Spearfish KOA

41 West Hwy 14 (I90/Exit 10)

Spearfish, SD 57783

Reserve: 800-562-0805

Info: 605-642-4633

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 09, 2015
Outstanding all-around. Owner updating with large/new trees. They escorted us to 3 different sites until we located the best fit. Site was level. Backed up to fence. Quite and great view of mountains. Hosts are very friendly and helpful.
Aug 09, 2015
Great place!!!
Aug 08, 2015
Stayed during the 75th Black Hills Rally. They were extremely busy but did a great job dealing with the large request for sites, with a smile always on their face. Great staff! Even walked my dog!
Aug 08, 2015
WONDERFUL!! Surprised it was sold and under new management, but Kim and Aaron and the entire staff were very friendly and welcoming, and have made many upgrades to the grounds (new trees planted, gravel oiled so less dust) which made our stay even more enjoyable. Common areas (showers and bathrooms) always clean and we had a great time!!! Already made reservations for next year and can't wait!!!
Aug 08, 2015
New owners are great!
Aug 08, 2015
We have been to the Sturgis Rally 8 times in the last 25 years. We have tented in the over flow and had full service sites. We have always had excellent service.
Aug 08, 2015
The new owners and grounds keeper were very friendly, and were on top with maintaining the facilities and grounds of the KOA. They were also very helpful when I had issues setting up my campsite. This is the second time I've stayed here and would highly recommend anyone to stay at this facility and experience the exceptional surroundings, streams, friendly camping neighbors and making new friends.
Aug 07, 2015
We had a great time and have made our reservations for next year
Aug 07, 2015
It was very good and we enjoyed the kamp and the grounds. The employees were attentive and friendly too.
Aug 06, 2015
U only need 1 language ENGLISH 4 ur survey & ill b bak many mor times as I hav 4 yrs, don't lik the dry campers round edges & out front but I no ur in charge & need 2 make $ but I think it's unsafe.
Aug 06, 2015
Clean and friendly
Aug 06, 2015
Nice, clean campground. Spectacular customer service!! Highly recommend. God Bless you:)
Aug 06, 2015
facility was very expensive, we traveled from mich to yellowstone are your park was by far the most expensive for what you got
Aug 06, 2015
Thank you for the great stay and great breakfast. Everyone was very nice and helpful.
Aug 05, 2015
Aug 05, 2015
Camp spots to small --your being greedy ----Bathroom to small and not up dated ----the price we paid it should have been better than it was

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us for 7 nights during the Sturgis Rally. We were lucky to be able to get you into one of our pull-thru service sites only 3 weeks before this huge event. As new owners, we hope to be able to remodel in the next year or so! We appreciate your input. Kim Hamilton, Owner
Aug 03, 2015
Always a great place to stay. Clean and what a great staff. See you next year!
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
I love Spearfish and the campground.It is now under new ownership and they seemed to be really nice folks and well underway to success. I think they actually really care how your stay was..
Aug 03, 2015
Was a great stay. However the price is out of line. I suppose you are fleecing those who attend the Sturgis Rally, but for the rest of us, it is way out of line. I doubt I will stay here again.
Aug 02, 2015
Very friendly and helpful staff. We enjoyed our stay.
Aug 01, 2015
Beautiful setting, clean bathrooms. Easy to pull through with car towed behind. Friendly staff.
Jul 31, 2015
We will stay here again. Thanks Kim and A. for being a good host. John Viglione from Up State NY
Jul 31, 2015
Very friendly, very clean, extremely pleasant!!! We'll stop again
Jul 31, 2015
Stayed in 42' motor home. Well kept park. Good store and great service.
Jul 30, 2015
Very well maintained. Only downside is they don't sell propane.
Jul 30, 2015
It was joy able. EVER ONE WAS GREAT.
Jul 30, 2015
Thanks. Friendly and Clean!
Jul 30, 2015
Severe Thunder Storm that night,lots of tree branches fell NOT CAMP GROUNDS FAULT, nice people, nice camp grounds
Jul 29, 2015
wonderful place to stay !
Jul 29, 2015
I can't say enough about the improvements the new owners have implemented. Everyday returning from our touring brings something new. I can't wait to see it next year! Congrats to Kim and Aaron.
Jul 29, 2015
Extremely comfortable, quiet, and clean. Wonderful staff and ice cream every night. Bathrooms were clean and roomy. 75+ channels on cable. What else could anyone hope to find at a campground?
Jul 29, 2015
The host was awesome, helped me get pulled in as I had my 5th wheel and motorcycle trailer h=behind that also. Very nice person. I would recommend that place anytime. very friendly staff.
Jul 29, 2015
When I made reservations to stay for two nights, I was told I would need to pay in full because of Sturgis. I had no issues with paying upfront. I was informed my total for two nights was $73. Upon arrival, I was told I still owed $90 and now they were charging me $8 a day for my extra vehicle that wasn't even allowed to be parked at the site. I will not recommend nor stay at another KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Your rate was based on a 41' fifth wheel & 2 people. We didn't know about the extra vehicle until you arrived-It didn't fit in your site so had to go elsewhere. There was an extra person too so those were the add'l charges less your military disc. I'm sorry about the confusion!! Kim Hamilton, Owner
Jul 28, 2015
Great staff! Will be back. Very helpful had an issue with my truck they let me have additional time in my spot until could get repair done and did not charged me extra says a lot for there level of customer service and care!
Jul 28, 2015
Very friendly staff. Well maintained.
Jul 28, 2015
The owners and the help especially Whitey are so pleasant and helpful. I had problems with my tires and Aaron loaned the use of his compressor twice brought it right to the rig. Also while using the laundry room he went out of his way to put a fan in there to circulate the air as it was hot in there. Just Super people. A great pleasure to stay there.
Jul 28, 2015
Very friendly staff. They worked to get a space for us during the Sturges rally. The ice cream at night was a nice treat. Beautiful park.
Jul 28, 2015
Very clean restrooms, showers & laundry room. Great staff. Lovely campground. Love the soft Grass under my tent.
Jul 27, 2015
Top notch staff. They go above and beyond what is expected.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
We have stayed at many KOA's. The Spearfish KOA has been the friendliest and cleanest one we have stayed at. We will definitely stay there again!
Jul 27, 2015
Very quiet dog friendly campground, helpful staff, clean and well maintained. We will definitely stay again.
Jul 27, 2015
This place is AMAZING. We stayed 4 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. The landscaping is amazing - like camping in your backyard. The pool, laundry and bathrooms were great. My kids loved the ice cream social every night. The customer service was some of the BEST we've had at a campground. The Spearfish KOA is one of the BEST we've stayed.
Jul 27, 2015
Well kept. Easy in/out pull throughs. Plenty of space.
Jul 27, 2015
Unfortunately we didn't make our stay due to weather and tornado warnings issued for the state. And due to the cancelation policy we were not given a refund or partial refund. The tasting given doesn't reflect the camp,but a rating had to be given and so due to policy, that was the reason for the score.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry you weren't able to make it to our campground due to the weather conditions. We follow the national KOA Cancellation Policy, but also do offer to allow you to use your lost deposit on a future stay at our campground this season if you or someone you know is in our area. Kim Hamilton, Owner
Jul 26, 2015
We were there less than 12 hours, but when we arrived (pretty late!) the owners were still up, got us checked in quickly and helped us find our location...they were wonderful, which was lovely after a rough journey there!
Jul 26, 2015
We loved the grassy campsites with lots of room around us. Staff was wonderful. We will definitely come here again!
Jul 25, 2015
Jul 25, 2015
Well maintained, clean and great camp ground.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.