Spearfish KOA

41 West Hwy 14 (I90/Exit 10)

Spearfish, SD 57783

Reserve: 800-562-0805

Info: 605-642-4633

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Cabin Reviews

Sep 20, 2015
grounds were very clean and cabin, maybe at some point update the bathrooms
Sep 18, 2015
Pretty basic, no frills KOA. Some showers in the only bathroom not working and water pressure pretty weak in the one I used. Staff I encountered were friendly and helpfull. Other than the shower glitch, park was well maintained and clean.
Sep 15, 2015
We really liked this KOA because the rabbits gave it uniqueness. It was quiet all the time.
Sep 08, 2015
Clean sites and cabins. Friendly and helpful staff. Two reasons that I did not give 5 stars are 1: they do not have firerings at every site and 2: while their pool is heated, they do not have a hottub.
Aug 25, 2015
Convenient place to stay and great access to surrounding places to visit.
Aug 17, 2015
The office is only open until 8, but they had everything ready for me when I pulled in at 9:30, and even came out and guided my big rig to a parking spot near my cabin. I wish they had more fun stuff in their gift shop!


So glad to hear you had a nice stay. We just opened the store/gift shop this year (brand new owners) and are already planning to expand the gift offerings for next year!! Hope to see you again! Kim Hamilton, Owner
Aug 15, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Great place to stay for The Sturgis Rally, they had extra friendly help on hand to get us checked in very quickly and assist with any extras we needed, clean facilities, breakfast was available. Thanks for a great place to stay.
Aug 06, 2015
Clean and friendly
Aug 06, 2015
Thank you for the great stay and great breakfast. Everyone was very nice and helpful.
Aug 03, 2015
I love Spearfish and the campground.It is now under new ownership and they seemed to be really nice folks and well underway to success. I think they actually really care how your stay was..
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
We have stayed at many KOA's. The Spearfish KOA has been the friendliest and cleanest one we have stayed at. We will definitely stay there again!
Jul 27, 2015
Unfortunately we didn't make our stay due to weather and tornado warnings issued for the state. And due to the cancelation policy we were not given a refund or partial refund. The tasting given doesn't reflect the camp,but a rating had to be given and so due to policy, that was the reason for the score.


I'm sorry you weren't able to make it to our campground due to the weather conditions. We follow the national KOA Cancellation Policy, but also do offer to allow you to use your lost deposit on a future stay at our campground this season if you or someone you know is in our area. Kim Hamilton, Owner
Jul 23, 2015
Had a very pleasant experience.
Jul 22, 2015
Wonderful people to work with - so friendly and helpful. The wash-up area of the showers needs an expansion, but the facility was really clean. Laundry was immaculate. We enjoyed the super-clean pool, too.
Jul 21, 2015
Awkward to walk from Kabins to restrooms, no clear path, especially tricky at night!
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 18, 2015
Jul 16, 2015
Can't say enough good things about this KOA. Owners have made a great many improvements. We didn't have a fire pit at our cabin and went away for the day. When we returned we had a fire pit!!!! Over and above!! Ice cream social was a blast too. Thank you!!
Jul 14, 2015
The stay was good. Cabins were good. My biggest complaint is no outlets available to plug anything in. Couldn't use my radio the whole weekend. There is two outlets and the AC takes up one of them. So not many options for other things. I would highly recommend adding outlets to the cabins. The smaller ones that is. Bathrooms were fairly clean. Wood was very expensive. Pool was nice and clean.
Jul 14, 2015
Very accommodating and nice! Super clean. One off the best KOA I have stayed at.
Jul 13, 2015
were glad you installed the air conditioners since so close to traffic was very noisy first night for sleeping. after that closed the windows and used air. Great sleeping after that.
Jun 29, 2015
Friendly staff, quiet and clean atmosphere.
Jun 29, 2015
Didn't have pool open until long after it was supposed to open. Open it earlier and schedule the cleaning for a slow time.


We apologize for the inconvenience. We regularly have the pool open on time or earlier, but may have had an issue to address before safely opening the pool that day. We're proud of the numerous comments praising our heated pool and strive to keep our facilities safe & enjoyable. Kim Hamilton, Owner
Jun 24, 2015
Friendly, helpful and attentive hosts. cabin was very comfortable and clean, bathrooms and showers clean, quiet and enjoyable setting.
Jun 23, 2015
We have stayed in Spearfish at the KOA 4 times and the people are helpful and nice the cabins are very clean, we would recommend this to everyone. Thanks
Jun 21, 2015
The new owners are fantastic! Great hospitality and keeping things clean and welcoming! We will be back for sure!
Jun 16, 2015
The staff went out of their way to change my reservation from tent site to cabin making a cold rainy night much more pleasant.
Jun 15, 2015
very nice place, clean well kept, nice people, very enjoyable, highly recommend.
Jun 12, 2015
Restroom too far from cabin
Jun 02, 2015
Had a great experience. The office ladies where amazing to work with we had a party of 5 families so we made it a little difficult and the staff was always willing and happy to change things up if we needed it. The campground itself was very clean and we'll cared for. Would highly recommended this place! Thanks for helping us make some great memories!
May 22, 2015
Great place! Very helpful owners!
Oct 22, 2014
Oct 01, 2014
Great hospitality and super nice host! Cabin and bathhouse were clean and well kept.
Sep 24, 2014
Excellent camping experience during the rally. I would definitely come back
Sep 14, 2014
This was our first time staying in a Kamping Kabin. Loved it! In fact we ended up booking another night a week later on our return trip home. Plenty of space -- pulled up and just emptied our vehicle. We are in our mid-fifties and will definitely recommend this option to our kids with their families. Room for 6! KOAs are always clean, spacious and FRIENDLY!
Aug 30, 2014
We camp at KOA every chance we get and we are never disappointed. Thanks for the nice clean stay.
Aug 27, 2014
Fun, Clean Establishment..Great folks at the front counter.
Aug 27, 2014
Aug 21, 2014
Aug 18, 2014
The restrooms are way too far from the kamping kabins and tent sites. Also most of the the other KOA's we stayed at the Kamping Kabins had air conditioning installed in the kabins. That makes for a much nicer nights sleep.
Aug 14, 2014
store and pool close too early
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
We have stayed here for the last 2 Sturgis rallies and my only suggestion would be to add another shower house.
Aug 10, 2014
Aug 08, 2014
Great location, fair/good facilities and "works" for a short or extended stay.
Aug 04, 2014
Bon accueil et bon service. Le ventilateur dans la cabine est apprécié. Un mini frigo comme au KOA de Hinton en Alberta aurait été super. Merci Il serait
Aug 03, 2014
It was a short stay for but the staff we met were very friendly and helpful!
Aug 01, 2014
Nice campground, great staff.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.