Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618


4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations, Yurt

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Nov 13, 2015
Cabins are very, very small and not good for 4 adults.
Nov 11, 2015
Wonderful. Cabins are clean and warm and dry it. We got to see the stars through a telescope because the astronomy club is their monthly. Be careful what campsite you get because some of them require a lot of up-and-down walking
Nov 02, 2015
Stayed in a cabin. High price for no towels, bed linnen or pillows
Oct 26, 2015
The rustic cabin was very nice and cozy. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The kids had a great time on the bounce pillow.
Oct 13, 2015
What a fantastic crew. Very Professional and accommodating to our crew. It made our Family Party the best ever.
Oct 10, 2015
Oct 06, 2015
Very nice location and very well maintained campsite. We felt almost at home.
Oct 05, 2015
Cabin was awesome and they allowed our four mutts which was a huge selling factor for us. Friendly staff and well stocked store. Clean campground, but minus one star for our cabin which I had to clean sinks, countertops and table plus any dish or utensil we used before we used it.
Oct 05, 2015
This KOA is awesome I enjoy the nice guy who runs the place. He is always happy and very friendly. I have been here 3 weekends in a row now and I have not had a issue yet they are very accommodating. Which is very nice. Most KOA's are not.
Oct 05, 2015
Wifi is important to me and is hit-and-miss at all locations but non-existent at this one. The lodgings were quite nice though--Looks like it was just built. Nothing like "camping" with a kitchen and AC. I had a very quiet, relaxing weekend just as the doctor ordered.
Oct 04, 2015
The bed in the cabin is all springs and horribly uncomfortable. The pull out couch/bed is worse. The dishes were greasy and dirty and the toilet kept running. Other than that it was great. Everyone that works there is real friendly and helpful. The cabins just need a little updating, especially for the price you pay.
Sep 28, 2015
toilet ran constantly - had to continually jiggle handle. coffee pot dirty w/old grounds from former visitor. old, used water bottle left in frig from former visitor. no outdoor trash bin available to dump my trash. both bathroom and kitchen sink needed new washers - the water sprayed all over the place except in the basin. when I pay hotel prices for a "luxury" cabin, that's what I expect.
Sep 28, 2015
This was the best day we've ever had everything about this campground was amazing the people who work here made it better!! We will definitely be back we can't wait to come back thank you so much for making it a wonderful wonderful weekend ! :). :)
Sep 28, 2015
Very quiet with clean restrooms and friendly staff.
Sep 21, 2015
We enjoyed the mountain scenery from our Kabin #84 for two nights. We will be back!
Sep 21, 2015
I really liked the cabin but as far as the extra bathrooms on the grounds I didn't like having coed & only 1 Also the hornets were in the cabin & didn't expect to see all the big tarantulas everywhere
Sep 14, 2015
Wonderful Place, very friendly, the stuff came to our car to fill up air in our tires when we asked for help
Sep 14, 2015
Very quiet and peaceful!
Sep 14, 2015
Enjoyable and relaxing.
Sep 14, 2015
Nice park. We stayed in a cabin. It was as advertised. We only slept at the park as we had business in San Luis Obispo all weekend. It was a bit noisy on Friday night but perfectly quiet on Saturday night.
Sep 08, 2015
Another great Labor Day weekend in Santa Margarita. Thank you!
Sep 08, 2015
The staff at the registration is great. But the facility of the campsite is not at all. We have a group of total 16 people staying at the site. We made reservations with 1 cabin and 2 campsite. The campsite we assigned were horrible, not much flat ground for parking and cooking place together. Also the campfire we set up kept blowing the smoke back to our table. Shower in the cabin was cold.
Sep 07, 2015
Extremely helpful and friendly staff!
Sep 07, 2015
Great hosts! Even gave a free meal on arrival. Way cool!
Sep 01, 2015
This KOA is a bit old but so beautiful and quiet. Swimming pool wonderful... Everything very clean, staff nice.
Aug 31, 2015
Aug 31, 2015
Aug 27, 2015
Aug 20, 2015
