Skowhegan / Kennebec Valley KOA

Route 2 (18 Cabin Road in Canaan)

Canaan, ME 04924

Reserve: 800-562-7571

Info: 207-474-2858

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 23, 2013
We enjoyed our stay and would come back again. Our only suggestion is the two sites that bare at the front of the camp ground need to be behind a noise break of hedges or something, those big rigs climbing that hill at :00 in the morning make a lot of noise. Everything else at the campground was A+++. Thanks again.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
The showers could be a bit larger and the putt putt course could use a good bit of work. We had a good time. The folk there were very nice and helpful. The knowledge of the sights around Maine was very helpful. Our son says he really liked the pool. Thank you for a great stay your KOA.
Jul 21, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
Great weekend as it always is at Skowhegan KOA
Jul 20, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
Nice people, clean, but sites were too open for us.
Jul 15, 2013
What a great KOA. Loved the facility and the host family. Both were exceptional and really enjoyed our stay. Immediately took care of the electric issue on a holiday weekend and communicated with the guests in a more than efficient manner. Kudos to all.
Jul 14, 2013
We had a wonderful time at this campground. Great playground across from our trailer for my younger son to play in. Fun game room where my older son & myself played pool & air hockey. Beth was full of ideas and places to go. Fun activities for the kids.
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 09, 2013
Awesome staff went out of their way to make both our stays there very pleasant! Loved the bingo night, delicious pancake breakfast and our kudos to Beth for making sure we got to see the end of the F1 race! Great people, great location - loved it! Thanks, John & Elaine
Jul 09, 2013
They have come a long way since 2008!! Still have family fun activities and kids games to do. My family had a good time!!
Jul 08, 2013
Nicely run and staff was pleasant. Pool was very clean though very over crowded at times.
Jul 08, 2013
Had a great time
Jul 08, 2013
We enjoyed our stay at Canaan KOA. Beth was great help in exploring the local area. We so appreciated the onsite kafe so we could eat great food without cooking!
Jul 08, 2013
Don and Beth are the best hosts! Totally committed to providing a great time to the whole family.
Jul 07, 2013
The owners are excellent. They know the area well and what there is to do. Camp is clean with plenty of daily activities for children. Sites could use some leveling as when it rains there is pooling around your rig. Great area to base your stay out of and see the sites.
Jul 01, 2013
We love this campground!! We came with friends,their first time, and they booked another weekend with us!! Can't wait to go back!!! Beth and Don are the best host! They are the reasons we keep going back!!
Jun 30, 2013
Very nice people, friendly.Thinking about returning to this campground to explore the area more. Thank you for making our stay pleasant
Jun 28, 2013
Forgot reservation (said she got dates mixed up) and refused to locate us to a suitable campsite until 11:00 next morning. Failed to fulfill one hour satisfaction guarantee. For fear of worse experiences we abandoned our site the next morning.
Jun 27, 2013
Great staff
Jun 25, 2013
Helpful, friendly staff; beautiful campground; and lots of activities for kids!
Jun 24, 2013
Jun 20, 2013
not much going on for kids this weekend but they still had fun
Jun 19, 2013
Jun 19, 2013
The facilities and service were excellent. It was nice to go to a campground that actually liked having kids there.
Jun 18, 2013
Jun 17, 2013
We were very happy with this KOA, it met or exceeded all of our expectations.
Jun 16, 2013
enjoyed the ice cream social, but wasn't too excited about the fire ring almost under my slide with the other camper burning plastic....
Jun 07, 2013
Jun 06, 2013
Love camping here, miss Beth get well soon!
Jun 03, 2013
We had a great time! The staff was friendly and helpful, the games and activities were perfect for all my kids. The one thing that was difficult, was the hours of the camp store : 9am - 7pm, just isn't easy hours. We needed things in the morning, the at night before bed, but were not able to get them!
May 29, 2013
The nonstop rain is what caused the only issues that we had. Our site was 8"+ solid mud. We got stuck trying to pull our camper in Friday. Then delt with mud issues all weekend. My only complaint is that the sites near the pool (where we stayed) did not have the same gravel pad that many of the sites up on the hill had. I truley belive that this would have help the situation a great deal. Thank yo
May 28, 2013
Very upbeat. Many activities. Clean. Weather was terrible but staff stayed upbeat and kept families involved and adjusted activities as necessary.
May 28, 2013
This location needs some updating. It had been four years since our last trip there and they have done little if any work to the facilities. The RV sites are in serious need of drainage work as they turn into mud holes with very little rain. The staff is very friendly and helpful so that is a plus.
May 27, 2013
Unfortunately, it rained all weekend so we were stuck inside most of the day and didn't get to experience the amenities. However the staff were very nice and welcoming. We will definitely be back, hopefully with better weather!
May 23, 2013
Friendly staff, super clean restrooms, well maintained campground!
May 22, 2013
We had a wonderful relaxing weekend...loved it!
Oct 17, 2012
Oct 16, 2012
We always have a blast, can't wait til next year!!!
Oct 15, 2012
Wonderful location, great staff.
Oct 14, 2012
Oct 12, 2012
The Halloween themed weekend at the KOA in Canaan is fantastic!! Beth and her staff are very friendly and put together many fun (and scary) activities for guest of all ages. We have already made reservations to go back again next year and we had many guest and new campers who were there with us this year.
Oct 12, 2012
The stay was fine. However we ar unhappy that friends of ours rented a cabin, paid in full. Then had to cancel three weeks prior. the cabin was able to be rerented, however they will not recive a refund only a credit. This is wrong in my opinion. We camp with at least two other families some times more.
Oct 12, 2012
Had a great stay! Lot's of activities for kids. Beth is very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back next year.
Oct 12, 2012
Halloween weekend was awesome. The owners went out of their way for me and my family. If anyone wants a great place to stay as well as a great time. Stay at the Skowhegan/Canaan KOA. Thanks again Don and Beth.
Oct 08, 2012
Had a great time as usual and we are looking forward to camping there again next year. Thank you, Don and Beth
Oct 06, 2012
Beth is great!
Oct 05, 2012
We were just passing through and we enjoyed our short visit with you

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.