Santa Margarita KOA

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

  • Email
  • Get Directions
Camper Rating
4 out of 5
Reserve Now
Or Check Rates
Next Step
ft. long
Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.
Yes     No    
Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy

Campground Reviews

Apr 28, 2015
Great and friendly staff.
Apr 28, 2015
Customer Service and Management were great to work with. Just a pre warning...some of the hills are steep and hard to pull trailers up if you are pulling a trailer and do not have 4 wheel drive. We ran into this problem and saw several others challenged with the same problem while we stayed. Other than that...we had a great time!
Apr 28, 2015
Had a great time!!!
Apr 28, 2015
Awesome newer cabin, great views, great atmosphere.
Apr 27, 2015
This place is so well laid out with too many treasures to name. Everything is clean and well maintained . Then there is the staff who take the time to make sure you have everything you need to ha e a great time .
Apr 27, 2015
Staff was helpful. Lots of space in between camp sites. The Coastal Oak trees beautiful. Goats were friendly. Showers were small.
Apr 27, 2015
Apr 25, 2015
The staff is what stands out the most at this KOA. Clint and Scott provided outstanding service. I will be recommending this KOA to friends and family and look forward to staying again for future vacations.
Apr 24, 2015
Quiet, shady spot - exactly what I asked for. : )
Apr 22, 2015
While the weather turned cold and we could not stay as long as we wanted, the camp was very nice and the workforce people were very nice.
Apr 21, 2015
Cabin was OK. Had holes in the screens and was a LONG walk from the bathroom. Bathrooms were dirty. Jump pillow and playground were great for the kids.
Apr 21, 2015
Was so beautiful and the staff was amazing thank u for a great adventure
Apr 21, 2015
Its beautiful here. Always clean, quiet and the Staff is very friendly and helpful.My family,friends and myself will come back again and again.
Apr 20, 2015
Thanks for all the hard work!
Apr 20, 2015
Maybe next time I'll get a better spot, I think I had the worst spot in the entire camp area.
Apr 20, 2015
Our stay was great! We stayed at site that had awkward drive and huge rocks making us have to make a 3 point turn in that little road. The next morning I went up the road that said one way (sorry) and it was so easy to enter the site. Other that it was perfect. Clean bathrooms, friendly staff, and welcoming environment.
Apr 20, 2015
It was amazing just as it was last year! Great staff all the way around☺️. I will be returning next year.
Apr 19, 2015
We had a nice time camping. But we missed the children's activities we took part in last May. I hope you will add them to next year's Spring break.
Apr 18, 2015
Closed store early. Staff was friendly. Topography of campground was really fun. Guests were thoughtfully spread out for added privacy. Minimal rec center activities but farm animals and frisbee golf made up for that. We wished the frisbee golf course was a little better maintained, lots of junk in the way and grass not trimmed making it difficult at times to find the disc. Ask for map!
Apr 17, 2015
We had a wonderfull stay there. The staff is friendly, the place is beatiful, we had a great tent site. Clean showers and restrooms.
Apr 15, 2015
Well, if I have to nitpick I'd have to say the horseshoe pit is too close to campsite #42. Some clumsy kid nearly drilled a horseshoe into the passenger window of my wife's minivan. Otherwise we have no complaints. We love Santa Margarita KOA- beautiful setting, friendly staff- and will likely return some time.
Apr 15, 2015
My second time staying here, the Kampground Manager went out of his way to help me and for that I'm am extremely greatful. THE BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE!
Apr 15, 2015
The camp site was very rustic. The roads up to some of the camp sites were a little scary to drive on. After staying at previous koa's I was a little surprised. Other koa's are very developed and have planned activities for the kids, bike rentals, etc. this camp site only has a Jumping pillow and a play set and a pool. The pool was closed. We stayed in a deluxe cabin which was very nice.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Santa Margarita KOA's Summer Activities begin on Memorial Day Weekend and our pool opens May 1st. Yes, we are a dark-sky, rustic, rural campground and not a paved-parking-lot style. Some of our lodges are brand new and we are still developing the site amenities. Please visit us again. Thank you.
Apr 14, 2015
After multiple stays here, this weekend was the absolute best!
Apr 14, 2015
My family always enjoys a stay here. I park my motorhome with older son as a companion. Younger son and family get a cabin. Only criticism is the laundry room. Bad experience there a year ago and again this year. New machines needed.
Apr 14, 2015
Another great stay!
Apr 14, 2015
I had a great experience and will return
Apr 13, 2015
No Swimming Pool until summer season No movie nights until summer season The Wifii was terrible It actually hurt the settings on all of our devices -- on our devices Many Books that were bought and downloaded on our readers were deleted The lake was much farther than we were told ... Not a 1/4 Mile ... It was actually 1.2 Miles each way
Apr 13, 2015
We were given camp site 26 originally then were able to move to site 100 which was much better! Site 26 is really small and located in weird spot. Service was awesome check in and out was easy and fast! The kids loved the pillow jumper! I gave it 4 stars because a dog barked almost every night. Oh well something's happen. Overall great area tucked away from the every day!
Apr 13, 2015
We really enjoyed out stay! This is a quiet peaceful KOA. It's perfect for a calm get away and close enough to action to enjoy the best of both worlds.
Apr 13, 2015
The barking dogs wasn't a hit I think they should go back up the hill where there's not so many people....their pretty noisy! Other then that we love the place...
Apr 13, 2015
Our stay overall was good. we tent camped with our dog, he did great but lots of other dogs barked all night. pool was closed for repair, hopefully fixed soon. drinking water seemed a little "murky". bathrooms were what you expect at a small sight. we would go back
Apr 13, 2015
Nearest bathroom was closed for maintenance.. Bummer for me, good for others following work completion!
Apr 13, 2015
Had great time with my kids and my dog! One mistake I made was I didn't read the directions on the website and I relied on my navigation took the winding road 58. trust me DO NOT take this road, we barely made there without throwing up.
Apr 13, 2015
It was great really clean and camp site's are great tons of fun thx for a good birthday at your campground. Will recommended to everyone.
Apr 13, 2015
Only problem was there was one toilet in the bathroom and it was a good distance away from the camp site other than that it was great
Apr 13, 2015
Overall great - kids loved the pillow but were disappointed that the pool was closed.
Apr 13, 2015
first time here, awesome place with a very friendly staff, maintained very well and very clean.
Apr 13, 2015
Fantastic! It was the cleanest campground I have ever stayed in! The staff was extremely helpful and kind. Super clean bathrooms too!
Apr 13, 2015
let me start off with a MAJOR issue we have that has not be resolved. We were incorrectly billed for an extra night. We have yet to hear back on resolving of the issue. The campground was ok, cabin was small but nice with all appliances working. however Wifi did not work at all. with the OVERbilling issue unresolved I'm not likely to recommend this site. I would appreciate a response to my e-mail.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

According to your ledger, we corrected our billing error the very next day. Unfortunately, credit card companies take at least 14 days to issue a credit. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Please let us know if your refund hasn't been received. Thank you for visiting Santa Margarita KOA.
Apr 11, 2015
My wife and i have stayed here many times we always love this campground even a really bad rain didnt dampen our stay we will be back again highly recommend staying here
Apr 11, 2015
Beautiful and peaceful campsite and helpful staff. However, the shower facilities let it down a little.
Apr 08, 2015
We loved our first KOA experience and are looking forward to many family trips in the future!
Apr 08, 2015
We made our reservation over a month in advance on line. We showed up relatively early in the day on Saturday, and clearly our site had been given away. We wanted a tent site and didnt need any services but wanted a private site. We were given an alternative way up the hill, but that wasnt a site at all, and had to settle as it was getting dark for a small site near the front. Ruined our trip

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry that you had a less-than-perfect experience at Santa Margarita KOA. I was out sick on Easter weekend. I am not sure why your site was changed. I would love to offer you some free camping in 2015. Please call & say "Karen said we could tent camp FREE for 2 nights! See the Notes." Deal?
Apr 07, 2015
I LikeThis CampGround Very Much,Plan On Coming Back.
Apr 06, 2015
Great. Area w/room for big tent, SUV, 2 tables, BBQ, & fire pit - & for our kid to ride his bicycle without running over everything. Kind staff, clean facilities, great playground. A group of people had very much fun until about 5 a.m. -singing, playing music, and having conversations that we could even follow from the other side of the campground. The quietest time of the day: 9-10 am.
Apr 06, 2015
We had a very nice time the park was beautiful And camp host were awesomewere awesome
Apr 06, 2015
Stayed here because all campgrounds close to the beech were full. Beautiful location, large spaces, lots of trees and lots of potential but poorly maintained. Showers were dirty and the only toilet in the men's bathroom was plugged. Stayed in a yurt and had to walk down s steep bank to the bathroom (there was toilet paper behind the yurt). Management was were polite and courteus.
Apr 06, 2015
Beautifull surrounding, campground really in The nature, but restrooms nötig clean at all.
Apr 06, 2015
It was OK, thank.s

KOA Kompass

Get camping related news, tips, recipes and more delivered right to your inbox each month.