Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Mar 25, 2014
This place is fantastic. Just had my 3rd trip there in the past 8 years. It keeps getting better and better. Not only is it a beautiful area, but this place has a mix of RV camping and remote sites for privacy. I love the cabins and the yurts. Wonderful owner as well, friendly. Cant say enough good things!
Mar 24, 2014
Mar 23, 2014
Great but quick stay...thank you!
Mar 20, 2014
The staff was very friendly and helpful, I didnt like that the internet was useless I like to stay in touch with family and extremely poor cell service in the area, not the campgrounds fault I know but if I had cell service the internet wouldnt have matter as much. The showers and restrooms where clean, very hilly area, had a good time and I would go back
Mar 19, 2014
Too remote for an overnight stop. Really dry & dusty. Didn't feel secure here.
Mar 19, 2014
Beautiful site with a decent amount of privacy. Spotless bathroom with hot showers. Had a wonderful time.
Mar 16, 2014
The camp host is very helpful to all guest. I frequently stay here and always feel very welcome
Mar 16, 2014
Mar 13, 2014
Everything was great... Might want to trim some trees so that larger Class A's would have more clearance...
Mar 11, 2014
We love this place so much. Every time we visit our daughter at San Luis Obispo,we love to stay her at Santa Margarita KOA
Mar 10, 2014
Our stay in a deluxe Kabin was fantastic. The only complaint I have is that the Kabin was not as clean as it should have been.
Mar 10, 2014
Mar 09, 2014
Very helpful & friendly. The road to the sites was unevenly so that we had problems to park. But e host was very friendyi and helped us by this problem. The landscape around is great and there are many things to do like hiking & biking.
Feb 26, 2014
The campgrounds and the restrooms were very clean. There was plenty of things for the children to entertain themselves with giving me and my wife plenty of alone time. Couldn't have asked for any better service, the employe there were extremely friendly. Had a wonderful time would deffinately recommend this place to anyone.
Feb 23, 2014
We loved it. The staff were helpful, polite and kind. The grounds were clean and well maintained. The bathrooms were large and the water was hot! It was quiet and the stars were amazing at night. When you turned off your lights it was dark, not a lot of site lights, we loved it. Rolling hills, huge oaks and some pines,not far from the lake or SLO. A drive out of town for peace and quiet.
Feb 23, 2014
The woman who helped me in the koa office and on site was extremely nice and helpful. Felt at home.
Feb 18, 2014
Scott was a huge part of our GREAT time. His warm welcome and enthussiasm were just what we needed. We haven't visited here for about 5 years but the new kabins were great for our family. I was diagnosed with stage 4 cancer in August and can't travel far and need lots of rest. I got that and my kids had a great time on the pillow jumper! What great memories my kids will have of this vaction!
Feb 18, 2014
Feb 18, 2014
Great location, nice people.
Feb 18, 2014
The location grabbed us; the pictures and zany video hooked us. We were looking for a last-minute get-away and this KOA with its 2 bedroom cabin fit the bill. The bathrooms were clean, the hosts extremely friendly, and the proximity to Santa Margarita Lake 1/4 mile. This KOA sits on hilly terrain, which makes some of the sites more challenging to get to, but it also allows for some amazing views.
Feb 17, 2014
Nice and beautiful area ...... So good so cool
Jan 28, 2014
Very friendly and helpful staff. Facilities were clean, well maintained and in good working order.
Jan 28, 2014
Everything was extremely clean, staff was very helpful,and nice. had a great experience! look forward to more with KOA. :)
Jan 27, 2014
Nice staff; restrooms spotless. Should warn trailer folks about the lack of traction getting up the hill to sites. Rather primitive overall, but very peaceful natural setting.
Jan 27, 2014
We had a very we'll rested weekend . Love the koa park. Would highly recommend it.
Jan 24, 2014
The staff is very friendly and the campground is a great place from which to explore San Luis Obispo. As others have commented, the many stairs involved in reaching the bathrooms could be a serious issue for those with mobility issues. Also, if you can't live without the internet, you might be unhappy. Neither my sister no I had any coverage whatsoever.
Jan 24, 2014
Just an overnight stay, but really liked the area. Camp ground was well kept. Would stay again.
Jan 21, 2014
We were pleasantly surprised with this KOA. The staff was great. The amenities were awesome. The kids LOVED the jumping pillow! The cabin was nice and cozy. We saw deer, blue jays and woodpeckers. Great family time away from it all. We will definitely be back!
Jan 21, 2014
Friendly and helpful staff. Overall, a great place to Kamp!
Jan 20, 2014
Jan 19, 2014
Jan 14, 2014
Everything was wonderful! The only reason I could not give 4 stars was the area around the picnic table had a lot of dog poo around it. someone was not cleaning up after their pet. The day we left a bag of dog poo was left on a rock by our car. Very disappointing that people are so inconsiderate. Camp site should have been checked before we arrived so at least we did not arrive to dog poo.
Jan 14, 2014
It was a great bday weekend for my husbands 70th. Love the lay out of the place. We will definitely be back. Thanks. The beattie's in cabin 16
Jan 14, 2014
Great place for lake, Moto, bicycles & other fun stuff! The people who seem to live on the grounds are a little sketchey. Overall it was a great place!!!
Jan 14, 2014
beautiful scenery, warm, clean cabin
Jan 09, 2014
I absolutely loved it. The cabins are great. So much wildlife! One star missing only because the whole lot is hills and hard with small child and walks/bikes. Definitely going again
Jan 07, 2014
This unique location is an experience for those seeking a true camping environment among hillsides, vistas, tree canopy and close to many destinations. The staff was very attentive and polite, the facilities are well cared for and each campsite offers a unique view and experience. A great secret getaway close to the beach communities if you want to day trip and avoid the beach crowded RV camps.
Jan 06, 2014
Cabin was clean with heater (better bed). It was very quiet as a campground is 8 miles away from 101. We slept & eat well at this place. Restroom & Play area needs upgrade and cleaning. It is very dusty and need proper landscaping. Bring your drinking water. Pool was very clean, but you can't use in winter time.
Jan 05, 2014
Santa Margarita KOA has been our family vacation spot for over 25 years. I instantly relax and feel at home each and every visit.
Jan 05, 2014
The cabin was clean and comfortable, we enjoyed the fire ring and the meteor shower at 4 am was worth getting up in the cold. Thanks
Jan 03, 2014
Love the surroundings. Lots of hiking available. All the camp people were great..
Jan 02, 2014
We stayed in the little cabins. Theyre cute and perfect for sleeping. My kids spent most of the time on the jumping pillow and had a blast. We will definetely be coming back in the summer to use the pool and to watch movies on the cool hay bale theatre. Great place!!
Jan 01, 2014
Dec 30, 2013
Staff was very welcoming and attentive to any/every need. Staff were pleasant and the grounds were very well kept. I will be returning very soon!
Dec 17, 2013
Very friendly staff. The Cabin was great!
Dec 15, 2013
Rented a deluxe cabin with kitchenette and shower. There was no heat and it was freezing cold. After some wait, they upgraded me to a bigger deluxe cabin with heatat no extra cost. This is my home away from home, but I'm becoming a bit disillusioned with management. The store should have been open until 5 pm for check in. It was closed when I got there at 4:50. Granted, this was not peak season.
Dec 11, 2013
Dec 08, 2013
Staff was great and facility was exactly as expected. Only negative was our reserved site was given to another camper in a 5th Wheel. Still had full hookups but lost fire pit & table area.
Dec 07, 2013
Dec 06, 2013

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.