Longview North / Mount St Helens KOA

167 Schaffran Rd

Castle Rock, WA 98611

Reserve: 800-562-8545

Info: 360-274-8522

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jun 28, 2014
Very enjoyable in spite of the rain. The camp staff were extremely helpful and just nice to interact with. I would definetly stay here again.
Jun 28, 2014
It is to bad that your opening statement (Revel in dramatic Pacific Northwest scenery from this KOA, terraced into a hillside with inspiring views of Douglas fir forest and beautiful sunsets.)is only true for the people that live there. The lower level with no views seems to be only for visitor's and all the upper levels with views is for long stay people. Not impressed.
Jun 26, 2014
Only one night and it was a very friendly and pleasant campground. Reasonably priced also.
Jun 26, 2014
We would have come in the night before if we had not reached a recording that the office closed at 3pm on Sunday. We did love the campground and would like to send a thank you out to Adam who was working on the grounds while the office as closed from 1 to 2pm. We wish you the best in your new ownership.
Jun 25, 2014
Nice campsite, good location, friendly and helpful management.
Jun 22, 2014
Staff was very friendly - campground ok. Hillside sites great for view, but kinda scary for set up. Also sites way too small for 30' 5h wheel - no room between sites {sites approx. 20' wide) Neighbors sewer drain adjacent to my front door. On the nights we were there, children played and screamed in the streets well after midnite with no staff response. Would probably not stay here again.
Jun 22, 2014
Sites were extremely small, unlevel, and neighbors sewer hook up way too close to our door and table. Poor management with control of unruly children at midnight., 40% of washers were broke. Beautiful view, and so much better could be done here.
Jun 21, 2014
We only stayed 1 night on our way south but will definitely stay again. the staff were friendly and helpful and the place is well kept.
Jun 20, 2014
Very nice and quit place and the manager was a very nice person as was her husband! Wish the showers were a bit bigger, but overall, great plce and will stay there again!
Jun 19, 2014
Campground was clean, beautiful. Hosts were helpful and welcoming.
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 17, 2014
Jun 12, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
The campsite was easy to find right off the freeway. It is a gorgeous, wooded area close but secluded from other campers and close to store and other amenities in town. The staff members are friendly and helpful and there is a nice laundry facility on site along with a small store. We highly recommend American Heritage Campground to any campers coming to this area.
Jun 09, 2014
Jun 09, 2014
Probably the most friendly and accommodating Host we have ever encountered at a KOA. We came for a weekend Baseball tourney in Castle Rock and had to arrive before the office opened. They set us up to come in get our registration packet and camp site in the late arrival box. They also set up my friends with a tent site as our site had no room for a tent. I am coming back this summer.
Jun 08, 2014
Very very friendly staff! It was a pity we couldn't stay any longer, but we have only a limited time in the Northwest so we are exploring different parts so travelling along each few days. Great site and location.
Jun 07, 2014
Jun 05, 2014
Lovely place, very neat and staff very friendly.
Jun 05, 2014
There was a problem with our reservations and we didn't get the full hook ups we requested. They made no effort to give a discount. Sites are extremely close together. Charged a fee for using a fire pit which wasn't mentioned on website.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

When you make reservations online it asks what kind of spots you would like. You were not charged for a full hook up site you were charged accordingly to the site you stayed in.
May 28, 2014
awesome location great people
May 27, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff. The camp sites are very tight. Store could use more items. Overall, given the owners just got the place, it's a great KOA. Close to all things St. Helens.
May 27, 2014
The owners and staff are wonderful! The sites are a little close, but that is pretty standard. It was a nice place to escape, close to home! :-).
May 27, 2014
Great owners and a well maintained park. It is the location next to a load, busy road, and the small size of the lots that keep my rating low. A great place for a single night on the way to somewhere else, but not as a place to camp and getaway for a weekend.
May 27, 2014
Sites were very small. Staff was very friendly though.
May 27, 2014
This campground was extremely cramped, we were so close we could not even put out our awning. We could only sit outside as long as we were directly side by side. There were no fire pits and even had pay for a potable one! We will not be returning, & may never stay at a koa again.
May 27, 2014
Campsites are narrow, the grade is too steep and should be leveled and fire pits installed. The staff was friendly and kids activities are good.
May 27, 2014
Very clean & well taken care of from the grounds to the bathrooms. Pet-friendly site did make it a little difficult. We had campers next to us with some type of bull dog that barked aggressively at us. Other than that the owners obviously care a great deal about having a campground that is clean, tidy & inviting!
May 27, 2014
D Sites were tight. Couldn't get awning all the way out. But had a great time and the staff are amazing!
May 26, 2014
We stayed one night on Memorial Day Weekend and though the people were very nice and the place is pretty, the spaces were VERY tight and way too short. There was not a flat place to put our table except right next to the neighbor's sewer pipe. Also the rules were that you could not put your BBQ or stove on the tables. There was no where else to put them. There should be aluminum tables not wood
May 25, 2014
new owners are very nice and customer oriented. will come back
May 21, 2014
May 20, 2014
May 16, 2014
Sites were extraordinarily narrow and small, we have 21 foot trailer and we could barely fit the 1/2 ton in the site; men's washroom had an obviously failed wax seal with water around the "pants drop" area which was still leaking when we left after two days; there was very little local weather guidance about incoming snow for strangers in a new environment; amongst the worst KOA's we've seen.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comment. We have since fixed the bathroom issue. The weather for us is strange and unpredictable. As for the sites, they were built long ago, but we are fixing that in the near future and bringing it up to date. So thanks, we hope you'll come back and see the changes.
May 14, 2014
nice place friendly staff
May 12, 2014
May 09, 2014
May 06, 2014
Campground was only partially open. Office is closed on Sundays and do not provide propane in all months
Apr 30, 2014
Fantastic-the host couldn't have been better or nicer! The place was clean and so green.
Apr 26, 2014
Apr 25, 2014
Apr 22, 2014
Nice location. Nice people. Clean restrooms. Well organized. WiFi was so slow.
Apr 21, 2014
The sites are small and not with much gravel. It was raining and so tracked a lot of mud into our rig. The personnel were very helpful though.
Apr 18, 2014
IT WAS WAY OUT OF LINE WITH ALLMTHE OTHER KOA CAMPS WE HAVE STAYED IN PRICE WAS ALMOST DOUBLE. THE CABLE TV DIDNT WORK.
Apr 17, 2014
That was an excellent Park. The dog park they had was great. Long run and lots of grass for the dogs.
Apr 16, 2014
Our stay was very relaxing. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only drawback is that the sites are narrow not enough room to bring out the awning.
Apr 16, 2014
New, clean, well maintained. Friendly check-in. I like the idea of portable fire pits--eliminates campers leaving clutter which then blows out of pits. Can't cook over firepits, though. Quiet location far enough from freeway, close enough to be convenient.
Apr 08, 2014
Great camp host. Office hours were a bit inconvenient though. Very clean camp, restrooms and showers.Very quiet and relaxing place to stay. No 50amp, bit of a challenge. No activities at camp. The nature trail was not really a trail. Wish they offered the same benefits as the State Parks do for disabled Veterans.
Apr 06, 2014
Showers were cold. No hot water. Staff was great. Sites were grass and muddy.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.