Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Apr 05, 2013
the place stated no pit bulls and there was one next door. It said that the pool was open and it was not. They had the wrong dates on the website.The staff was nice.
Apr 02, 2013
Loved the jumping pillow! Wish a cabin rental came with a toilet and sink.
Apr 02, 2013
The stay was really very pleasing. Staff was very very helpful. Cabin was very clean. Love this KOA campground.
Mar 31, 2013
Very rustic. Our cabin and the bathrooms were clean. My son was disappointed the pool was not working and we could not access the Wi-Fi. Beautiful scenery and nice place if you want to get outdoors.
Mar 28, 2013
Great place. Quiet and clean. Will be back in near future. Were understanding of my husband getting ill and are reimbursing one night that we missed. We appreciate their thoughtfulness.
Mar 27, 2013
Great people,super service. The only bumber was the dusty roads.
Mar 26, 2013
Mar 25, 2013
Area was clean near by lake. Staff was very polite and helpful
Mar 20, 2013
Loved the lodge we stayed in (31A), had fun on the bounce pillow. All in all a great place to stay when you need to make a weekend trip to San Luis Obispo. Beats a hotel any day!
Mar 18, 2013
scott and crew were friendly. the cabin, and site were clean. i will be bringing my family back!
Mar 17, 2013
Feb 19, 2013
We camped with three of our grandchildren ages 8years, 10yrs & 11 years. Everyone had a great time! A local rancher even invited the kids to go to their ranch and pet goats, which we did! The jumping pillow was a big hit. We live in Paso and already co-workers of mine in SLO plan to visit you due to pics I showed them today.
Feb 11, 2013
Feb 08, 2013
Cabin was clean, warm and well kept. The bath house/rest rooms are the same. Both Kim and Scott were great.
Feb 06, 2013
Very nice camp ground, I stayed in a camping cabin and it was perfect. Nice employees. Improvements could be made as far as lighting along roads and walkways, especially leading to bathrooms, felt a little unsafe. But everything else was great.
Jan 28, 2013
cabin was nice ,clean and we enjoyed the stay. Heater did not work well but got it fixed.Over all we were pleased with the stay.
Jan 24, 2013
Staff are very helpful, kampground is very well-kept, and the setting is perfect. We will be back!
Jan 23, 2013
I loved how accommodating the folks were for our group! Thank you!
Jan 23, 2013
We have stayed in a few of the cabins, the yert and tent camped at the Santa Margarita KOA and we love it. The staff is very friendly, the grounds are maintained and we can head out to the Pozo / La Panza OHV areas from there very easily. Also the Lake is near by or the kids can play on the blob for hours. We really like this KOA at Santa Margarita.
Jan 01, 2013
Dec 27, 2012
It was Just good!!!!!
Dec 11, 2012
This campground provides many great options for camping; the Lodge we stayed in was very comfortable and roomy. The sites are spread throughout the beautiful rolling hills with lots of trees and great views! The staff was very friendly and helpful. My girls loved the jumping pillow!
Dec 04, 2012
Just the scenery alone is worth staying here! It is a beautiful hidden gem that although is a hop skip and a jump from the beach, feel like it's miles from civilization. It is peaceful and relaxing.
Nov 27, 2012
Friendly, wonderfully accommodating and easy to navigate.
Nov 25, 2012
This is our 5th year celebrating Thanksgiving at this campground.We LOVE it!Wouldn't go anywhere else!
Nov 25, 2012
Only major inconvenience was the shower. We cid not have enough hot water to shower even one person, we had 7 in our cabin. We had to use the public shower, which had much better showers with plenty of hot water. Cabin bathroom door extremely hard to open and close. Great view, very peaceful place, close to lake. Had a good experience.
Nov 12, 2012
The cabins with baths are SO cute and with everything you could possibly want. Was beautiful, quiet and peaceful. Everyone was super friendly. We'll certainly go back.
Oct 30, 2012
We had a wonderful time! The kids loved the playground and jumping pillow. It was fun to watch for wildlife like deer, turkeys, and birds of all kinds. Bathrooms and showers were always clean and well stocked. The fall decorations were a nice touch. The only downsides were the stray cats who got into our food and the wasps that flew around while we ate. Otherwise, highly recommended!
Oct 22, 2012
Oct 21, 2012
We hosted a KOA wedding campout; everything from the location to the facilities to the staff contributed to an outstanding weekend!
Oct 21, 2012
Oct 15, 2012
Our kabin smelled horrible and was over 100 degrees inside because the heater was left on inside on the hottest setting. The kabin gas cob webs and wasn't as clean as others we've stayed in at other KOAs. The location was beautiful and our kids loved the play area.
Oct 08, 2012
Kabin was wonderful, campsite was perfect, bathroom was extremely clean with free hot showers and the staff was amazing!
Oct 08, 2012
Fantastic!
Oct 08, 2012
Cozy cabin directly below a bathroom, though others were available. Swarms of bees. No where to set chairs. Very unhappy with the site. Did not stay around because of it.
Oct 06, 2012
This is a great isolated kampground-seriously-when you are 'getting away' from it all, It is "No noise or city lights to distract you" from the wonders of nature, animals to the stars, which my wife constantly talked about. AND NO cell service for us either!! LUV'd it. Unfortunately, we arrived during the hot weather, sunny and hot, and more dust than preferred. Hiked local trails. A Great week!!!
Oct 04, 2012
Came home with too many bug bites, but did enjoy the 2 days.
Oct 01, 2012
Oct 01, 2012
campgrounds are clean, well maintained. pool area always looks clean. Everyone is very friendly.
Sep 29, 2012
Very nice. Tent camped here a a couple times in the 90's. Enjoyed the cabin during our recent stay. May return for a stay at one of the secluded tent sites. They look really nice! Only complaint is the bathrooms aren't up to the standard of other KOAs we've stayed at, and the pool could use more attention.
Sep 17, 2012
Staff super nice, campground overrun with yellow jackets. Our first site was literally next to a hive. 2nd site not much better. Will go to Santa Cruz next time.
Sep 17, 2012
Scott was incredibly understanding and accommodating, hope to work with him again during our next stay! -The Tran's
Sep 14, 2012
Sep 10, 2012
We loved the cabin we stayed in. Very clean and well kept. Perfect for our family of 4. The kids loved the bouncing pillow. We will be back!!
Sep 10, 2012
The staff was more than helpful, catering to all our needs! Perfect location, our 5 year old son had such an awesome time- the jumping pillow was so much fun! And only a 30 minute drive to Pismo Beach!!
Sep 10, 2012
Loved it so much on a girls' getaway weekend with a friend that I'm bringing my kids and husband back next weekend! Clean lodging, friendly service, abundant wildlife.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.