Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Aug 31, 2013
We enjoyed our stay in one of your cabins. We explored the tent sites on our way out and will probably stay in our tent next time. I felt that the cabin prices were a little to close to the price of a cheap motel to be a bargin and there were tent sites still available at the nearby park. I wonder if pricing the cabins at 50 a night and the tent sites at 25 might help occupancy.
Aug 29, 2013
Noisey with brown drinking water and dogs in the restrooms.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our water has a high iron content but is safe to drink even if it is not appealing and it can stain your clothes. I'm sorry you found a dog in the restroom. A camper ignored the "No Pets in Building" sign on the door. We don't get many noise complaints. Did you let us know about noisy neighbors?
Aug 28, 2013
We had a great time and will be back. Scott was most helpful and was always able to answer any and all questions that we had.
Aug 27, 2013
Loved the Saturaday family fun activities. Such a great place to stay. Really enjoyed it!
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
The camp site was very nice. There was alot of noise after 10pm and early in the morning before 700am plus cars and ATC's traveling up and down the road. All Friday night there was a dog barking. Cleaning of the bathrooms from 8-10am? Prime hours the showering. Why not after 1200pm would seem more reasonable. Since check out is 11am.
Aug 26, 2013
Aug 26, 2013
I can't say enough about the staff. They really are great and so very friendly. I never felt like just a customer. I felt like part of a large happy family. The cabin we stayed in was spotless and well equipped. The next time we visit? We know now that all we need is clothes and food pretty much. Thanks going out to all of our new KOA family members. You made out stay fantastic.
Aug 26, 2013
Loved the staff. Very nice and helpful. My kids loved the Bounce pillow and the hay ride!!! Cabins with no bathroom were cute. The porch swing was my favorite. Beds could have used a little more padding. I recommend that you take a water hose lots of dirt & dust. It was fun and my family will be returning!!!
Aug 25, 2013
Great camp Its a little disappointing you are not allowed to swim in the lake but the camp had a nice pool and the staff was super friendly and fun the cabin was simple and great the hay bale theater and concert were great also i will be back again
Aug 25, 2013
Dusty, bug infested, ants all around our cabin, bathrooms were dirty. Shower was tiny, unless you are a hobbit. Run, don't walk, far, far away from this KOA!!!!!!!!!!
Aug 24, 2013
Cozy enough they make you feel like family. Can't wait to go back next summer!
Aug 23, 2013
We stayed in a cabin on the hill that sleeps six. There were 4 of us, and I think an additional 2 would have been 2 much. We stayed during the a very dry time of year so everything is brown, but the views from on top of the hill are amazing. The staff is very nice, and the grounds are well kept. Downside is that the mattress in the cabin are uncomfortable so be sure to bring a cushion mat.
Aug 23, 2013
I found this KOA by chance and glad I stopped. The staff were great, very helpful and accommodating. I don't know if I would recommend this KOA because it is far of the highway, but I would recommend it for the great activities they offer including help with the horse back riding.
Aug 22, 2013
Aug 21, 2013
Everyone at this KOA was so friendly and accommodating. We had a great time!
Aug 20, 2013
There was a lot of things to do. Loved the options of tenting, yurts, cabins, the air pillow. If anything, the roads were kinda steep and bathrooms could have been more centrally located.
Aug 20, 2013
Great friends, great food, Willie Nelson nearby. Nice general store. Wish i could have stayed longer. stayed in yurt. very large and comfortable.
Aug 20, 2013
having a shuttle provided for a minimal fee to go to pozo was a huge plus! spaces for camping were small compared to most places, but staff is super accommodating. would stay again!
Aug 20, 2013
The managers were very helpful and the campground was well maintained and clean!! We will stay there again.
Aug 20, 2013
I had such a great time im definitely coming back. I actually danced the last two songs that saturday night. And took third place in my bass tournament so all in all super happy. Thanks Karen hope you enjoyed my dance moves lol
Aug 20, 2013
Aug 20, 2013
Without a doubt, the best "Kamping" experience I have EVER had. Simple reservations, no confusion, PROMPT courteous check-in, in spite of concert crowd; quiet, private site, clean restroom. TRY IT!!!
