Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Jul 21, 2014
Both bathrooms smelled really bad, it seemed like they both needed a really deep cleaning.
Jul 21, 2014
Jul 20, 2014
Nice campgrounds and staff. Thank your for the breakfast recommendation at the Southern Station!
Jul 20, 2014
Sooo disappointed!HUGE misunderstanding about the final costs upon arrival. Went to 2 different employees to seek an answer and got no where. The bathrooms were not cleaned the 3 days we were there, and supplies not stocked. Always have enjoyed simple visits there, but its obvious the cut backs are also effecting them too. We came during the week, don't know if that was the issue? Hope for better.
Jul 20, 2014
Our stay at KOA was awesome!! The staff has done an awesome job to make us feel at home. We will continue to stay for the duration of our project at BlackMountain. Thanks BMY Crew!!!!!
Jul 19, 2014
Hot showers, not right next to a freeway, bounce pillow and disc golf, helpful employees. What's not to love? Would recommend.
Jul 19, 2014
Wonderful visit. Kids love the bouncy pillow and the pool. A great alternative to high-priced hotels in SLO.
Jul 19, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay. The atmosphere of this KOA was nice. Only shortcomings: Not possible to call here and talk live same day (in mid July). TP & paper towels in bathrooms ran out in the morning. This was our first time at this beautiful location. We enjoyed going to the lake (free if you walk there). Our 1 room Kabin was in great shape (it even had an unexpected refrigerator
Jul 18, 2014
We always enjoy staying at the Santa Margarita KOA. It is well kept, the bathrooms are clean, the staff is amazing and the activities for the kids are great. With our local discount, its a nice little getaway without a bunch of fuss and travel. We will definitely be back soon :)
Jul 17, 2014
Office closed early, paths and directions to bathrooms not labelled, pool closed at 8, seems early. Site was nice and flat for a tent.
Jul 17, 2014
My name is Jim Paul and we stayed 4 nites with the Rochin/ Paul reunion group in a motor home. Owner and employees were very accomadating and helpfull. Wish our phones and computers worked a little better and the young ones would have liked cable for the tv. We stayed in #46 and the sewer odor while sitting outside in tne morning was a bit much with coffee. We had a great time and I thank you. Jim
Jul 17, 2014
It was totally great I loved it.. :~}
Jul 17, 2014
Lots of fun for the family. The pool was nice and the jumping pillow was fun for the kids!
Jul 17, 2014
The campsite was beautiful! The showers were cleaner than other campsite bathrooms I've used. Don't really have any complaints. Hope the new bath house is completed soon!
Jul 17, 2014
Jul 16, 2014
Was told we'd have a large covered deck and the cover wasn't built so it felt like we paid for something we didn't get. Needed the space for our family reunion., but instead the cabin fried in the hot sun. It needed some more stocking of items. But it was new and the beds were very comfortable and the AC was great. Also, the women's bathroom at the pool was disgusting. It's smelled terrible!
Jul 16, 2014
Loved everything about it. Great site. Great family activities. Friendly staff.
Jul 16, 2014
Filthy bathrooms the entire stay! After busy W/E we talked to front desk& all they did was replace empty TP. Tuesday a "camper" had a visit from his parole officer, terrible sight in a family campground! Our previous campground was so nice that it was a huge let down for us& the kids at this one! It was not worth the $ paid to stay there.I have pictures if youd like.Paving some roads would help to
Jul 16, 2014
Very dusty and not enough rest rooms
Jul 15, 2014
Good location. Restroom and showers are outdated.
Jul 15, 2014
Park was very clean. Stff was very helpful and friendly. Beautiful location.
Jul 15, 2014
The staff was very welcoming and friendly. This was my first stay at a KOA and I can definitely say it will not be my last.
Jul 14, 2014
Clean site. Friendly staff.Clean bathrooms although far from our site. Cons- lots of wasps.
Jul 14, 2014
We loved it here; great layout of camping spots, fun for the kids, great movie night, very kind staff! Super easy drive to the beaches, drive-in movie, grocery/shopping. We look forward to coming back!
