Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

Cabin Reviews

Aug 27, 2015
good
Aug 20, 2015
We had the most amazing time at KOA Santa Margarita! Everything was what we expected. Loved it! Super friendly staffs!
Aug 20, 2015
We only stayed one night but had a fabulous time. The owners are amazingly friendly and helpful even to the point of keeping the pool open a few minutes longer for our late-comer family members. I loved the hay ride and the star gazing. One of the most AMAZING KOA sites I've ever been to.
Aug 19, 2015
Super location. Loved waking up o the beautiful landscape.
Aug 18, 2015
Aug 18, 2015
Awesome stay!!!! Everyone was friendly, very nice, very clean! Made me and my girlfriend a great anniversary to remember! Will be coming back here again to book something. Thank you again
Aug 17, 2015
We loved this site! Our only regret is that we didn't have more time to explore the campground and participate in the activities they offered.
Aug 17, 2015
Our cabin was clean
Aug 16, 2015
Great, this koa is NOT near a road. Like the silence. Unfortunately no grocery in neighoorhood and no possibility for doing the dishes. Lots of cabins!
Aug 15, 2015
Staff was very nice. Cabins were nice and very clean.
Aug 14, 2015
Beautiful location. Great facilities. Large site, but quiet.
Aug 13, 2015
We all had a great time during our first stay at a KOA! Our Deluxe Cabin was clean and the staff were all friendly and helpful. Even the guys at the marina were awesome! We stayed early to mid-August and during the week -- it felt like we had the grounds to ourselves! Had it been full, I don't think we would have enjoyed it as much. Con: Dust, but they tell you to expect that.
Aug 11, 2015
Nice quiet location. The kids feel there should be more activities. Bummer that the jumping pillow was down and playground closed. Maybe some kind of credit for these closures, since we book with these in mind.
Aug 11, 2015
I REALLY WISHED THE WIFI CONNECTION WAS BETTER, THE CABIN WAS GREAT, I UNDERSTAND SOMEONE HAD SLASHED THE BIG BOUNCE, BUT THEY COULD OF PUT SOMETHING ON THE WEB PAGE ABOUT IT BEING UNDER CONSTRUCTION OTHER THAN THAT IT WAS PEACEFUL AND WE ENJOYED OUR SELVES THANK YOU FOR THE STAY! WE WILL GO BACK!
Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Overall it was a good stay. The kids enjoyed the activities saturday but with the pillow broke, the swing set unusable, the lake almost dried up, and most of the roads unpaved, there wasnt much else for them to do. Loved that you could either camp near someone or far with different camp style options and hiking nearby was great. It was hilly though and my legs r sore now.
Aug 08, 2015
Aug 07, 2015
The playground and the jumping pillow were under construction during our stay, but the website didn't mention anything about it. Huge disappointment since we have two kids and they choose this campground for the amenities they saw on the website. Disc golf course was fenced in and had goats in it. Only activity our kids can do was the horse shoe toss. Pls disclose the issue on the website.
Aug 07, 2015
A nice slice of paradise in rolling hills. We came in late but had no problem finding our cabin,it was clean good size close to the bathrooms. Quiet throughout the night we slept like we where dead. Thanksgiving dinner-three wild turkey's -ran pass our cabin gave our doxie a fun experience in the morning. Come on by and give theses good people a look,am sure you will enjoy your time here.
Aug 05, 2015
The camp grounds are very clean. The staff always available and helpful. The family love the peaceful and spacious campgrounds. The deluxe cabin was amazing. The amenities where all great. The vent and air conditioner keep the room nice and comfortable. Having separate slideimg door for bunk room added another plus to the room. Santa Margarita Lake was walking distance.
Aug 03, 2015
Great time. Just wished the bouncer and playground was up as I got the yurt right next to it for that reason besides that everything was great. Staff is amazing. Will be making it a yearly trip from now on.
Aug 03, 2015
I highly recommend staying in one of the deluxe cabins! We were completely comfortable with 2 adults, 2 children and a dog. Pros: air cond, full kitchen, 2 t.v's, fire ring, full bath. Best of both worlds- camping and hotel-ing. Cons: disappointed on the lack of cleanliness inside when we first arrived. Kids looked forward to the jumping pillow and playground- both were not in operation.
Jul 30, 2015
Great campground! The lake was dry because of the drought but the campground was clean, and quiet, and the owners were very nice. We will come back again
Jul 29, 2015
We LOVED this KOA, it was our first KOA experience. We were only disappointed that the jumping pillow wasn't working.
Jul 28, 2015
This was our first visit to small cabin rental. We thought bed linen and towels were provided like motels, so had to adjust. We did enjoy the experience. THANKS!
Jul 27, 2015
Outstanding!! Had everything we needed anything we didn't have was available at the store. Definetely would recommend to friends and family. Price weren't to high at the store. Overall outstanding expierence. Thank you
Jul 24, 2015
It's very remote. The bathrooms are hard to reach. Many of the advertised amenities were not usable. Store / Office closed at 5, not 8 as advertised

