Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Email

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Oct 05, 2015
This KOA is awesome I enjoy the nice guy who runs the place. He is always happy and very friendly. I have been here 3 weekends in a row now and I have not had a issue yet they are very accommodating. Which is very nice. Most KOA's are not.
Oct 05, 2015
Wifi is important to me and is hit-and-miss at all locations but non-existent at this one. The lodgings were quite nice though--Looks like it was just built. Nothing like "camping" with a kitchen and AC. I had a very quiet, relaxing weekend just as the doctor ordered.
Oct 04, 2015
The bed in the cabin is all springs and horribly uncomfortable. The pull out couch/bed is worse. The dishes were greasy and dirty and the toilet kept running. Other than that it was great. Everyone that works there is real friendly and helpful. The cabins just need a little updating, especially for the price you pay.
Sep 28, 2015
toilet ran constantly - had to continually jiggle handle. coffee pot dirty w/old grounds from former visitor. old, used water bottle left in frig from former visitor. no outdoor trash bin available to dump my trash. both bathroom and kitchen sink needed new washers - the water sprayed all over the place except in the basin. when I pay hotel prices for a "luxury" cabin, that's what I expect.
Sep 28, 2015
This was the best day we've ever had everything about this campground was amazing the people who work here made it better!! We will definitely be back we can't wait to come back thank you so much for making it a wonderful wonderful weekend ! :). :)
Sep 28, 2015
Very quiet with clean restrooms and friendly staff.
Sep 21, 2015
We enjoyed the mountain scenery from our Kabin #84 for two nights. We will be back!
Sep 21, 2015
I really liked the cabin but as far as the extra bathrooms on the grounds I didn't like having coed & only 1 Also the hornets were in the cabin & didn't expect to see all the big tarantulas everywhere
Sep 14, 2015
Wonderful Place, very friendly, the stuff came to our car to fill up air in our tires when we asked for help
Sep 14, 2015
Very quiet and peaceful!
Sep 14, 2015
Enjoyable and relaxing.
Sep 14, 2015
Nice park. We stayed in a cabin. It was as advertised. We only slept at the park as we had business in San Luis Obispo all weekend. It was a bit noisy on Friday night but perfectly quiet on Saturday night.
Sep 08, 2015
Another great Labor Day weekend in Santa Margarita. Thank you!
Sep 08, 2015
The staff at the registration is great. But the facility of the campsite is not at all. We have a group of total 16 people staying at the site. We made reservations with 1 cabin and 2 campsite. The campsite we assigned were horrible, not much flat ground for parking and cooking place together. Also the campfire we set up kept blowing the smoke back to our table. Shower in the cabin was cold.
Sep 07, 2015
Extremely helpful and friendly staff!
Sep 07, 2015
Great hosts! Even gave a free meal on arrival. Way cool!
Sep 01, 2015
This KOA is a bit old but so beautiful and quiet. Swimming pool wonderful... Everything very clean, staff nice.
Aug 31, 2015
Aug 31, 2015
Aug 27, 2015
good
Aug 20, 2015
We had the most amazing time at KOA Santa Margarita! Everything was what we expected. Loved it! Super friendly staffs!
Aug 20, 2015
We only stayed one night but had a fabulous time. The owners are amazingly friendly and helpful even to the point of keeping the pool open a few minutes longer for our late-comer family members. I loved the hay ride and the star gazing. One of the most AMAZING KOA sites I've ever been to.
Aug 19, 2015
Super location. Loved waking up o the beautiful landscape.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Awesome stay!!!! Everyone was friendly, very nice, very clean! Made me and my girlfriend a great anniversary to remember! Will be coming back here again to book something. Thank you again
Aug 17, 2015
We loved this site! Our only regret is that we didn't have more time to explore the campground and participate in the activities they offered.
Aug 17, 2015
Our cabin was clean
Aug 16, 2015
Great, this koa is NOT near a road. Like the silence. Unfortunately no grocery in neighoorhood and no possibility for doing the dishes. Lots of cabins!
Aug 15, 2015
Staff was very nice. Cabins were nice and very clean.
Aug 14, 2015
Beautiful location. Great facilities. Large site, but quiet.
Aug 13, 2015
We all had a great time during our first stay at a KOA! Our Deluxe Cabin was clean and the staff were all friendly and helpful. Even the guys at the marina were awesome! We stayed early to mid-August and during the week -- it felt like we had the grounds to ourselves! Had it been full, I don't think we would have enjoyed it as much. Con: Dust, but they tell you to expect that.
