Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Cabin Reviews

Nov 26, 2013
Our family had a wonderful time. We wanted to extend our time but unfortunately we couldn't. We look forward to staying at the KOA again!
Nov 24, 2013
Good management,nice people,nice cabin with beautiful view.nice play area for kids
Nov 20, 2013
Definitely loved it! Went during November it was cold but we love camping during any season!!! Would recommend this KOA to my friends & family!
Nov 15, 2013
We visited in the first month of November and the camp was quiet and very clean. All the amenities were available (except the pool) and the staff was friendly. our cabin was clean, well kept and all the furnishings were immaculate. Will certainly visit this camp again in the near future.
Nov 13, 2013
Nov 13, 2013
Super nice people. Been there many times and they are making things even better.
Nov 07, 2013
Two friends and I stayed three days in one of the deluxe cabins. After working out a few kinks, everything went smoothly and we had a great time. The people who run this KOA were accommodating to our needs. The location is ideal for central coast wine tasting, hot springs, and restaurants from Avila Beach to Paso Robles.
Oct 31, 2013
too expensive,no value for what we paid
Oct 29, 2013
Very friendly staff, clean cabins and bathrooms. Provided us with a BBQ grill that helped us eat like kings . I'll definitely be returning!
Oct 19, 2013
We have stayed there 3 years in a row and each time has been a memorable time.
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 08, 2013
Hospitality of the camp hosts was great. First time here, but already planning another visit.
Oct 01, 2013
I rented a cabin that sleeps 8, there were 7 adults in my party. We were comfortable and managed well with only 1 bathroom. Our cabin was clean, well kept, with comfortable beds. Staff is friendly and the campgrounds are very clean. My group will certainly be back again. Great location if attending Sunset Magazine Savor the Central Coast at Santa Margarita Ranch every October.
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 24, 2013
Pretty awesome quit place to spend the time with family. All crew memebers r very helpfull and friendly.
Sep 16, 2013
Very pleasant and helpful staff. Nice location to come back to after day trips. Clean facilities.
Sep 16, 2013
I thank for the staff's kindness and their help for staying.
Sep 16, 2013
The campground had a number of fun activities for families. My family really enjoyed the cabin. The Cabin and the restrooms were clean. Check in and out was easy. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Sep 14, 2013
So Much Fun! Labor Day weekend had so many activities, we felt like we were in a family camp movie. Stayed in a log cabin and loved it. The staff was fantastic. Everything we needed was right there. Check out the video on the KOA website with Dylan and his crew... you will see what I mean! Thanks to all. See you soon!
Sep 10, 2013
Hidden gem. Nice and secluded with lots of amenities. Only downside is having to pay extra for the pool.
Sep 10, 2013
Great place, nice nice campground, if you can put up with the many flys. Bring a screened in room!
Sep 04, 2013
We have been here before. We love the combo of nature, pool, giant trampoline and Pismo beach within a 1/2 hour drive. We were positively surprised about the special activities on Labor Day weekend and took advantage of a few. The only reason we are not recommending you to everybody is that we live in the SF Bay Area, and the drive is just long for a short weekend trip.
Sep 03, 2013
Did not enjoy the stay.Only plus was proximity to San luis Obispo, Pismo Beach. Negative reasons; 8 miles off Highway 101,Santa Margarita Lake,almost dried up, Koa facility roads,all dirt,dusty, Deluxe Cabin,too small for six, front door knob won't lock, Space AC doesn't cool cabin, compressor won't kick in. No safety cones or reflectors on steep side of the koa roads, accident waiting to happen.
Sep 01, 2013
Eventhough we were just passing through, it was a great spot to stay at. Also, thanks for having a separate switch for your ceiling fan and a ceiling light. That has been an issue at other KOA sites.
Aug 31, 2013
We enjoyed our stay in one of your cabins. We explored the tent sites on our way out and will probably stay in our tent next time. I felt that the cabin prices were a little to close to the price of a cheap motel to be a bargin and there were tent sites still available at the nearby park. I wonder if pricing the cabins at 50 a night and the tent sites at 25 might help occupancy.
Aug 29, 2013
Noisey with brown drinking water and dogs in the restrooms.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our water has a high iron content but is safe to drink even if it is not appealing and it can stain your clothes. I'm sorry you found a dog in the restroom. A camper ignored the "No Pets in Building" sign on the door. We don't get many noise complaints. Did you let us know about noisy neighbors?
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
I can't say enough about the staff. They really are great and so very friendly. I never felt like just a customer. I felt like part of a large happy family. The cabin we stayed in was spotless and well equipped. The next time we visit? We know now that all we need is clothes and food pretty much. Thanks going out to all of our new KOA family members. You made out stay fantastic.
Aug 26, 2013
Loved the staff. Very nice and helpful. My kids loved the Bounce pillow and the hay ride!!! Cabins with no bathroom were cute. The porch swing was my favorite. Beds could have used a little more padding. I recommend that you take a water hose lots of dirt & dust. It was fun and my family will be returning!!!
Aug 25, 2013
Great camp Its a little disappointing you are not allowed to swim in the lake but the camp had a nice pool and the staff was super friendly and fun the cabin was simple and great the hay bale theater and concert were great also i will be back again
Aug 25, 2013
Dusty, bug infested, ants all around our cabin, bathrooms were dirty. Shower was tiny, unless you are a hobbit. Run, don't walk, far, far away from this KOA!!!!!!!!!!
Aug 24, 2013
Cozy enough they make you feel like family. Can't wait to go back next summer!
Aug 23, 2013
We stayed in a cabin on the hill that sleeps six. There were 4 of us, and I think an additional 2 would have been 2 much. We stayed during the a very dry time of year so everything is brown, but the views from on top of the hill are amazing. The staff is very nice, and the grounds are well kept. Downside is that the mattress in the cabin are uncomfortable so be sure to bring a cushion mat.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff, tons of camp activities, clean one-room cabins and luxury cabins, fun activities for kids. Cons: hot weather in August, hilly terrain which made it hard to visit my family members staying in other cabins up the hill.
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Great campground! Short staffed, staff had to do multiple jobs so not as available. The bathrooms flooded every time someone took a shower and they were older and not so clean. We really liked the party yurt.
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
Clean and comfortable kamping kabin. SUPER friendly staff, tons of activities. Fire rings, cheap bundles of wood, well stocked store. They have it all.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Nice cabin in a shaded site. Small but cute.
Aug 12, 2013
Hi my son & I went under the reser. of Ms Jenny Kids wantd 2 stay 2gether in cabin. Our first X staying @ KOA campgrd & also 1st X cabin campg. Usually camp w/cubscouts. 4 1st X on our own pretty cool. We had a stressless stay. I would consider comg bck to site again. Only Negs.-sm flies tht were always flyg around our faces & Extra charge 4 extra kid but, no additional accommodations provided.
Aug 12, 2013
OUR CABIN WAS CLEAN AND COZY. GREAT LISTENING TO THE MUSIC THAT FLOATED UP TO OUR CAMPSITE FROM THE HAYBALE THEATRE. . THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THAT GENEROUS AND DELICIOUS TRI-TIP BBQ DINNER. SEE YA SOON
Aug 12, 2013
Unexpectedly this was the best vacation spot of the entire journey. The employees were all great and friendly.
Aug 11, 2013
Cozy log cabin! Good, clean bathrooms with warm water. Nice relaxing place. Recommend to bring bug repellent/candles. Staff helpful.
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 10, 2013
Aug 09, 2013
This is a GREAT KOA. We've stayed in a bunch of KOA's, and this one ranks at the top. The owners are wonderful people who are doing an awesome job. In one weekend, we met a survivalist, saw Saturn and Venus through a telescope, had a hilarious water balloon fight, saw an outdoor movie, danced to live music and ate some delicious BBQ! Their staff is happy and doing a great job.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.