Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Sep 03, 2013
Did not enjoy the stay.Only plus was proximity to San luis Obispo, Pismo Beach. Negative reasons; 8 miles off Highway 101,Santa Margarita Lake,almost dried up, Koa facility roads,all dirt,dusty, Deluxe Cabin,too small for six, front door knob won't lock, Space AC doesn't cool cabin, compressor won't kick in. No safety cones or reflectors on steep side of the koa roads, accident waiting to happen.
Sep 01, 2013
Eventhough we were just passing through, it was a great spot to stay at. Also, thanks for having a separate switch for your ceiling fan and a ceiling light. That has been an issue at other KOA sites.
Aug 31, 2013
We enjoyed our stay in one of your cabins. We explored the tent sites on our way out and will probably stay in our tent next time. I felt that the cabin prices were a little to close to the price of a cheap motel to be a bargin and there were tent sites still available at the nearby park. I wonder if pricing the cabins at 50 a night and the tent sites at 25 might help occupancy.
Aug 29, 2013
Noisey with brown drinking water and dogs in the restrooms.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our water has a high iron content but is safe to drink even if it is not appealing and it can stain your clothes. I'm sorry you found a dog in the restroom. A camper ignored the "No Pets in Building" sign on the door. We don't get many noise complaints. Did you let us know about noisy neighbors?
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
I can't say enough about the staff. They really are great and so very friendly. I never felt like just a customer. I felt like part of a large happy family. The cabin we stayed in was spotless and well equipped. The next time we visit? We know now that all we need is clothes and food pretty much. Thanks going out to all of our new KOA family members. You made out stay fantastic.
Aug 26, 2013
Loved the staff. Very nice and helpful. My kids loved the Bounce pillow and the hay ride!!! Cabins with no bathroom were cute. The porch swing was my favorite. Beds could have used a little more padding. I recommend that you take a water hose lots of dirt & dust. It was fun and my family will be returning!!!
Aug 25, 2013
Great camp Its a little disappointing you are not allowed to swim in the lake but the camp had a nice pool and the staff was super friendly and fun the cabin was simple and great the hay bale theater and concert were great also i will be back again
Aug 25, 2013
Dusty, bug infested, ants all around our cabin, bathrooms were dirty. Shower was tiny, unless you are a hobbit. Run, don't walk, far, far away from this KOA!!!!!!!!!!
Aug 24, 2013
Cozy enough they make you feel like family. Can't wait to go back next summer!
Aug 23, 2013
We stayed in a cabin on the hill that sleeps six. There were 4 of us, and I think an additional 2 would have been 2 much. We stayed during the a very dry time of year so everything is brown, but the views from on top of the hill are amazing. The staff is very nice, and the grounds are well kept. Downside is that the mattress in the cabin are uncomfortable so be sure to bring a cushion mat.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff, tons of camp activities, clean one-room cabins and luxury cabins, fun activities for kids. Cons: hot weather in August, hilly terrain which made it hard to visit my family members staying in other cabins up the hill.
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Great campground! Short staffed, staff had to do multiple jobs so not as available. The bathrooms flooded every time someone took a shower and they were older and not so clean. We really liked the party yurt.
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Clean and comfortable kamping kabin. SUPER friendly staff, tons of activities. Fire rings, cheap bundles of wood, well stocked store. They have it all.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Nice cabin in a shaded site. Small but cute.
Aug 12, 2013
Hi my son & I went under the reser. of Ms Jenny Kids wantd 2 stay 2gether in cabin. Our first X staying @ KOA campgrd & also 1st X cabin campg. Usually camp w/cubscouts. 4 1st X on our own pretty cool. We had a stressless stay. I would consider comg bck to site again. Only Negs.-sm flies tht were always flyg around our faces & Extra charge 4 extra kid but, no additional accommodations provided.