Aug 11, 2015
Nice quiet location. The kids feel there should be more activities. Bummer that the jumping pillow was down and playground closed. Maybe some kind of credit for these closures, since we book with these in mind.
Aug 11, 2015
I REALLY WISHED THE WIFI CONNECTION WAS BETTER, THE CABIN WAS GREAT, I UNDERSTAND SOMEONE HAD SLASHED THE BIG BOUNCE, BUT THEY COULD OF PUT SOMETHING ON THE WEB PAGE ABOUT IT BEING UNDER CONSTRUCTION OTHER THAN THAT IT WAS PEACEFUL AND WE ENJOYED OUR SELVES THANK YOU FOR THE STAY! WE WILL GO BACK!
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Overall it was a good stay. The kids enjoyed the activities saturday but with the pillow broke, the swing set unusable, the lake almost dried up, and most of the roads unpaved, there wasnt much else for them to do. Loved that you could either camp near someone or far with different camp style options and hiking nearby was great. It was hilly though and my legs r sore now.
Aug 08, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
The playground and the jumping pillow were under construction during our stay, but the website didn't mention anything about it. Huge disappointment since we have two kids and they choose this campground for the amenities they saw on the website. Disc golf course was fenced in and had goats in it. Only activity our kids can do was the horse shoe toss. Pls disclose the issue on the website.
Aug 07, 2015
A nice slice of paradise in rolling hills. We came in late but had no problem finding our cabin,it was clean good size close to the bathrooms. Quiet throughout the night we slept like we where dead. Thanksgiving dinner-three wild turkey's -ran pass our cabin gave our doxie a fun experience in the morning. Come on by and give theses good people a look,am sure you will enjoy your time here.
Aug 05, 2015
The camp grounds are very clean. The staff always available and helpful. The family love the peaceful and spacious campgrounds. The deluxe cabin was amazing. The amenities where all great. The vent and air conditioner keep the room nice and comfortable. Having separate slideimg door for bunk room added another plus to the room. Santa Margarita Lake was walking distance.
Aug 03, 2015
Great time. Just wished the bouncer and playground was up as I got the yurt right next to it for that reason besides that everything was great. Staff is amazing. Will be making it a yearly trip from now on.
Aug 03, 2015
I highly recommend staying in one of the deluxe cabins! We were completely comfortable with 2 adults, 2 children and a dog. Pros: air cond, full kitchen, 2 t.v's, fire ring, full bath. Best of both worlds- camping and hotel-ing. Cons: disappointed on the lack of cleanliness inside when we first arrived. Kids looked forward to the jumping pillow and playground- both were not in operation.
Jul 30, 2015
Great campground! The lake was dry because of the drought but the campground was clean, and quiet, and the owners were very nice. We will come back again
Jul 29, 2015
We LOVED this KOA, it was our first KOA experience. We were only disappointed that the jumping pillow wasn't working.
Jul 28, 2015
This was our first visit to small cabin rental. We thought bed linen and towels were provided like motels, so had to adjust. We did enjoy the experience. THANKS!
Jul 27, 2015
Outstanding!! Had everything we needed anything we didn't have was available at the store. Definetely would recommend to friends and family. Price weren't to high at the store. Overall outstanding expierence. Thank you
Jul 24, 2015
It's very remote. The bathrooms are hard to reach. Many of the advertised amenities were not usable. Store / Office closed at 5, not 8 as advertised

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are 10 mi. off US101. There are steep stairs to the restrooms. Mid-week we may close the store at 5pm but there is a sign that says "Please use our walkie talkie to reach staff for any reason at any time." Our new, larger Jumping Pillow will go in this week. We're sorry for the inconvenience.
Jul 21, 2015
Our cabin was clean. The staff were amazingly kind and generous. Our only complaints were related to the behavior of other guests,missing or broken luxuries/activities and lack of WiFi connectivity. But, as two of those were not in the owners control, it's unfair to blame.
Jul 19, 2015
Had a great stay! We were in the deluxe cabin and loved it. It was clean and cozy and we will definitely be back!
Jul 16, 2015
Rented a cabin for the night. It was so bad we left after 15 minutes and went to a hotel. Call me if you want to know more.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry you had a bad experience at Santa Margarita KOA. KOA offers a Money-back Guarantee if you checkout within the first hour. I did not see that you took advantage of this. Please call us to discuss what did not meet your standards in the cabin. Please ask for the Manager/Owner, Karen.
Jul 11, 2015
Had an awesome time although we missed the jumping pillow that was out of order the days we were there.. Overall had a great time there. We will definitely be back! Thanks
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals