Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jun 17, 2014
We enjoyed our stay and loved the view from our cabin.
Jun 17, 2014
We rented two cabins. (#10 & #11) Both were extrememely clean and comfortable. The entire staff was friendly, welcoming and always helpful. We all felt like family. Couldnt have asked for a better group of people, better accomodations or a better time.
Jun 17, 2014
Our stay would have been a lot better had we been in a different spot. With little kids & bring right next to the road it was stressful. People were flying by also in the middle of the night. I did see kabins in spots that would have been so much better for us.
Jun 17, 2014
Loved it! Best KOA with beautiful grounds, lovely people and gorgeous surroundings!
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Jun 16, 2014
Messed us about on arrival despite having pre booked and then the electric at our pitch didn't work. No offer of a refund/discount .just not good enough.
Jun 15, 2014
Jun 10, 2014
Very relaxing stay. Very well managed, clean and well looked after. Many thanks.
Jun 09, 2014
The staff was so friendly 100% of the time. I was constantly needing to ask questions and adjust my reservations. They were so accommodating. The restrooms smelled good and the activities for the kiddos were top notch. Over all the facilities were clean and the hot water was hot! I only wish that the maps showed that everything was hilly ie the bathrooms were no where near our site. But now I know
Jun 09, 2014
Nice, clean KOA. Staff was friendly & my overall experience was good. Only complaint is they need more restrooms or potties throughout the campground. An outhouse by the playground would have been great. I think there's only two shower/potty buildings so if you're on a walk or at the plygrnd w/ your kids there's noplace to go without walking a mile. Otherwise I would give 5 stars :o(
Jun 09, 2014
We had a great time! We are from SLO and it was the perfect way to start summer. Staff was great, fun activities, and the grounds were well kept. We will be back!
Jun 09, 2014
So easy and clean! We had a great stay.
Jun 08, 2014
Jun 08, 2014
The bathroom by our site was out of order and the closest one was not obviously marked so it was difficult to find. We paid for a more secluded area but were still able to see and hear other campers close by. It was very nice that the ground was raked before we got there so we didn't have to worry about picking up rocks ect. And the lady who checked us in was very kind and helped us navigate.
Jun 04, 2014
Jun 02, 2014
DIRT....and just not dirt that is packed or solid but like dirt that you step in and a cloud of dust poofs up around you. Nice sewer smell in the middle of nowhere. C'mon man
Jun 01, 2014
Beautiful surroundings, oasis of peace and quiet, Pity we only stayed one night...
Jun 01, 2014
Very nice campground, very clean, everything worked well and felt safe. We live near by so we probably won't return anytime soon. We were just doing a test run our new airstream
May 31, 2014
Very friendly staff. Pari is kept very clean.
May 31, 2014
May 30, 2014
Awesome campground. Very kid friendly....
May 29, 2014
May 28, 2014
The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. However, the bathrooms need immediate updating and ventialtion!! Also, for such a large place and how warm the weather can get, there needs to be additional water areas for kids to refresh and play in. What's amazing about this place is the location. You are literally 30 minutes away from the most amazing beaches in Coastal California and wine country!
May 27, 2014
The cabin was FANTASTIC!! Our whole family member were LOVE this place. But!! This KOA is too far from LA with 101 freeway heavy traffic. ^^
May 27, 2014
The campsites were a little close. I like some room and a little privacy when camping.
May 27, 2014
Was great looking forward on going back
May 27, 2014
Very nice staff. Good sites. We enjoyed ourselves very much.
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 27, 2014
May 26, 2014
They take a lot of pride in their maintenance of their facility the people nice and very service oriented
May 25, 2014
Awesome! The tent sites are incredible, great views, peace and quiet. A great experience and my third or fourth time there.
May 21, 2014
This campsite was amazing. everyone was so helpful and and nice. There were plenty of activities to keep the kids busy and we had a wonderful time!!! would defiantly come back. Care camp weekend was wonderful! thank you so much! Ewing
May 19, 2014
Poor signage to sites, bathrooms were clean but sparse, long walks to the bathrooms from anywhere, and not near camping sites at all. Too many RV's mixed with tent camping sites, roads steep and slippery. NOT near Lake at all, and lake is nearly empty. Nice people on staff
May 19, 2014
May 18, 2014
A little too rustic for us...
May 17, 2014
We already booked another stay. We had our grandkids and they had so much fun with all the activities. And we loved the rock band and bbq. Thank you for a great time
May 15, 2014
May 14, 2014
Had a wonderful time bonding with friends. Noticed that they are adding more cabins which we plan to stay next time.
May 14, 2014
Got in late and info was on board for us great site. enjoyed the drive to and from the site. scenery was gorgeous
May 13, 2014
We arrived after the office was closed, & it was after a big weekend. The bathrooms were pretty unpleasant, but the cabin in which we stayed, was clean. KOA has always set a good standard, so I'm sure this isn't a regular occurance.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am so very sorry that our restrooms were not up to our usual standard of cleanliness during your visit. We had a brief housekeeping issue, at the end of April and the first week of May, which has been resolved. Please visit us again and you'll find everything clean from corner to corner.
May 12, 2014
My son and I enjoyed the KOA campground and all of the activities. But the motorcycles driving around all day ruined the stay for me. I complained on Sunday to a staff member at the store, but the motorcycles kept going. Exhaust, dust, noise, all of these ruined it for me. I missed the birds and the fresh air. Your policy stated no one under 16 can be driving and these were about 8 or 9.
May 11, 2014
Freindly and helpful staff, Great views from the tent areas in the back. No Wi-fi back there, but cell internet works fine.
May 08, 2014
We stayed two nights and the bathrooms were never cleaned. One men's bathroom has only one toilet and it was backed up with waste the entire time we stayed there. It is a pity since the place is so beautiful. For people who liked tent camping this situation is not necessarily the end of the world but the price this KOA is charging for a night's stay is definitively a rip-off.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am very sorry our restrooms were not up to our usual standard of cleanliness during your visit. We had a brief housekeeping issue while I was away, at the end of April and the first week of May, which has been resolved. Please visit us again and you'll find everything clean from corner to corner.
May 07, 2014
friendly owners but, the KOA is not up to standards, roads are dirt and camp areas dirty , for the$$$ .
May 06, 2014
WE SPENT THREE DAYS AND TWO NIGHTS IN THE DELUXE CABIN NEAR THE POOL ND ENJOYED IT VERY MUCH. THANKS FOR A GREAT TIME. WE'LL DEFINETLY DO IT AGAIN.
May 06, 2014
We enjoy this quiet campground.
May 05, 2014
When I arrived, there was someone in my spot and the person was not around so I offered to move to another spot which mad my stay very difficult because I was there with a group and didn't get to camp with them. I had to keep going back and forth with supplies from my site to my friends site this was a huge hassle .also the electric hook ups don't have a standard plug in for .extention cord.
May 05, 2014
the camp location was great. but cabin and restroom was not cleaned and dirty. the shower was lusted

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.