Spearfish KOA

Open April 25 - October 30

Reserve: 800-562-0805

Info: 605-642-4633

Email

41 West Hwy 14 (I90/Exit 10)

PO Box 429

Spearfish, SD 57783

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Sep 23, 2016
too expensive for the accomodations provided. It was after the season, there should have been discount in the cost.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hi Mary. Thank you for staying with us! Actually we do have our Fall rates going on now (started after Labor Day) which is a bit less than our standard rates. We are still in-season here (the only thing not open is the swimming pool). We switch to off-season rates mid-October. Hope to see you again!
Sep 22, 2016
The best!!!
Sep 20, 2016
Sep 18, 2016
Very friendly staff. Super clean and comfortable! Thanks.
Sep 14, 2016
Although we have stayed at this campground in the RV sites, this time we stayed in one of the new deluxe cabins. Very comfortable and well designed. Will return to the site in the future. Great service by the owners
Sep 06, 2016
Staff was amazing, friendly and knowledgable. Areas clean. Comfort was not good, spent almost twice the $$ for about 1/2 as nice as Douglas WY KOA. Mattresses were very uncomfortable,stacked two high, added padding and one of us moved to the floor for more comfort. Cabins are older so much smaller than what we had in Douglas, WY. Wifi very spotty.
Aug 29, 2016
The staff is awesome and the campground is clean. My second stay and I recommend staying in Spearfish if given the opportunity.
Aug 25, 2016
Bathrooms were old and needed some TLC. Cabin was not furnished for a comfortable stay. Only one electrical outlet with AC using half of it.
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Aug 22, 2016
Enjoyed it a lot and it was very nice
Aug 20, 2016
I loved the cabin where we stayed. The cabin was clean, and the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating.
Aug 19, 2016
Need to update and provide more bathrooms

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our brand new bath/shower/laundry building is coming!! We'll be starting it this fall and look forward to your return visit next year to see the brand new building!!
Aug 18, 2016
Booked almost a year in advance wife and I rode from Texas were given a cabin with two bunk beds couldn't sit on bed only one bar stool to sit on,Requested close to restroom wife has bad knees had to walk up hill to restrooms, got there restroom was Dirty,Bloody Boogers wiped on the wall in 3 of 4 stalls never cleaned entire 5 days stayed,stayed all around Black Hills KOA this Is the WORST ONE YET
Aug 15, 2016
The staff is friendly and is willing to help you out. This was a last minute booking and they were able to get us a the cabin. Awesome people.
Aug 13, 2016
The Spearfish campground was great! The site is very clean and the staff was super! Kim and Aaron have done a wonderful job since purchasing the campground. The three new cabins are beautiful! The comforts of home with the campground ambiance. The expansion of camp sites looks like it has always been there. Keep up the good work Kim and Aaron. We WILL see you again! Bob and Jody
Aug 12, 2016
The entire staff is top notch and we will continue to be return Kampers
Aug 10, 2016
Aug 01, 2016
It was beautiful, clean, and being right off the highway, surprisingly peaceful. Ice cream social was lots of fun! Very friendly staff. All around great experience!
Jul 31, 2016
Felt very welcome. Everything was easily accessible. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 26, 2016
Great place. New shower house planned for 2017 will make this a 5 star KOA. Be sure to eat at Dough Traders.
Jul 25, 2016
Very nice and clean. Will be back to see the new showers and restroom.
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 24, 2016
Great location, clean, quiet, very nice and friendly staff! We would most definitely stay here again!
Jul 23, 2016
Great staff, clean facilities, cabins were great!
Jul 21, 2016
I was very disappointed that my cabin was right next to a busy road and had terrible scenery. Ended up not staying the next night and forfeiting that nights stay because they would not refund my money. They need to specify on line where that cabin is located makes sence why it was the only one open that weekend.
Jul 21, 2016
not much to say, good facility like I expect at KOA. Area is great.
Jul 18, 2016
Very clean. Staff was awesome and guests very nice. Stayed in camper cabin on motorcycle trip. Would definitely stay again.
Jul 17, 2016
Jul 16, 2016
Nice location, friendly staff,ice cream social!Good Mexican Restaurant near.We stayed in a cabin. The restrooms are a ways from the cabins, especially in the middle of the night. Also the water faucet at the back of the cabins was not working. We got water from one of the empty tent sites but I would have felt uncomfortable to use them if the sites were occupied.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hello! Our basic cabins do not include water. We do have water faucets available for our tent & cabin campers at several locations but the one you tried is not a functioning faucet (that water line is not in use). If you're staying with us again, we'll be happy to show you where to obtain water!!
Jul 15, 2016
Cabins outdated yet functional. Air conditioner filter completely clogged. Overall it was nice and close to the interstate road.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comment about the ac filter - the ac's are a new addition to our campground and we didn't realize they had filters that needed to be cleaned. We have added this to our maintenance checklist! Our new deluxe cabins will be opening this week!!
Jul 13, 2016
Campground staff very friendly and the bathrooms/showers clean. Upgrades coming! Cabin was smaller (not much room to move around) than others for our family of 6. So grateful for a laundry room!
Jul 13, 2016
We really enjoyed staying at the cabins with our extended family. Conveniently located local restaurant and corner market made it easy to get essentials. The staff was friendly and the playground and restrooms were clean and well maintained.
Jul 12, 2016
Nice friendly staff and outstanding service, very enjoyable stay.
Jul 11, 2016
The cabin was smelly and dirty, trash and dirt under the dirty matresses and smells like urine. No fire pit :( No check in time on the website. Roads are improperly marked. The bathrooms were cramped, small, and uncomfortable. SPEARFISH KOA is falling apart. Seems like no one takes care of maintence or cleaning duties.not worth 60$ a night.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry to hear you were not satisfied with your stay. Wish you had spoken to us during your stay so we could have tried to make it right for you!!
Jul 07, 2016
I stayed in a cabin...it was fine, but barely.. the restrooms are nasty. Very dirty. The stalls are way too small...im 5' 8" and when trying to use the biffy I would bump my head on the door while bending over to wipe....Really? The power failure was fun...I used my flashlight to go to the can but the toilets were full of crap because KOA cant afford a $200 generator to keep the well pump runnin
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
Loved it. It's next to the freeway, but it's exactly what we wanted for convenience to everything else. I've need to Palmer Gulch several times while visiting the Rapid City area...I would have never made it to Spearfish if all of the other KOA'S were not already booked for the 4th. Lucky lucky us... we found Spearfish canyon, and had a really wonderful authentic SD experience.
Jul 01, 2016
Clean, friendly, well taken care of. I did not like the adult bunk style bed in the camping cabin.
Jul 01, 2016
Kim was very helpful and accomodating to our group of youth and adults. She helped us get an excellent rate, the pool and the cabins were perfect!
Jun 29, 2016
bathrooms were clean; staff was awesome; grounds were well kept. we enjoyed our stay and will definitely stay there again.
Jun 29, 2016
Our favorite KOA Kampground. Very clean and comfortable. Congratulation on your new construction of the restrooms and showers in the near future.
Jun 28, 2016
Can't say that our experience was bad, just underwhelming. We were staying in KOA camping cabins across the country and the cabin at this KOA was more like an unfinished shed on the inside. We didn't experience this anywhere else. Also, no fire pit at the cabin, just a grill.
Jun 27, 2016
Everything was great except there is no air conditioning in the bathhouse. On a hot day it is very hard to breathe in there - especially if there are showers going on.
Jun 24, 2016
We only spent one night but it was very pleasant. Staff were friendly and helpful. Facilities were clean and hospitable. However, we stayed in a Kamper Kabin and were awakened at 4 a.m. by a cat fight under the Kabin.
Jun 13, 2016
This is my second time staying at a KOA and it's been a wonderful experience each time. The staff is very helpful and always checking to make sure everything is ok with our stay. We had a blast, thank you!
Jun 13, 2016
I only gave it a 4 star rating due to the dog poop next to us that we walked through all weekend. The garbage sacks were cheap and ripped open easily. The garbage wasn't picked up often enough. My suggestion would be.... put a large barrel on back of golf cart, pick up campers garbage and then deposit in dumpster. Pool was nice and very clean. Help very friendly.
Jun 08, 2016
A strong thunderstorm moved thru the area our first night there. We had just gotten our tent set up when the rain started. The staff checked on us to make sure we were okay. Temperatures dipped really low and they were awesome about finding a cabin for us to use the rest of our stay.
May 31, 2016
We had a great time , and the people there went out of there way to make our stay enjoyable.
May 31, 2016
Easy to find location with helpful staff. A+
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy