Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Aug 17, 2013
Great campground! Short staffed, staff had to do multiple jobs so not as available. The bathrooms flooded every time someone took a shower and they were older and not so clean. We really liked the party yurt.
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Clean and comfortable kamping kabin. SUPER friendly staff, tons of activities. Fire rings, cheap bundles of wood, well stocked store. They have it all.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Nice cabin in a shaded site. Small but cute.
Aug 12, 2013
Hi my son & I went under the reser. of Ms Jenny Kids wantd 2 stay 2gether in cabin. Our first X staying @ KOA campgrd & also 1st X cabin campg. Usually camp w/cubscouts. 4 1st X on our own pretty cool. We had a stressless stay. I would consider comg bck to site again. Only Negs.-sm flies tht were always flyg around our faces & Extra charge 4 extra kid but, no additional accommodations provided.
Aug 12, 2013
OUR CABIN WAS CLEAN AND COZY. GREAT LISTENING TO THE MUSIC THAT FLOATED UP TO OUR CAMPSITE FROM THE HAYBALE THEATRE. . THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THAT GENEROUS AND DELICIOUS TRI-TIP BBQ DINNER. SEE YA SOON
Aug 12, 2013
Unexpectedly this was the best vacation spot of the entire journey. The employees were all great and friendly.
Aug 11, 2013
Cozy log cabin! Good, clean bathrooms with warm water. Nice relaxing place. Recommend to bring bug repellent/candles. Staff helpful.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
This is a GREAT KOA. We've stayed in a bunch of KOA's, and this one ranks at the top. The owners are wonderful people who are doing an awesome job. In one weekend, we met a survivalist, saw Saturn and Venus through a telescope, had a hilarious water balloon fight, saw an outdoor movie, danced to live music and ate some delicious BBQ! Their staff is happy and doing a great job.
Aug 08, 2013
We brought our son & his friends on a bday camping trip - it was perfect! Very safe campground, super friendly and helpful staff, loved our little cabins. We'll definitely be back!
Aug 06, 2013
Excellent vacation getaway, wasn't able to enjoy the lake much.
Aug 05, 2013
Great activities (swimming, frisbee golf, jumping pillow, star night, movies, shmore fire, band, horse shoes, foosball ...), friendly and helpful hosts, etc. Noisy and dusty as large RV's power up steep hills on gravel roads.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Along way from anywhere to eat if you are travelling light
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Stayed in a cozy cottage, it was great!
Jul 31, 2013
Management doesn't care about quality of service, condition of cabins. Cabin was dirty under beds at check in. Coffeemaker had mold. Low employee morale. Bathrooms needed remodel and cleaning. Roads are dusty - need paving. Pool area not paved properly; excessive puddling/slip hazard. Offal sewage odor from nearby cesspool ruined our stay. No notice when water was shut off for plumbing repairs.
Jul 30, 2013
We stayed in Cabin #3 at Santa Margarita and it was the best camping experience. Our kids truly enjoyed the pool and giant jumping pillow.
Jul 30, 2013
I did not expect to find a KOA that was as nice as this. When I have been to other camps they were on the main highways an we had a trailer so it was just basic hook ups and a flat concrete slab. Santa Margarita was more unique and having a clean well sorted cabin that even had wi fi was a treat. I am a basics kind of guy who prefers memories over luxury. Good camp!
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Wonderful place and great staff. Lots to do.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Dirt roads not good for motorcycles. Had to climb small hill to get to bathroom/ showers. Spiders and bugs in rented cabin. Nice friendly staff otherwise.
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
The staff (especially Sharie) made us feel very welcome. The camp was clean and comfortable. The Saturday night BBQ was a disappointment but overall we had a great time.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
Did not feel welcome, staff seemed busy with other things. Cabin 11 was smelly. Had to keep windows & door open long time. Restrooms very old and Not clean at all. Way to restroom far up a hill and long stairs. Many children in this place, therefore very noisy. Had booked (and paid) two nights but escaped quickly after the first. At checkout were not asked if we enjoyed. Can't recommend this pl
Jul 18, 2013
The cabin we stayed in was fantastic. All our kids had a great time. Pool temperature was a little cold even though it was a hot day. Everyone was shivering.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Cabins were very clean, your staff is one of the best, we include everyone who works at Santa Margarita KOA
Jul 15, 2013
The staff was very accommodating. We had a larger group and when we wanted to have a larger BBQ gathering, the staff provided a large BBQ and several picnic tables for the occasion. The cabin we stayed in was clean and perfect for our family of four. Will certainly return. Thanks you!
Jul 15, 2013
I'm one of the Cota's from the Cota reunion. July 11/14. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the park and all it's amenities. The only drawback was I think you need more publid bathrooms. It was a long walk... Thanks for everything.
Jul 15, 2013
It was hot in the camping cabin,only had a fan in it. Bathrooms were clean. Nice place to view the stars, and enjoy nature.
Jul 15, 2013
Loved it and so did the kids! Very friendly staff. Only wish our site had some shade...very hot during the day.
Jul 15, 2013
Awesome location and well kept campgrounds
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Cabin was missing screens, unable to leave window open. Bathroom had open floor drain cover. Plumbing very slow to drain and at times backed up. Bathroom very dim and not sparkling clean. Leaking plumbing stains agains wall and floors. Area Very dusty. Tho the facility may have been lacking, but the staff was great and what we have come to expect at KOA.
Jul 10, 2013
Jul 10, 2013
Family had a blast. Thanks
Jul 08, 2013
The KOA was very accomodating. There was a lot to keep my family busy.
Jul 08, 2013
Jul 08, 2013
The road is too close to the cabin, it is very dusty when cars dive by. You don't want to drink the water, since it is yellow color. Other things are good, we had six families stayed together and had fun.
Jul 02, 2013
Great stay in deluxe cabin. Many activities that we enjoyed including movies dancing to live music and a hayride also. Only complaint was only 2 shade umbrellas by pool. We had one of them so it was fine for us.
Jul 01, 2013
We had originally planned to stay 4 nights but found that the location added 1 extra hour to our sightseeing plans. Based on your message we saved more than 13 dollars, since a refund to our original 4 day reservation was not offered by Koa. Overall ok.
Jun 30, 2013
Jun 29, 2013
I made reservations through Scott @ the KOA. I told him what I was looking to rent & he suggested 2 cabins together on the hill. It was perfect! He was so helpful & nice. He gave us info & contacts for local activities, etc. The cabins & the grounds were neat & clean. We had a great time & look forward to coming back!
Jun 24, 2013
Every thing was great! The staff was very friendly. Several of the families that were in our group have young adults with special needs and your staff was so great when it came to their needs. We will definitely come back which will make it 13 yrs of camping at your site...

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.