Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

RV Reviews

Dec 03, 2014
I think there have been many improvements since our last stay. Hopefully many more will come in the future. One item of concern is that some of the KOA trucks that roam the roads inside the park...could use to go slower.
Dec 03, 2014
We only stayed 2 nights but everything was more than satisfactory. Very friendly host!
Dec 03, 2014
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Nov 27, 2014
We had a great stay. The staff was very helpful, and this location is ideally situated for easy access to San Luis Obispo, Pismo Beach, and Avila Beach. We'll be back!
Nov 25, 2014
Nov 17, 2014
We love this KOA! It's local to us and a great getaway from home. Super accommodating to our needs. We will be returning!
Nov 08, 2014
Oct 31, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
had a great time we do wish that the pool was heated but over all we had a good time thanks for that
Oct 13, 2014
Oct 10, 2014
had a great time, wonderful place to end a 4000 mile camping road trip before heading home
Oct 10, 2014
dog poop ever where, watch where you step
Oct 03, 2014
Our family loved our stay. The location was perfect since it was across from the playground and jumping pillow. The kids had a great time in the pool and the grounds were very well kept. We only had an issue one night - there was a concert the Saturday of our stay and around 3 in the morning we were woken up by drunk concert goers who made a lot of noise for about an hour. Otherwise a great time.
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
Beside the construction debris@mt site&store closing to early it served its purpose. (Map needs updating)
Sep 23, 2014
This camp ground is full of fly's but over all it is nice and quite I gave it three stars because the staff is not very friendly
Sep 22, 2014
great park. lots of activities. wonderful staff
Sep 21, 2014
The owners are extremely friendly and hospitable. There are lots of activites during the summer months. My family had a great time! Thanks for keeping my son away from his electronics, and thanks for the lasting memories!
Sep 17, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
We had a great time. the camp ground was clean an there was a lot for us to keep busy. we only had trouble witht he noise on Fri night. Quiettime is after 10 an the othe campers had movies going until 4am. it made for a very tired day on sat. all in all we had a great time and def will be coming back. thank you, Matt and Paula Kopper 805-441-5462
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
WE stayed here about a year ago and had a great time. It was rustic, but nice. This time it appeared that they have rented it out to people living there full time. They were mixed in with the regular spots and full of junk. They stayed up most of the night partying and watching TV (loud). The place seems to be getting ratty.
Sep 06, 2014
great location, really quiet close to lake and Beach
Sep 05, 2014
Very impressed with the cleanliness, the grounds and camping options. Have already agreed we'll be back!
Sep 02, 2014
Super clean friendly staff activities well suited to wide range of kids big ones too.Can't wait too go back.
Sep 02, 2014
We made a late reservation on a holiday weekend, and the staff was EXCELLENT, very friendly and helpful. The campsite was ok, not a lot of shade, but because it was a last minute reservation on a busy weekend, we were happy to have it. Unfortunately our table/cooking spot was right next to the stinky sewer pipe of a "long-term" trailer guest. Pool and activities, though, were great for the kids.
Aug 30, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Clean restrooms, some of the staff were friendly, decent camp area. Cons: I reserved a site with "lots of trees and shade". I got a site with not much shade (site 44). Having a site directly across from the jumping pillow also wasn't very nice as we heard a constant stream of yelps and hollers starting at 8AM until sunset. Some staff seemed tired and not very friendly. Restrooms wer
Aug 24, 2014
It was A wonderful place to stay, but the showerrooms was disgusting. They has not been cleaned for A long time.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
A nice KOA, very rural compared to others I have stayed at. Probably one of the best for tent & cabin camping. Our RV site was very nice - shady and spacious, with a picnic table and fire pit. It's very hilly, be ready for some hiking! I would highly consider returning to this site to camp with my horses. I wish the dog walk was enclosed, and I prefer slightly nicer restrooms. Overall, nice.
Aug 16, 2014
The staff was friendly and helpful. The campground was clean. We enjoyed the quiet, the large bouncy pillow, and horseshoes. We had a fun stay.
Aug 15, 2014
Sadly, the drought has taken it's toll on this location. With Santa Marharita lake down 70% you can tell it's impacted the economy if this area. The campground feels bleak, dirty and depressing. Seemed to also have some unseemly permanent residents. My family and I vacated after one hour.
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Had a great time very friendly staff. They even took time to show our site and help back us into the spot.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Owners and staff of Santa Margarita are model hosts. They were professional yet enjoyable to interact with while they took care of our questions and interests about the surrounding area. The campground is well-laid out and presents very well in a hilly region that adds visual interest as well as more privacy in many of the sites. Be sure to turn rt onto CA 58 about 1 mile after exit 211 off US 101
Aug 07, 2014
Had a good time~! The vent tubes for your underground holding tanks were terribly smelly and the location of them in the middle of RV spaces was not a good thing!
Aug 07, 2014
Set back in the forest off the main highway which was nice and peaceful. Be prepared for dirt sites!!
Aug 06, 2014
I did not get the site that I chose online. In fact we were given the one site I did not want due to it being right on the road. Too much dirt & dust from the vehicles! Additionally, the playground, if you want to call it that, was not suitable for young children and very worn down. Disappointed in the overall appearance. Positive note, the staff was professional & friendly & the pool was clean.
Aug 03, 2014
Bathrooms and showers need work
Aug 02, 2014
Not up to KOA standards. Too dusty and dry. Also no recreation room at all. The empty Yurt was just that, empty. Too hilly for my 9 yr old to ride her bike.
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
This was the worst KOA we visited. Wouldn't return. Things we didn't like: restroom out-dated and really dirty, hardly any short stay visitors and a lot of long stay/ permanent RV's. Drunk guys sitting around the rest rooms. We left a day early cause our daughters simply did not feel at ease/ safe. Our suggestion: ask them to really improve or get the KOA sign down. Way below the KOA standard.
Jul 31, 2014
Overall fair experience. A lot of activities were advertised but done only on weekends. Space we stayed in was very small and within 8 feet of another camper. Busy campground but seemed to be managed well.
Jul 29, 2014
Ok the bad bit first; this is not the most beautiful site, it's a bit dusty and appears to have a fair number of long termers their. On the plus side good facilities, nice staff, quiet, locals helpful, SLO is a lovely town to visit and close by
Jul 29, 2014
Had a last minute birthday trip that was made possible by Dylan, our camp host. We got the last RV site in the county for the weekend complete with a cupcake, candle & happy birthday song upon check-in. We couldn't have been happier with the staff & their exceptional customer service!
Jul 28, 2014
very nice campground, nice cabins too. Pool could have been a bit cleaner.
Jul 28, 2014
From check in to check out . Greeted nicely , asked about somewhere to grab dinner. We were recommended to a hole in the wall bar that was awesome. Nice, clean, cool pool. We will be back. A little dusty driving thru the park but we just drove slow. Thanks, Matt
Jul 28, 2014
We stayed at your KOA campgrounds and have had good experiences until we visited Santa Margarita. You have too many employees/full timers living and using the sites in your campground. When we arrived someone had not left our site which was reserved for us. we had to be shifted around. Then the maintenance crew hit a wire and wiped out our electric for 2 1/2 hours in 95 degree weather.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.