Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Jan 14, 2014
Everything was wonderful! The only reason I could not give 4 stars was the area around the picnic table had a lot of dog poo around it. someone was not cleaning up after their pet. The day we left a bag of dog poo was left on a rock by our car. Very disappointing that people are so inconsiderate. Camp site should have been checked before we arrived so at least we did not arrive to dog poo.
Jan 14, 2014
It was a great bday weekend for my husbands 70th. Love the lay out of the place. We will definitely be back. Thanks. The beattie's in cabin 16
Jan 14, 2014
beautiful scenery, warm, clean cabin
Jan 09, 2014
I absolutely loved it. The cabins are great. So much wildlife! One star missing only because the whole lot is hills and hard with small child and walks/bikes. Definitely going again
Jan 06, 2014
Cabin was clean with heater (better bed). It was very quiet as a campground is 8 miles away from 101. We slept & eat well at this place. Restroom & Play area needs upgrade and cleaning. It is very dusty and need proper landscaping. Bring your drinking water. Pool was very clean, but you can't use in winter time.
Jan 05, 2014
Santa Margarita KOA has been our family vacation spot for over 25 years. I instantly relax and feel at home each and every visit.
Jan 05, 2014
The cabin was clean and comfortable, we enjoyed the fire ring and the meteor shower at 4 am was worth getting up in the cold. Thanks
Jan 02, 2014
We stayed in the little cabins. Theyre cute and perfect for sleeping. My kids spent most of the time on the jumping pillow and had a blast. We will definetely be coming back in the summer to use the pool and to watch movies on the cool hay bale theatre. Great place!!
Jan 01, 2014
Dec 30, 2013
Staff was very welcoming and attentive to any/every need. Staff were pleasant and the grounds were very well kept. I will be returning very soon!
Dec 17, 2013
Very friendly staff. The Cabin was great!
Dec 15, 2013
Rented a deluxe cabin with kitchenette and shower. There was no heat and it was freezing cold. After some wait, they upgraded me to a bigger deluxe cabin with heatat no extra cost. This is my home away from home, but I'm becoming a bit disillusioned with management. The store should have been open until 5 pm for check in. It was closed when I got there at 4:50. Granted, this was not peak season.
Dec 11, 2013
Dec 07, 2013
Dec 03, 2013
We have been spending Thanksgiving weekend in the Santa Margarita KOA for at least 6 years! We LOVE it! Our numbers go up and down each year, this year we had 20 family and friends! Looking forward to many more years camping here :-)
Dec 03, 2013
Nov 30, 2013
We had a very good time. Kabin was comfortable. Kampgrounds and bathrooms clean. We will most likely return there.
Nov 26, 2013
Our family had a wonderful time. We wanted to extend our time but unfortunately we couldn't. We look forward to staying at the KOA again!
Nov 24, 2013
Good management,nice people,nice cabin with beautiful view.nice play area for kids
Nov 20, 2013
Definitely loved it! Went during November it was cold but we love camping during any season!!! Would recommend this KOA to my friends & family!
Nov 15, 2013
We visited in the first month of November and the camp was quiet and very clean. All the amenities were available (except the pool) and the staff was friendly. our cabin was clean, well kept and all the furnishings were immaculate. Will certainly visit this camp again in the near future.
Nov 13, 2013
Nov 13, 2013
Super nice people. Been there many times and they are making things even better.
Nov 07, 2013
Two friends and I stayed three days in one of the deluxe cabins. After working out a few kinks, everything went smoothly and we had a great time. The people who run this KOA were accommodating to our needs. The location is ideal for central coast wine tasting, hot springs, and restaurants from Avila Beach to Paso Robles.
Oct 31, 2013
too expensive,no value for what we paid
Oct 29, 2013
Very friendly staff, clean cabins and bathrooms. Provided us with a BBQ grill that helped us eat like kings . I'll definitely be returning!
Oct 19, 2013
We have stayed there 3 years in a row and each time has been a memorable time.
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 08, 2013
Hospitality of the camp hosts was great. First time here, but already planning another visit.
Oct 01, 2013
I rented a cabin that sleeps 8, there were 7 adults in my party. We were comfortable and managed well with only 1 bathroom. Our cabin was clean, well kept, with comfortable beds. Staff is friendly and the campgrounds are very clean. My group will certainly be back again. Great location if attending Sunset Magazine Savor the Central Coast at Santa Margarita Ranch every October.
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 24, 2013
Pretty awesome quit place to spend the time with family. All crew memebers r very helpfull and friendly.
Sep 16, 2013
Very pleasant and helpful staff. Nice location to come back to after day trips. Clean facilities.
Sep 16, 2013
I thank for the staff's kindness and their help for staying.
Sep 16, 2013
The campground had a number of fun activities for families. My family really enjoyed the cabin. The Cabin and the restrooms were clean. Check in and out was easy. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Sep 14, 2013
So Much Fun! Labor Day weekend had so many activities, we felt like we were in a family camp movie. Stayed in a log cabin and loved it. The staff was fantastic. Everything we needed was right there. Check out the video on the KOA website with Dylan and his crew... you will see what I mean! Thanks to all. See you soon!
Sep 10, 2013
Hidden gem. Nice and secluded with lots of amenities. Only downside is having to pay extra for the pool.
Sep 10, 2013
Great place, nice nice campground, if you can put up with the many flys. Bring a screened in room!
Sep 04, 2013
We have been here before. We love the combo of nature, pool, giant trampoline and Pismo beach within a 1/2 hour drive. We were positively surprised about the special activities on Labor Day weekend and took advantage of a few. The only reason we are not recommending you to everybody is that we live in the SF Bay Area, and the drive is just long for a short weekend trip.
Sep 03, 2013
Did not enjoy the stay.Only plus was proximity to San luis Obispo, Pismo Beach. Negative reasons; 8 miles off Highway 101,Santa Margarita Lake,almost dried up, Koa facility roads,all dirt,dusty, Deluxe Cabin,too small for six, front door knob won't lock, Space AC doesn't cool cabin, compressor won't kick in. No safety cones or reflectors on steep side of the koa roads, accident waiting to happen.
Sep 01, 2013
Eventhough we were just passing through, it was a great spot to stay at. Also, thanks for having a separate switch for your ceiling fan and a ceiling light. That has been an issue at other KOA sites.
Aug 31, 2013
We enjoyed our stay in one of your cabins. We explored the tent sites on our way out and will probably stay in our tent next time. I felt that the cabin prices were a little to close to the price of a cheap motel to be a bargin and there were tent sites still available at the nearby park. I wonder if pricing the cabins at 50 a night and the tent sites at 25 might help occupancy.
Aug 29, 2013
Noisey with brown drinking water and dogs in the restrooms.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our water has a high iron content but is safe to drink even if it is not appealing and it can stain your clothes. I'm sorry you found a dog in the restroom. A camper ignored the "No Pets in Building" sign on the door. We don't get many noise complaints. Did you let us know about noisy neighbors?
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
I can't say enough about the staff. They really are great and so very friendly. I never felt like just a customer. I felt like part of a large happy family. The cabin we stayed in was spotless and well equipped. The next time we visit? We know now that all we need is clothes and food pretty much. Thanks going out to all of our new KOA family members. You made out stay fantastic.
Aug 26, 2013
Loved the staff. Very nice and helpful. My kids loved the Bounce pillow and the hay ride!!! Cabins with no bathroom were cute. The porch swing was my favorite. Beds could have used a little more padding. I recommend that you take a water hose lots of dirt & dust. It was fun and my family will be returning!!!
Aug 25, 2013
Great camp Its a little disappointing you are not allowed to swim in the lake but the camp had a nice pool and the staff was super friendly and fun the cabin was simple and great the hay bale theater and concert were great also i will be back again
Aug 25, 2013
Dusty, bug infested, ants all around our cabin, bathrooms were dirty. Shower was tiny, unless you are a hobbit. Run, don't walk, far, far away from this KOA!!!!!!!!!!
Aug 24, 2013
Cozy enough they make you feel like family. Can't wait to go back next summer!

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.