Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

RV Reviews

Jul 15, 2015
nice quiet stay
Jul 15, 2015
It is beautiful area and kampground is very big and spacious. However, rv lots are small and hard to get to. When we were there jumping pillow was not working. Also, guest punctured main water line and we were out of water for one morning. Staff was really nice and brought as water but it was annoying not to be able to flush toilet.
Jul 15, 2015
No Internet near our camp site, No Jumping hot water in cabins


We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at Santa Margarita KOA. We are large and rural; so there are some spots without internet. You were in a tent site, so I am not sure which cabin did not have hot water. If you had shared your concerns while onsite, we would have done our best to address them.
Jul 13, 2015
First of all pull up to the campsite and it smells like sewer. The playground was not finished. The picnic table was right on top of the sewer outlet to the next camp I will not stay there again nor recommend anybody else to stay there. Thank you for your concern all the other kOA sites that I've been to along the coast you could not hold a candle next to them. Thank you much Rodney Johnson.


Santa Margarita KOA offers a rustic, back-to-nature experience that's not everyone's "cup of tea." We were installing a new Jumping Pillow replacement. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. If you had voiced your concerns while here, we would have done our best to address them. Thank you!
Jul 09, 2015
Very hot and dry when we were there but peaceful and beautiful. Restrooms were clean and nice, beautiful pool and easy access to coast and wine tasting right in Santa Margarita!
Jul 08, 2015
The best location ever
Jul 02, 2015
Campground was ok and had loTs of potential playground lacks major attention pool was not very clean basketball court could use some attemtion
Jul 02, 2015
This is an awesome campground. Close to Hearst Castle and the truly exciting Zip Line at San Margarita. We had a lot of fun.
Jun 29, 2015
It's always nice....
Jun 28, 2015
Belle situation, mais loin de tout : à réserver aux amoureux de la nature ! Alerte OURS en cours mais prise un peu à la légère par les responsables du camping (beaucoup plus par les rangers du state park voisin...). Eau de qualité limite, piscine avec un système de filtration bricolé, hygiène des sanitaires plutôt douteuse...
Jun 27, 2015
Der KOA Campground ist sehr gut in die Landschaft eingebettet.Die Spielplätze für Kinder weitläufig. Die Sanitären Anlagen sind etwas Renovierungsbedürftig aber sauber. Danke für diesen netten Platz.
Jun 24, 2015
The camp staff were marvelous! Our suggestion would be that because of how spread out the camp is and how difficult it is to walk the roads, it would be great if the staff would perhaps have set times where they would come pick up garbage or deliver ice.
Jun 22, 2015
Great 2 Weeks - Looking forward to coming back next year. Read my blog post here:
Jun 22, 2015
Wonderful and caring staff...we will be coming again!!
Jun 22, 2015
Great Staff
Jun 22, 2015
Loved all the activities for kids, the playground and jump pillow, being surrounded by nature, a beautiful view that kept us outside. A great KOA!
Jun 16, 2015
Scary. Have a Tundra with a light travel trailer. Very hard to pull it up their steep slippery pebble road to my site. Kept getting stuck and sliding on the hill with the rocks and little ditches, and there are cliffs off the road. Just out of safety, would not recommend this place.
Jun 14, 2015
Jun 13, 2015
Nice mountain campground. Quiet and showers clean. No fenced dog area.
Jun 08, 2015
Really cool spot, a few too many permanent residents
Jun 04, 2015
Jun 04, 2015
We only stayed overnight and go in late so we did not get to see much. The gentleman at the front desk was quite helpful and perfect for the job. We did get lost trying to find Estrada as it is not very well marked and we were tired. You've done a great job maintaining the grounds even in this wicked drought.
Jun 01, 2015
Great shade and friendly staff. I would highly recommend!
May 29, 2015
Friendly staff, well maintained Kampground and a beautiful setting. Have made reservations for another stay.
May 29, 2015
A nice peaceful getaway, hard to find these days.
May 29, 2015
Great staff...beautiful campground. Progressive Glamping!
May 26, 2015
Staff were friendly and a lot of activities for the kids over Memorial Day weekend. Had my trailer with a full hook up site so didn't have to use the bathroom facilities. They were quite a walk to get to them and didn't feel there were enough toilet and shower stalls to accommodate a full camp ground. Area is very hilly so don't bother bringing your bikes. Don't mind the dirt sites.
May 25, 2015
Very friendly staff. Enjoyed our site 26. Will definitely go back again
May 10, 2015
Lovely campground with terracing. Friendly, helpful proprietor. Only negative was cleanliness of restrooms: they weren't cleaned the whole week we were there.
May 04, 2015
May 02, 2015
Bathrooms need to be updated or at least cleaned regularly, the laundry washers and dryers need to be replaced and the route through the campsites needs to be graveled and oiled or better yet paved.
Apr 30, 2015
One of our favorite KOA's to visit. Wonderful area that is close to the beach, wineries and the lake. They have a great staff and the campground is well maintained. We will be returning again soon.
Apr 29, 2015
Great staff and very accommodating. Well maintained and can't wait to come back again.
Apr 28, 2015
Great and friendly staff.
Apr 28, 2015
Customer Service and Management were great to work with. Just a pre warning...some of the hills are steep and hard to pull trailers up if you are pulling a trailer and do not have 4 wheel drive. We ran into this problem and saw several others challenged with the same problem while we stayed. Other than that...we had a great time!
Apr 27, 2015
Apr 25, 2015
The staff is what stands out the most at this KOA. Clint and Scott provided outstanding service. I will be recommending this KOA to friends and family and look forward to staying again for future vacations.
Apr 24, 2015
Quiet, shady spot - exactly what I asked for. : )
Apr 22, 2015
While the weather turned cold and we could not stay as long as we wanted, the camp was very nice and the workforce people were very nice.
Apr 20, 2015
Thanks for all the hard work!
Apr 19, 2015
We had a nice time camping. But we missed the children's activities we took part in last May. I hope you will add them to next year's Spring break.
Apr 15, 2015
My second time staying here, the Kampground Manager went out of his way to help me and for that I'm am extremely greatful. THE BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE!
Apr 14, 2015
My family always enjoys a stay here. I park my motorhome with older son as a companion. Younger son and family get a cabin. Only criticism is the laundry room. Bad experience there a year ago and again this year. New machines needed.
Apr 13, 2015
No Swimming Pool until summer season No movie nights until summer season The Wifii was terrible It actually hurt the settings on all of our devices -- on our devices Many Books that were bought and downloaded on our readers were deleted The lake was much farther than we were told ... Not a 1/4 Mile ... It was actually 1.2 Miles each way
Apr 13, 2015
We were given camp site 26 originally then were able to move to site 100 which was much better! Site 26 is really small and located in weird spot. Service was awesome check in and out was easy and fast! The kids loved the pillow jumper! I gave it 4 stars because a dog barked almost every night. Oh well something's happen. Overall great area tucked away from the every day!
Apr 13, 2015
We really enjoyed out stay! This is a quiet peaceful KOA. It's perfect for a calm get away and close enough to action to enjoy the best of both worlds.
Apr 13, 2015
The barking dogs wasn't a hit I think they should go back up the hill where there's not so many people....their pretty noisy! Other then that we love the place...
Apr 13, 2015
Overall great - kids loved the pillow but were disappointed that the pool was closed.
Apr 13, 2015
Fantastic! It was the cleanest campground I have ever stayed in! The staff was extremely helpful and kind. Super clean bathrooms too!
Apr 11, 2015
Beautiful and peaceful campsite and helpful staff. However, the shower facilities let it down a little.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.