Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Email

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 15, 2015
nice quiet stay
Jul 15, 2015
It is beautiful area and kampground is very big and spacious. However, rv lots are small and hard to get to. When we were there jumping pillow was not working. Also, guest punctured main water line and we were out of water for one morning. Staff was really nice and brought as water but it was annoying not to be able to flush toilet.
Jul 15, 2015
We had been traveling down highway 1 all day without any luck of finding an open campsite. We made it to the Santa Margarita KOA at about 10 pm and met Karen. She was so nice and understanding of our troubles and gave us an AMAZING spot. We had such a terrific trip thanks to her :)
Jul 15, 2015
No Internet near our camp site, No Jumping bag...no hot water in cabins

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at Santa Margarita KOA. We are large and rural; so there are some spots without internet. You were in a tent site, so I am not sure which cabin did not have hot water. If you had shared your concerns while onsite, we would have done our best to address them.
Jul 13, 2015
I brought 9 kids to camp this weekend. When I called to make my reservations the gentleman who answered was oh so helpful and we got a great site that more then met or needs and expectations. The staff was friendly and helpful except the lady who was working Sunday morning. She was cranky and not so helpful. But otherwise we all had a blast, stayed cool and will be back again for sure. Thank you.
Jul 13, 2015
Amazing place!!! Very clean and beautiful CA country..... We will come back for sure!!
Jul 13, 2015
As a kid, I remember it being one of my favorite places to vacation with my grandparents and parents... Fast forward 20 years and I continued the tradition and took my son. Thanks to the GREAT EMPLOYEES and perfect sites I just had the greatest weekend of my life and know my son had one of the best experiences in his life. THANKS SANTA MARGARITA KOA
Jul 13, 2015
First of all pull up to the campsite and it smells like sewer. The playground was not finished. The picnic table was right on top of the sewer outlet to the next camp I will not stay there again nor recommend anybody else to stay there. Thank you for your concern all the other kOA sites that I've been to along the coast you could not hold a candle next to them. Thank you much Rodney Johnson.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Santa Margarita KOA offers a rustic, back-to-nature experience that's not everyone's "cup of tea." We were installing a new Jumping Pillow replacement. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. If you had voiced your concerns while here, we would have done our best to address them. Thank you!
Jul 12, 2015
There was a sewage leak near our site, we were placed in the overflow area for some reason, the playground was under construction and the joint pillow was broken. We had five kids with us. It was kind of a nightmare. Dillon at the front was nice though.
Jul 11, 2015
Had an awesome time although we missed the jumping pillow that was out of order the days we were there.. Overall had a great time there. We will definitely be back! Thanks
Jul 09, 2015
Everything was great had the best camp site only one recommendation have the water truck drive by earlier to keep the dust down. And a employee in a koa truck was driving around very fast kicking up the dust
Jul 09, 2015
Love it. We have already recommended it to our friends.
Jul 09, 2015
Very hot and dry when we were there but peaceful and beautiful. Restrooms were clean and nice, beautiful pool and easy access to coast and wine tasting right in Santa Margarita!
Jul 09, 2015
Cabin was so nice and clean. I definitely come back again.
Jul 09, 2015
We came from Shasta that was beautiful, Margarita was more expensive for a smallest, a not that nice space. We will try another the next time.
Jul 08, 2015
The best location ever
Jul 07, 2015
MY FAMILY AND I HAD A GREAT TIME AT THE KOA IN SANTA MARGARITA!
Jul 07, 2015
Bathrooms needs major repairs and upgrades. Pool is peeling needs resurfacing, really like the fact they have a shallow section for the babies. Cabins could use a through cleaning, Campground is very dusty. Glad there was a mini fridge.
Jul 07, 2015
We stayed in a deluxe cabin and it really was deluxe. It was our first "glamping" trip as a family and even though we had all the comforts of home, it was nice to not have TV and computers to occupy us. We had a really great time playing games together and sitting around the fire.
Jul 06, 2015
So we stayed in a cabin and it was nice our daughters loved the stay. It wad peaceful and quiet at night. During th day we went to the pools and went on a hayride around the camp site. It was beautiful I can't wait to go back again. Next year.
Jul 06, 2015
We were only there one night, but at check in we were given the wrong yurt and it took a couple tries to find the right location. In the end it was fixed and we had an enjoyable night.
Jul 06, 2015
I loved the camping trip but i didnt like the Bathroom because it was not cleaned up.
