Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Email

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 10, 2015
Aug 10, 2015
Overall it was a good stay. The kids enjoyed the activities saturday but with the pillow broke, the swing set unusable, the lake almost dried up, and most of the roads unpaved, there wasnt much else for them to do. Loved that you could either camp near someone or far with different camp style options and hiking nearby was great. It was hilly though and my legs r sore now.
Aug 10, 2015
It is a family enviroment and the campground is always clean! Also the staff is suuper friendly! :)
Aug 10, 2015
Place was great only bad thing was none of the amenities were available for the kids. Jumping pillow or playground were broken. Would've been nice to get a heads up before reserving or get some what of a discount.
Aug 10, 2015
Great configuration. Not sure you have enough bathroom facilities for the size, and the bathrooms could use a little updating. It was a bit loud after quiet time started but not unbearably so. Not surprising for a weekend at a place used by locals. Definitely a good experience.
Aug 10, 2015
We had a wonderful stay. The staff was super friendly and accommodating. Camping at this location was more like getting away from city camping. It was very well groomed and maintained. Because it was a summer weekend it was completely full and we found the bathrooms/showers to be very busy. That was the only nonpositive comment we would make. We loved the terrain and atmosphere. Great place
Aug 09, 2015
The campsite area is absolutely fantastic. Properly in the country, peaceful and away from the rush. We were lucky and got a huge secluded site BUT the washrooms were totally unacceptable. Old, dirty and disgusting. A clean would have helped. The worst ones we have seen on our travels.
Aug 09, 2015
Great staff - very helpful. Well-maintained area. Wonderful experience for me and my family.
Aug 08, 2015
Aug 08, 2015
Aug 08, 2015
We liked this camping a lot. It was quiet, we had a large space. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. We liked the pool and volleyball playground. Unfortunately the bouncing pillow was under renovation.
Aug 07, 2015
Bad roads, dumpsters full and not emptied, no cell phone reception, and space is dirt and not level.
Aug 07, 2015
The playground and the jumping pillow were under construction during our stay, but the website didn't mention anything about it. Huge disappointment since we have two kids and they choose this campground for the amenities they saw on the website. Disc golf course was fenced in and had goats in it. Only activity our kids can do was the horse shoe toss. Pls disclose the issue on the website.
Aug 07, 2015
Site #13 is literally in a ditch. No grass, no playground, dirty bathrooms, and much farther from town than expected. At least the staff was nice.
Aug 07, 2015
A nice slice of paradise in rolling hills. We came in late but had no problem finding our cabin,it was clean good size close to the bathrooms. Quiet throughout the night we slept like we where dead. Thanksgiving dinner-three wild turkey's -ran pass our cabin gave our doxie a fun experience in the morning. Come on by and give theses good people a look,am sure you will enjoy your time here.
Aug 06, 2015
I had a great time with my family and it was nice that visitors were so easily accommodated when they came to have just dinner.
Aug 06, 2015
The breaker outside kept tripping, placed smelled like septic, and construction was going on so we couldn't enjoy ourselves.
Aug 05, 2015
The camp grounds are very clean. The staff always available and helpful. The family love the peaceful and spacious campgrounds. The deluxe cabin was amazing. The amenities where all great. The vent and air conditioner keep the room nice and comfortable. Having separate slideimg door for bunk room added another plus to the room. Santa Margarita Lake was walking distance.
Aug 05, 2015
Site was tiny. Fire pit was literally 6 feet from neighbors sewer line. Pool was green. Playground nowhere near complete. Volleyball court was in shambles. Bounce pillow nonexistent. Staff was friendly. Hookups worked. Was VERY expensive for what we got. There was one camper spot that I would consider in the future after playground completion. If it's not available, no way would I stay again.
Aug 04, 2015
Nice party weekend at KOA. Lots of music and good times.
Aug 04, 2015
We liked most things about this campsite. The setting is idyllic, the yurt in which we stayed was spacious, isolated, and clean, the restrooms were well stocked and passably clean, and the camp hosts were friendly. We were disappointed by the state of the pool. It was slimy on the bottom, and the water had a green hue. We wished we had brought insect/fly repellent. Overall, our stay was pleasant.
Aug 03, 2015
Great stay! Love this place
Aug 03, 2015
Great time. Just wished the bouncer and playground was up as I got the yurt right next to it for that reason besides that everything was great. Staff is amazing. Will be making it a yearly trip from now on.
Aug 03, 2015
Garbage had not been emptied for some time. Dusty. Many cramped spaces.
Aug 03, 2015
Very nice campground we are looking forward to going back real soon
Aug 03, 2015
I highly recommend staying in one of the deluxe cabins! We were completely comfortable with 2 adults, 2 children and a dog. Pros: air cond, full kitchen, 2 t.v's, fire ring, full bath. Best of both worlds- camping and hotel-ing. Cons: disappointed on the lack of cleanliness inside when we first arrived. Kids looked forward to the jumping pillow and playground- both were not in operation.
Aug 03, 2015
Aug 03, 2015
Very helpful staff, decent women's bathroom (even though the main one is very small) but the men's bathroom wasn't very clean and didn't have great showers.
Aug 03, 2015
Nice place except I payed full price and my kids missed out on a few attractions cause they were broken. Also they should do a zip line there. It would be perfect for it.
Aug 02, 2015
This campground is beautiful. But the disc golf course was pretty run down and sad. And there were warnings about bears and trash but the giant trash bin had nor been emptied. We will return though.
Aug 02, 2015
Great stay overnight but where's the jumping thing?
Aug 01, 2015
Hi, We were given 2 spots that were next to each other (78 & 79) but one was much higher that the other so it was complicated to visit our friends, especially our friend had a hip pain and daughter with an injured ankle. We didn't realize we should have verified the location of the spots by phone before.
Jul 31, 2015
Bathrooms too far away....other than that great
Jul 31, 2015
Site 89 is in a really great private spot. Highly recommended!
Jul 31, 2015
It is wonderful experience of my camping life. Thanks for KOA supply so wonderful place for travelers
Jul 31, 2015
Nice friendly hosts. Very quiet and rustic. We liked our stay here.
Jul 30, 2015
Don't know if it was from recent rains, but my one complaint would be the deep (in some parts very deep) wash out area at the entrance to my spot (26 I believe.) Makes backing in, positioning, and pulling out more challenging than it needs to be. Beyond that, easy to get to, nice area, and my family and I enjoyed our stay.
Jul 30, 2015
Wonderful quiet setting. Very relaxing. Great help from staff regarding recommended routes for our large RV. Thanks
Jul 30, 2015
Great campground! The lake was dry because of the drought but the campground was clean, and quiet, and the owners were very nice. We will come back again
Jul 30, 2015
We called in with a same day booking and the woman on the phone was so considerate toward our need to be as close to the restrooms as possible (we have a 3 year old). Restrooms we clean and showers were great, clean with out any creepy crawlers to freak out my 7 year old although they are a little on the small side.
Jul 29, 2015
The staff are genuinely friendly and very willing to help you have a wonderful stay.
Jul 29, 2015
We LOVED this KOA, it was our first KOA experience. We were only disappointed that the jumping pillow wasn't working.
Jul 28, 2015
Reasonable cost and crew were personable and kind to me and my service animal. Thanks
Jul 28, 2015
Very nice, staff were very accomodating and friendly.
Jul 28, 2015
This was our first visit to small cabin rental. We thought bed linen and towels were provided like motels, so had to adjust. We did enjoy the experience. THANKS!
Jul 27, 2015
Lovely rural atmosphere.
Jul 27, 2015
Outstanding!! Had everything we needed anything we didn't have was available at the store. Definetely would recommend to friends and family. Price weren't to high at the store. Overall outstanding expierence. Thank you
Jul 27, 2015
Nice place, easy to get to ,clean nice.
Jul 27, 2015
No insects, but poor internet also. Bathrooms should be modernised
Jul 26, 2015
Great place to camp. My family loves this KOA.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals

Camp for $10 on May 14!

Book Now!

KOA Care Camps