Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Email

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Feb 17, 2016
Lots to do, friendly staff, and great views. My only wish was that the roads were paved. The steep dirt roads made towing up them and backing a trailer into the spots very challenging.
Feb 16, 2016
Camped in our trailer. Spot 27 was very nice, though it could have been more level. It is quite pretty there in February. We were a little too close to a cabin of loud kids.
Jan 30, 2016
Staff great! We were on vacation from out of state. Our generator quit working while dry camping, so we went to the KOA to check shore power. We would have to hurry home if we couldn't fix the problem. Kudos to Scott who took the time to discuss our problem, research it, and ultimately FIX the problem. So we truly felt like KOA family members and continued our travels in California.
Jan 28, 2016
The Kampground is cool. We were camped by a group of either long-term campers or locals who let their dogs run loose. The minute we tried to walk out dogs, we were confronted by these loose dogs. Then, after dark, some jerk from the group below us spent 20 min yelling and whistling for his loose dog. Extremely annoying and rude. It is obvious these people are accustomed to acting this way.
Jan 28, 2016
Great spot with amazing landscaping.
Jan 21, 2016
This was a fun campground for the kids since we were amount in the cold weather. I don't think we'd camp there during the summer. The pool is a bit too small and far from the camp ground. The lake isn't close either. The staff were all great and friendly!
Jan 21, 2016
Very beautiful campground!
Jan 21, 2016
could not get any TV reception but I understand we were in the mountains
Jan 19, 2016
First time staying KOA. I assume they are all family friendly like this one. It is just my wife and myself, so not really what we are hoping for. With that said, aside from a Quiet Time issue that got resolved, I would return again. Staff and owner Karen could not have been nicer. I like all the openness of the site. Please work on more pull thru spaces for trailers with a little room by them
Jan 16, 2016
Ver good tô be with family
Jan 04, 2016
Had a wonderful stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. The best KOA I've ever stayed at.
Jan 03, 2016
Dec 31, 2015
Would stay again in a heartbeat.
Dec 18, 2015
Dec 09, 2015
First-time experience with KOA and commercial campgrounds in general. Campsite was great, check-in easy and the grounds were all I'd hoped for. Didn't use much in the way of "amenities" but liked the fact everything there looked great and was easily accessible if desired. Loved the fact that directions to my campsite could easily end with, "...then turn right at the Emu and you are there."
Dec 02, 2015
We had a great weekend! The staff was very helpful with a broken padlock, responded in minutes with a cutter! Cleanest campground I've ever been at.
Dec 02, 2015
Clean and well kept koa. Workers were very helpful and will visiting again in the future
Dec 02, 2015
Well laid out camp ground with good facilities.
Dec 01, 2015
Thanksgiving weekend is always a camping weekend for us. We usually stay down close to the beach, but decided to give Santa Margarita a try this time. I'm glad we did. The camp was laid out very well, the store is well stocked and the personnel are very friendly. The campground is quiet and the site we had was spacious, giving us plenty of room to enjoy our stay. Thanks!
Nov 30, 2015
Friendly people, nice sites, my kids loved the jumping pillow, great location within driving distance of great sight seeing areas.
Nov 30, 2015
Oct 29, 2015
Staff was friendly and helpful. Campground was near a lake and would probably be good for a longer stay. Bugs were bad the night we were there.
Oct 29, 2015
Great office people, sight was fine, dusty and too many flies, we met very nice other campers, overall we enjoyed our stay.
Oct 26, 2015
It was very nice. I would recommend placing a trash bin at the exit so we could discard trash non the way out. I could not find one as I was leaving.
Oct 10, 2015
Just perfect. Already reserved for next year. The hosts and staff were first rate, friendly and helpful.
Oct 09, 2015
We had a great time, the campgrounds are very clean! The staff is great. The family loved the jumping pillow.
Sep 29, 2015
Thank you so much for making this stay for my family so special. A successful weekend!!
Sep 28, 2015
Saved us a long drive after a concert at the Pozo saloon site was nice and in the shade
Sep 27, 2015
We stayed at 3 other KOA campgrounds on this Trip. They all had cleaner bathrooms, sites. Staff were friendly at Santa Mararita, free hay ride good. Just need to fix up the place a little , it is kinda run down.
Sep 22, 2015
The pool was disgusting, game room wasn't impressive, the flies were outrageous and I love KOA but would never go back to this one.
Sep 14, 2015
Friendly staff and very clean property!
Sep 10, 2015
We loved the friendly and professional staff, the pool was always well cared for, the grounds are well kept, the new bath house is beautiful and all the wildlife was awesome. Our kids and dogs felt very welcome and we enjoyed all of the hikes around the area as well as the lake nearby. The highlight however was the starry night event where we got to see Saturn, galaxies and nebula!
Sep 08, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay because this campground was very quiet. It is off the beaten track and I am guessing that is why it was not crowded. The only two things that I would like to see improved are more RV sites that are more private, like some of the tent sites and for people to be more diligent picking up after their pets.
Sep 08, 2015
This was our 5th annual group camping trip, each year we have seen this KOA get better and better, improvements are noticeable and the kids loved the art projects! We will be back next year!
Sep 08, 2015
Had a wonderful time. Staff was exceptional! Lots of activities and fun stuff to do. We look forward to planning our next trip. Many thanks.
Sep 06, 2015
Loved it. Spacious, clean and dog friendly. Huge pet relief area. Even though they're renovating the noise was minimal. Staff was friendly
Sep 04, 2015
Ok
Sep 03, 2015
Sep 01, 2015
Worst KOA ever Worst RV park ever. Unpaved and un level roade and pads. Bathroom forever away. almost exclusive permanent residents. The hired help received a visit from probation and went running off to tell other help. Felt unsafe. No lighting. Not KOA quality.
Aug 27, 2015
Really nice campground with good space between the tents
Aug 27, 2015
I had a great time and everything went well. There was one minor problem but the staff took care of it immediately.
Aug 27, 2015
The campground is laid out in an interesting manner, as it is built on a hillside. Because of the drought, there is a lot of dust. That makes it a little difficult. The people were very nice. Don't wash your car or your rig before you go😜
Aug 24, 2015
Great beautiful KOA! Management was wonderful, very clean and quite. We had the best spot! Number 62 pull thru!
Aug 22, 2015
Grandkids LOVED the jumping pillow. Bathrooms clean but a bit of a hike. Store was not open for buying firewood (or beer) upon our arrival but Kandra gave extra effort to rustle up some fire wood for us.
Aug 20, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
Scott and the entire staff were great! Great safe fun and loved the Telescope Night. Bouncy and pool were very welcoming. Great location to use as a base camp. Thank you for a good time.
Aug 18, 2015
Nice spot on the campground and really Nice people who worked there.
Aug 17, 2015
I stayed here for a week and it was one of my favorite campgrounds ever. Most of the KOAs I've stayed at have the sites packed in so tight you're practically camping on top of your neighbor while at Santa Margarita there is plenty of room and the surrounding area is beautiful. The owner runs a tight ship.
Aug 12, 2015
The only thing that wasn't ok was the cleanlyness of the restrooms. The campground is absolutely amazing. We had a great time.
Aug 10, 2015
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals