Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

Cabin Reviews

Aug 20, 2014
Cute cabin, met other nice guests, and the staff was so helpful and friendly. Thanks for the fun time. Mike and Monica Iacovazzi from San Jose, California
Aug 16, 2014
Great, wonderful, relaxing, superclean cabin #35, friendly helpful staff, & love your KOA videos. Girls can camp w/o guys. You do need to fix the water drainage system in the bathrooms. The shower runoff floods the bathroom #3 stalls, so you're wading through water.
Aug 16, 2014
bathrooms too far from our cabin, not a lot to do close by
Aug 11, 2014
Aug 10, 2014
Cabin was clean, and beds comfortable.
Aug 07, 2014
Enjoyed my stay. Just did not have time to fully enjoy your camp. Thanks
Aug 05, 2014
Excellent customer service. Cabin was ready and clean.
Aug 05, 2014
I loved it. Beautiful campground. The staff is exceedingly helpful and friendly.
Aug 02, 2014
The overall stay was great. The cabin was amazing as well as the views. The playground and and jump pillow need to be cleaned and updated. I would stay there again.
Aug 02, 2014
Great! Thx!
Aug 01, 2014
Jul 29, 2014
We had cabins 84 and 85 - perfect for us and family. We enjoyed the space between the two cabins for games and camp fires.
Jul 29, 2014
Everyone we met was very friendly and helpful. The campground is very spread out so you really feel like you are on your own. It was really peaceful and quiet. We stayed in a cabin and it was very clean and cute. The only reason we did not give it 5 stars was because the "play area" for kids was not like other KOA's we stay at; it was rundown and dirty.
Jul 29, 2014
We have been coming here for years now and we love it..we got to stay in one of the new cabins and loved every bit of it...the water balloon volleyball was fun and the pool is always a hit....I would like to see a drain put in where the water collects so many people slip in that one area it's really scary to watch....
Jul 28, 2014
Camp grounds are gorgeous & staff is extremely helpful/professional. We enjoyed the family-type feel atmosphere. After staying in a cabin-we are spoiled- all the perks of time saving accommodations that freed us up to enjoy the outdoors. Lovely, lovely place! Also, one of the most affordable KOA's around.
Jul 28, 2014
Jul 27, 2014
We enjoyed the cabin, pool and seeing the stars at night!
Jul 27, 2014
Stayed in a kabin. Price was high, thought it would be top notch. Bathrooms were poorly maintained, filthy, and smelly. Not up to KOA standards. Disappointed.
Jul 24, 2014
My family had a great time. No reception the whole time but was for the best.;) the only obstacle we ran into was keeping track of when the store was open. Seemed closed most of the time . While we brought most of our items, we ran out of lighter fluid at some point and my kids wanted a little treat in mid day. Would have been helpful for store to be open during hours listed.
Jul 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your incredible hospitality--from the very beginning of making the reservations for our family reunion, to simply helping us bake our pasta dish, the staff, particularly Scott, and owners Karen and Marty, cold not have been more welcoming, efficent, and accommdating. It made our family reunion as heavenly as is the Santa Margarita Lake area itself! Everyone was thrilled!
Jul 22, 2014
Jul 21, 2014
Fairly nice. Office staff very friendly and helpful, especially Scott. I think it would be safer if there were some railings around some of the embankments. Some had bad drops and no lighting around those areas to see the edges.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Nice campgrounds and staff. Thank your for the breakfast recommendation at the Southern Station!
Jul 20, 2014
Our stay at KOA was awesome!! The staff has done an awesome job to make us feel at home. We will continue to stay for the duration of our project at BlackMountain. Thanks BMY Crew!!!!!
Jul 19, 2014
Wonderful visit. Kids love the bouncy pillow and the pool. A great alternative to high-priced hotels in SLO.
Jul 19, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay. The atmosphere of this KOA was nice. Only shortcomings: Not possible to call here and talk live same day (in mid July). TP & paper towels in bathrooms ran out in the morning. This was our first time at this beautiful location. We enjoyed going to the lake (free if you walk there). Our 1 room Kabin was in great shape (it even had an unexpected refrigerator
Jul 17, 2014
My name is Jim Paul and we stayed 4 nites with the Rochin/ Paul reunion group in a motor home. Owner and employees were very accomadating and helpfull. Wish our phones and computers worked a little better and the young ones would have liked cable for the tv. We stayed in #46 and the sewer odor while sitting outside in tne morning was a bit much with coffee. We had a great time and I thank you. Jim
Jul 17, 2014
It was totally great I loved it.. :~}
Jul 16, 2014
Was told we'd have a large covered deck and the cover wasn't built so it felt like we paid for something we didn't get. Needed the space for our family reunion., but instead the cabin fried in the hot sun. It needed some more stocking of items. But it was new and the beds were very comfortable and the AC was great. Also, the women's bathroom at the pool was disgusting. It's smelled terrible!
Jul 16, 2014
Loved everything about it. Great site. Great family activities. Friendly staff.
Jul 13, 2014
Thanks for you good services
Jul 11, 2014
Jul 10, 2014
Wonderful staff....Allowed us to check in early and directed us to the rec room where I could watch the World Cup Semifinal w/o having to drive into town.
Jul 09, 2014
What a great camping experience! The hosts were quite friendly, accommodations were plentiful and our cabin was clean and cozy. The sites were close together so it wasn't quiet or secluded in our area but other spaces were. Lots of wildlife could be heard at night, such a nice change from a hotel! We'll visit again!
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 27, 2014
Jun 24, 2014
The staff were great. Very helpful. The campground is laid out well and there were many events offered over the weekend. The negative was that there were so many dogs off leash as well as a number of unsupervised children of very young age roaming around. We had a group right next to us overly drunk and openly smoking weed behind their yurt which meant right next to my cabin.
Jun 24, 2014
Very clean bathrooms and cabin. Arrived after hours and left early so didn't see much of camp. There are 24 steps up to the bathroom so it would not be a good location for those with some types of medical issues. Nice staff.
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 19, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
Arrived late ( 10pm) tired and road weary, Scott appeared out of the darkness, asked if we needed help. He made sure we were all good then guided us to our Kabin doorstep. What a God send.. Bathrooms clean, pool clean, hosts and employees awesome. We will be back. Thanks KOA! Love. E
Jun 18, 2014
Jun 18, 2014
We called at the last minute because we were disappointed with the KOA that we had reservations with. Not only did they fit us in but they gave us a deluxe cabin. We have stayed here several times and have always enjoyed it. The staff goes above and beyond to make you feel welcome.
Jun 17, 2014
We enjoyed our stay and loved the view from our cabin.
Jun 17, 2014
We rented two cabins. (#10 & #11) Both were extrememely clean and comfortable. The entire staff was friendly, welcoming and always helpful. We all felt like family. Couldnt have asked for a better group of people, better accomodations or a better time.
Jun 17, 2014
Our stay would have been a lot better had we been in a different spot. With little kids & bring right next to the road it was stressful. People were flying by also in the middle of the night. I did see kabins in spots that would have been so much better for us.
Jun 04, 2014
May 27, 2014
The cabin was FANTASTIC!! Our whole family member were LOVE this place. But!! This KOA is too far from LA with 101 freeway heavy traffic. ^^
May 27, 2014
The campsites were a little close. I like some room and a little privacy when camping.
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.