Jul 14, 2014
Before our stay I had 3 phone calls that were never returned, told by the owner that if our group wanted to party (while 5 of us were sitting around the fire), that we have houses for that and we needed to stop sitting around the fire and go into our individual tents and be quiet at 11:30, when a polite "hey guys, please keep it down for our other campers" would have been nicer. Will not be back.
Jul 14, 2014
We love staying at the Santa Margarita Lake KOA. It's close enough to home for a quick get away weekend that feels special. The kids love the giant jumping pillow and pool. They just go back and forth between the two all day! Couldn't be happier. Scott and Karen are amazing, and their entire team is eager to help...with smiles, all of them. That is rare in customer service today. What a gem.
Jul 14, 2014
Campground clean, staff welcome excellent, facilities well tended. A wide variety of camp spots enabled me to find a quiet corner to sleep well.
Jul 14, 2014
Awsome fun for everyone from one year old to two fat fourty year old guys.Camp was well kept. The bouncer pillow wore all of us out. Kellyand Scott were wonderful to work with and even with a last minute addition of my daughters family on a fully booked weekend they still made it happen and made us feel like we were their number one client. Looking forward to staying there again and again.
Jul 13, 2014
Thanks for you good services
Jul 13, 2014
Beautiful park with friendly people and spacious sites. Very quiet at night. We'd definitely return.
Jul 11, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
Jul 11, 2014
Grandkids loved the bounce pillow, as did grandma. Very clean bathroom andshowers. Only wish when you check in they tell you where things are, and tell you how to conect to wi fi.
Jul 10, 2014
Wonderful staff....Allowed us to check in early and directed us to the rec room where I could watch the World Cup Semifinal w/o having to drive into town.
Jul 10, 2014
Jul 09, 2014
We stayed for 9 days and lived every minute. Every one was very friendly.
Jul 09, 2014
What a great camping experience! The hosts were quite friendly, accommodations were plentiful and our cabin was clean and cozy. The sites were close together so it wasn't quiet or secluded in our area but other spaces were. Lots of wildlife could be heard at night, such a nice change from a hotel! We'll visit again!
Jul 07, 2014
One night trip was to get oriented with my new motorhome (and pug puppy camping). Nearly at capacity, Karen set me up in a perfect spot and husband even came up to make sure I parked and set up safely.
Jul 04, 2014
The teenage staff were not helpful. My wife and I would ask questions about the area and where to go and what types of activities. No one knew anything or was at least willing to share. They couldn't even tell us what movie would be playing for the kids movie night hours before the movie began. (It was a kids movie from the 90's with Mary Kate and Ashley Olsen? Really, nothing more updated?)
Jul 03, 2014
Great place to camp near the lake.
Jul 02, 2014
Jul 01, 2014
We had a good time at the camp, but did not realize how far away it was from civilization. Traveling more than an hour to get to the beach was no picnic. Other than that, it was doable.
Jul 01, 2014
Good: The yurt was great and the beds were comfortable. The bathrooms were clean. The staff was very nice. My kids loved the jumping pillow. Bad: The bathrooms are cleaned 8am-10am, which in my book is prime bathroom time. The pool was pretty gross and needed to be cleaned. I wouldn't consider fishing one of the activities because I don't think there are any fish in the lake.
Jul 01, 2014
Jun 30, 2014
We really enjoyed our stay and wish we could have stayed longer. We were really surprised at how friendly the staff is and all the activities they have. The whole campground is set-up in a very friendly matter. Even the other campers would take the time to stop and talk to us. One other thing, I read the reviews about the dirt and dust and we DID NOT find any problem with it. Keep it up!
Jun 30, 2014
The facility was well maintained overall, my only requests would be 1) water near my campsite (#90) 2) trash at/near campsite 3) bathroom facilities that didn't require a car drive 4) get rid of the "watch dog" who barked long into the night right at the fence a stone's throw from my tent.
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
We loved the yurt! We are locals but decided to do a one night slumber party for my daughters birthday. It was the perfect set up for a slumber party with teenage girls. The only negative was the distance to the bathrooms.
Jun 29, 2014
Jun 29, 2014
Nice facilities, sites are too close together. If you can get a good site it is a nice place.

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.