Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Camp for $10 on May 9!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

RV Reviews

Feb 18, 2015
Campground was nice, and well maintained. Only comment I would make,I was originally registered to site #22 (with 19 ft trailer), would have been near impossible to get in, and no way to get out w/ trailer. Thank you.
Feb 17, 2015
We love the wilderness feature of this Campground. It is very difficult for a 40' motorhome to negotiate. We stayed in Site 46 and had to ask people to move their vehicles so we could get in and more so out of our site. Once settled it was fantastic for the remoteness, activities. it's what camping use to be ... relaxing (except for the driving part)
Feb 17, 2015
The hosts were fantastic people who went out of their way to make our unplanned weekend here great. The blanket of stars overhead was also amazing. Looking forward to trying a cabin next visit.
Feb 07, 2015
Friendly, they worked with us coming in later then they stay open. They didn't have free wifi that was a bummer.
Feb 02, 2015
Great facility, great service.
Feb 02, 2015
We only had one night to take it all in. That was not enough. We plan to come back!
Jan 26, 2015
R space was great, but the Internet service was really slow and most times could not connect. Had a great stay will try to be back in a few months,Wiley's
Jan 24, 2015
What a great place lots of space staff helpful beautiful quiet place perfect setting I have only 2 negative could the boss of KOA fund new toilets and showers and new washing and drying machines they are very tied looking Staff work hard on site would camp here again
Jan 21, 2015
The staff was very helpful and upgraded us to an easier campsite that would fit our newly acquired, longer, and not easily parked trailer. They also helped us with all kinds of fittings and tips. These are the kind of people that give a good name to campers.
Jan 19, 2015
It was winter so it was a little chilly. The camp sites are large. They have a huge bounce pillow that was great for the grandkids after it warmed up a little. The water heater for the bathrooms were not working. COLD SHOWERS! Scott, the host, couldn't have been a nicer guy. I think he is stretched too thin on his duties. He could sure use some help. It's a beautiful area. Nice, dark nights.
Jan 08, 2015
Jan 06, 2015
GOOD SERVICE, VERY HELPFUL AND FRIENDLY EMPLOYEES. PARK IS KEEP VERY CLEAN.
Jan 06, 2015
The park was clean and the employees were friendly. I mentioned that one of the bathrooms had a clogged drain and it was taken care of in a timely manner. This was the second time we've stayed there since September and look forward to going back soon...
Jan 02, 2015
We enjoyed our site--it was private and scenic and the employees were very nice. But the bathrooms were far and the closest one didn't have hot water (it was in the 20's-40's while we were there).
Dec 28, 2014
No hot water in showers. One of the main reasons we stayed at a KOA was to use the shower facilities.
Dec 22, 2014
Peaceful experience,and staff was very friendly, and helpful! I would come back and let my family and friends in on this amazing spot.
Dec 16, 2014
Rock roads make it difficult to pull trailers up the hills and to back into the sites. But they did accommodate us by using a tractor to put our trailer in thesite.
Dec 03, 2014
I think there have been many improvements since our last stay. Hopefully many more will come in the future. One item of concern is that some of the KOA trucks that roam the roads inside the park...could use to go slower.
Dec 03, 2014
We only stayed 2 nights but everything was more than satisfactory. Very friendly host!
Dec 03, 2014
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Nov 27, 2014
We had a great stay. The staff was very helpful, and this location is ideally situated for easy access to San Luis Obispo, Pismo Beach, and Avila Beach. We'll be back!
Nov 25, 2014
Nov 17, 2014
We love this KOA! It's local to us and a great getaway from home. Super accommodating to our needs. We will be returning!
Nov 08, 2014
Oct 31, 2014
Oct 20, 2014
had a great time we do wish that the pool was heated but over all we had a good time thanks for that
Oct 13, 2014
Oct 10, 2014
had a great time, wonderful place to end a 4000 mile camping road trip before heading home
Oct 10, 2014
dog poop ever where, watch where you step
Oct 03, 2014
Our family loved our stay. The location was perfect since it was across from the playground and jumping pillow. The kids had a great time in the pool and the grounds were very well kept. We only had an issue one night - there was a concert the Saturday of our stay and around 3 in the morning we were woken up by drunk concert goers who made a lot of noise for about an hour. Otherwise a great time.
Sep 30, 2014
Sep 30, 2014
Beside the construction debris@mt site&store closing to early it served its purpose. (Map needs updating)
Sep 23, 2014
This camp ground is full of fly's but over all it is nice and quite I gave it three stars because the staff is not very friendly
Sep 22, 2014
great park. lots of activities. wonderful staff
Sep 21, 2014
The owners are extremely friendly and hospitable. There are lots of activites during the summer months. My family had a great time! Thanks for keeping my son away from his electronics, and thanks for the lasting memories!
Sep 17, 2014
Sep 16, 2014
We had a great time. the camp ground was clean an there was a lot for us to keep busy. we only had trouble witht he noise on Fri night. Quiettime is after 10 an the othe campers had movies going until 4am. it made for a very tired day on sat. all in all we had a great time and def will be coming back. thank you, Matt and Paula Kopper 805-441-5462
Sep 15, 2014
Sep 09, 2014
WE stayed here about a year ago and had a great time. It was rustic, but nice. This time it appeared that they have rented it out to people living there full time. They were mixed in with the regular spots and full of junk. They stayed up most of the night partying and watching TV (loud). The place seems to be getting ratty.
Sep 06, 2014
great location, really quiet close to lake and Beach
Sep 05, 2014
Very impressed with the cleanliness, the grounds and camping options. Have already agreed we'll be back!
Sep 02, 2014
Super clean friendly staff activities well suited to wide range of kids big ones too.Can't wait too go back.
Sep 02, 2014
We made a late reservation on a holiday weekend, and the staff was EXCELLENT, very friendly and helpful. The campsite was ok, not a lot of shade, but because it was a last minute reservation on a busy weekend, we were happy to have it. Unfortunately our table/cooking spot was right next to the stinky sewer pipe of a "long-term" trailer guest. Pool and activities, though, were great for the kids.
Aug 30, 2014
Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Clean restrooms, some of the staff were friendly, decent camp area. Cons: I reserved a site with "lots of trees and shade". I got a site with not much shade (site 44). Having a site directly across from the jumping pillow also wasn't very nice as we heard a constant stream of yelps and hollers starting at 8AM until sunset. Some staff seemed tired and not very friendly. Restrooms wer
Aug 24, 2014
It was A wonderful place to stay, but the showerrooms was disgusting. They has not been cleaned for A long time.
Aug 20, 2014
Aug 16, 2014
A nice KOA, very rural compared to others I have stayed at. Probably one of the best for tent & cabin camping. Our RV site was very nice - shady and spacious, with a picnic table and fire pit. It's very hilly, be ready for some hiking! I would highly consider returning to this site to camp with my horses. I wish the dog walk was enclosed, and I prefer slightly nicer restrooms. Overall, nice.
Aug 16, 2014
The staff was friendly and helpful. The campground was clean. We enjoyed the quiet, the large bouncy pillow, and horseshoes. We had a fun stay.
Aug 15, 2014
Sadly, the drought has taken it's toll on this location. With Santa Marharita lake down 70% you can tell it's impacted the economy if this area. The campground feels bleak, dirty and depressing. Seemed to also have some unseemly permanent residents. My family and I vacated after one hour.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.