Skowhegan / Kennebec Valley KOA

18 Cabin Road

Canaan, ME 04924

Reserve: 800-562-7571

Info: 207-474-2858

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4.5 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

Cabin Reviews

Sep 18, 2015
When we arrived I thought the cabin was not secluded enough, but it turned out to be perfect and so clean. I had thought there would be a bathtub to take a bath and relax, and when I mentioned it to the owners, they apologized and asked what they could do to make it right, they gave us firewood and it was great to have a fire every evening. This is a great place and can't wait to return.


Thank you for the review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!
Sep 16, 2015
Very clean campground and the cabins were immaculate. Jeff and Melanie are working hard to improve all the areas and bend over backwards to make sure campers are happy with their stay. I wish them the best of luck as they go forward.
Sep 14, 2015
Very happy with our stay. We enjoy staying in the kabins and love that our dog can come with us. Our only complaint was the mattresses were a little uncomfortable.


Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for the mattresses. We currently have a plan in place to replace them all. Other than that we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Sep 08, 2015
Thank you so much for a great weekend! Kabin was really nice and convenient. 2 light bulbs were burned out inside and the outside light kept flickering and didn't always come right on, but it wasn't a huge issue. Just a suggestion would be that you announce all of the fun things going on when it's time or almost time. I know you handed out schedules, but it use to be a lot easier. Lots of fun!!!


Thank you for your feedback. We hope to see again but whether you stay with us or at another campground, please do not hesitate to bring any problems you encounter (such as lights burnt out) to the owners attention. We are here to make your stay most enjoyable even if its just the small things!
Sep 01, 2015
We like this campground because of the location. There's a lot to explore around the Skowhegan area. The new staff are friendly and helpful and we like how it is pet and family friendly. But, we do have a few suggestions: Have earlier camp store hours Sell water by the gallon Do something about the pool - it's a little moldy smelling =/ Thanks!


As new owners we are challenged everyday to continually improve the camp for our guests. We can only do that with your feedback, so Thank you! We will update store items based on feedback, hope to have better hours and look forward to making some changes to the pool for next season!
Aug 30, 2015
The owners were pleasant, especially after our 6 yr old son got burned on a fire ring. The grounds were clean, but need a few upgrades but that's due to the recent change in ownership. It was very quiet, comfortable & clean. We will most likely stay there again.
Aug 24, 2015
very neat and clean,quiet,and friendly
Aug 23, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
The KOA was clean and the staff was friendly. There was activities planned but we did alot of sightseeing. The only down point was there were not wifi setups throughout the campgrounds. Wifi was only available in the store area. Would definitly visit again if we were to travel to Maine again.
Aug 16, 2015
New owners, Beautiful property. Remote enough to be peaceful, but not hard to find. Positive signage "We Care" about the environment would be more believable if not for the 4-wheel ATV being driven around on the property. Very nice pool, owners want to make guests welcome.
Aug 10, 2015
Loved the cabin. Very cute. Comfortable. Clean. Spacious. The only downfall was the location -- right on the road, near the playground.
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 09, 2015
We stayed in Kampin Kabin KK1 and we're very satisfied. It was right beside the playground but because it was midweek there were not many children. If I stayed on the weekend I would ask for the ones near the pool. Everyone was very nice and helpful. There is a supermarket 1 mile away for anything you need or may have forgotten. If we are up that way again I will surely camp there again. Thank
Aug 02, 2015
The owners are fantastic! Very warm, welcoming and determined to make their campground the best. We had a tent site reserved but requested a cabin due to rain. The cabin was clean and comfortable. We really appreciated the radiant heater that was provided. Bathrooms were immaculately clean - thanks for that! We would highly recommend this KOA.
Aug 02, 2015
Our kabin was secluded but was the furthest from the pool, laundry and other activities. Pool was too cold to swim very long for toddlers. Had to wait to do laundry. Not enough machines for the number of sites at this park. But was one of the cheaper facilities.
Jul 27, 2015
Stay was great! My only suggestion is screen doors on cabins for airflow.
Jul 23, 2015
Clean and quiet; can't say enough about the state of the washrooms and showers! Wonderful! Nice pool!
Jul 22, 2015
My kids and I love this campground! We always have so much fun and the owners are great! We already can't wait to come back!
Jul 20, 2015
Love that they have the arts and crafts for the kiddos... adult activities are nice also
Jul 20, 2015
Jul 12, 2015
We had a nice stay at the Skowhegan KOA. The campground and facilities were very clean. The staff was pleasant. We arrived late and after hours and our cabin was ready for our arrival. We would visit again.
Jul 02, 2015
Very helpful and pleasant staff. Super clean and well run - had an awesome sleep, thanks very much for the hospitality!
Jun 29, 2015
We had a great time! My kids loved it!!! And I love the fenced in area for the dogs to play! We can't wait to come back! Thank you!!!
Jun 29, 2015
Great as always. Very accommodating staff. Beautiful sites. Clean restrooms and facilities. Always a great stay at this campground. Looking forward to returning :)
Jun 26, 2015
Jun 23, 2015
The deluxe cabin provided everything we needed for a relaxing weekend. Thanks!
Jun 22, 2015
Jeff and Melissa were great. The campground was very well maintained. Lodge was clean and well equipped. Would definitely stay here again.
Jun 19, 2015
After almost a week on the road staying in motels it was great to be in a location of a KOA. We used a cabin, cooked our meals out side, walked in the woods and slept soundly.
Jun 17, 2015
Very friendly helpful staff,very nice campground,big trees and all kinds of stuff to do
Jun 15, 2015
Jun 15, 2015
Everything was perfect. Thanks for a great weekend.
Jun 10, 2015
The campground was very well maintained and the restrooms/shower areas were very clean. The owners were very friendly. Enjoyed our stay and would stay again if we go back to Maine.
Jun 10, 2015
Stayed in a deluxe Kabin. We arrived late and the hosts nicely left the key and a helpful note. However the Kabin was dirty (dirt, dead bugs, and even a used sock on beds, dust/dirt on floor, flashlight under bed suggesting lack of sweeping). The sites (not just ours, tent and RV as well) are not level - our picnic bench was very tilted and I would not want to tent there. Staff were friendly tho!


