Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 09, 2013
Friendly staff, spacious sites, and close proximity to lake, and surrounding beach communities.... the activities were for all ages loved it.
Jul 09, 2013
me an my family have been staying at santa margarita koa for the past 6 years. we booked it back in jan of this year for are space. when we show up the space that I booked was given to a different family so now that got me so upset that it had happen to us. the bad thing was the family that took my camp site was there for 4 day already. so I had to take a different camp site.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're so sorry you didn't get the site you hoped since Site #28 was requested but not marked on your reservation. We made a special note in your file that Site #28 is your favorite and you may camp a night in #28 on us. Just give us a call to check availability. We appreciate your loyal business!
Jul 07, 2013
Jul 06, 2013
The staff was SUPER nice! It was a nice place to stay while visiting relatives in nearby Atascadero!
Jul 04, 2013
Staff was very courteous and friendly.
Jul 02, 2013
Jun 27, 2013
I would recommend this camp ground to families with children. For us it was nice to have a place for the night. The restrooms were an issue to us. They were difficult to get to. Through others camps and then down stairs across the road and then upstairs. With a large rv with toilets this would be ok but we have a pop up with no bathroom.
Jun 25, 2013
Quite nice Place but the restrooms are a bit old and Need maintenance. All in all Good to the nice location
Jun 17, 2013
We had a great time. The staff was very helpful. Thanks Shari for going the extra mile
Jun 17, 2013
Beautiful campground, very clean. Jumping pillow-genius! We will be back.
Jun 17, 2013
The owner is super nice. The site is being worked on and do not expect wifi unless you are near the office. The electric outlets work only with RV. We came in our truck and roof top tent so we did have any outlets that we could use
Jun 16, 2013
Very enjoyable & relaxing, we will return again & recommend you.
Jun 14, 2013
Our stay was very satisfying, with staff was very accommodating,reserve early. Hats off to Kathy and the staff.
Jun 10, 2013
Jun 04, 2013
very awesome area. should be more available trash cans for the upper levels and shorter Distance to showers from camp areas
May 29, 2013
Overall the stay was good, except on the last day. There was a group of people who were not camping who came to use the jump pillow and they were driving very fast and drinking while driving.
May 28, 2013
Great activities for kids. Didn't like that some local rif raft was allowed to come into the park to play. Sites are OK but for a long 5th wheel or motorhome it's hard to back in.
May 28, 2013
I really enjoyed my stay. Staff is friendly and very helpful. I will be coming back
May 28, 2013
Great place, great staff, and great activities. A little dusty, but nice.
May 27, 2013
Great pull through site (only one)Laundry machines need to be replaced. Family friendly. We saw wild deer and many Woodpeckers and the KOA Goat Herd! Close (walking distance) to a great boating and fishing lake.
May 25, 2013
It was great all the staff was absolutely wonderful.
May 21, 2013
The site, store and staff were good. There were barking dogs and dirt bike noise. Perfect for campers who don't mind noise. Also, this was during the week...
May 20, 2013
Great place, friendly and helpful staff. Mid week the best, no one on the lake. Can't wait to go back.
May 09, 2013
Although the staff were very friendly,the bathrooms/showers were very small and it took way to long to get hot water. We were not told that it was all but impossible to get cell/wifi service. Although we were allowed to use the office phone, a pay phone would have been nice. KOA directory states the pool is open as of 4/1...it was not.
May 06, 2013
I have stayed here many times never any problems
May 06, 2013
Great customer service, clean campsites, close to the lake, awesome weekend!
May 06, 2013
A little dusty but that's kamping. Great customer service.
May 05, 2013
This is the 3rd year we've been back over my birthday & have every intention of coming back each year at this time. Everything was perfect!
May 05, 2013
May 05, 2013
Apr 30, 2013
Awesome staff,campground,restrooms nothing bad too say
Apr 30, 2013
Apr 29, 2013
This is our second stay at the santa margarita koa. We loved it here. The staff is so kind and courteous. They really go out of the way to make you feel welcome, and answer any questions about the area you might have. The campground is clean, and has all the amenities you need. My 5 year old twins love the playground. We loved the extra large Rv site, with plenty of room. Thank you!
Apr 29, 2013
What A Great Getaway!
Apr 24, 2013
Sites could be a bit more level. Other than that, nice.
Apr 17, 2013
A great crew, friendly people and working hard to improve the facility. We enjoyed the environment and will be back next spring.
Apr 15, 2013
Been twice before loved it. This time both horse corrals were covered in 4 inches of goat excrement and urine surrounded by 60 goats in makeshift pens. Foul smelling nightmare
Apr 15, 2013
Apr 15, 2013
Friendly staff and nice and clean campground.
Apr 11, 2013
We enjoyed our stay in this campground very much. It's not only in a beautiful setting but also all the employees including the manager were very nice and helpful. Great place - we'll definitely come back again!
Apr 09, 2013
Bathrooms need remodeling.
Apr 08, 2013
Great location. Close to Santa Margarita Lake and hiking. Kids enjoyed bouncing pillow.
Apr 05, 2013
Staff very friendly and amenities very clean
Apr 05, 2013
Reconstruction in progress. Narrow sites. No cable tv. Well shaded and wild turkeys were fun.
Mar 31, 2013
I stayed for almost 1 year very great people and great place, will stay again when in the area. Hated to leave, I travel alot in line of work and would tell everyone they should stay there and if they don't its on them. Once again love the place and people. Steve and Bonnie
Mar 31, 2013
The kids had fun on the bouncing pillow, but was disappointed in the condition of the basketball court and disc golf. Lucky for us we brung our own entertainment. The overall stay was nice and relaxing quality family time.
Mar 30, 2013
Mar 30, 2013
The only thing that would have made the stay perfect (five stars) would have been if the RV sites were like the tent sites, secluded, and not so close very close to each other.
Mar 28, 2013
Great site. Clean showers and restrooms. I booked another weekend. Everyone was nice and helpful.
Mar 27, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.