Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Free Night May 10!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps

Campground Reviews

Aug 08, 2013
We brought our son & his friends on a bday camping trip - it was perfect! Very safe campground, super friendly and helpful staff, loved our little cabins. We'll definitely be back!
Aug 07, 2013
My friend and I stayed in site 61. It overlooked all of the RVs. Not our idea of a great view, but once the Oleanders grow in, it'll be a dynamite site.
Aug 06, 2013
Aug 06, 2013
Excellent vacation getaway, wasn't able to enjoy the lake much.
Aug 06, 2013
Very friendly staff. Lots of activities for kids and adults.
Aug 05, 2013
Great activities (swimming, frisbee golf, jumping pillow, star night, movies, shmore fire, band, horse shoes, foosball ...), friendly and helpful hosts, etc. Noisy and dusty as large RV's power up steep hills on gravel roads.
Aug 05, 2013
The yurt your was clean and comfortable and very fun to stay in. The staff members were friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were clean but old and dingy. The fact that it is built on hill made it a little hard to navigate but very private.
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Had a wonderful time! Bathrooms and other facilities were convenient but still spaced out enough to get some exercise and not have building too close together. The yurt was fantastic and we would stay there again in a minute! The star gazing event was an added bonus that we have been meaning to come to- so that was wonderful! thank you for a great experience!
Aug 05, 2013
Nice to get away from the heat and hussel bussel of the city. Relaxing atmosphere, great service
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Aug 05, 2013
Perfect for families. Lots of fun stuff for the kiddos. We were bummed that there was no swimming at the lake but nice that we could at least get wet at the pool.
Aug 02, 2013
Climbing the tall stairs to the restrooms late at night can be quite difficult.
Aug 02, 2013
All sites (for RV, cabins and tents) are just dirt. The bathrooms are closed for cleaning 8am - 10am each morning - really??? You have to do this when most people need to use them??? The office staff was getting cited by an undercover detective for selling tobacco to a minor when we walked into the office. I won't be staying here again.
Aug 01, 2013
Along way from anywhere to eat if you are travelling light
Aug 01, 2013
Our family and friends had a great time. The staff was awesome. We will do it again.
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Stayed in a cozy cottage, it was great!
Aug 01, 2013
Aug 01, 2013
Dirty restrooms, very difficult to get to restrooms,
Jul 31, 2013
Management doesn't care about quality of service, condition of cabins. Cabin was dirty under beds at check in. Coffeemaker had mold. Low employee morale. Bathrooms needed remodel and cleaning. Roads are dusty - need paving. Pool area not paved properly; excessive puddling/slip hazard. Offal sewage odor from nearby cesspool ruined our stay. No notice when water was shut off for plumbing repairs.
Jul 31, 2013
The on premise ownership is apparent as the campgrounds and hospitality at Santa Margarita is top notch! I would have to rate our experience a 10. Would absolutely recommend anyone to enjoy the amenities including movie night, stargazing, live music, and more.
Jul 31, 2013
Nice site and very quiet. Site was quite exposed with little tree shade but otherwise lots to do for the kids and a helpful team.
Jul 30, 2013
We stayed in Cabin #3 at Santa Margarita and it was the best camping experience. Our kids truly enjoyed the pool and giant jumping pillow.
Jul 30, 2013
I did not expect to find a KOA that was as nice as this. When I have been to other camps they were on the main highways an we had a trailer so it was just basic hook ups and a flat concrete slab. Santa Margarita was more unique and having a clean well sorted cabin that even had wi fi was a treat. I am a basics kind of guy who prefers memories over luxury. Good camp!
Jul 30, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
My family and friends were super impressed with the Santa Margarita KOA! Everything about this campground is awesome! We loved all the activities (pool, jumping pillow, crafts,etc) specially the music and barbecue! The kids danced all night and got a chance to roast their own hot dogs! We made amazing memories! I already recommended this to two other friends today! We want to go back there ASAP!!!
Jul 29, 2013
Wonderful place and great staff. Lots to do.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
It was just a wonderful campground and I really hope we get to go next year.
Jul 29, 2013
Jul 29, 2013
Dirt roads not good for motorcycles. Had to climb small hill to get to bathroom/ showers. Spiders and bugs in rented cabin. Nice friendly staff otherwise.
Jul 29, 2013
Super nice staff. Unique campground. Good people. Clean bathrooms.
Jul 29, 2013
This little gem is WORTH THE DRIVE FOLKS!!! Although the Kampground was booked, the KOA staff managed to squeeze us in an overflow spot. I'm so glad we stayed, my kids had a great time with all of the family activities; the jumping pillow, playground, pool, and the family style BBQ with live music was a great way to enjoy the last night of our vacation. We will definitely be back. THANKS SMKOA!!!
Jul 28, 2013
Jul 28, 2013
Fair - when compared to other KOA's. All roads to camp sites are dirt, no gravel. This creates an extremely dusty facility. We were kept awake all night by barking dogs that belong to some of the neighboring land owners. Staff was very helpful and professional.
Jul 27, 2013
Everything was excellent the only reason why I didn't give them 5 stars is because the restrooms were always dirty and cloged water overflowing on the ground. Other than that we enjoy our stay
Jul 26, 2013
We have stayed here a lot over the years and have never been disappointed!
Jul 26, 2013
Don't enjoy camping in dirt. No grass for dogs. Restrooms far away, too many hills. Camped with others and hills separated us.
Jul 25, 2013
10 points for clean bathrooms! Campsites are very small.Site#63 High ground Don't recomend it if you have toddlers.They were nice enough to move us down site#15. No boat, dont go to the Lake $10.00 per car. Walk in for free, but w/little ones in a hot day, not a good idea.Make the best of it we just had a picnic & pulled out our kites! I will try another KOA KG
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 25, 2013
Jul 24, 2013
Lieu vraiment superbe. Malgré les dires Wifi disponible sur l'emplacement
Jul 24, 2013
Employees very nice! Bathrooms were not clean. Biggest complaint, the NOISE! Maybe its the quality of campers that stay there... First night, was awoken by a car alarm and then the owner decided to pack up and leave but not before he crushed all of his beer cans...At 4:15 am!!!2nd night similar occurrence... both nights had to endure listening to other peoples car radios at FULL volume. Just rude.
Jul 23, 2013
We told them we were 2 adults & they put us next to the Bounce Pillow & didn't enforce the curfew time kids were bouncing @ 10pm !!
Jul 23, 2013
The facilities were very clean and kept up, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. We will definitely be coming back.
Jul 23, 2013
Small sites with little privacy. Fresh water is yellow/brown. Staff should warn you at check in. We asked another camper to learn it is iron from well water. Now concerned about clearing pipes of minerals.
Jul 22, 2013
The staff (especially Sharie) made us feel very welcome. The camp was clean and comfortable. The Saturday night BBQ was a disappointment but overall we had a great time.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.