Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

RV Reviews

Jul 27, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Mostly dirt or gravel roads, hard on the vehicles. Off the beaten path - if you want to access 101 easily, this campground is not for you. Good general store. Saw several deer and wild turkey.
Jul 24, 2014
Top kamping
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Both bathrooms smelled really bad, it seemed like they both needed a really deep cleaning.
Jul 20, 2014
Sooo disappointed!HUGE misunderstanding about the final costs upon arrival. Went to 2 different employees to seek an answer and got no where. The bathrooms were not cleaned the 3 days we were there, and supplies not stocked. Always have enjoyed simple visits there, but its obvious the cut backs are also effecting them too. We came during the week, don't know if that was the issue? Hope for better.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Filthy bathrooms the entire stay! After busy W/E we talked to front desk& all they did was replace empty TP. Tuesday a "camper" had a visit from his parole officer, terrible sight in a family campground! Our previous campground was so nice that it was a huge let down for us& the kids at this one! It was not worth the $ paid to stay there.I have pictures if youd like.Paving some roads would help to
Jul 16, 2014
Very dusty and not enough rest rooms
Jul 15, 2014
Good location. Restroom and showers are outdated.
Jul 15, 2014
Park was very clean. Stff was very helpful and friendly. Beautiful location.
Jul 14, 2014
We loved it here; great layout of camping spots, fun for the kids, great movie night, very kind staff! Super easy drive to the beaches, drive-in movie, grocery/shopping. We look forward to coming back!
Jul 13, 2014
Beautiful park with friendly people and spacious sites. Very quiet at night. We'd definitely return.
Jul 11, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
Grandkids loved the bounce pillow, as did grandma. Very clean bathroom andshowers. Only wish when you check in they tell you where things are, and tell you how to conect to wi fi.
Jul 09, 2014
We stayed for 9 days and lived every minute. Every one was very friendly.
Jul 07, 2014
One night trip was to get oriented with my new motorhome (and pug puppy camping). Nearly at capacity, Karen set me up in a perfect spot and husband even came up to make sure I parked and set up safely.
Jul 04, 2014
The teenage staff were not helpful. My wife and I would ask questions about the area and where to go and what types of activities. No one knew anything or was at least willing to share. They couldn't even tell us what movie would be playing for the kids movie night hours before the movie began. (It was a kids movie from the 90's with Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen? Really, nothing more updated?)
Jul 01, 2014
We had a good time at the camp, but did not realize how far away it was from civilization. Traveling more than an hour to get to the beach was no picnic. Other than that, it was doable.
Jul 01, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay and wish we could have stayed longer. We were really surprised at how friendly the staff is and all the activities they have. The whole campground is set-up in a very friendly matter. Even the other campers would take the time to stop and talk to us. One other thing, I read the reviews about the dirt and dust and we DID NOT find any problem with it. Keep it up!
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Nice facilities, sites are too close together. If you can get a good site it is a nice place.
Jun 27, 2014
I stayed here a total of 8 nights and it was a pleasant experience. The staff was very friendly and pleasant. The campground was always clean and the restrooms were clean as well. Can't wait to come back. Keep up the great job.
Jun 26, 2014
We only stayed one night, but the person who checked us in was very nice and worked with our points toward our stay. The only problem was there is no pull threws and we where put in next to people living there and the sites seemed small, but would stay again if need to for an over night stop even though it was a long way off the highway.
Jun 25, 2014
GREAT FUN
Jun 24, 2014
We were rather disappointed with this campsite. The pitch had cigarette ends everywhere and there were only 4 toilets on the site, the locks didn't function on the doors, there were cobwebs everywhere and the drain in the shower was clogged with hair.
Jun 19, 2014
Dusty and dirty. Very dry as usual for California KOA,s. Nice camp hosts
Jun 18, 2014
Beautiful location, pet friendly and good sized sites.
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Messed us about on arrival despite having pre booked and then the electric at our pitch didn't work. No offer of a refund/discount .just not good enough.
Jun 10, 2014
Very relaxing stay. Very well managed, clean and well looked after. Many thanks.
Jun 09, 2014
Nice, clean KOA. Staff was friendly & my overall experience was good. Only complaint is they need more restrooms or potties throughout the campground. An outhouse by the playground would have been great. I think there's only two shower/potty buildings so if you're on a walk or at the plygrnd w/ your kids there's noplace to go without walking a mile. Otherwise I would give 5 stars :o(
Jun 01, 2014
Beautiful surroundings, oasis of peace and quiet, Pity we only stayed one night...
Jun 01, 2014
Very nice campground, very clean, everything worked well and felt safe. We live near by so we probably won't return anytime soon. We were just doing a test run our new airstream
May 31, 2014
Very friendly staff. Pari is kept very clean.
May 31, 2014
May 30, 2014
Awesome campground. Very kid friendly....
May 29, 2014
May 27, 2014
Very nice staff. Good sites. We enjoyed ourselves very much.
May 26, 2014
They take a lot of pride in their maintenance of their facility the people nice and very service oriented
May 19, 2014
Poor signage to sites, bathrooms were clean but sparse, long walks to the bathrooms from anywhere, and not near camping sites at all. Too many RV's mixed with tent camping sites, roads steep and slippery. NOT near Lake at all, and lake is nearly empty. Nice people on staff
May 19, 2014
May 18, 2014
A little too rustic for us...
May 17, 2014
We already booked another stay. We had our grandkids and they had so much fun with all the activities. And we loved the rock band and bbq. Thank you for a great time
May 12, 2014
My son and I enjoyed the KOA campground and all of the activities. But the motorcycles driving around all day ruined the stay for me. I complained on Sunday to a staff member at the store, but the motorcycles kept going. Exhaust, dust, noise, all of these ruined it for me. I missed the birds and the fresh air. Your policy stated no one under 16 can be driving and these were about 8 or 9.
May 07, 2014
friendly owners but, the KOA is not up to standards, roads are dirt and camp areas dirty , for the$$$ .
May 06, 2014
We enjoy this quiet campground.
May 05, 2014
When I arrived, there was someone in my spot and the person was not around so I offered to move to another spot which mad my stay very difficult because I was there with a group and didn't get to camp with them. I had to keep going back and forth with supplies from my site to my friends site this was a huge hassle .also the electric hook ups don't have a standard plug in for .extention cord.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.