Sheridan / Big Horn Mountains KOA

63 Decker Road

Sheridan, WY 82801

Reserve: 800-562-7621

Info: 307-674-8766

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 29, 2015
We came here for a motorcycle rally. Was in a good location. The bad part was the last night of our visit the campers next to us were "rainbow people " 15 of them and 4 pit bull dogs. We called the office at 11:00 pm and said they were very loud. The person who came was surprised to see so many people. We left the next day! they siphoned the gas out of our bikes and truck.
Jul 29, 2015
The WiFi at the campground was terrible. You shouldn't have even advertised that you had WiFi. The noise from the highway and train took away from being enjoyable.
Jul 29, 2015
Stayed in cabin 4; very homie and comfortable. Loved the cabin so much; will be looking to spend more time camping! Very clean and friendly campground! Even had ice cream available, every campers dream! 😊😊😊😊😊
Jul 29, 2015
The RV slot that we were placed in was extremely narrow and crowded. There was only dirt, no gravel or grass, so when the wind blew it turned into a dust bowl and when it rained it turned into a mud bowl. Come on Sheridan KOA, you can do better than this!!
Jul 29, 2015
Staff were very nice on the phone and helpful when we arrived. Clean bathroom/campground and quiet too. Too bad the evening storm and rain made it difficult but still it was a nice campground. Please keep up the good jobs. Thanks
Jul 29, 2015
We are a big rig. Their wattage does not support big rigs. They said it was us not them. All camps prior and after, no problem. Could not cook dinner, watch TV anything, while there
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 28, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
We were very disappointed with this KOA. Only one person at the front desk took the time to at least direct us to the grocery store. The rest of the staff seemed Unfriendly and Unhappy to be there working. The floor in our Kabin was grimy and the sewer smell in the ladies bathroom was so disgusting, I would not stay in there to shower. We won't be back to this KOA.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
It was a beautiful KOA with easy access to the red grade for fishing in the mountain. I did us the laundry and they were big, very clean machines. staff was friendly.
Jul 27, 2015
The staff was friendly. Roads were a little bumpy and tight. Water pressure was low mostly in the evening hours. Grounds were nicely maintained.
Jul 27, 2015
As a tent camper, I was disappointed to find the tent sites in between a mucky, mosquito ridden creek, the dog walk area, and I-90. It was very noisy. The tables and shades were in extremely poor condition, and the large shade trees had not been pruned in so long I was concerned about large, dead branches falling on our tent. I would not stay there again even if it were free.
Jul 27, 2015
Jul 27, 2015
Older, well cared for. Best campground we have found in Sheridan.
Jul 26, 2015
Jul 26, 2015
Site was okay. Playground is basic. Suited our needs.
Jul 26, 2015
Couldn't get out fast enough. Pool was dirty, showers were old and only hot water came out, the sites were littered with dog poop everywhere! Which, sadly I stepped in unknowingly and carried it into my trailer! Old and unmaintained- don't stop here- go somewhere else.
Jul 26, 2015
This KOA has no fun activities, showers not taken care of, u take a shower and someone flushed the toilet u either freeze or burn. Shower was only super hot or cold. Rude staff. I have friends and family around the area that was visiting and he accused me of not register her but she was just visiting. Pool closes at 9 pm and don't reopen til 12 the next day. Worse KOA I have ever stay at
Jul 25, 2015
Your sites are long enough, but they are not wide enough to put your slide out and also the awning without interfering with your neighbour. Rates were reasonable.
Jul 25, 2015
People very nice. Cabin was big. Price good. Cabin was far from bathroom. The fans didn't work well so they were of little use and it was hot! Shower was very difficult to get any cooler water out of.
Jul 24, 2015
people were nice - site is not
Jul 24, 2015
I will be returning next year. Very nice and clean camp. Enjoyed the stay. We had business to take care of and we were going to stay for 4 nights but only stayed for two. We were able to get our bill adjusted without problems.
Jul 24, 2015
I like this KOA and the staff ppl are good to deal with. Someone was in my tent spot last time and the lady immediately moved me to a new one. I think it was just a rude camper that took their spot and mine. I do wish they would keep their pool open longer more convenient hours....that is really the only negative comment I can make about this place.
Jul 24, 2015
We had a very nice stay. THE GROUNDS WERE CLEAN AND THE POOL AND HOT TUB WAS AWESOME. THANKS TO THE SYAFF.
Jul 24, 2015
Nice clean facility
Jul 23, 2015
Nous avions un emplacement tente avec electricite. Trop petit, trop proche des voisins, peu d'intimite. Bien ombrage cependant.
Jul 23, 2015
Friendly staff, not enough bath rooms, old, spaces too close.
Jul 23, 2015
We pulled in late to stay in one of the camper cabins for the night. Just passing through on a road trip. It was clean and comfortable! The kids had fun playing on the mini golf course while we packed up in the morning. Bathrooms were really clean! It was a great experience- thanks! : )
Jul 23, 2015
sites are way too close together. Felt we could touch our neighbors from inside the motorhome
Jul 22, 2015
Had reservation for a pull through - we are towing a vehicle. We were put in a site right in the middle of all the coming and going RVs. DUST! When we tried to pull out in the AM we could not make the turn out of our site. Had to disconnect in the middle of the intersection and also inconvenience another exiting RV. Terrible experience at this KOA.
Jul 22, 2015
the people are great & camp ground is good.
Jul 22, 2015
Had a good night's sleep in the cabin. No waiting for showers regardless of the fact that the campground was fairly full.
Jul 22, 2015
If I understand the new branding, such as Journey, this is a good stop over. I would have like a little better stocked store. But this was a nice facility.
Jul 21, 2015
A very nice place to stay. The staff was very friendly. The reason I only rated this at 3 stars is the size of the camp spots. There is only about 6' between campers when hey are pulled in. When I read there is fire rings I picture rings in every spot but there was not room for fire rings. You have to leave your camp spot to find the fire rings. Over all it is a nice clean, family friendly place.
Jul 21, 2015
One of the top two nicest KOA's we've stayed at in two cross-country trips. Excellent grounds, office/shop, pool, playground, etc. Also, the all you can eat hard ice cream social was incredible. Very nice and surprising KOA!
Jul 20, 2015
Friendly welcome. Site was level and easy in and out.WiFi was iffy
Jul 20, 2015
nice campground, great location, although some spots are too close together. maybe ask for a bigger spot with a fire ring. could've done without the flooding from the neighbor.
Jul 19, 2015
Our cabin was "clean as a whistle." LOVED the ceiling fan! Perfect for a summer evening. Wonderful dog exercise area. Lighting permitted midnight potty run but was not like a "yard light."
Jul 19, 2015
good staff and stop between mt rushmore and yellowstone
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 19, 2015
The tent camping area is in the worst part of the campground, squeezed between I-90 and a State highway - NOISY! Restroom only had one working toilet and showers were not that great either.
Jul 19, 2015
Unfriendly staff did not show us to our campsite. Campsite was very small and dirty. Campgrounds were unkempt. The dog walk area was through the tent sites. Doggie fenced area was a fence around a plot of dead grass in the middle of a large field area with nothing inside it. Other koa's we stay at have items for the dogs to play around. We want to forget we ever stayed there
Jul 19, 2015
Jul 18, 2015
Came in without a reservation and staff were very helpful to find us a space for 3 nights during WYO days.
Jul 17, 2015
Cabin was way too hot
Jul 17, 2015
Over all a good place stay. Narrow roads getting in and out but manageable.
Jul 16, 2015
We enjoyed the campground, most of the staff was friendly. One concern we had was that the owners dog runs loose. This caused our dogs to get upset and felt the need to protect the space they were staying in. Our dogs are not around a lot of strange dogs so we felt very uneasy when the owners dog came into our site as we could not guarantee our dogs would not go after it. A little added stress.
Jul 15, 2015
The people that checked us in were very nice, however we were eaten alive by the mosquitos. Bring some bug repellent.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.