Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Email

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2016
Staff was great and very friendly. Would of rated 5 stars had the pillow jump was available. Other then that we all enjoyed our stay. Will be back in the near future.
Aug 01, 2016
Our family enjoyes the pool,movie and slushies!The staff are very friendly and helpful. Needed: air conditioners on EVERY cabin,more outdoor lighting,bee zappers at EVERY cabin,more electrical plugs in 1 room cabins.
Jul 31, 2016
Great place for a family camping trip . 18 of us.
Jul 31, 2016
We will not be staying here again. Our problem wasn't with the cabin (even though it gets really hot with no air inside and the beds are thin and can feel the wood) but the string that cut our vacation short was with the KOA and employees. Will not go into details as it was already worked out with staff. We checked out a day early and was refunded. But I don't recommend this KOA at all!
Jul 31, 2016
Super friendly..last minute stay. I think we got the best campsite even though it was the remote one. Best view of the grounds!
Jul 31, 2016
Perfect
Jul 30, 2016
I give one star for the pool since it was 113 D the air-conditioner in our cabin didn't work. There was nothing do, dead grass and dying oak trees.e has the deluxe cabin and the pullout couch was so horrible my 5yrold told me it hurt to sit on. Not a chance someone would sleep on it. We refused to stay the second night and headed home instead. Also the bounce thing was broken too. Hot!!!!!
Jul 30, 2016
Very clean and comfortable
Jul 30, 2016
Jul 28, 2016
Jul 27, 2016
Another lovely weekend! Thank you guys for having such a lovely KOA!
Jul 27, 2016
Steep hills and not level parking places is my concern.
Jul 27, 2016
The place was clean, everyone was very friendly, and we had fun!!
Jul 26, 2016
Bel emplacement sanitaires bien entretenus personnel très sympathique et accueillant
Jul 25, 2016
It's a very nice place my family and I really like this place
Jul 25, 2016
Jul 25, 2016
Bathrooms are disgusting. Plugging up over flowing. Way to many stairs. Tear down dig into hill and make new. Sad swimming pool closes at 8.
Jul 25, 2016
Everyone was very nice. Campground was well-kept. The only recommendation is to keep pool open until 9 in the summer. But that is being picky.
Jul 23, 2016
We stayed only one night is this wonderfully natural location. It is away from the beaten path but worth the trip to get there.
Jul 22, 2016
We were extremely satisfied with our stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. The cabins and grounds were clean and maintained daily. Our grandkids had a great time swimming at the pool.
Jul 22, 2016
Nice store and helpful staff. Dirt tent site. Steep climb to showers and bathrooms.
Jul 21, 2016
Had a wonderful time at Santa Margarita!
Jul 21, 2016
The trash cans were too full. Please empty on a daily basis.
Jul 21, 2016
Staff was very friendly the showers and cabins were very very clean we had a great trip!!!
Jul 20, 2016
Jul 20, 2016
Would of loved a 50 amp for my Rv luckily my neighbor let me plug into his for a stand up ac. There was a 12ft travel trailer that was in the 50 amp that they could of placed them in 30 amp prior to them getting there. Better Mgmt of Rv sites.
Jul 18, 2016
The canpground is close to nature but has steep roads and the car sometimes get stuck. There is a lot of suspended dirt. Need to fix the internal roads to make this place more enjoyable.
Jul 18, 2016
Brand new but expensive delux cabins. Site is scenic but not for families with children as they are located mountaineer area. There is always a risk if slip and fall of the edge. Roads are not paved well for cars to go safely.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
A great place to stay, far exceeded my expectations. A nice suprise.
Jul 18, 2016
Very quiet and well kept. Would be nice to have a restroom closer to east side. Very nice managers! A little dusty up in there though.
Jul 18, 2016
Jul 18, 2016
Stayed for two nights. The staff was extremely nice and accommodated all of our need. I would be willing to stay here again, and will definitely recommend to friends.
Jul 17, 2016
We absolutely love it here. This is our 2nd year coming. As long as there is water in the lake, we will definitely be back every year.
Jul 17, 2016
Absolutely perfect! Great location, plenty of things for kids to do yet relaxing enough for me and my hubby. Friendly staff. Clean restrooms and shower's. Well definitely be back soon.
Jul 16, 2016
Some of the problem was lack of rain I the area. The roads and camp sites are dirt and it was very dusty. Most sites are a challenge for big rigs. We were there because it was the only spot we could find in the area but we won't be back.
Jul 16, 2016
Out in bf nowhere , and surprisingly great
Jul 15, 2016
I expected the RV sites to be paved.
Jul 14, 2016
This was our first KOA overnight camping experience and I can't wait to plan our next! As a single parent- I wanted lots of activities for the kids and options for me in case my girl scout skills were not up to snuff. My son is 9 and wanted rustic camping all the way. My daughter is 4 and wanted to stay home. KOA is the way to go to keep everyone happy!
Jul 14, 2016
We were only planning to stay a few days but now keep putting off leaving because this campground is the best. The staff people here have been welcoming and do everything they can to enhance the campers' experience. This is hands down the best campground we've ever been to and highly recommend it.
Jul 13, 2016
Jul 13, 2016
Amenities are great. Lots of fun activities for the entire family and good service
Jul 12, 2016
Great location. Friendly staff. We meet our friends here every year and will continue do so. We have stayed in many KOAs and have found this one to be the best.
Jul 12, 2016
Friendly and accommodatng staff. Very few RV's. This campground is in the woods and has nice shady and private spots for tents and cabins if you book in advance.
Jul 12, 2016
Steep incline to camping spot, which made it extremely difficult to level RV. Camp spots so close together neighbors fire pit was located behind my RV and sewer hose was next to our table. Very dusty due to no surface material. Sketchy looking long term trailers in park. Biggest disappointment was the outrageous price we payed to stay. Only good thing to add is the office lady was super nice.
Jul 11, 2016
I didn't like the fact that the staff came and literally kicked us out at checkout time. I would understand of we were late or passed our checkout time but it was like 5 till 12 and we were all packed up just putting the last chair up. We stayed at state campgrounds and had a better experience.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry you felt I "kicked you out of your site at checkout time." You were the last camper to checkout and the next guest had arrived. I wanted to make sure you were aware of the checkout time. I'm truly sorry if my enforcing the rules ruined your stay. I hope the rest of the weekend was GREAT!
Jul 10, 2016
We spent a good time. just a lot of bees
Jul 09, 2016
This koa is amazing. The host go out of their way to help you. Thank you, we will come again!
Jul 09, 2016
Jul 08, 2016
Not enough shade on Mesa hill but then may have had Internet issues. Staff was awesome to make arrangements for the Cal Poly students to stay next to each other. Hope to see them next year. Thanks Michelle and Scott.
 

Reserve Now or Check Dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals