Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

RV Reviews

Aug 30, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Clean restrooms, some of the staff were friendly, decent camp area. Cons: I reserved a site with "lots of trees and shade". I got a site with not much shade (site 44). Having a site directly across from the jumping pillow also wasn't very nice as we heard a constant stream of yelps and hollers starting at 8AM until sunset. Some staff seemed tired and not very friendly. Restrooms wer
Aug 24, 2014
It was A wonderful place to stay, but the showerrooms was disgusting. They has not been cleaned for A long time.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
A nice KOA, very rural compared to others I have stayed at. Probably one of the best for tent & cabin camping. Our RV site was very nice - shady and spacious, with a picnic table and fire pit. It's very hilly, be ready for some hiking! I would highly consider returning to this site to camp with my horses. I wish the dog walk was enclosed, and I prefer slightly nicer restrooms. Overall, nice.
Aug 16, 2014
The staff was friendly and helpful. The campground was clean. We enjoyed the quiet, the large bouncy pillow, and horseshoes. We had a fun stay.
Aug 15, 2014
Sadly, the drought has taken it's toll on this location. With Santa Marharita lake down 70% you can tell it's impacted the economy if this area. The campground feels bleak, dirty and depressing. Seemed to also have some unseemly permanent residents. My family and I vacated after one hour.
Aug 14, 2014
Aug 12, 2014
Had a great time very friendly staff. They even took time to show our site and help back us into the spot.
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 11, 2014
Owners and staff of Santa Margarita are model hosts. They were professional yet enjoyable to interact with while they took care of our questions and interests about the surrounding area. The campground is well-laid out and presents very well in a hilly region that adds visual interest as well as more privacy in many of the sites. Be sure to turn rt onto CA 58 about 1 mile after exit 211 off US 101
Aug 07, 2014
Had a good time~! The vent tubes for your underground holding tanks were terribly smelly and the location of them in the middle of RV spaces was not a good thing!
Aug 07, 2014
Set back in the forest off the main highway which was nice and peaceful. Be prepared for dirt sites!!
Aug 06, 2014
I did not get the site that I chose online. In fact we were given the one site I did not want due to it being right on the road. Too much dirt & dust from the vehicles! Additionally, the playground, if you want to call it that, was not suitable for young children and very worn down. Disappointed in the overall appearance. Positive note, the staff was professional & friendly & the pool was clean.
Aug 03, 2014
Bathrooms and showers need work
Aug 02, 2014
Not up to KOA standards. Too dusty and dry. Also no recreation room at all. The empty Yurt was just that, empty. Too hilly for my 9 yr old to ride her bike.
Aug 02, 2014
Aug 01, 2014
This was the worst KOA we visited. Wouldn't return. Things we didn't like: restroom out-dated and really dirty, hardly any short stay visitors and a lot of long stay/ permanent RV's. Drunk guys sitting around the rest rooms. We left a day early cause our daughters simply did not feel at ease/ safe. Our suggestion: ask them to really improve or get the KOA sign down. Way below the KOA standard.
Jul 31, 2014
Overall fair experience. A lot of activities were advertised but done only on weekends. Space we stayed in was very small and within 8 feet of another camper. Busy campground but seemed to be managed well.
Jul 29, 2014
Ok the bad bit first; this is not the most beautiful site, it's a bit dusty and appears to have a fair number of long termers their. On the plus side good facilities, nice staff, quiet, locals helpful, SLO is a lovely town to visit and close by
Jul 29, 2014
Had a last minute birthday trip that was made possible by Dylan, our camp host. We got the last RV site in the county for the weekend complete with a cupcake, candle & happy birthday song upon check-in. We couldn't have been happier with the staff & their exceptional customer service!
Jul 28, 2014
very nice campground, nice cabins too. Pool could have been a bit cleaner.
Jul 28, 2014
From check in to check out . Greeted nicely , asked about somewhere to grab dinner. We were recommended to a hole in the wall bar that was awesome. Nice, clean, cool pool. We will be back. A little dusty driving thru the park but we just drove slow. Thanks, Matt
Jul 28, 2014
We stayed at your KOA campgrounds and have had good experiences until we visited Santa Margarita. You have too many employees/full timers living and using the sites in your campground. When we arrived someone had not left our site which was reserved for us. we had to be shifted around. Then the maintenance crew hit a wire and wiped out our electric for 2 1/2 hours in 95 degree weather.
Jul 27, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Mostly dirt or gravel roads, hard on the vehicles. Off the beaten path - if you want to access 101 easily, this campground is not for you. Good general store. Saw several deer and wild turkey.
Jul 24, 2014
Top kamping
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 24, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Both bathrooms smelled really bad, it seemed like they both needed a really deep cleaning.
Jul 20, 2014
Sooo disappointed!HUGE misunderstanding about the final costs upon arrival. Went to 2 different employees to seek an answer and got no where. The bathrooms were not cleaned the 3 days we were there, and supplies not stocked. Always have enjoyed simple visits there, but its obvious the cut backs are also effecting them too. We came during the week, don't know if that was the issue? Hope for better.
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Filthy bathrooms the entire stay! After busy W/E we talked to front desk& all they did was replace empty TP. Tuesday a "camper" had a visit from his parole officer, terrible sight in a family campground! Our previous campground was so nice that it was a huge let down for us& the kids at this one! It was not worth the $ paid to stay there.I have pictures if youd like.Paving some roads would help to
Jul 16, 2014
Very dusty and not enough rest rooms
Jul 15, 2014
Good location. Restroom and showers are outdated.
Jul 15, 2014
Park was very clean. Stff was very helpful and friendly. Beautiful location.
Jul 14, 2014
We loved it here; great layout of camping spots, fun for the kids, great movie night, very kind staff! Super easy drive to the beaches, drive-in movie, grocery/shopping. We look forward to coming back!
Jul 13, 2014
Beautiful park with friendly people and spacious sites. Very quiet at night. We'd definitely return.
Jul 11, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
Grandkids loved the bounce pillow, as did grandma. Very clean bathroom andshowers. Only wish when you check in they tell you where things are, and tell you how to conect to wi fi.
Jul 09, 2014
We stayed for 9 days and lived every minute. Every one was very friendly.
Jul 07, 2014
One night trip was to get oriented with my new motorhome (and pug puppy camping). Nearly at capacity, Karen set me up in a perfect spot and husband even came up to make sure I parked and set up safely.
Jul 04, 2014
The teenage staff were not helpful. My wife and I would ask questions about the area and where to go and what types of activities. No one knew anything or was at least willing to share. They couldn't even tell us what movie would be playing for the kids movie night hours before the movie began. (It was a kids movie from the 90's with Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen? Really, nothing more updated?)
Jul 01, 2014
We had a good time at the camp, but did not realize how far away it was from civilization. Traveling more than an hour to get to the beach was no picnic. Other than that, it was doable.
Jul 01, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay and wish we could have stayed longer. We were really surprised at how friendly the staff is and all the activities they have. The whole campground is set-up in a very friendly matter. Even the other campers would take the time to stop and talk to us. One other thing, I read the reviews about the dirt and dust and we DID NOT find any problem with it. Keep it up!
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Nice facilities, sites are too close together. If you can get a good site it is a nice place.
Jun 27, 2014
I stayed here a total of 8 nights and it was a pleasant experience. The staff was very friendly and pleasant. The campground was always clean and the restrooms were clean as well. Can't wait to come back. Keep up the great job.
Jun 26, 2014
We only stayed one night, but the person who checked us in was very nice and worked with our points toward our stay. The only problem was there is no pull threws and we where put in next to people living there and the sites seemed small, but would stay again if need to for an over night stop even though it was a long way off the highway.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.