Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Feb 02, 2015
We only had one night to take it all in. That was not enough. We plan to come back!
Jan 26, 2015
R space was great, but the Internet service was really slow and most times could not connect. Had a great stay will try to be back in a few months,Wiley's
Jan 26, 2015
It cabin was lovely, the view was gorgeous and the help we had picking a room when we called was absolutely wonderful. The cabin was well insulated and when you turned the heater on it took only 2 or 3 minutes for you to feel the cabin was warm all over. I went there stressed and I left relaxed and ready to get back to work. Thank You guys!
Jan 24, 2015
What a great place lots of space staff helpful beautiful quiet place perfect setting I have only 2 negative could the boss of KOA fund new toilets and showers and new washing and drying machines they are very tied looking Staff work hard on site would camp here again
Jan 21, 2015
The staff was very helpful and upgraded us to an easier campsite that would fit our newly acquired, longer, and not easily parked trailer. They also helped us with all kinds of fittings and tips. These are the kind of people that give a good name to campers.
Jan 20, 2015
Clean, friendly and okay...just a bit more rustic than we anticipated. Only 2 bathrooms/showers for the whole campground seemed a bit scant...quite a trek for some in the night. Paths well lit however.


We have three bathhouses with a total of 12 showers & 12 toilets. It sounds like you just found the bathhouse by the store. The other two bathhouses are near the log cabins. The bathhouse icons are larger on our Site Maps for 2015. We look forward to your next visit.
Jan 19, 2015
Jan 19, 2015
It was winter so it was a little chilly. The camp sites are large. They have a huge bounce pillow that was great for the grandkids after it warmed up a little. The water heater for the bathrooms were not working. COLD SHOWERS! Scott, the host, couldn't have been a nicer guy. I think he is stretched too thin on his duties. He could sure use some help. It's a beautiful area. Nice, dark nights.
Jan 12, 2015
Jan 08, 2015
Jan 08, 2015
Jan 06, 2015
Jan 06, 2015
My wife and I really enjoyed our stay. The cabin was warm and welcoming. The fire pit was a great amenity to go with the view of the stars above. We would definitely visit again with our friends and family. We are actually planning another trip to visit soon. Thank you KOA Santa Margarita for a great weekend.
Jan 06, 2015
The park was clean and the employees were friendly. I mentioned that one of the bathrooms had a clogged drain and it was taken care of in a timely manner. This was the second time we've stayed there since September and look forward to going back soon...
Jan 05, 2015
buen servicio y vistas hermosas!!
Jan 04, 2015
Jan 02, 2015
We enjoyed our site--it was private and scenic and the employees were very nice. But the bathrooms were far and the closest one didn't have hot water (it was in the 20's-40's while we were there).
Dec 31, 2014
Bathroom to cold to take a shower no heat rusty water
Dec 28, 2014
No hot water in showers. One of the main reasons we stayed at a KOA was to use the shower facilities.
Dec 22, 2014
Very quiet, super friendly owners. Store was nicely stocked. Cabin was clean, bathrooms were clean, though a bit outdated. But, it's a campground, so we weren't expecting the Four Seasons. One caveat, if you are looking at the map, you get the false impression that the area is flat and there are direct paths to the playground, bathhouses, etc., this is not the case. There are some hills and stairs
Dec 22, 2014
Peaceful experience,and staff was very friendly, and helpful! I would come back and let my family and friends in on this amazing spot.
Dec 19, 2014
What a delightful stay in an absolutely beautiful little cabin! We really appreciated the full size stove and refrigerator -- along with a layout that handled many people easily. Nicely decorated -- and spotlessly cleaned. Camp personnel were all topnotch. What a GREAT experience!
Dec 16, 2014
Rock roads make it difficult to pull trailers up the hills and to back into the sites. But they did accommodate us by using a tractor to put our trailer in thesite.
Dec 15, 2014
This campground is a hidden gem!! I loved the yurt we had, plenty of room and the site was nice and spacious. We will definitely be back!
Dec 12, 2014
Everything was perfect! Five young women stayed in a Deluxe Cabin and had the perfect birthday party. LOVE the jumping pillow!!
Dec 10, 2014
It was perfect for our needs!
Dec 03, 2014
I think there have been many improvements since our last stay. Hopefully many more will come in the future. One item of concern is that some of the KOA trucks that roam the roads inside the park...could use to go slower.
Dec 03, 2014
We only stayed 2 nights but everything was more than satisfactory. Very friendly host!
Dec 03, 2014
This camper comment has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Dec 02, 2014
What a wonderful place you have in Santa Margarita! We can't wait for our next visit.
Nov 30, 2014
Nov 29, 2014
We had a great time. It would be nice to have a TV and Wi fi signal. business still must go on even while on vacation
Nov 27, 2014
We had a great stay. The staff was very helpful, and this location is ideally situated for easy access to San Luis Obispo, Pismo Beach, and Avila Beach. We'll be back!
Nov 27, 2014
The water isn't good and the fire wood is expensive and the quantity also small
Nov 25, 2014
Nov 25, 2014
Nov 24, 2014
Nov 22, 2014
Meandering hillside layout to the cabins and camp spots allow for some good views and privacy in some areas. Feels more like actual mountain camping than an RV park. Very friendly and accommodating staff.
Nov 17, 2014
We love this KOA! It's local to us and a great getaway from home. Super accommodating to our needs. We will be returning!
Nov 17, 2014
Nov 13, 2014
Nov 11, 2014
It was very nice, private cabin, nice quite area but still close to nearby attractions. The only thing, the air conditioning unit was full of dirt and dust and when we turned the fan on it blew dirt all over our belongings.
Nov 11, 2014
Nov 10, 2014
This was our second stay at the Santa Margarita KOA. We had a wonderful time. We stayed in a hilltop cabin and loved it. Sunset on our porch every night was beautiful. We also really enjoyed Avila Valley Barn. We can't wait to visit this KOA again!
Nov 10, 2014
Very nice clean quiet. Lots of improvement going on making it even better. Friendly staff.
Nov 08, 2014
Nov 03, 2014
Oct 31, 2014
Oct 28, 2014
Very well maintained cabins. Owners were great to deal with - very helpful, very friendly, very accommodating. Would definitely stay here a heartbeat.
Oct 21, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.