Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Email

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Aug 24, 2016
We had a great time! A perfect place to stay with kids. I was pleasantly surprised by our experience.
Aug 23, 2016
Everything was great the staff was friendly, the cabin was clean and site was nice. But Bathhouse 3 was disgusting. Both restrooms and showers were filthy and needed attention. All in all it was a good time.
Aug 22, 2016
This is our home away from home. Kids love the bouncing pillow and we love the cute cabin with a bathroom and shower. Always clean and well kept. We enjoy this vacation every year!
Aug 21, 2016
The person that told us about the farmer market was the best.My grandkids love it ..
Aug 19, 2016
The cabins were very clean and comfortable. We will definitely be back
Aug 16, 2016
Just a great time here. Staff was wonderful and very helpful. Campsite was very clean. It is a bit dusty but it's only because they are in a drought. I heard they normally do water the paths to keep the dust down. Love the proximity to SLO, Avila and Pismo Beach. Kids (8 year old and 1 year old) had a blast!
Aug 15, 2016
The boys loved the jumping pillow!!!
Aug 12, 2016
Nice place tucked away with fun things to do with the kiddos- wish the jumping pillow had been pumped up and luckily we brought a basketball with is (would be a good idea to keep one in the game room yurt). The trebuchet was awesome fun! Close to San Simeon, SLO and Cambria- Hearst castle, elephant seals and moonstone beach only half hour away! Great home base 💕
Aug 11, 2016
The grounds were nice however I arrived after dark and the agent on duty put me way in the back behind the bathroom. While trying to be helpful in locating me close, as a single traveling woman it was rather scary being out there by myself in thee cabin!!!
Aug 09, 2016
Amazing sightseeing and beautifully well kept cabins! The sleeping accommodations were very comfortable for our family of six. Thanks again to the friendly staff that tried to extend our stay per our requests!!
Aug 08, 2016
Nice and very peaceful stay. Great to meet Karen and learn the history of KOA.Beautiful property!
Aug 08, 2016
With the exception of the jumper being down for repair definitely a beautiful place to stay!!!
Aug 01, 2016
Poor experience. Our cabin needed maintenance and repair. Our toilet chain disconnected with each flush, only 1 of the 2 burners worked and we kept blowing a circuit and losing power when the AC was on high. Aside from that, the gavel ground outside our cabin was very slippery to walk on. We were with a large group of 17 and 7 of the 17 people slipped and fell on the gravel. Dangerous site.
Aug 01, 2016
We had property stolen (our alcove which cost $130+tax). The kitchen's cooktop didn't work properly - we had to use our hand held igniter to get it to work. Once on the burner was at full force, we couldn't adjust the flame. The lake was too low to rent a boat and the pillow jumper was inoperable. I requested a credit back for 1 night's stay and am waiting to hear back.
Aug 01, 2016
Aug 01, 2016
Stay was great only problem was showers were not draining well in bathhouse 3 but they were fixed as soon as notified will be back for sure
Aug 01, 2016
Staff was great and very friendly. Would of rated 5 stars had the pillow jump was available. Other then that we all enjoyed our stay. Will be back in the near future.
Aug 01, 2016
Our family enjoyes the pool,movie and slushies!The staff are very friendly and helpful. Needed: air conditioners on EVERY cabin,more outdoor lighting,bee zappers at EVERY cabin,more electrical plugs in 1 room cabins.
Jul 31, 2016
Great place for a family camping trip . 18 of us.
Jul 31, 2016
We will not be staying here again. Our problem wasn't with the cabin (even though it gets really hot with no air inside and the beds are thin and can feel the wood) but the string that cut our vacation short was with the KOA and employees. Will not go into details as it was already worked out with staff. We checked out a day early and was refunded. But I don't recommend this KOA at all!
Jul 30, 2016
I give one star for the pool since it was 113 D the air-conditioner in our cabin didn't work. There was nothing do, dead grass and dying oak trees.e has the deluxe cabin and the pullout couch was so horrible my 5yrold told me it hurt to sit on. Not a chance someone would sleep on it. We refused to stay the second night and headed home instead. Also the bounce thing was broken too. Hot!!!!!
Jul 28, 2016
Jul 22, 2016
We were extremely satisfied with our stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. The cabins and grounds were clean and maintained daily. Our grandkids had a great time swimming at the pool.
Jul 21, 2016
Staff was very friendly the showers and cabins were very very clean we had a great trip!!!
Jul 18, 2016
The canpground is close to nature but has steep roads and the car sometimes get stuck. There is a lot of suspended dirt. Need to fix the internal roads to make this place more enjoyable.
Jul 18, 2016
Brand new but expensive delux cabins. Site is scenic but not for families with children as they are located mountaineer area. There is always a risk if slip and fall of the edge. Roads are not paved well for cars to go safely.
Jul 18, 2016
A great place to stay, far exceeded my expectations. A nice suprise.
Jul 17, 2016
We absolutely love it here. This is our 2nd year coming. As long as there is water in the lake, we will definitely be back every year.
Jul 14, 2016
This was our first KOA overnight camping experience and I can't wait to plan our next! As a single parent- I wanted lots of activities for the kids and options for me in case my girl scout skills were not up to snuff. My son is 9 and wanted rustic camping all the way. My daughter is 4 and wanted to stay home. KOA is the way to go to keep everyone happy!
Jul 14, 2016
We were only planning to stay a few days but now keep putting off leaving because this campground is the best. The staff people here have been welcoming and do everything they can to enhance the campers' experience. This is hands down the best campground we've ever been to and highly recommend it.
Jul 13, 2016
Amenities are great. Lots of fun activities for the entire family and good service
Jul 12, 2016
Great location. Friendly staff. We meet our friends here every year and will continue do so. We have stayed in many KOAs and have found this one to be the best.
Jul 12, 2016
Friendly and accommodatng staff. Very few RV's. This campground is in the woods and has nice shady and private spots for tents and cabins if you book in advance.
Jul 10, 2016
We spent a good time. just a lot of bees
Jul 09, 2016
This koa is amazing. The host go out of their way to help you. Thank you, we will come again!
Jul 06, 2016
BEST EXPERIENCE, AMAZING CAMP HOSTS, SO MANY ACTIVITIES, SO CLEAN, STAFF SO RESPONSIVE AND SO NICE. KAREN AND HER HUSBAND RUN A GREAT FACILITY! SO HAPPY!
Jul 06, 2016
I love this place and the people who work there are great.
Jul 06, 2016
It was awesome! Beautiful, well equipped, lots to do, and family and pet friendly. We will definitely stay again!
Jul 05, 2016
The owner and personnel of this KOA campground are very hospitable and friendly. The campsites are very nice, clean, and not too close/crowded to each other for campers' privacy. Just add more restrooms and showers for a more happy campers.
Jul 05, 2016
Jul 05, 2016
We enjoyed our visit. Staff is friendly and responsive. My daughter enjoyed the jumping pillow, the water balloon volleyball and I enjoyed shopping at the LuLaRoe pop up. Thank you for a nice weekend!
Jul 04, 2016
It was very fun. The cabin and the public restroom are very clean. We had a great time staying there and all staff are very friendly. We will definitely be back!
Jul 03, 2016
The cabin was wonderfu. The only two problems we had was that the sofa bed air mattress had a hole in it. Before departing we swept cabin and there was dog feces in corner in one of the bedrooms.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry to hear there was dog poop in your cabin and that housekeeping missed it. Also, dogs are not allowed in the newest Deluxe Cabins. I'll look at the previous reservation. I have ordered a new foam mattress for the sofa. The new air mattresses were a BIG disappointment.
Jul 02, 2016
Awesome campsite. The customer service was excellent. Scott checked us in, we drove to the jumping pillow to have a look around, went back to the cabin and the wood I ordered was already delivered. Michele was outgoing and friendly and continued the outstanding service throughout our stay. Our cabin was in great shape and the pool was clean and well maintained. We will definitely be returning.
Jul 01, 2016
While the weather was unusually hot, the friendly service and lovely campground more than made up for it. I love the central location to so many things - lake, mountains, & ocean all within easy driving distance.
Jun 29, 2016
fine amenities. helpful staff. everything I needed and expected.
Jun 27, 2016
Jun 27, 2016
This place is amazing, the staff is very friendly, the castellanos family reunion would no be the same if we didn't have it here!
Jun 21, 2016
The people here are great (super helpful) and it was beautiful. Very family oriented. We stayed in the deluxe cabin and they were worth every penny. Only downfall, was my cell service wasn't great, but that is probably my carrier.
Jun 21, 2016
The cabin was set up with surround sound, DVD player, and a receiver but there was no TV. The pool area gets very croweded on weekends from the community using it and leaves little room for campers
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals