Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

May 13, 2014
We arrived after the office was closed, & it was after a big weekend. The bathrooms were pretty unpleasant, but the cabin in which we stayed, was clean. KOA has always set a good standard, so I'm sure this isn't a regular occurance.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am so very sorry that our restrooms were not up to our usual standard of cleanliness during your visit. We had a brief housekeeping issue, at the end of April and the first week of May, which has been resolved. Please visit us again and you'll find everything clean from corner to corner.
May 12, 2014
My son and I enjoyed the KOA campground and all of the activities. But the motorcycles driving around all day ruined the stay for me. I complained on Sunday to a staff member at the store, but the motorcycles kept going. Exhaust, dust, noise, all of these ruined it for me. I missed the birds and the fresh air. Your policy stated no one under 16 can be driving and these were about 8 or 9.
May 11, 2014
Freindly and helpful staff, Great views from the tent areas in the back. No Wi-fi back there, but cell internet works fine.
May 08, 2014
We stayed two nights and the bathrooms were never cleaned. One men's bathroom has only one toilet and it was backed up with waste the entire time we stayed there. It is a pity since the place is so beautiful. For people who liked tent camping this situation is not necessarily the end of the world but the price this KOA is charging for a night's stay is definitively a rip-off.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am very sorry our restrooms were not up to our usual standard of cleanliness during your visit. We had a brief housekeeping issue while I was away, at the end of April and the first week of May, which has been resolved. Please visit us again and you'll find everything clean from corner to corner.
May 07, 2014
friendly owners but, the KOA is not up to standards, roads are dirt and camp areas dirty , for the$$$ .
May 06, 2014
WE SPENT THREE DAYS AND TWO NIGHTS IN THE DELUXE CABIN NEAR THE POOL ND ENJOYED IT VERY MUCH. THANKS FOR A GREAT TIME. WE'LL DEFINETLY DO IT AGAIN.
May 06, 2014
We enjoy this quiet campground.
May 05, 2014
When I arrived, there was someone in my spot and the person was not around so I offered to move to another spot which mad my stay very difficult because I was there with a group and didn't get to camp with them. I had to keep going back and forth with supplies from my site to my friends site this was a huge hassle .also the electric hook ups don't have a standard plug in for .extention cord.
May 05, 2014
the camp location was great. but cabin and restroom was not cleaned and dirty. the shower was lusted
May 05, 2014
The manager and his family were very good and nice people. However, the person who I made the reservation with lied to me and told me that the camp store would be open until 8pm on Friday and Saturday-however when I showed up at 730 on Saturday night it was closed and the sign said closed at 5PM due to Winter hours. I was charged Summer rates, but the park is on Winter hours? I won't be back.
May 04, 2014
we waited 1 hour to have our location because there's already someone. yet it was 4:00 pm!! we were disappointed
May 04, 2014
Best time to visit is in spring time
May 03, 2014
The hosts are very helpful and the campground is well maintained. The bathrooms were dirty, not maintained for 2 days of my 3 day stay.
May 02, 2014
May 01, 2014
Great place and people
Apr 30, 2014
Bathrooms were dirty on the second day. Usually they are cleaned before everyone wakes up. Toilets were clogged as well.
Apr 29, 2014
KOA was an awesome place! I would definitely recommend there yurts!
Apr 29, 2014
Very clean and well kept. We were happy with our site and will return when the nights are a little warmer. Thank you, Bill
Apr 28, 2014
Very friendly staff. Great location for the POZO Saloon concerts. Some of the guest were a bit too rowdy on Fri night other than that the stay was great.
Apr 28, 2014
Beautiful setting, friendly host's. Wild Turkeys strolling through the campground. We'll be back.
Apr 28, 2014
The staff were very friendly and helpful. I admired that there were so many activities available, playground, volleyball court, pool, etc. and look forward to bringing the children next time. Thank you!!
Apr 28, 2014
Loved everything about it. First time there. Will definitely return.
Apr 28, 2014
We loved your camp site. The little cabins are great for people that are riding motorcycles. We had a great time. It was also very nice that they pervided bedding and towels so we had more room on are bikes for the ride up. Can't wait to vist more KOA destinations on are bikes thank you.
Apr 28, 2014
Very good location for someone wanting to visit the many towns and cities nearby.
Apr 25, 2014
Loved our tent site. We had plenty of space in our site to play, and the kids loved the jumping pillow. Close to Santa Margarita Lake where we all had fun fishing.
Apr 25, 2014
We stayed at Camp 87, best experience possible! Thank you
Apr 25, 2014
It was wonderful!
Apr 23, 2014
Had a good time, we are looking forward to returning in the future. We really liked space 99 it was nice and relaxing.
Apr 23, 2014
Apr 22, 2014
Very nice prefab cabin walking distance to the lake. Summer Swimming pool. Quite, clean, friendly.
Apr 22, 2014
Friendly staff, turkeys and deer around, bathrooms clean, lots of trees, unique campground! We stay here anytime we're in the area!
Apr 21, 2014
Our stay was nice except that there was something wrong with the septic system. The entire campground smelled awful in the evenings. I did like that it had some big secluded RV sites.
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 21, 2014
Apr 20, 2014
We enjoyed our stay. People were extremely nice and helpful. The pool was nice and clean but cold! Not heated in April. Enjoyed the frisbee golf. Campgrounds were beautiful and clean. Our rv is on smaller side (26') but bigger rv's may have trouble fitting. Definitely a tenters paradise. Only two bathrooms though. Great hiking. Would definitely stay there again.
Apr 20, 2014
Apr 20, 2014
Apr 19, 2014
We loved our stay here. The staff was nice, the bathrooms amazingly clean, lots of land to explore. The only two complaints would be that the fire pits are extremely shallow and the guy driving the golf cart with the blue (staff member) drove as fast as possible everywhere he went, kicking up dust and disregarding children's safety when driving near the playground. The playground was awesome btw!
Apr 18, 2014
sites are not level.
Apr 17, 2014
third stay and the people keep getting nicer and the Grand kids love it.
Apr 17, 2014
Staff were very friendly, grounds were well maintained- nice quiet campground. We had a blast!
Apr 15, 2014
Very nice and clean cabin, missing a few essentials (kitchen trash can and bags, hand soap, only had 1 roll of toilet paper). Only things wrong with cabin were bathtub drain didn't plug and bathroom fan didn't work. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much.
Apr 13, 2014
Apr 13, 2014
We all loved camping at camp koa my parents have gone for 14 years and now its become a family tradition we always get excited because there is always something new to experince at camp koa, plus everyone is very nice and helpful .
Apr 10, 2014
Extremely helpful staff, fun lake, beautiful scenery, beautiful scenery, beautiful scenery , and the kids loved the jumping pillow. Our stay was in April and we had perfect weather and thankfully no problems with wasps like I had read on other peoples reviews. It was an awesome time! Did I mention the beautiful scenery?
Apr 10, 2014
Great campground and staff. Site we had was large and pretty secluded. Restrooms clean and a well stocked store. Thanks so much.
Apr 08, 2014
This may be one of the nicest locations of any KOA campground. Staff was friendly and accommodating.
Apr 07, 2014
We frequent the Moteray Bay Area, and spend $200 plus a night for a hotel room. Our family also loves camping with you, we get the best of both worlds at a great price, the kids had a blast making s'mores. The cabins are great, can't wait to go back.
Apr 07, 2014
Apr 07, 2014

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.