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are 10 mi. off US101. There are steep stairs to the restrooms. Mid-week we may close the store at 5pm but there is a sign that says "Please use our walkie talkie to reach staff for any reason at any time." Our new, larger Jumping Pillow will go in this week. We're sorry for the inconvenience.
Jul 21, 2015
Our cabin was clean. The staff were amazingly kind and generous. Our only complaints were related to the behavior of other guests,missing or broken luxuries/activities and lack of WiFi connectivity. But, as two of those were not in the owners control, it's unfair to blame.
Jul 19, 2015
Had a great stay! We were in the deluxe cabin and loved it. It was clean and cozy and we will definitely be back!
Jul 16, 2015
Rented a cabin for the night. It was so bad we left after 15 minutes and went to a hotel. Call me if you want to know more.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry you had a bad experience at Santa Margarita KOA. KOA offers a Money-back Guarantee if you checkout within the first hour. I did not see that you took advantage of this. Please call us to discuss what did not meet your standards in the cabin. Please ask for the Manager/Owner, Karen.
Jul 11, 2015
Had an awesome time although we missed the jumping pillow that was out of order the days we were there.. Overall had a great time there. We will definitely be back! Thanks
Jul 09, 2015
Love it. We have already recommended it to our friends.
Jul 09, 2015
Cabin was so nice and clean. I definitely come back again.
Jul 07, 2015
Bathrooms needs major repairs and upgrades. Pool is peeling needs resurfacing, really like the fact they have a shallow section for the babies. Cabins could use a through cleaning, Campground is very dusty. Glad there was a mini fridge.
Jul 07, 2015
We stayed in a deluxe cabin and it really was deluxe. It was our first "glamping" trip as a family and even though we had all the comforts of home, it was nice to not have TV and computers to occupy us. We had a really great time playing games together and sitting around the fire.
Jul 06, 2015
So we stayed in a cabin and it was nice our daughters loved the stay. It wad peaceful and quiet at night. During th day we went to the pools and went on a hayride around the camp site. It was beautiful I can't wait to go back again. Next year.
Jul 06, 2015
I loved the camping trip but i didnt like the Bathroom because it was not cleaned up.
Jul 05, 2015
I just joined KOA and I am loving it!! This Kampground was a little hilly but that was ok with us!!
Jul 04, 2015
I stayed in cabin 3. We loved the whole atmosphere and what not. I had two problem that can easily be changed. We had a few black ants which isn't a big deal but they become annoying. Second, the carpet on the loft needs to big shampooed. It had lots of stains that grossed me out. Again something that can easily be changed. Over all we loved it and would go back!
Jul 04, 2015
My family had a great time staying here. It was our first experience at a KOA camp and we would definitely come again!
Jul 04, 2015
Great experience! Clean cabins, clean restrooms, and superior staff!
Jul 04, 2015
Well ran KOA. We stayed two nights, which was too short. My kids enjoyed the pool and jumping pillow. The cabin was perfect. Already gonna plan next trip.
Jul 02, 2015
We loved everything about it.
Jun 29, 2015
Great place to spend a weekend or week. we have our family reunion every year and everyone loves the place but most important the staff. The staff there goes out of their way to make your stay the most memorable. Thanks to everyone at the KOA for your help and support during our last family reunion. See you all next year
Jun 29, 2015
Starting from the Staff : The staff pretty helpful, professional and I personally experience a great time here with my family and my wife Family Reunion. The location of the Kampground is perfect, amenities accordingly to the environment are perfect. I will definitely comeback and recommended it to friends and family.
Jun 29, 2015
We absolutely loved our stay and can't wait to plan our next trip here! Clean, kid friendly and FUN!
Jun 29, 2015
Stayed in a cabin & it was clean as well as the bathrooms. Very nice facility. Staff friendly.
Jun 25, 2015
Other than a bouncy pillow not your typical KOA. Staff was hardly there. During our 3 night stay bathrooms never cleaned or restocked with supplies. Also signage needs to be changed - states beware of Bears, although rare they are sometimes seen. The last 2 nights they were out destroying the recycle bins. When I asked a staff member they said oh, they have a bear that regularly comes here!
Jun 22, 2015
Stayed in a basic cabin, it was nice but the first night we arrived it had been closed up so it was unbearable because it was so hot inside. The staff is very friendly and the grounds are kept clean. Definitely love the clean restrooms :)
Jun 20, 2015
Very friendly staff, clean cabins, and the kids loved the jumping pillow!!
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.