Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Tent Reviews

May 10, 2013
This was definitely one of the most beautiful locations I have ever stayed at. I love the quiet of the mountains, the cool air, and the easy proximity to both the lake and the village as well as to the ocean.
Apr 30, 2013
We found everyone to be very kind, friendly, and willing to help in any way they could. Karen was especially helpful..she went the extra mile to resolve our reservation dilemma. Thanks to all!. Brian
Apr 30, 2013
Camp site was up in the hill, secluded and good views. We saw LOTS of wild life. Only complaint was lousy laundry machines. But you don't go camping to do your laundry anyway. Would definitely come back if in the area. The best KOA we've stayed at thus far.
Apr 29, 2013
Such a great staff, the sites are huge, and the amenities are wonderful. Couldn't ask for a better spot! I highly recommend it to all.
Apr 29, 2013
We stayed for a local concert. The staff was GREAT, friendly and very informateive! We will be staying more often!!
Apr 29, 2013
Great area and facilities. The staff really cares about their guests and do everything they can to make your stay awesome. The campgrounds are well kept. Definitely will recommend this area to friends and will be back soon!!!
Apr 29, 2013
Apr 29, 2013
Excellent customer service. I was disappointed that the pool was under construction because it was so hot,however the staff made sure we had a great time and they went above and beyond.. Would definitely come back.
Apr 29, 2013
The map was very confusing and many of the streets did not have signs and/or were not accurate according to the map. We had to use campsite numbers to find our way around.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately, we don't have road signs to match our site maps yet. We try to escort campers to the remote sites, like the one you had. Road signs are being carved as I type. We are working hard to improve everything from the ground up. Watch for new road signs and site #'s in the near future.
Apr 22, 2013
Most of the staff are friendly and willing to help if needed, clean campgroungs bathroom are clean as well shower need some love. Over all.. meh!
Apr 10, 2013
Apr 08, 2013
I must say first that Scott was great and took an interest in making our stay more comfortable. When I called to make reservations,no one explained that the grounds were under construction and that the pool was being renovated. The reason I choose this kampground was because the State Park in Big Sur was under construction. We left a day early because there was nothing to do. There was no swimming
Apr 08, 2013
Just went to relax and to get away from the city with my wife and my friends. Loved the location and i will be returning soon.
Apr 05, 2013
Apr 02, 2013
Pat was very accomodating when I called to change our camp site. He put us in one that was shady, secluded and large enough for our 2 bedroom tent and our e-z up canopy. The bathrooms were clean and only a short walk from our spot. We did notice that the sites closer to the playground were considerably noisier than ours. But our spot was perfect for our family of 4. .
Mar 31, 2013
Loved the tent site that we got! It had great views and it felt quite isolated (which I really enjoyed) but with access to all the great KOA amenities.
Mar 30, 2013
Mar 30, 2013
Hello, Santa Margarita was one of our favorite camps. great camp site. The way the camp is set up makes you feel like your camping, did not feel like cattle in a stockade like others we stayed at. People where very helpful and went way above and beyond to make us feel like we belong. The only downfall was the shower room was not heated. Loved it. Thank you
Mar 27, 2013
Mar 21, 2013
We got in late and everything to register was right at the front, very convenient. The sites were cleaned and well maintained. The showers and bathrooms were very clean! THANK YOU! The park was a lot of fun and both kids and adults had a great time there. The jumping pillow!FUN! The wildlife is everywhere(turkey's, deer,birds, squirls) it was fun to watch. Not so great to sleep soundly to though;)
Jan 01, 2013
Nov 25, 2012
The friendly service and great people (especially Karen) were very helpful. We were helped after hours and shown to the yurt we had rented. The stay was plesant and everything from the bathrooms to the grounds to our yurt were clean.
Nov 15, 2012
Stayed in a yurt it was very cool would recomend to others. Family or a group. It was roomy Slept 8 and we had 6. Had a nice camp fire.restrooms very clean. Thank you KoA of Santa Margirita will stay again
Oct 24, 2012
The biggest disappointment was seeing how much tree cutting there were. To me the beauty of going camping is seeing as much natural beauty as possible. It was therefore sad to see the big oak trees that were cut recently.
Oct 16, 2012
We were in the tent site located right across from the jumping pillow. The light right there lit up our tent all night. Also there were young men partying all night the entire weekend. We were told they were going to be moved for Saturday night & that never happened. Again they were loud Saturday night. KOA is supposed to be a family environment.
Oct 15, 2012
Had a fantastic time, what could be better than waking up to deer at your campsite one morning, and wild turkey's the next! Staff were awesome and were very helpfull at pointing out some local fun.
Oct 08, 2012
Great amenities, friendly staff. Only downside was no grass...everything was filthy when we left! Will definitely come back again. :)
Sep 26, 2012
Met up with friends from the fresno area , just wish the cabins weren't so spread out but other then that it was great
Sep 24, 2012
Sep 23, 2012
very dusty camp site
Sep 14, 2012
Quiet

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.