We had the most amazing time at KOA Santa Margarita! Everything was what we expected. Loved it! Super friendly staffs!
Aug 20, 2015
We only stayed one night but had a fabulous time. The owners are amazingly friendly and helpful even to the point of keeping the pool open a few minutes longer for our late-comer family members. I loved the hay ride and the star gazing. One of the most AMAZING KOA sites I've ever been to.
Aug 19, 2015
Super location. Loved waking up o the beautiful landscape.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Awesome stay!!!! Everyone was friendly, very nice, very clean! Made me and my girlfriend a great anniversary to remember! Will be coming back here again to book something. Thank you again
Aug 17, 2015
We loved this site! Our only regret is that we didn't have more time to explore the campground and participate in the activities they offered.
Aug 17, 2015
Our cabin was clean
Aug 16, 2015
Great, this koa is NOT near a road. Like the silence. Unfortunately no grocery in neighoorhood and no possibility for doing the dishes. Lots of cabins!
Aug 15, 2015
Staff was very nice. Cabins were nice and very clean.
Aug 14, 2015
Beautiful location. Great facilities. Large site, but quiet.
Aug 13, 2015
We all had a great time during our first stay at a KOA! Our Deluxe Cabin was clean and the staff were all friendly and helpful. Even the guys at the marina were awesome! We stayed early to mid-August and during the week -- it felt like we had the grounds to ourselves! Had it been full, I don't think we would have enjoyed it as much. Con: Dust, but they tell you to expect that.
Aug 11, 2015
Nice quiet location. The kids feel there should be more activities. Bummer that the jumping pillow was down and playground closed. Maybe some kind of credit for these closures, since we book with these in mind.
Aug 11, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Overall it was a good stay. The kids enjoyed the activities saturday but with the pillow broke, the swing set unusable, the lake almost dried up, and most of the roads unpaved, there wasnt much else for them to do. Loved that you could either camp near someone or far with different camp style options and hiking nearby was great. It was hilly though and my legs r sore now.
Aug 08, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
The playground and the jumping pillow were under construction during our stay, but the website didn't mention anything about it. Huge disappointment since we have two kids and they choose this campground for the amenities they saw on the website. Disc golf course was fenced in and had goats in it. Only activity our kids can do was the horse shoe toss. Pls disclose the issue on the website.
Aug 07, 2015
A nice slice of paradise in rolling hills. We came in late but had no problem finding our cabin,it was clean good size close to the bathrooms. Quiet throughout the night we slept like we where dead. Thanksgiving dinner-three wild turkey's -ran pass our cabin gave our doxie a fun experience in the morning. Come on by and give theses good people a look,am sure you will enjoy your time here.
Aug 05, 2015
The camp grounds are very clean. The staff always available and helpful. The family love the peaceful and spacious campgrounds. The deluxe cabin was amazing. The amenities where all great. The vent and air conditioner keep the room nice and comfortable. Having separate slideimg door for bunk room added another plus to the room. Santa Margarita Lake was walking distance.
Aug 03, 2015
Great time. Just wished the bouncer and playground was up as I got the yurt right next to it for that reason besides that everything was great. Staff is amazing. Will be making it a yearly trip from now on.
Aug 03, 2015
I highly recommend staying in one of the deluxe cabins! We were completely comfortable with 2 adults, 2 children and a dog. Pros: air cond, full kitchen, 2 t.v's, fire ring, full bath. Best of both worlds- camping and hotel-ing. Cons: disappointed on the lack of cleanliness inside when we first arrived. Kids looked forward to the jumping pillow and playground- both were not in operation.
Jul 30, 2015
Great campground! The lake was dry because of the drought but the campground was clean, and quiet, and the owners were very nice. We will come back again

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals