Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 06, 2015
We had a very nice time the park was beautiful And camp host were awesomewere awesome
Apr 06, 2015
Stayed here because all campgrounds close to the beech were full. Beautiful location, large spaces, lots of trees and lots of potential but poorly maintained. Showers were dirty and the only toilet in the men's bathroom was plugged. Stayed in a yurt and had to walk down s steep bank to the bathroom (there was toilet paper behind the yurt). Management was were polite and courteus.
Apr 06, 2015
Beautifull surrounding, campground really in The nature, but restrooms nötig clean at all.
Apr 06, 2015
It was OK, thank.s
Apr 04, 2015
Very Nice campground, lots if schade andere plenty to do for the kids
Apr 03, 2015
Apr 03, 2015
We enjoyed our stay very much. Lots of things for our grandkids to do and we were close to the coast. We will be staying again in the future.
Apr 02, 2015
We stayed in the Sunset cabin. It was adorable and the perfect size for our family of 5. We will definitely be back next year! Medeiros Family.
Apr 01, 2015
The campground was nice - lots of trees, playground, pool, and the store! The cabin we stayed in was nicely stocked with dishes. Downside, we heard LOTS of children playing. Note to self to check cabin location for future visits. Also, the inside of the microwave (top) was dirty, and the floor of the cabin could have used a good sweeping.
Apr 01, 2015
We had a good site. The environment was great, looking forward to returning.
Apr 01, 2015
The only reason I wouldn't be extremely likely to recommend it is because it's a bit rustic. I know many of my family who camp prefer more of a hotel-like experiences with their campgrounds and the steps to the restrooms would be a no-go. But we loved it!
Apr 01, 2015
The people there are wonderful but the campsite leaves a lot to be desired. Our site had no available electricity which it was supposed to have. The washroom adjacent to our site 22 was a disgusting mess. The mens toilet did not work and it stunk.
Mar 31, 2015
We have been coming here for the last 3 summers...we live it...it totally has the camping feel and is well kept up...and the staff are so friendly....will be back in a couple weeks.... :)
Mar 31, 2015
We had a great stay. Wish there was water in the pool, it was extremely hot out. But we had a good time
Mar 30, 2015
Enjoyed our stay! Wish we could haver stayed longer. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our cabin was perfect.
Mar 30, 2015
We had such a great time in our "remote" campsite. Great view, complete privacy, and best porta potty ever! Only downside was the barking dog all night from the private property next door. We will definitely be back!
Mar 29, 2015
Super clean campground.
Mar 25, 2015
we stayed at the Deluxe Cabin #3 for 2 nights. Everything is perfect, but what I don't like is that there is no tv, loud noise coming from the heater, and there is cold air coming out of the vent. If you had all those things fixed, I could've gave you 5 stars.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments about the loud heater and the draft. We will address the issues right away. We look forward to seeing you again.
Mar 23, 2015
Had a great stay, quiet and peaceful. The check in was a breeze with a very helpful person. We'll be back I'm sure.
Mar 23, 2015
Our stay was great!
Mar 23, 2015
Perfect weather, beautiful site, nice amenities. Thanks for having us.
Mar 18, 2015
A great place to stay for peace and quiet, no traffic noise, no train noise. Very helpful staff! Thank you.
Mar 17, 2015
We liked the campground. However Saturday night, the water went out. It was out for about an hour. But, when it came back on, the water was full of rust. It stained my sink. I think we should get something in return for that.
Mar 17, 2015
We love the stay there can't wait to come back!!!!!
Mar 16, 2015
It was our first time camping even though we stayed in the Yurt which by many is not considered camping we had a very good time. We definitely want to do this again. The staff was very night and helpful also.
Mar 16, 2015
Off season is not the best time to stay as a single lady, but would be a blast for family. There's lots of fun things for the kids to do & close to the lake. I voiced my concerns, of loose & barking dogs & kids unsupervised after dark, & an old sewage spill at my site, with management, who explained that there isn't an active manager at night and took care of the other problem immediately.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry to hear your stay was less than enjoyable. Yes, we do have active management onsite every night. Because of poor cell reception, campers can reach a staff member by using our landline by the store or a two-way radio by the store door. We will make a better effort to let guests know.
Mar 09, 2015
While setting up the camp below us, which we had clear view of, looked like full time folks, began a load screaming fight with each other, we immediately packed up and left. We will not stay in this type of environment. We sacrificed our money and moved to the Santa Cruz location, which accompanied us. Very pleased here.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are very sorry that your stay was interrupted by fellow guests. We wish you had drawn our attention to the situation while you were onsite. We are known for being a very quiet park. We hope you will visit us again in the near future so we can redeem ourselves.
Mar 05, 2015
needed trash clean up before we got there but quiet
Mar 02, 2015
Nice people
Mar 02, 2015
great as always
Feb 24, 2015
Awesome place to stay with Family & Friends. Very Clean and Well Managed.
Feb 23, 2015
Our group of ~14 (plus 2 kids) had super fun staying at this SM,CA-KOA. Restrooms were in good condition too. However we did run into few minor issues as expected. Our electricity went down (multiple times), when all our neighbors showed up and started using their heaters. Site-mgr immediately helped us out and showed how/where to un-trip the switch for any further tripping. Owner was grt too.
Feb 18, 2015
Campground was nice, and well maintained. Only comment I would make,I was originally registered to site #22 (with 19 ft trailer), would have been near impossible to get in, and no way to get out w/ trailer. Thank you.
Feb 18, 2015
Very friendly, clean. Didn't appreciate the streetlights in the campground. Great for kids.
Feb 17, 2015
We love the wilderness feature of this Campground. It is very difficult for a 40' motorhome to negotiate. We stayed in Site 46 and had to ask people to move their vehicles so we could get in and more so out of our site. Once settled it was fantastic for the remoteness, activities. it's what camping use to be ... relaxing (except for the driving part)
Feb 17, 2015
Great place. Just need more bathrooms. Can't wait to come back.
Feb 17, 2015
The hosts were fantastic people who went out of their way to make our unplanned weekend here great. The blanket of stars overhead was also amazing. Looking forward to trying a cabin next visit.
Feb 17, 2015
Overall we really enjoyed our stay . The kids loved to jumping pillow. We were disappointed to not be able to use the pool. Especially since we had to pay extra for the holiday weekend.
Feb 16, 2015
We arrived late and they waited for us which was great! The setting is beautiful and the jumping pillow was a big hit. Good base to explore the Central Coast.
Feb 16, 2015
Had a great stay, just disappointed that I was on the waiting list for another site and found out they gave it to someone else, and then no one was in it all weekend... kinda feel like I was lied to. :(
Feb 08, 2015
We love it at the SM KOA, its so beautiful here.Always clean and nice and peaceful.The KOA staff are nice and very helpful.
Feb 07, 2015
Friendly, they worked with us coming in later then they stay open. They didn't have free wifi that was a bummer.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yes, we do have Free Wi-fi through Tengo Internet. You have to set up an account with Tengo; but, there is no password needed and no charge. Many KOA's use Tengo; so, once you have an account...you are good to go! Please come see us again. Happy camping!
Feb 04, 2015
Great facilities and friendly service
Feb 02, 2015
Awesome camp ground. I will definitely Yurt again! Thanks SM KoA
Feb 02, 2015
Great facility, great service.
Feb 02, 2015
We only had one night to take it all in. That was not enough. We plan to come back!
Jan 26, 2015
R space was great, but the Internet service was really slow and most times could not connect. Had a great stay will try to be back in a few months,Wiley's
Jan 26, 2015
It cabin was lovely, the view was gorgeous and the help we had picking a room when we called was absolutely wonderful. The cabin was well insulated and when you turned the heater on it took only 2 or 3 minutes for you to feel the cabin was warm all over. I went there stressed and I left relaxed and ready to get back to work. Thank You guys!
Jan 24, 2015
What a great place lots of space staff helpful beautiful quiet place perfect setting I have only 2 negative could the boss of KOA fund new toilets and showers and new washing and drying machines they are very tied looking Staff work hard on site would camp here again
Jan 21, 2015
The staff was very helpful and upgraded us to an easier campsite that would fit our newly acquired, longer, and not easily parked trailer. They also helped us with all kinds of fittings and tips. These are the kind of people that give a good name to campers.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.