Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618


4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Apr 07, 2016
Back woods and beautiful! Very well maintained.
Apr 06, 2016
Nice place, a bit to loud.
Apr 06, 2016
Super friendly staff, helpful with everything from directions to local places to jump starting my car in the morning (!) , a Jumping Pillow for my daughter to enjoy, the stay was perfect in every way! Will definately come here again.
Apr 03, 2016
Nice private site. Clean amenities. Very friendly and helpful staff.
Mar 31, 2016
The campground was clean and the staff were amazing! There was so much to do at camp. We brought our dogs and there was plenty of room for their walks too. Great place!
Mar 29, 2016
Internet was not working very well but staff tried their best to resolve the issue. Store very well stocked. Bathhouse was clean but showers were awkward as they were small. Beautiful area.
Mar 28, 2016
We had a great time. Very nice staff. They had an Easter egg hunt and it was so cute , and well done!!
Mar 28, 2016
Love the people who work here, super friendl . Love taking the family here the kids love the jumping pillow. Thank you for keeping it so clean also.
Mar 26, 2016
would stay there again. most likely this year.
Mar 24, 2016
Far away, no internet, no way of contacting the owner as the taped falling apart walking talke doesn't work. Roads are terrible with huge holes, trailer/ motorhomes parked wit him foot from each other. The probation officers are visiting people living on the grounds ? I didn't plan on this kind of excitement - will tell you people to stay away from this campground.
Mar 23, 2016
Check in was great. Friendly staff. Site was uneven. Lots of bugs/mosquitoes. At dinnertime, wild cats would come try and steal our food. My kids loved the yellow pillow. The campsite itself was quite far from pismo/avila, about 30 minute drive.
Mar 23, 2016
Clean sites. Friendly staff.
Mar 22, 2016
Not what was advertised on website. Run down. Was not close to lake.
Mar 22, 2016
Friendly staff. Nice to see many of the full timers weren't in the highly sought after area by the playground.
Mar 21, 2016
Everything was clean and very nice. Staff was friendly
Mar 03, 2016
Thanks again
Feb 17, 2016
Lots to do, friendly staff, and great views. My only wish was that the roads were paved. The steep dirt roads made towing up them and backing a trailer into the spots very challenging.
Feb 16, 2016
Camped in our trailer. Spot 27 was very nice, though it could have been more level. It is quite pretty there in February. We were a little too close to a cabin of loud kids.
Jan 30, 2016
Staff great! We were on vacation from out of state. Our generator quit working while dry camping, so we went to the KOA to check shore power. We would have to hurry home if we couldn't fix the problem. Kudos to Scott who took the time to discuss our problem, research it, and ultimately FIX the problem. So we truly felt like KOA family members and continued our travels in California.
Jan 28, 2016
The Kampground is cool. We were camped by a group of either long-term campers or locals who let their dogs run loose. The minute we tried to walk out dogs, we were confronted by these loose dogs. Then, after dark, some jerk from the group below us spent 20 min yelling and whistling for his loose dog. Extremely annoying and rude. It is obvious these people are accustomed to acting this way.
Jan 28, 2016
Great spot with amazing landscaping.
Jan 21, 2016
This was a fun campground for the kids since we were amount in the cold weather. I don't think we'd camp there during the summer. The pool is a bit too small and far from the camp ground. The lake isn't close either. The staff were all great and friendly!
Jan 21, 2016
Very beautiful campground!
Jan 21, 2016
could not get any TV reception but I understand we were in the mountains
Jan 19, 2016
First time staying KOA. I assume they are all family friendly like this one. It is just my wife and myself, so not really what we are hoping for. With that said, aside from a Quiet Time issue that got resolved, I would return again. Staff and owner Karen could not have been nicer. I like all the openness of the site. Please work on more pull thru spaces for trailers with a little room by them
Jan 16, 2016
Ver good tô be with family
Jan 04, 2016
Had a wonderful stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. The best KOA I've ever stayed at.
Jan 03, 2016
Dec 31, 2015
Would stay again in a heartbeat.
Dec 18, 2015
Dec 09, 2015
First-time experience with KOA and commercial campgrounds in general. Campsite was great, check-in easy and the grounds were all I'd hoped for. Didn't use much in the way of "amenities" but liked the fact everything there looked great and was easily accessible if desired. Loved the fact that directions to my campsite could easily end with, "...then turn right at the Emu and you are there."
Dec 02, 2015
We had a great weekend! The staff was very helpful with a broken padlock, responded in minutes with a cutter! Cleanest campground I've ever been at.
Dec 02, 2015
Clean and well kept koa. Workers were very helpful and will visiting again in the future
Dec 02, 2015
Well laid out camp ground with good facilities.
Dec 01, 2015
Thanksgiving weekend is always a camping weekend for us. We usually stay down close to the beach, but decided to give Santa Margarita a try this time. I'm glad we did. The camp was laid out very well, the store is well stocked and the personnel are very friendly. The campground is quiet and the site we had was spacious, giving us plenty of room to enjoy our stay. Thanks!
Nov 30, 2015
Friendly people, nice sites, my kids loved the jumping pillow, great location within driving distance of great sight seeing areas.
Nov 30, 2015
Oct 29, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful. Campground was near a lake and would probably be good for a longer stay. Bugs were bad the night we were there.
Oct 29, 2015
Great office people, sight was fine, dusty and too many flies, we met very nice other campers, overall we enjoyed our stay.
Oct 26, 2015
It was very nice. I would recommend placing a trash bin at the exit so we could discard trash non the way out. I could not find one as I was leaving.
Oct 10, 2015
Just perfect. Already reserved for next year. The hosts and staff were first rate, friendly and helpful.
Oct 09, 2015
We had a great time, the campgrounds are very clean! The staff is great. The family loved the jumping pillow.
Sep 29, 2015
Thank you so much for making this stay for my family so special. A successful weekend!!
Sep 28, 2015
Saved us a long drive after a concert at the Pozo saloon site was nice and in the shade
Sep 27, 2015
We stayed at 3 other KOA campgrounds on this Trip. They all had cleaner bathrooms, sites. Staff were friendly at Santa Mararita, free hay ride good. Just need to fix up the place a little , it is kinda run down.
Sep 22, 2015
The pool was disgusting, game room wasn't impressive, the flies were outrageous and I love KOA but would never go back to this one.
Sep 14, 2015
Friendly staff and very clean property!
Sep 10, 2015
We loved the friendly and professional staff, the pool was always well cared for, the grounds are well kept, the new bath house is beautiful and all the wildlife was awesome. Our kids and dogs felt very welcome and we enjoyed all of the hikes around the area as well as the lake nearby. The highlight however was the starry night event where we got to see Saturn, galaxies and nebula!
Sep 08, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay because this campground was very quiet. It is off the beaten track and I am guessing that is why it was not crowded. The only two things that I would like to see improved are more RV sites that are more private, like some of the tent sites and for people to be more diligent picking up after their pets.
Sep 08, 2015
This was our 5th annual group camping trip, each year we have seen this KOA get better and better, improvements are noticeable and the kids loved the art projects! We will be back next year!

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals