Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Mar 31, 2014
A pleasure to stay here, the staff is very friendly
Mar 31, 2014
I was not happy with this KOA camp. I have been to other KOA's but this one is not up to expectations. We were at site 43 and the water faucet produced yellow-tinted water- it was sediment of some sort. How hard can be be to fix it by putting a filter in? Secondly, the pool was not open when we were there, neither was movie night. If you charge $55 a night, please do it right. Thank you.
Mar 30, 2014
Mar 29, 2014
Beautiful grounds. We had an unattractive campsite. Dump station was poorly maintained.
Mar 27, 2014
Spacious, clean, convenient. Passport America made the price do-able. Young woman registering in the office unfortunately not very , otherwise all good.friendly
Mar 25, 2014
Our grand kids had a super time playing with the other kids at the park on the air pillow. When we take them with us thay ask for thus KOA by name. We will be back.
Mar 23, 2014
Great but quick stay...thank you!
Mar 20, 2014
The staff was very friendly and helpful, I didnt like that the internet was useless I like to stay in touch with family and extremely poor cell service in the area, not the campgrounds fault I know but if I had cell service the internet wouldnt have matter as much. The showers and restrooms where clean, very hilly area, had a good time and I would go back
Mar 19, 2014
Too remote for an overnight stop. Really dry & dusty. Didn't feel secure here.
Mar 16, 2014
The camp host is very helpful to all guest. I frequently stay here and always feel very welcome
Mar 13, 2014
Everything was great... Might want to trim some trees so that larger Class A's would have more clearance...
Mar 11, 2014
We love this place so much. Every time we visit our daughter at San Luis Obispo,we love to stay her at Santa Margarita KOA
Mar 09, 2014
Very helpful & friendly. The road to the sites was unevenly so that we had problems to park. But e host was very friendyi and helped us by this problem. The landscape around is great and there are many things to do like hiking & biking.
Feb 23, 2014
We loved it. The staff were helpful, polite and kind. The grounds were clean and well maintained. The bathrooms were large and the water was hot! It was quiet and the stars were amazing at night. When you turned off your lights it was dark, not a lot of site lights, we loved it. Rolling hills, huge oaks and some pines,not far from the lake or SLO. A drive out of town for peace and quiet.
Feb 18, 2014
Jan 28, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff. Facilities were clean, well maintained and in good working order.
Jan 27, 2014
Nice staff; restrooms spotless. Should warn trailer folks about the lack of traction getting up the hill to sites. Rather primitive overall, but very peaceful natural setting.
Jan 24, 2014
The staff is very friendly and the campground is a great place from which to explore San Luis Obispo. As others have commented, the many stairs involved in reaching the bathrooms could be a serious issue for those with mobility issues. Also, if you can't live without the internet, you might be unhappy. Neither my sister no I had any coverage whatsoever.
Jan 24, 2014
Just an overnight stay, but really liked the area. Camp ground was well kept. Would stay again.
Jan 21, 2014
Friendly and helpful staff. Overall, a great place to Kamp!
Jan 20, 2014
Jan 14, 2014
Great place for lake, Moto, bicycles & other fun stuff! The people who seem to live on the grounds are a little sketchey. Overall it was a great place!!!
Jan 07, 2014
This unique location is an experience for those seeking a true camping environment among hillsides, vistas, tree canopy and close to many destinations. The staff was very attentive and polite, the facilities are well cared for and each campsite offers a unique view and experience. A great secret getaway close to the beach communities if you want to day trip and avoid the beach crowded RV camps.
Jan 03, 2014
Love the surroundings. Lots of hiking available. All the camp people were great..
Dec 08, 2013
Staff was great and facility was exactly as expected. Only negative was our reserved site was given to another camper in a 5th Wheel. Still had full hookups but lost fire pit & table area.
Dec 04, 2013
Dec 04, 2013
Dec 04, 2013
This is the second time we have stayed at Santa Margarita KOA and have thoroughly enjoyed both stays. We especially appreciate that they have a number of sites that have a much more rustic feel where you have some separation between you and the next camper. Perfect when you want to 'get away' and relax. The staff is always pleasant and helpful and the campground is always well maintained.
Dec 03, 2013
I found the site was very roomy. It was quiet even on a holiday weekend.
Dec 03, 2013
Service was great. Camp sites were dirt and dusty. Didn't like the terraced landscape. Loved the lake.
Dec 03, 2013
very nice staff working at the campground. Everything was extremely clean. We enjoyed our stay very much.
Nov 15, 2013
Nov 14, 2013
very clean, and the kids loved the giant air pillow!
Nov 13, 2013
Very relaxing and enjoyable we will be staying there again
Nov 13, 2013
shower area could be cleaner,cobwebs & bugs in evening. During the weekend people were not keeping dogs on leashes. we appreciate the tree trim in order to hook up to utilities.
Nov 06, 2013
Nice, quiet, nice people, clean, dust but that's because of the weather. We have been staying at Santa Margarita KOA for 4 years and will keep staying as long as we can.
Nov 04, 2013
Last night before returning the RV. Nice clean restrooms.
Nov 03, 2013
A wonderful,quiet,and inspiring spot at the lake. The best 3 days of our vacation.
Nov 01, 2013
It was peaceful, clean, and the staff was quite helpful. Loved the way the property is developed. Unfortunately, we will be selling our travel trailer soon. Helen
Oct 23, 2013
Love everything about your place except the dusty dry dirt. Our camper gets filled with it and our white dogs go home filthy.
Oct 05, 2013
Great team, but they have to advise me that there was a concert in the evening
Oct 03, 2013
Too many semi-permanent trailers at the park for my liking.
Sep 29, 2013
Very long walk from campsite to the bathroom!
Sep 27, 2013
Lovely location, lots of nice showers well placed around the site so you were never far from a block. Helpful staff and climate enough to walk to the lakes.
Sep 27, 2013
Not your average KOA. Lots of hills, trees, etc. Much evidence of maintenance and upgrading. Negative = residents & workers drive around continually on the dusty dirt roads!
Sep 25, 2013
Sep 24, 2013
We stayed in a new location and was a great spot. Now I can't tell you which one or you will rent it out and I will not be able too! Love it when I find a new location that pleases my husband and expands our camping opportunities. Great going KOA!!
Sep 17, 2013
Nice staff. Clean facilities. Only problem was site was not very level.
Sep 17, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
The place is great and the people are very helpful and friend.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.