Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Oct 19, 2013
We have stayed there 3 years in a row and each time has been a memorable time.
Oct 18, 2013
Everything was clean. I was a little to far from the rest rooms but it was quite and met some real nice people. Plan to return but staying in cabin!
Oct 14, 2013
Oct 08, 2013
I loved this site. beautiful. the gentleman in charge was outstanding. but arriving at night, the directions were sketchy at best. would have stayed here longer but for time. very, very nice.
Oct 08, 2013
Hospitality of the camp hosts was great. First time here, but already planning another visit.
Oct 07, 2013
Lovely oak trees, a friendly staff and deer on the hilltops in the morning. What more could you ask for?
Oct 07, 2013
Oct 05, 2013
Great team, but they have to advise me that there was a concert in the evening
Oct 03, 2013
Too many semi-permanent trailers at the park for my liking.
Oct 01, 2013
I rented a cabin that sleeps 8, there were 7 adults in my party. We were comfortable and managed well with only 1 bathroom. Our cabin was clean, well kept, with comfortable beds. Staff is friendly and the campgrounds are very clean. My group will certainly be back again. Great location if attending Sunset Magazine Savor the Central Coast at Santa Margarita Ranch every October.
Sep 29, 2013
Very long walk from campsite to the bathroom!
Sep 27, 2013
Lovely location, lots of nice showers well placed around the site so you were never far from a block. Helpful staff and climate enough to walk to the lakes.
Sep 27, 2013
Not your average KOA. Lots of hills, trees, etc. Much evidence of maintenance and upgrading. Negative = residents & workers drive around continually on the dusty dirt roads!
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 26, 2013
Sep 25, 2013
Sep 24, 2013
We stayed in a new location and was a great spot. Now I can't tell you which one or you will rent it out and I will not be able too! Love it when I find a new location that pleases my husband and expands our camping opportunities. Great going KOA!!
Sep 24, 2013
Pretty awesome quit place to spend the time with family. All crew memebers r very helpfull and friendly.
Sep 17, 2013
Nice staff. Clean facilities. Only problem was site was not very level.
Sep 17, 2013
Sep 16, 2013
Very pleasant and helpful staff. Nice location to come back to after day trips. Clean facilities.
Sep 16, 2013
I thank for the staff's kindness and their help for staying.
Sep 16, 2013
The campground had a number of fun activities for families. My family really enjoyed the cabin. The Cabin and the restrooms were clean. Check in and out was easy. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Sep 16, 2013
The place is great and the people are very helpful and friend.
Sep 14, 2013
So Much Fun! Labor Day weekend had so many activities, we felt like we were in a family camp movie. Stayed in a log cabin and loved it. The staff was fantastic. Everything we needed was right there. Check out the video on the KOA website with Dylan and his crew... you will see what I mean! Thanks to all. See you soon!
Sep 12, 2013
We arrived and inquired about our reserved space and we were directed to a site that was to small for my 31ft 5th wheel with 2 slides. We requested another site and were told that only 3 sites with 30 amp electric was avalible. Our entire 5 day stay none of the sites they stated that were reserved were ever occupied Pool occupied by non campground kids who paid $3.00 each to swim.
Sep 11, 2013
The campground was not as expected. We expected a grass area somewhere, it was very hilly to walk to the bathrooms or other areas and the website makes it seem the fishing is by the KOA rather than off-site. Because we are older, walking up and down hilly areas is difficult and our son has allergies so the dirt was not optimal due to dust. We are unlikely to stay there again.
Sep 10, 2013
Sep 10, 2013
Hidden gem. Nice and secluded with lots of amenities. Only downside is having to pay extra for the pool.
Sep 10, 2013
Great place, nice nice campground, if you can put up with the many flys. Bring a screened in room!
Sep 08, 2013
We had a nice level site with plenty of room. There was no cable TV but plenty of other stuff to do, particularly for kids. Loved the big flock of wild turkeys!
Sep 07, 2013
I have bad knees. The location of the store and all of the conveniences were a good distance from my site. The campground is very hilly and steep, making it difficulty for a person with any sort of walking issue to comfortably use any of the campground amenities.
Sep 04, 2013
We have been here before. We love the combo of nature, pool, giant trampoline and Pismo beach within a 1/2 hour drive. We were positively surprised about the special activities on Labor Day weekend and took advantage of a few. The only reason we are not recommending you to everybody is that we live in the SF Bay Area, and the drive is just long for a short weekend trip.
Sep 04, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
Too numerous to list in 400 words.. Muddy water supply, small children can climb in to drainage culvert (require emergency rescue), pool was brown due to water supply, hook ups partially worked, had to modify my dump equipment, and dump backed up when campers on hill above us dumped, lack of camp host supervision (bounce pillow in use unit 1AM). Would not go back until cleaned up.
Sep 03, 2013
The full hookups ensured our comfort. Kids had a great time. Enjoyed the primitive skills presentation. Pool was refreshing. Noticed a lot of improvements and more in the works; especially oleander between sites. Lake was down 20' plus. General store was convenient. Owners and staff were very nice.
Sep 03, 2013
Did not enjoy the stay.Only plus was proximity to San luis Obispo, Pismo Beach. Negative reasons; 8 miles off Highway 101,Santa Margarita Lake,almost dried up, Koa facility roads,all dirt,dusty, Deluxe Cabin,too small for six, front door knob won't lock, Space AC doesn't cool cabin, compressor won't kick in. No safety cones or reflectors on steep side of the koa roads, accident waiting to happen.
Sep 03, 2013
The Campground staff was GREAT...friendly and attentive. Our trailer site with hook ups was horrible. It was sooo close to other trailers that we did not have room to turn around or back trailer in. The bathrooms were a long way away and had to go down and up hills. There was a loud band that played until 10:30, which we found annoying since we went camping to get away. It was HOT with no shade.
Sep 03, 2013
Sep 03, 2013
When we got there at 6pm we had to wait for our site cause the other people were still there. Then they have that site to someone else so we had to go to the one next to the playground which was very loud. Sixth koa I've stayed at in a week and the worst one. All the others were great.
Sep 01, 2013
Eventhough we were just passing through, it was a great spot to stay at. Also, thanks for having a separate switch for your ceiling fan and a ceiling light. That has been an issue at other KOA sites.
Sep 01, 2013
Staff was great..very helpful with all our needs and the place was very clean.
Aug 31, 2013
cool campsite! nice staff! great disc golf course!
Aug 31, 2013
We enjoyed our stay in one of your cabins. We explored the tent sites on our way out and will probably stay in our tent next time. I felt that the cabin prices were a little to close to the price of a cheap motel to be a bargin and there were tent sites still available at the nearby park. I wonder if pricing the cabins at 50 a night and the tent sites at 25 might help occupancy.
Aug 29, 2013
Noisey with brown drinking water and dogs in the restrooms.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our water has a high iron content but is safe to drink even if it is not appealing and it can stain your clothes. I'm sorry you found a dog in the restroom. A camper ignored the "No Pets in Building" sign on the door. We don't get many noise complaints. Did you let us know about noisy neighbors?
Aug 28, 2013
We had a great time and will be back. Scott was most helpful and was always able to answer any and all questions that we had.
Aug 27, 2013
Loved the Saturaday family fun activities. Such a great place to stay. Really enjoyed it!
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
The camp site was very nice. There was alot of noise after 10pm and early in the morning before 700am plus cars and ATC's traveling up and down the road. All Friday night there was a dog barking. Cleaning of the bathrooms from 8-10am? Prime hours the showering. Why not after 1200pm would seem more reasonable. Since check out is 11am.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.