Aug 12, 2013
OUR CABIN WAS CLEAN AND COZY. GREAT LISTENING TO THE MUSIC THAT FLOATED UP TO OUR CAMPSITE FROM THE HAYBALE THEATRE. . THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THAT GENEROUS AND DELICIOUS TRI-TIP BBQ DINNER. SEE YA SOON
Aug 12, 2013
Unexpectedly this was the best vacation spot of the entire journey. The employees were all great and friendly.
Aug 11, 2013
Cozy log cabin! Good, clean bathrooms with warm water. Nice relaxing place. Recommend to bring bug repellent/candles. Staff helpful.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
This is a GREAT KOA. We've stayed in a bunch of KOA's, and this one ranks at the top. The owners are wonderful people who are doing an awesome job. In one weekend, we met a survivalist, saw Saturn and Venus through a telescope, had a hilarious water balloon fight, saw an outdoor movie, danced to live music and ate some delicious BBQ! Their staff is happy and doing a great job.
Aug 08, 2013
We brought our son & his friends on a bday camping trip - it was perfect! Very safe campground, super friendly and helpful staff, loved our little cabins. We'll definitely be back!
Aug 06, 2013
Excellent vacation getaway, wasn't able to enjoy the lake much.
Aug 05, 2013
Great activities (swimming, frisbee golf, jumping pillow, star night, movies, shmore fire, band, horse shoes, foosball ...), friendly and helpful hosts, etc. Noisy and dusty as large RV's power up steep hills on gravel roads.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Along way from anywhere to eat if you are travelling light
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Stayed in a cozy cottage, it was great!
Jul 31, 2013
Management doesn't care about quality of service, condition of cabins. Cabin was dirty under beds at check in. Coffeemaker had mold. Low employee morale. Bathrooms needed remodel and cleaning. Roads are dusty - need paving. Pool area not paved properly; excessive puddling/slip hazard. Offal sewage odor from nearby cesspool ruined our stay. No notice when water was shut off for plumbing repairs.
Jul 30, 2013
We stayed in Cabin #3 at Santa Margarita and it was the best camping experience. Our kids truly enjoyed the pool and giant jumping pillow.
Jul 30, 2013
I did not expect to find a KOA that was as nice as this. When I have been to other camps they were on the main highways an we had a trailer so it was just basic hook ups and a flat concrete slab. Santa Margarita was more unique and having a clean well sorted cabin that even had wi fi was a treat. I am a basics kind of guy who prefers memories over luxury. Good camp!
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Wonderful place and great staff. Lots to do.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Dirt roads not good for motorcycles. Had to climb small hill to get to bathroom/ showers. Spiders and bugs in rented cabin. Nice friendly staff otherwise.
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
The staff (especially Sharie) made us feel very welcome. The camp was clean and comfortable. The Saturday night BBQ was a disappointment but overall we had a great time.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 18, 2013
Did not feel welcome, staff seemed busy with other things. Cabin 11 was smelly. Had to keep windows & door open long time. Restrooms very old and Not clean at all. Way to restroom far up a hill and long stairs. Many children in this place, therefore very noisy. Had booked (and paid) two nights but escaped quickly after the first. At checkout were not asked if we enjoyed. Can't recommend this pl
Jul 18, 2013
The cabin we stayed in was fantastic. All our kids had a great time. Pool temperature was a little cold even though it was a hot day. Everyone was shivering.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Cabins were very clean, your staff is one of the best, we include everyone who works at Santa Margarita KOA
Jul 15, 2013
The staff was very accommodating. We had a larger group and when we wanted to have a larger BBQ gathering, the staff provided a large BBQ and several picnic tables for the occasion. The cabin we stayed in was clean and perfect for our family of four. Will certainly return. Thanks you!
Jul 15, 2013
I'm one of the Cota's from the Cota reunion. July 11/14. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the park and all it's amenities. The only drawback was I think you need more publid bathrooms. It was a long walk... Thanks for everything.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.