Aug 20, 2013
Very nice place to stay !! A lot of things to do and great staff :) thank you !!
Aug 20, 2013
Great time. Easy to book. Better than advertised. Great owner/staff.
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 19, 2013
Aug 18, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff, tons of camp activities, clean one-room cabins and luxury cabins, fun activities for kids. Cons: hot weather in August, hilly terrain which made it hard to visit my family members staying in other cabins up the hill.
Aug 18, 2013
We hosted a high school youth event here and the students absolutely loved it! The staff was great, the campsite was just perfect and the jumping pillow was amazing! We are definitely scheduling more events here in the future. I cannot imagine a better camp, especially one so close to home on the central coast of California!
Aug 18, 2013
Aug 17, 2013
Great campground! Short staffed, staff had to do multiple jobs so not as available. The bathrooms flooded every time someone took a shower and they were older and not so clean. We really liked the party yurt.
Aug 17, 2013
I normally have an amazing time at Santa Margarita KOA this was my 3rd year family camp trip.... This year we had a slightly bigger group and seemed to cost just way too much money.... I kinda felt upset and like I definitely did not get my money's worth this time... Not sure if we will back next year :0( It just wasn't as pleasant for me this year!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry to hear that you did not have your usual good time at SMKOA. We have not raised our rates in years. Please let us know what we can do to make your stay better when you visit us again!
Aug 15, 2013
The photos and the map did not indicate elevation. My two sites were at different elevations, thus inconvenient for our large group. On one of the nights, one of the KOA members assigned to the night shift was inebriated and walking around with a .22 rifle. Loaded firearms do not mix with alcohol....ever. The pool was lovely, and the water pressure for showers was great.
Aug 15, 2013
Aug 14, 2013
have stayed here twice now nice size camps and Kids love the jumping pillow pool is aways from the sites and showers on the hill unkept and dingy. a Bee and fly problem for sure. The help is very friendly
Aug 14, 2013
Had a great time. The staff was friendly and helpful. The facilities were all fine. Kids loved the jumping pillow. Wanted to spend every minute possible on it. Pool clean and refreshing. BBQ and music Saturday night was fun. This campground is built into the hills. Our site was fairly high up on one of the top terraces and we walked up and down a lot which was fun and cool for us.
Aug 14, 2013
Clean and comfortable kamping kabin. SUPER friendly staff, tons of activities. Fire rings, cheap bundles of wood, well stocked store. They have it all.
Aug 13, 2013
Aug 12, 2013
Nice cabin in a shaded site. Small but cute.
Aug 12, 2013
Hi my son & I went under the reser. of Ms Jenny Kids wantd 2 stay 2gether in cabin. Our first X staying @ KOA campgrd & also 1st X cabin campg. Usually camp w/cubscouts. 4 1st X on our own pretty cool. We had a stressless stay. I would consider comg bck to site again. Only Negs.-sm flies tht were always flyg around our faces & Extra charge 4 extra kid but, no additional accommodations provided.
Aug 12, 2013
OUR CABIN WAS CLEAN AND COZY. GREAT LISTENING TO THE MUSIC THAT FLOATED UP TO OUR CAMPSITE FROM THE HAYBALE THEATRE. . THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THAT GENEROUS AND DELICIOUS TRI-TIP BBQ DINNER. SEE YA SOON
Aug 12, 2013
Unexpectedly this was the best vacation spot of the entire journey. The employees were all great and friendly.
Aug 12, 2013
our camp site was clean and the views were beautiful my kids loved it and the pool was crystal clean
Aug 12, 2013
We had a great time!!! Nice location, nice people, fabulous time!
Aug 12, 2013
It was great - Scott & Karen are fantastic! Lots of fun things to do - especially loved the little hayride.
Aug 11, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.