Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
It was just a wonderful campground and I really hope we get to go next year.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Dirt roads not good for motorcycles. Had to climb small hill to get to bathroom/ showers. Spiders and bugs in rented cabin. Nice friendly staff otherwise.
Jul 29, 2013
Super nice staff. Unique campground. Good people. Clean bathrooms.
Jul 29, 2013
This little gem is WORTH THE DRIVE FOLKS!!! Although the Kampground was booked, the KOA staff managed to squeeze us in an overflow spot. I'm so glad we stayed, my kids had a great time with all of the family activities; the jumping pillow, playground, pool, and the family style BBQ with live music was a great way to enjoy the last night of our vacation. We will definitely be back. THANKS SMKOA!!!
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Fair - when compared to other KOA's. All roads to camp sites are dirt, no gravel. This creates an extremely dusty facility. We were kept awake all night by barking dogs that belong to some of the neighboring land owners. Staff was very helpful and professional.
Jul 27, 2013
Everything was excellent the only reason why I didn't give them 5 stars is because the restrooms were always dirty and cloged water overflowing on the ground. Other than that we enjoy our stay
Jul 26, 2013
We have stayed here a lot over the years and have never been disappointed!
Jul 26, 2013
Don't enjoy camping in dirt. No grass for dogs. Restrooms far away, too many hills. Camped with others and hills separated us.
Jul 25, 2013
10 points for clean bathrooms! Campsites are very small.Site#63 High ground Don't recomend it if you have toddlers.They were nice enough to move us down site#15. No boat, dont go to the Lake $10.00 per car. Walk in for free, but w/little ones in a hot day, not a good idea.Make the best of it we just had a picnic & pulled out our kites! I will try another KOA KG
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
Lieu vraiment superbe. Malgré les dires Wifi disponible sur l'emplacement
Jul 24, 2013
Employees very nice! Bathrooms were not clean. Biggest complaint, the NOISE! Maybe its the quality of campers that stay there... First night, was awoken by a car alarm and then the owner decided to pack up and leave but not before he crushed all of his beer cans...At 4:15 am!!!2nd night similar occurrence... both nights had to endure listening to other peoples car radios at FULL volume. Just rude.
Jul 23, 2013
We told them we were 2 adults & they put us next to the Bounce Pillow & didn't enforce the curfew time kids were bouncing @ 10pm !!
Jul 23, 2013
The facilities were very clean and kept up, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We will definitely be coming back.
Jul 23, 2013
Small sites with little privacy. Fresh water is yellow/brown. Staff should warn you at check in. We asked another camper to learn it is iron from well water. Now concerned about clearing pipes of minerals.
Jul 22, 2013
The staff (especially Sharie) made us feel very welcome. The camp was clean and comfortable. The Saturday night BBQ was a disappointment but overall we had a great time.
Jul 22, 2013
Location of bathrooms and dust control was not as good as could be. It was a long hike to the bathrooms. Nice people though..
Jul 22, 2013
Good place to take the kids. They really enjoyed the playground, jumping pillow and pool. Yurt was big and cimfortable; however, one of the bottom bunks was broken. One complaint is the campsite is very dusty. But, overall, we had a good t his me.
Jul 22, 2013
My family and I had an awesome vacation at KAO Santa Margarita! We loved that there were activities for everyone: pool, foosball, hey ride, live music, food....Staff was great and went out of there way to make our stay the best. Kids loved it and can't wait to go back! Thanks and would highly recommend...
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
we had great time
Jul 22, 2013
I recommended KOA to everyone I met on the beach. It was clean and the staff spoiled us rotten. I couldnt have asked for a better campground.
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 22, 2013
Jul 21, 2013
More rustic than anticipated. Site itself was nice, but needed 4-wheel drive to get up the mountain to our campsite (road has not been maintained).
Jul 19, 2013
3 adults 4 kids tent camped. It was a pain to have to drive to a rest room. Atleast put one with in walking distance same as water bibs especially because of your high prices. Pool hours should be extended to 10 pm during summer. Will camp here again if no where else in California is available.
Jul 18, 2013
Did not feel welcome, staff seemed busy with other things. Cabin 11 was smelly. Had to keep windows & door open long time. Restrooms very old and Not clean at all. Way to restroom far up a hill and long stairs. Many children in this place, therefore very noisy. Had booked (and paid) two nights but escaped quickly after the first. At checkout were not asked if we enjoyed. Can't recommend this pl
Jul 18, 2013
The cabin we stayed in was fantastic. All our kids had a great time. Pool temperature was a little cold even though it was a hot day. Everyone was shivering.
Jul 18, 2013
Made a mistake in where I thought I was booking, but the site was so beautiful and the campground facilities so clean I was out of the dog house quickly. I should also mention staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 17, 2013
Fun but A LOT of walking, mostly uphill. A hike to the bathrooms including 20 stairs down hill and 20 stairs uphill, one way, for a total of 80 stairs round trip! Despite that, the kids loved the jumping pillow and wonderful star gazing.
Jul 17, 2013
Jul 17, 2013
The manager was great. We stopped at 6 KOAs this RV trip. This was by far the most organized one: directions, attitude,, and layout were all much appreciated.
Jul 17, 2013
We did not appreciate the overflow area we were placed in. Overall the campgrounds in other areas appeared well kept, but we felt that us--and others after us--would have thought more of this KOA if we were told it was full and sent to the state campground nearby out of respect for wanting an enjoyable stay as opposed to being placed where we were and charging the same rate as all other tent sites
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 16, 2013
We loved our site #88. Great views and loved the goats. Glad there was a porta potty nearby. The rest of the site was a bit cramped. The owner was responsive and friendly and handled some problems at the site. We appreciated that.
Jul 16, 2013
Jul 15, 2013
Cabins were very clean, your staff is one of the best, we include everyone who works at Santa Margarita KOA
Jul 15, 2013
The staff was very accommodating. We had a larger group and when we wanted to have a larger BBQ gathering, the staff provided a large BBQ and several picnic tables for the occasion. The cabin we stayed in was clean and perfect for our family of four. Will certainly return. Thanks you!
Jul 15, 2013
I'm one of the Cota's from the Cota reunion. July 11/14. We had a wonderful time and enjoyed the park and all it's amenities. The only drawback was I think you need more publid bathrooms. It was a long walk... Thanks for everything.
Jul 15, 2013
We had a family reunion there.. The staff was amazing.. Customer service was Outstanding... they let us have Fun!
Jul 15, 2013
how lucky we were to find and stay at the KOA campground in Santa Margarita. We planned our trip at the last moment, but found the site to be filled with great. friendly staff. who helped to accommodate all our needs. the kids had a wonderful time, which gave me time to relax, knowing they were in a safe environment. thank you everyone at KOA. Gilbert Alcoser
Jul 15, 2013
It was hot in the camping cabin,only had a fan in it. Bathrooms were clean. Nice place to view the stars, and enjoy nature.
Jul 15, 2013
Loved it and so did the kids! Very friendly staff. Only wish our site had some shade...very hot during the day.
Jul 15, 2013
Awesome location and well kept campgrounds
Jul 14, 2013
Jul 12, 2013
Cabin was missing screens, unable to leave window open. Bathroom had open floor drain cover. Plumbing very slow to drain and at times backed up. Bathroom very dim and not sparkling clean. Leaking plumbing stains agains wall and floors. Area Very dusty. Tho the facility may have been lacking, but the staff was great and what we have come to expect at KOA.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.