South Padre Island KOA

1 Padre Blvd

South Padre Island, TX 78597

Reserve: 800-562-9724

Info: 956-761-5665

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Apr 05, 2014
As we are old, we only stay at KOA Deluxe Kabins across the U.S. -- your waterfront KL Kabins are by far the finest! Other pluses are the onsite restaurant/bar, and the mini light on the keyring for late checking. BRAVO ZULU!
Mar 31, 2014
This campground is well maintained and the staff are so friendly. The cabins are the perfect size for a weekend getaway.
Mar 30, 2014
Mar 29, 2014
Our camping cabin needed the floors cleaned desperately Everything else was shipshape
Mar 10, 2014
Mar 09, 2014
Mar 06, 2014
because we no longer travel long distance in our older rv the park model trailer still gives us the camping experience with a water view.
Mar 04, 2014
stayed in one if the 'cozy cabins'. very nice, enjoyed the patio, and porch area. barbeque grill needed a good cleaning, every thing else very well kept up.
Mar 01, 2014
We stayed in a waterfront lodge and it was clean, perfect view, wonderful
Feb 27, 2014
Relaxing. We have stayed in lodges 1&2 and love them both. Saw dolphins, herons, etc. Plan to come next year. Have told friends what a great place this is.
Feb 27, 2014
we stayed in a beach house cabin. accommodations were excellent and staff were very helpful.
Feb 26, 2014
Feb 26, 2014
The cabins are wonderful, but better clean up would be appreciated. There were cigarette butts on the deck, food on one of the tables, beer lids on the picnic area. I think a good power wash could be done which would also clean up the bird poop. Inside was fine, except for a label from a sack of new clothes that was on the floor, visible and should have been picked up prior to my rental.
Feb 25, 2014
We were quoted a rate of $75 per night; we added a night to the original reservation and was never told that the rate for weekends is $155; called corporate, got no returned phone call. Will probably never stay at a KOA campground again.
Feb 24, 2014
Waterfront cabin #4 was clean, quiet and a good value. We will definitely return.
Feb 24, 2014
we stayed in the bungalow tbat sleeps 8 people. Very roomy and clean.
Feb 22, 2014
The waterfront cabin we stayed in was set up perfectly so that dining/living area overlook water. A slider opens onto a deck and there is also a patio area. We loved the heated pool and hottub.
Feb 22, 2014
Feb 19, 2014
We had a great stay in our cottage on the water. Cabin 3 was clean and everything worked well, unfortunately on Friday we had to move to cottage 8 because we decided to extend our stay and cottage 3 was taken. Cottage 8 was terrible, we couldn't move because the entire koa was booked so we had to stay. we just stayed outside or away as much as we could. the cottage was full of pet hair, very dirty
Feb 19, 2014
based on our stay in cottage 8 we couldn't recommend this for anyone. it was dirty and full of pet hair and smelled very bad. we kept the windows open. we actually gave a couple of tours to people that walked by, we told them just not to stay in cottage 8. everyone is nice here but this cottage is terrible. cottage 3 was very nice, the koa was full so we had no other option.
Feb 19, 2014
We had a terrible stench of sewer at our end of the campground, we had a horrible mattress (that was switched as soon as we let them know) Would not recommend to anyone staying in waterfront cabins...right by garbage cans....and sewer smell.
Feb 18, 2014
I stayed for the weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. I rented the deluxe cavin and it was great. Nice and clean Everyone was really friendly. The staff was awesome ,especially Phil. I cannot wait until my next trip! My family and I will be staying with you guys again. Already looking to book in August!
Feb 17, 2014
Very nice camp grounds. Wish we could have had nicer weather to enjoy the pool but you can't always count on the weather. Visitor parking does need some improvement.
Feb 15, 2014
Absolutely best deal on South Padre Island. A water front cabin where you can sit on your porch and watch the boats and ships go by and the dolphins jumping.
Feb 02, 2014
We booked a one bedroom KOA Cabin at South Padre Island for 5 nights. It was a water front location, fully furnished, extremely clean, & there was pretty much everything we needed (other than a tea kettle!). The only hiccup was the weather - next time could you please guarantee some hot weather?? The staff were very friendly & knowledgeable about the area. We will book at KOA again in the future!!
Jan 30, 2014
We loved our stay.
Jan 26, 2014
Always enjoy the view and the neighbors. Our little cabin on the bay is the best value in town.
Jan 19, 2014
Jan 13, 2014
We stayed in the cabin by the bay. The staff was very nice; cabin was clean and would definitely return. As for the folks in RV's, I felt those slots were way too close together! I wouldn't stay in an RV there.
Jan 08, 2014
The managers couldn't have been nicer or more professional. You must treat your employees right. Good for you.
Jan 04, 2014
Staff was very warm and friendly. Made us feel welcome and valued.
Jan 02, 2014
Other than the front door needing adjustment and the mattress is in much needed replacement the stay was enjoyable.The couple running the show at this location super nice and they made our short visit a welcomed one. We are returning in May as well for 5 days this time. Look forward to it.
Dec 31, 2013
We loved the cottage and the staff all very friendly. We were traveling with our toddler, he had a great time on the playground and checking out the pelicans at the pier.
Dec 16, 2013
this was a rv park, gravel everywhere. The cabin was nice, but not our type of KOA
Dec 15, 2013
CLEAN BUT VERY SMALL. HEATER DID NOT HEAT, VERY COLD. OKAY FOR LAST MINUTE STAYS, EASY RESERVATIONS.
Dec 07, 2013
Our stay at the KOA was a great experience. Having cabins available right along the water was fantastic. It was great getting up in the morning and drinking on the deck. The unit was clean and offered everthing we would expect from a hotel, but all the comforts of home. The staff was friendly and do a great job keeping up the grounds.
Nov 30, 2013
We usually stay in our motorhome but used two of the cabins: the waterfront & a deluxe loft as we were traveling with family. Both were incredibly stocked with necessities beyond my expectations. The loft accommodations were nicer as we had the pet waterfront and it was fine but not at the same level as the loft. It was a nice place to stay and I would love to back.
Nov 28, 2013
Thank you KOA.Our experience at the campgrounds was far better than staying at a hotel. The home away from home feeling was stupendous. Would do it again!!
Nov 21, 2013
Thank you so much for an awesome stay!
Nov 21, 2013
We always love staying in one of the waterfront cabins. Best lodging on the Island! Would like to see an upgrade to mattresses tough. Current ones much too soft. Feels like you have to climb up out them to get out of bed.
Nov 21, 2013
Sandy and Frank where great!!! I was enthusiastically greeted and that made my stay worthwhile!
Nov 12, 2013
We have stayed here many times and have enjoyed the friendly atmosphere of the staff and guest alike. We would highly recommended the SPI KOA Kampgrounds!
Nov 11, 2013
Cabins should be checked out prior to guest visit, we walked in and notice that living room air condition was not working (it would work than turn off shortly after)makes for an uncomfortable stay
Nov 10, 2013
The bay front cottages at this KOA have to be the best bargain on South Padre Island. Our cottage was adequately equipped with everything we needed, and with two flat screen TV's and separate AC/Heat in the living area and bedroom we were very comfortable. The added bonus of the Pier 19 restaurant with great food and a short walking distance was a wonderful bonus. We hope to come back soon.
Nov 10, 2013
Absolutely loved the waterfront cabin. Only complaint would be the foul smell. Smelled like a bad sewer problem. Very strong smell while sitting on the deck. Barbecue grills are very rusty, would need lots of foil to cook on them. Overall great stay....will return again!
Nov 05, 2013
Oct 29, 2013
We will definitely stay here again. The staff is very friendly, the cabins are clean. Very satisfied with our stay.
Oct 23, 2013
Quite the best KOA we have stayed in for location. Excellent, and very friendly.
Oct 18, 2013
our lodge was not cleaned very well. Also linen was not in the lodge as it has been in the past. I reported this to Linda upon our check out.
Oct 16, 2013
We rented a waterfront deluxe cabin and it was wonderful. So clean and cute. We will be making another reservation in the near future. Loved it!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.