I am so sorry you had a bad experience in our Cottage. We are new owners of the park and making changes every day. We have since hired a cleaning team and that is their only job is to clean cabins and bathrooms and showers. Hope you will try us again sometime soon.
Jun 02, 2015
This was the cleanest KOA I have ever been to. Very friendly staff and just a beautiful place to stay.
Oct 08, 2014
I showed up late and had a personal escort by golf cart to my cabin for the night. It took a lot of stress off finding things in the dark. Clean facilities, friendly staff and owners. And to kick it all off my friends and I beat the Jurassic Park Arcade game for the first time in my life!
Oct 08, 2014
Very clean
Oct 04, 2014
I enjoyed my stay very much. The campground is beautiful. The facilities were clean and the cabins comfortable. The new owners welcomed me and were friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this campground and look forward to returning again.
Oct 04, 2014
The owners were wonderful and very helpful. The facilities were very clean. If I were in the area again I would definitely go back.
Sep 17, 2014
This KOA needs some work.They indicate lot of local attractions there. But the nearest one at least 1 1/2 hour drive from there.We were at New Hampshire chocorua KOA last year. That was a great camping trip.
Sep 15, 2014
the owners were wonderful, the cabin was great, my only complaint would be that the bed was terribly uncomfortable I would stay there agian, despite the bed
Sep 08, 2014
Your campground was very clean and the owners were very nice and helpful. The cabin we stayed in was clean and we really liked that there was a tub and shower.
Sep 08, 2014
Sep 08, 2014
Sep 06, 2014
Sep 01, 2014
Aug 26, 2014
Our hosts were amazing, and the facility was immaculate. I was traveling with a motorcycle group, and packing is always tight. For this reason I cannot say enough about the on-site breakfast area. The food was awesome, and prices very reasonable. We'll be back.....John
Aug 17, 2014
My stay was very nice, and the staff were very gracious.
Aug 16, 2014
Great even when I showed up late. Thans
Aug 15, 2014
Nice cabin- perfect for family of 3 or 4, although might be a bit small with all 4 bunk beds full of kids!
Aug 15, 2014
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.