Jul 06, 2015
JoAnn and I had a wonderful weekend . See You Soon
Jul 06, 2015
I was so scared when I stayed there, because of bears. They didn't give a warning about bears. I just read a notice about bears on a restroom door. I think that they should have explained there might be bears when I asked to change my tent site. That night, I saw two bears!!! They were just 5m apart from my tent. They dig out trash bins. I heard bears started to appear a week ago later.
Jul 06, 2015
We did not stay after looking at the site the road was to steep and the site was to far from the restroom also the campsite was to dusty we never unpacked
Jul 05, 2015
I just joined KOA and I am loving it!! This Kampground was a little hilly but that was ok with us!!
Jul 04, 2015
I stayed in cabin 3. We loved the whole atmosphere and what not. I had two problem that can easily be changed. We had a few black ants which isn't a big deal but they become annoying. Second, the carpet on the loft needs to big shampooed. It had lots of stains that grossed me out. Again something that can easily be changed. Over all we loved it and would go back!
Jul 04, 2015
My family had a great time staying here. It was our first experience at a KOA camp and we would definitely come again!
Jul 04, 2015
Great experience! Clean cabins, clean restrooms, and superior staff!
Jul 04, 2015
Well ran KOA. We stayed two nights, which was too short. My kids enjoyed the pool and jumping pillow. The cabin was perfect. Already gonna plan next trip.
Jul 02, 2015
We loved everything about it.
Jul 02, 2015
Campground was ok and had loTs of potential playground lacks major attention pool was not very clean basketball court could use some attemtion
Jul 02, 2015
This is an awesome campground. Close to Hearst Castle and the truly exciting Zip Line at San Margarita. We had a lot of fun.
Jun 29, 2015
Great place to spend a weekend or week. we have our family reunion every year and everyone loves the place but most important the staff. The staff there goes out of their way to make your stay the most memorable. Thanks to everyone at the KOA for your help and support during our last family reunion. See you all next year
Jun 29, 2015
Starting from the Staff : The staff pretty helpful, professional and I personally experience a great time here with my family and my wife Family Reunion. The location of the Kampground is perfect, amenities accordingly to the environment are perfect. I will definitely comeback and recommended it to friends and family.
Jun 29, 2015
We absolutely loved our stay and can't wait to plan our next trip here! Clean, kid friendly and FUN!
Jun 29, 2015
It's always nice....
Jun 29, 2015
Stayed in a cabin & it was clean as well as the bathrooms. Very nice facility. Staff friendly.
Jun 29, 2015
Absolutely great! However I would change the internet resorvations to include what campsite number was reserved and offer a local and AAA discount.
Jun 28, 2015
Belle situation, mais loin de tout : à réserver aux amoureux de la nature ! Alerte OURS en cours mais prise un peu à la légère par les responsables du camping (beaucoup plus par les rangers du state park voisin...). Eau de qualité limite, piscine avec un système de filtration bricolé, hygiène des sanitaires plutôt douteuse...
Jun 28, 2015
The owner is rude and disrespectful. The path walking from an upper tent site to the bath house is dangerous.
Jun 27, 2015
Der KOA Campground ist sehr gut in die Landschaft eingebettet.Die Spielplätze für Kinder weitläufig. Die Sanitären Anlagen sind etwas Renovierungsbedürftig aber sauber. Danke für diesen netten Platz.
Jun 25, 2015
Other than a bouncy pillow not your typical KOA. Staff was hardly there. During our 3 night stay bathrooms never cleaned or restocked with supplies. Also signage needs to be changed - states beware of Bears, although rare they are sometimes seen. The last 2 nights they were out destroying the recycle bins. When I asked a staff member they said oh, they have a bear that regularly comes here!
Jun 25, 2015
Charming location on hillside. It was hot & dry time of year - cooler would be much better. Enjoyed the Frisbee golf, farm animals nearby & nice staff.
Jun 24, 2015
The camp staff were marvelous! Our suggestion would be that because of how spread out the camp is and how difficult it is to walk the roads, it would be great if the staff would perhaps have set times where they would come pick up garbage or deliver ice.
Jun 24, 2015
Jun 23, 2015
I tell everyone about your wonderful camp site! Thank you for a lovely stay!
Jun 22, 2015
Wonderful secluded tent site, friendly hosts. Clean and well maintained facilities. Perfect stay!
Jun 22, 2015
Pool was very dirty, there were no hay rides, no movie night, no rec room, not very many activities at all. This was very disappointing especially for Father's Day weekend.
Jun 22, 2015
Great 2 Weeks - Looking forward to coming back next year. Read my blog post here: http://theamericanwinetrail.com/?p=280
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals