you are out of luck. I couldn't even get cell phone reception and the KOA wifi was worthless.
Aug 07, 2017
I am an experienced camper and a boy scout leader. I can deal with dirt and bugs, However this place has many issues. NO HOT Water in the shower house for 6 days, literally POOP on the toilet for 3 days and I even told the front desk. No safety light over the boys bathroom at night. Screens in cabin held in with duct tape. Swimming pool not filter, tons of bugs and flooding things Do NOT Stay here
Aug 07, 2017
The site we were in was so tight we could not even put our awning out all the way because it it a tree and on the other side our slide and the awning from the camper next to us where touching. Also the showers where extremely creepy. If you look up into the vents in each of the shower stalls, they are not connected to anything and there was a light on in the attic that you could see very clear.
Aug 07, 2017
We were tent camping. There were no tent sites with enough level space to put a tent on. All the spots were sloped. Not much grass.The bathrooms were fair. The showers did not all have doors on them, some curtains that did not even cover the opening. One did not even have a bench to put your belongings on. Soap dispensers broken. We have stayed at many KOAs,not up to same standard.
Aug 07, 2017
It started when I knew we had $10 dollars from our membership to use and was told no we did not. Front desk not helpful with information on shuttle boats to Isla d. Bathroom.s we're dirty with hair in shower drain and appeared never clean all 3 nights. One of worst KOA been to that if this was first time would not renew membership.
Aug 07, 2017
Very old Campground needs a lot of updates.
Aug 07, 2017
Friendly staff, great location.
Aug 07, 2017
Campground was nice and the people that work there were very nice and helpful. Bathrooms I thought were pretty clean for campground. The only thing I would stay is I wish there was a little more grass and less dirt areas only because when it rained it got extremely muddy.
Aug 07, 2017
Paid for 2 nights but left after one. Decided not to stay the last night because of dirty restrooms and showers. WIFI was not strong enough. 2nd time at KOA in a week and both places were poorly run!
Aug 07, 2017
I liked that there was a good variety of woods and open sites with many pull-thrus. The kids were disappointed in the "arcade", since most games didn't work.
Aug 07, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals