Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618


4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Yurt

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Apr 21, 2015
Was so beautiful and the staff was amazing thank u for a great adventure
Apr 21, 2015
Its beautiful here. Always clean, quiet and the Staff is very friendly and helpful.My family,friends and myself will come back again and again.
Apr 20, 2015
It was amazing just as it was last year! Great staff all the way around☺️. I will be returning next year.
Apr 18, 2015
Closed store early. Staff was friendly. Topography of campground was really fun. Guests were thoughtfully spread out for added privacy. Minimal rec center activities but farm animals and frisbee golf made up for that. We wished the frisbee golf course was a little better maintained, lots of junk in the way and grass not trimmed making it difficult at times to find the disc. Ask for map!
Apr 15, 2015
Well, if I have to nitpick I'd have to say the horseshoe pit is too close to campsite #42. Some clumsy kid nearly drilled a horseshoe into the passenger window of my wife's minivan. Otherwise we have no complaints. We love Santa Margarita KOA- beautiful setting, friendly staff- and will likely return some time.
Apr 15, 2015
The camp site was very rustic. The roads up to some of the camp sites were a little scary to drive on. After staying at previous koa's I was a little surprised. Other koa's are very developed and have planned activities for the kids, bike rentals, etc. this camp site only has a Jumping pillow and a play set and a pool. The pool was closed. We stayed in a deluxe cabin which was very nice.


Santa Margarita KOA's Summer Activities begin on Memorial Day Weekend and our pool opens May 1st. Yes, we are a dark-sky, rustic, rural campground and not a paved-parking-lot style. Some of our lodges are brand new and we are still developing the site amenities. Please visit us again. Thank you.
Apr 14, 2015
After multiple stays here, this weekend was the absolute best!
Apr 13, 2015
Had great time with my kids and my dog! One mistake I made was I didn't read the directions on the website and I relied on my navigation took the winding road 58. trust me DO NOT take this road, we barely made there without throwing up.
Apr 13, 2015
let me start off with a MAJOR issue we have that has not be resolved. We were incorrectly billed for an extra night. We have yet to hear back on resolving of the issue. The campground was ok, cabin was small but nice with all appliances working. however Wifi did not work at all. with the OVERbilling issue unresolved I'm not likely to recommend this site. I would appreciate a response to my e-mail.


According to your ledger, we corrected our billing error the very next day. Unfortunately, credit card companies take at least 14 days to issue a credit. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Please let us know if your refund hasn't been received. Thank you for visiting Santa Margarita KOA.
Apr 11, 2015
My wife and i have stayed here many times we always love this campground even a really bad rain didnt dampen our stay we will be back again highly recommend staying here
Apr 07, 2015
I LikeThis CampGround Very Much,Plan On Coming Back.
Apr 06, 2015
We had a very nice time the park was beautiful And camp host were awesomewere awesome
Apr 03, 2015
Apr 02, 2015
We stayed in the Sunset cabin. It was adorable and the perfect size for our family of 5. We will definitely be back next year! Medeiros Family.
Apr 01, 2015
The campground was nice - lots of trees, playground, pool, and the store! The cabin we stayed in was nicely stocked with dishes. Downside, we heard LOTS of children playing. Note to self to check cabin location for future visits. Also, the inside of the microwave (top) was dirty, and the floor of the cabin could have used a good sweeping.
Mar 30, 2015
Enjoyed our stay! Wish we could haver stayed longer. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our cabin was perfect.
Mar 29, 2015
Super clean campground.
Mar 25, 2015
we stayed at the Deluxe Cabin #3 for 2 nights. Everything is perfect, but what I don't like is that there is no tv, loud noise coming from the heater, and there is cold air coming out of the vent. If you had all those things fixed, I could've gave you 5 stars.


Thank you for your comments about the loud heater and the draft. We will address the issues right away. We look forward to seeing you again.
Mar 02, 2015
great as always
Feb 18, 2015
Very friendly, clean. Didn't appreciate the streetlights in the campground. Great for kids.
Feb 16, 2015
We arrived late and they waited for us which was great! The setting is beautiful and the jumping pillow was a big hit. Good base to explore the Central Coast.
Feb 08, 2015
We love it at the SM KOA, its so beautiful here.Always clean and nice and peaceful.The KOA staff are nice and very helpful.
Feb 04, 2015
Great facilities and friendly service
Jan 26, 2015
It cabin was lovely, the view was gorgeous and the help we had picking a room when we called was absolutely wonderful. The cabin was well insulated and when you turned the heater on it took only 2 or 3 minutes for you to feel the cabin was warm all over. I went there stressed and I left relaxed and ready to get back to work. Thank You guys!
Jan 20, 2015
Clean, friendly and okay...just a bit more rustic than we anticipated. Only 2 bathrooms/showers for the whole campground seemed a bit scant...quite a trek for some in the night. Paths well lit however.


We have three bathhouses with a total of 12 showers & 12 toilets. It sounds like you just found the bathhouse by the store. The other two bathhouses are near the log cabins. The bathhouse icons are larger on our Site Maps for 2015. We look forward to your next visit.
Jan 19, 2015
Jan 12, 2015
Jan 08, 2015
Jan 06, 2015
My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. The cabin was warm and welcoming. The fire pit was a great amenity to go with the view of the stars above. We would definitely visit again with our friends and family. We are actually planning another trip to visit soon. Thank you KOA Santa Margarita for a great weekend.
Jan 05, 2015
buen servicio y vistas hermosas!!
Jan 04, 2015
Dec 31, 2014
Bathroom to cold to take a shower no heat rusty water
Dec 22, 2014
Very quiet, super friendly owners. Store was nicely stocked. Cabin was clean, bathrooms were clean, though a bit outdated. But, it's a campground, so we weren't expecting the Four Seasons. One caveat, if you are looking at the map, you get the false impression that the area is flat and there are direct paths to the playground, bathhouses, etc., this is not the case. There are some hills and stairs
Dec 19, 2014
What a delightful stay in an absolutely beautiful little cabin! We really appreciated the full size stove and refrigerator -- along with a layout that handled many people easily. Nicely decorated -- and spotlessly cleaned. Camp personnel were all topnotch. What a GREAT experience!
Dec 12, 2014
Everything was perfect! Five young women stayed in a Deluxe Cabin and had the perfect birthday party. LOVE the jumping pillow!!
Nov 29, 2014
We had a great time. It would be nice to have a TV and Wi fi signal. business still must go on even while on vacation
Nov 27, 2014
The water isn't good and the fire wood is expensive and the quantity also small
Nov 25, 2014
Nov 13, 2014
Nov 11, 2014
It was very nice, private cabin, nice quite area but still close to nearby attractions. The only thing, the air conditioning unit was full of dirt and dust and when we turned the fan on it blew dirt all over our belongings.
Nov 10, 2014
This was our second stay at the Santa Margarita KOA. We had a wonderful time. We stayed in a hilltop cabin and loved it. Sunset on our porch every night was beautiful. We also really enjoyed Avila Valley Barn. We can't wait to visit this KOA again!
Nov 10, 2014
Very nice clean quiet. Lots of improvement going on making it even better. Friendly staff.
Nov 03, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
Very well maintained cabins. Owners were great to deal with - very helpful, very friendly, very accommodating. Would definitely stay here a heartbeat.
Oct 21, 2014
Oct 14, 2014
It was alright, my cabin was near a very steep drop off (cliff) kind of dangerous when you have a two year old I am not sure why they gave me that spot (my daughter was with me when I checked in) when there was very few people in the campground. Would have been fine if the little one wasn't there.
Oct 13, 2014
The sanitation of the bathrooms/showers, grounds, & cabins were so bad that we complained about the conditions to the staff. Response was at best tepid, we explained that there were unsanitary conditions which needed attention, including either human or animal fecal piles next to the entrance way of the bathrooms and that the they needed cleaning. "We'll look into it." St Margarita KOA = NO!!
Oct 12, 2014
Oct 10, 2014
wifi very poor. cabin needs more plug in's for computers/ laptops. otherwise very good.
Oct 08, 2014

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals